DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite wherein the circumferentially spaced rotational lock tabs are undeflectable”, but the original disclosure did not disclose that the tabs were undeflectable by any force, Therefore, the general statement that the tabs are undeflectable is new matter.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the plurality of circumferentially spaced deflectable lock tabs" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 7, 21, 22 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aguiar et al. (US-20200271276-A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6, 7 and 21, Aguiar discloses a foot ring (14) configured to be secured to a tank (12) having a collar (20), the foot ring comprising: a base (32) having an inner (34) and outer (36) surface and a central portion (38); a plurality of circumferentially spaced deflectable longitudinal lock tabs (90) radially outwardly spaced from the central portion for securing the foot ring to the tank, each of the circumferentially spaced deflectable longitudinal lock tabs having a first portion for abutting a radially outer surface of a base of the collar and a second portion for engaging an underside of a flange of the collar that extends radially outwardly from the base of the collar (par. 0038); and a plurality of circumferentially spaced rotational lock tabs (110) radially outwardly spaced from the central portion, each of the circumferentially spaced rotational lock tabs configured to be received in a respective notch in the flange to prevent rotational movement of the foot ring relative to the tank (par. 0039), wherein the circumferentially spaced rotational lock tabs are fixed relative to the base and are not deflectable at a low force (they aren’t separate parts and they’re rigid), a plurality of circumferentially spaced shock absorbing members (70, 72) extending from the inner surface, wherein the plurality of circumferentially spaced deflectable longitudinal lock tabs extend from radially inner ends of the shock absorbing members toward the outer surface (Fig. 3), wherein the plurality of circumferentially spaced deflectable longitudinal lock tabs extend toward the outer surface and the central portion and are radially outwardly spaced from the central portion (Fig. 3).
Regarding claims 22 and 24, Aguiar discloses a foot ring (14) configured to be secured to a tank (12) having a collar (20), the foot ring comprising: a base (32) having an inner and outer surface and a central portion (38); a plurality of circumferentially spaced deflectable longitudinal lock tabs (90) radially outwardly spaced from the central portion for securing the foot ring to the tank, each of the circumferentially spaced deflectable longitudinal lock tabs having a first portion for abutting a radially outer surface of a base of the collar, a second portion having a plurality of arms extending radially outward from each first portion for engaging an underside of a flange of the collar that extends radially outwardly from the base of the collar (par. 0038), and a third portion (92) extending radially outwardly from the second portion and having a backside that abuts an outer surface of the flange of the collar (Fig. 3); and a plurality of circumferentially spaced rotational lock tabs (110) radially outwardly spaced from the central portion, each of the circumferentially spaced rotational lock tabs configured to be received in a respective notch in the flange to prevent rotational movement of the foot ring relative to the tank (par. 0039), wherein the circumferentially spaced rotational lock tabs are fixed relative to the base and are not deflectable at a low force (they aren’t separate parts and they’re rigid).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aguiar et al. (US-20200271276-A1) in view of Bartels (US-6123187-A).
Aguiar fails to teach indicia on the outer surface of the base corresponding to a location on the inner surface of the base of each of the plurality of circumferentially spaced rotational lock tabs.
Bartels teaches that it is known the art to manufacture a tank attachment with indicia in order to provide a user with information (col. 3, lines 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the foot ring with indicia, in order to provide a user with information.
Claim(s) 4, 5, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aguiar et al. (US-20200271276-A1) in view of Manser (US-20140231439-A1).
Aguiar fails to teach a plurality of circumferentially spaced lock members extending radially inwardly from the central portion for connecting to a sensor assembly, wherein each of the plurality of circumferentially spaced lock members includes a plurality of circumferentially spaced teeth.
Manser teaches that it is known the art to manufacture a foot ring with a plurality of circumferentially spaced lock members (104) extending radially inwardly from A central portion for connecting to a sensor assembly (intended use), wherein each of the plurality of circumferentially spaced lock members includes a plurality of circumferentially spaced teeth (Figs. 1, 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have manufactured the foot ring with lock members, in order to provide a more secure connection with a tank.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Aguiar fails to teach the claimed portions abutting a tank, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The claims are drawn to a foot ring and not the combination of a foot ring an tank. The structure of the prior art of record is capable of the connection structure claimed based on the tank used.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY R ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733