DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1- 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobrzynski et al (USUPUB 2021/0342958).
As to Claim 1, Dobrzynski discloses a controller for managing a participation of an electric vehicle charging station comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in grid support of an electric grid, the controller comprising: at least one communication interface; at least one processor configured to: estimate a maximum charging power supplied by the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over a time period; submit, via the at least one communication interface to at least one management server of the electric grid, the estimate and a request to participate in a demand response program for the electric grid; identify, via the at least one communication interface, a demand response request from the at least one management server for the electric vehicle charging station to participate in the demand response program during the time period; generate, based on the estimate and in response to the demand response request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the electric vehicle charging station; and provide, via the at least one communication interface, the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the demand response request (Figure 10).
As to Claim 2, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein a charging profile of the at least one charging profile is generated based on a charging time of an electric vehicle charged according to the charging profile (Figure 10 and 12).
As to Claim 3, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 2, wherein the charging profile maximizes a charging rate of the electric vehicle in response to the electric vehicle having a longest charging time with respect to other electric vehicles being charged at the electric vehicle charging station (Paragraphs 64-66).
As to Claim 4, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein a charging profile of the at least one charging profile is generated based on a selection by a customer of an electric vehicle charged according to the charging profile for participating in demand response events (Paragraphs 64-66).
As to Claim 5, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: estimate the maximum charging power by communicating with one or more electric vehicles charged by one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment (Paragraph 33).
As to Claim 6, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: estimate the maximum charging power based on a ramp-up period after charging begins at one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment (Paragraph 30).
As to Claim 7, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein: the demand response request comprises a request to reduce the estimated maximum charging power by a pre-defined amount (Paragraph 78).
As to Claim 8, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 1, wherein: the demand response request comprises a request to reduce the estimated maximum charging power by a pre-defined percentage (Paragraph 78).
As to Claim 9, Dobrzynski discloses a method of managing a participation of an electric vehicle charging station comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in grid support of an electric grid, the method comprising: estimating a maximum charging power supplied by the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over a time period; submitting to at least one management server of the electric grid, the estimate and a request to participate in a demand response program for the electric grid; identifying a demand response request from the at least one management server for the electric vehicle charging station to participate in the demand response program during the time period; generating, based on the estimate and in response to the demand response request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the electric vehicle charging station; and providing the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the demand response request (Figures 10-12).
As to Claim 10, Dobrzynski discloses the method of claim 9, wherein generating the at least one charging profile further comprises: generating a charging profile of the at least one charging profile based on a charging time of an electric vehicle charged according to the charging profile (Figure 10 and 12).
As to Claim 11, Dobrzynski discloses the method of claim 10, wherein generating the at least one charging profile further comprises: generating the charging profile to maximize a charging rate of the electric vehicle in response to the electric vehicle having a longest charging time with respect to other electric vehicles being charged at the electric vehicle charging station (Paragraphs 64-66).
As to Claim 12, Dobrzynski discloses the method of claim 9, wherein generating the at least one charging profile further comprises: generating a charging profile of the at least one charging profile based on a selection by a customer of an electric vehicle charged according to the charging profile for participating in demand response events (Paragraphs 64-66).
As to Claim 13, Dobrzynski discloses the method of claim 9, wherein estimating the maximum charging power further comprises: estimating the maximum charging power by communicating with one or more electric vehicles charged by one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment (Paragraph 33).
As to Claim 14, Dobrzynski discloses the method of claim 9, wherein estimating the maximum charging power further comprises: estimating the maximum charging power based on a ramp-up period after charging begins at one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment (Paragraph 30).
As to Claim 15, Dobrzynski discloses the method of claim 9, wherein: the demand response request comprises a request to reduce the estimated maximum charging power by a pre-defined amount (Paragraph 78).
As to Claim 16, Dobrzynski discloses the method of claim 9, wherein: the demand response request comprises a request to reduce the estimated maximum charging power by a pre-defined percentage (Paragraph 78).
As to Claim 17, Dobrzynski discloses a controller for managing a participation of an electric vehicle charging station comprising a plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment in grid support of an electric grid, the controller comprising at least one processor configured to: estimate a maximum charging power supplied by the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment over a time period; identify a demand response request for the electric vehicle charging station to participate in a demand response program for the electric grid during the time period; and generate, based on the estimate and in response to the demand response request, at least one charging profile for one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment of the electric vehicle charging station (Figure 10-12).
As to Claim 18, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: provide the at least one charging profile to the one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment to implement the demand response request (Figures 10-12).
As to Claim 19, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 17, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: estimate the maximum charging power based on a ramp-up period after charging begins at one or more of the plurality of electric vehicle supply equipment (Paragraph 30).
As to Claim 20, Dobrzynski discloses the controller of claim 17, wherein: a charging profile of the at least one charging profile is generated based on a charging time of an electric vehicle charged according to the charging profile; and the charging profile maximizes a charging rate of the electric vehicle in response to the electric vehicle having a longest charging time with respect to other electric vehicles being charged at the electric vehicle charging station (Paragraph 33, 64-66).
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859