DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 103304814). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 103304814.
Considering Claim 1: Yang et al. teaches a polyamic acid resin prepared by copolymerizing a fluorinated aromatic diamine, an alicyclic dianhydride, and octo(aminophenyl)polysilsesquioxane/a compound of formula 1 where A is a polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, n is zero, and Y is a phenyl group (Embodiment 1).
Considering Claim 2: Yang et al. teaches the polymer as being used in a layer of integrated circuit/a film.
Considering Claim 3: Yang et al. teaches the polymer as comprising 0.0574 g of the polysilsesquioxane, with a total weight of 3.2794 g (Embodiment 1), or 1.7 weight percent.
Considering Claim 5: Yang et al. teaches the polymer as comprising 0.0497 mmol of the polysilsesquioxane, with a total mmol of 12.5697 (Embodiment 1), or 0.4 mole percent.
Considering Claim 6: Yang et al. teaches the alicyclic dianhydride as being ~50.6 mole percent of the polymer (Embodiment 1).
Considering Claim 7: Yang et al. teaches the dianhydride as being 1,2,3,4-butane tetracarboxylic acid dianhydride (Embodiment 1).
Considering Claim 8: Yang et al. teaches the alicyclic dianhydride as being the only dianhydride in the polymer (Embodiment 1).
Considering Claim 13: Yang et al. teaches the ratio of the diamine to the dianhydride as being 6.16:6.36 (Embodiment 1).
Claims 14, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (CN 103304814). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 103304814.
Considering Claim 14: Yang et al. teaches a polyimide resin prepared by copolymerizing a fluorinated aromatic diamine, an alicyclic dianhydride, and octo(aminophenyl)polysilsesquioxane/a compound of formula 1 where A is a polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane, n is zero, and Y is a phenyl group (Embodiment 1). Yang et al. teaches the polymer as being used in a layer of integrated circuit/a film.
Considering Claim 15: Yang et al. teaches the polymer as comprising 0.0574 g of the polysilsesquioxane, with a total weight of 3.2794 g (Embodiment 1), or 1.7 weight percent.
Considering Claim 17: Yang et al. teaches the polymer as comprising 0.0497 mmol of the polysilsesquioxane, with a total mmol of 12.5697 (Embodiment 1), or 0.4 mole percent.
Considering Claim 18: The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the transmittance and yellow index would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Considering Claim 19: The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients, in the claimed amounts, and teaches the composition as being made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not provide any disclosure on how to obtain the claimed properties outside the components of the composition itself. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. they Young’s modulus and the pencil hardness would necessarily arise from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching enabling a person of ordinary skill in the art to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, absent undue experimentation.
Considering Claim 20: The claim is a statement of intended use. If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. Shoes by Firebug LLC v. Stride Rite Children’s Grp., LLC, 962 F.3d 1362, 2020 USPQ2d 10701 (Fed. Cir. 2020) (The court found that the preamble in one patent’s claim is limiting but is not in a related patent); Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 103304814) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (CN 111187436). Note: A machine translation is being used for CN 103304814 and CN 111187436.
Considering Claim 9: Yang et al. teaches the polyamic acid of claim 1 as shown above.
Yang et al. does not teach an additional dianhydride in the polymer. However, Zhang et al. teaches using alicyclic diamines and dianhydrides in the preparation of a polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane modified polyimide (pg. 3). Zhang et al. teaches the dianhydride mixture as being 60 mole percent of cyclohexane tetracarboxylic acid dianhydride and 40 mole percent of biphenyltetracarboxylic dianhydride in the example (Example 1). Cho et al. and Zhang et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyhedral oligomeric silsesquioxane modified polyimide. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have used a mixture of an alicyclic and aromatic dianhydride in the polymer of Yang et al., as in Zhang et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Zhang et al. suggests, to improve the transparency of the polyimide film (pg. 2).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (CN 103304814) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hui et al. (CN 112175184). A machine translation is being used for CN 103304814 and CN 112175184.
Considering Claim 11: Yang et al. teaches the polyamic acid of claim 1 as shown above.
Yang et al. does not teach the claimed alicyclic diamine. However, Hui et al. teaches using a ratio of 20 to 60 mole percent of alicyclic diamine with 80 to 40 mole percent of a fluorinated aromatic diamine in the preparation of a polyimide (Abstract, pg. 3). Yang et al. and Hui et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely polyimide polymers. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added 20 to 60 mole percent of an alicyclic diamine to the aromatic diamine of Yang et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Hui et al. suggests, to provide high transparency and thermal performance (pg. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-9, 11, 13-15, and 17-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767