CTNF 18/355,115 CTNF 101759 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions 08-25-01 AIA Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7, drawn to an apparatus in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 is acknowledged. 08-06 AIA Claim s 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected ( Groups II and III ) , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 . Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/03/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 7 , the phrase “ an first actuator” contain an incorrect article. The article “an” should be replaced with “a” so that the phrase reads “a first actuator” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothenburger et al. (US 20220367903 A1) , and further in view of Berengar ( DE 102014221944 A1, citations from enclosed machine translation ) . Regarding claim 1 , Rothenburger teaches an apparatus for controlling a pressure within a battery ([0013-0014]: an improved pressure supply of the at least one electrode stack), comprising: a support plate at a first side of the battery (Figs. 1, 6; [0052, 0070]: a first pressure plate 32); a pressure plate disposed at a second side of the battery opposite the first side (Figs. 1, 6; [0052, 0070]: a second pressure plate 34), the pressure plate movable with respect to the support plate to control the pressure of the battery ([0014]: the electrical energy store has at least one actuator 30 for moving at least one of the pressure plates 32, 34 and a control device 36 for controlling the at least one actuator); Rothenburg further teaches embodiments in which the actuator 30 comprises an electric engine 56, a threaded spindle 58, and a knee lever 62 coupled to the threaded spindle for moving the pressure plates 32, 34 relative to one another (Figs. 1, 5, 6, [0069-0070]). Rothenburger further teaches that the lever system in the form of knee lever 62 is provided as an exemplary structure and is not limited to this specific structure ([0070]). Thus, knee lever 62 is merely one example of a force-transmission element for transferring actuator force to the pressure plates. More specifically, Rothenburger teaches a force-transmission structure coupled to the pressure plate (Fig. 6), wherein knee lever 62 coupled to actuator 30 moves relative to the pressure plate to control a force applied by actuator 30 to move the pressure plate with respect to the support plate, wherein moving the pressure plate controls the pressure within the battery ([0037, 0069-0070]). Rothenburger does not teach a wedge structure, wherein a first plate wedge coupled to the pressure plate; and a first actuator wedge in contact with the first plate wedge, as recited in claim 1. However, Berengar teaches this limitation. Berengar teaches a clamping device 18 for clamping storage units 14 of an electrical energy storage module 10 (Fig. 6, [0029]). Berengar further teaches a displacement device 38 having wedge elements 42, 44 oriented in opposite directions and movable in opposite directions for spreading the clamping elements 34, 36 via run-on slopes 46, 48 of the clamping elements ([Figs. 4,6; [0032]). Wherein wedge element 42 corresponds to the claimed first actuator wedge and clamping element 34 corresponds to the claimed first plate wedge. Berengar additionally teaches that the wedge elements 42, 44 are moved towards one another and press the clamping elements 34, 36 outwards along the pressing path in the stacking direction of the stacked storage units 14 ([0035]). As shown in Figs. 6, and 7, the wedge elements move along the clamping elements while the interaction between the wedge elements and the run-on slopes causes displacement of the clamping elements, thereby teaching the claimed first actuator wedge configured to move parallel to the pressure plate to control a force applied to the first plate wedge to move the pressure plate. Berengar further teaches that in this arrangement stacks of battery cells are fixed in the frame devices of the battery modules by means of the clamping devices by clamping ([0007]). Further, Rothenburger, and Berengar are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of pressure control mechanism in a battery pack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure apparatus of Rothenburger to include the wedge-based displacement device of Berengar in order to provide better pressure control and maintain stacks of battery cells fixed within the frame device of the battery modules by clamping ([0007]). In addition, it would have been obvious to substitute the knee lever force-transmission structure of Rothenburger with the wedge-based force-transmission structure taught by Berengar because both structures are known force-transmission elements that predictably convert actuator movement into controlled displacement of battery pressure/clamping elements. Substituting one known force- transmission element for another to obtain predictable results is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2143(I)(B) Regarding claim 2, Rothenburger, as modified by Berengar, teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Berengar further teaches a second plate wedge coupled to the pressure plate and a second actuator wedge for controlling a force applied to the second plate wedge, wherein the second actuator wedge moves anti-parallel to the first actuator wedge ([0012, 0032]; wherein wedge element 44 corresponds to the claimed second actuator wedge and clamping element 36 corresponds to the claimed second plate wedge). Berengar teaches a displacement device 38 having two wedge elements 42, 44 oriented in opposite directions and movable in opposite directions for spreading the two clamping elements 34, 36 ([0032]), corresponding to the claimed first and second actuator wedges moving anti-parallel to one another. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of modified Rothenburger to include first and second actuator wedges movable in opposite directions, as taught by Berengar, in order to spread the clamping elements relative to one another ([0012, 0032]). Regarding claim 3, Rothenburger, as modified by Berengar, teaches all limitations of claim 2 as stated above. Modified Rothenburger further teaches a screw that passes through the first actuator wedge and the second actuator wedge, wherein the screw has a first thread direction at the first actuator wedge and a second thread direction at the second actuator wedge. Specifically, as discussed with respect to claim 1, Rothenburger teaches a threaded spindle 58 for moving the pressure plates relative to one another ([0069]; Figs. 5 and 6), and threaded spindle 58 corresponds to the claimed screw because threaded spindle passes through the force transmission arrangement (knee lever 62) coupled to the pressure plates. Berengar further teaches that the actuating elements 40 is designed as a screw ([0032]). As shown in Figs. 4 and 6 of Berengar, the wedge elements 42, 44 are disposed on the displacement device 40 and movable in opposite directions by operation of the spindle 54 ([0032, 0034]) for spreading the clamping elements 34, 36 and applying clamping pressure to battery cells within an electrical energy storage module ([0007, 0032, 0034]). Accordingly, the opposite movement of the wedge elements along the screw arrangement requires corresponding opposite thread directions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify the threaded spindle 58 of Rothenburger to include opposite thread directions engaging first and second actuator wedges as taught by Berengar for moving the wedge elements in opposite directions and for spreading the clamping elements 34, 36 and applying clamping pressure to battery cells within an electrical energy storage module ([0007, 0032, 0034]). Regarding claim 4, Rothenburger, as modified by Berengar, teaches all limitations of claim 3 as stated above . Rothenburger further teaches a limitation wherein the screw is maintained at a fixed location with respect to the support plate (Fig. 6). As illustrated in Fig. 6, the threaded spindle 58 is maintained at a fixed position relative to the support plate/second pressure plate 34 while rotation of the threaded spindle causes movement of the pressure plates ([0068]). Accordingly, Rothenburger teaches or at least suggests the claimed screw maintained at a fixed location relative to the support plate. Regarding claim 5, Rothenburger, as modified by Berengar, teaches all limitations of claim 4 as stated above . Rothenburger further teaches a motor for rotating the screw (Fig. 6, [0070]: the threaded spindle 58 driven by an electric engine 56). Regarding claim 7, Rothenburger, as modified by Berengar, teaches all limitations of claim 1 as stated above . Berengar further teaches a limitation wherein the first plate wedge includes a first inclined surface and the first actuator wedge has a first actuator inclined surface in contact with the first inclined surface of the first plate wedge and is oriented in an opposite direction as the first inclined surface. Specifically, as discussed with respect to claim 1, Berengar teaches a displacement device 38 including wedge elements 42, 44 for spreading clamping elements 34, 36 ([0032]; Figs. 4 and 6). Berengar further teaches that the clamping elements 34, 36 include run-on slopes 46, 48 corresponding to inclined surfaces, and that wedge elements 42, 44 contact the run-on slopes 46, 48 for spreading the clamping elements 34, 36 ([0032]; Figs. 4 and 6). Berengar additionally teaches that wedge elements 42, 44 are oriented in opposite directions and movable in opposite directions for spreading the clamping elements 34, 36 ([0032]). Accordingly, Berengar teaches the claimed limitation wherein the first plate wedge includes a first inclined surface and the first actuator wedge has a first actuator inclined surface in contact with the first inclined surface of the first plate wedge and is oriented in an opposite direction as the first inclined surface. Berengar further teaches that in this arrangement stacks of battery cells are fixed in the frame devices of the battery modules by means of the clamping devices by clamping ([0007]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure-control apparatus of Modified Rothenburger to include the oppositely oriented wedge arrangement with inclined surfaces of Berengar in order to provide better pressure control and maintain stacks of battery cells fixed within the frame device of the battery modules by clamping ([0007]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rothenburger, as modified by Berengar , as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ogata et al. ( US 20210091403 A1 ) . Regarding claim 6, Rothenburger, as modified by Berengar, teaches all limitations of claim 5 as stated above . Rothenburger further teaches a controller (Fig.1, [0053, 0067]: the control device 36) configured to control the motor based on the pressure to control the pressure within the battery ([0067]: the control device 36 formed to control the electric engines 56). Rothenburger further teaches, with respect to Fig. 1, a force-path characteristic curve for detecting axial pressing force applied to the electrode stack ([0048]), which would suggest monitoring pressure/force conditions within the battery system. Rothenburger does not explicitly teach a pressure sensor configured to detect the pressure within the battery. However, Ogeta more explicitly teaches this limitation. Specifically, Ogata teaches a pressure sensor 130, 350 configured to detect pressure applied to battery cells ([0020]; Fig. 3). Ogeta further teaches battery management system (BMS) 120 may maintain a desired pressure between the pouch cells of battery cell 140 by controlling pressure controller 155 based on readings from pressure sensor 130 ([0020]). Further, Modified Rothenburger, and Ogeta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of pressure control mechanism in a battery pack. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressure-control system of Rothenburger to include the pressure sensor in order to monitor the pressure applied to the battery cells and maintain pressure within a desired pressure range ([0020]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Lili Rassouli whose telephone number is (571)272-9760. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 8:00 AM-4:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew T Martin can be reached at (571) 270-7871. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LILI RASSOULI/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/355,115 Page 2 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/355,115 Page 3 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/355,115 Page 4 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/355,115 Page 5 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/355,115 Page 6 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/355,115 Page 7 Art Unit: 1728 Application/Control Number: 18/355,115 Page 8 Art Unit: 1728