DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-2, and 6-14 are pending and under examination.
Claims 3-5 have been canceled.
Response to Amendment
The claim amendments, received 06/17/2026, have overcome the claim objection(s). Accordingly, the objection(s) have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 03/17/2026. However, based on the claim amendments, new 112(b) rejections have been set forth.
The 101 rejection(s) have been modified to address the claim amendments.
Based on the amended claims and remarks, the previous prior art rejection over Hren has been withdrawn and a new prior art rejection set forth (see below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 line 20 recites “by a user, from one or more scientific devices”. Claim 1 lines 16-17 have been amended to recite “by a user, from one or more scientific devices”. It is unclear if another (second) user and another scientific device are being introduced into the claims, or if applicant is intending to refer to the use and the one or more scientific devices. For purposes of examination, the examiner will interpret the claim as “the user, from the one or more scientific devices”. Claims 2 and 6-12 are also rejected by their dependency from claim 1. A similar rejection is also made over claims 13 and 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is directed toward a system. Claim 13 is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable medium. Claim 14 is directed towards a method.
Step 2A, Prong One: Identify the law of nature/natural phenomenon/abstract ideas.
Claims 1, 13, and 15 recite the abstract ideas, receiving, from a first lab administrator client device associated with a first laboratory, a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory and an admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the first subset for use in the first laboratory”, “receiving, via a web software platform, one or more configuration of one or more batches to be used for running at least a portion of the first subset of laboratory applications configured according to the admin configuration”, “receiving, from a first scientific device, via the web software platform a request to run a laboratory application from the first subset of the laboratory applications to process a batch, wherein the laboratory application includes a first part and a second part and the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory”, “providing, in response to the request, one or more laboratory applications from the first subset that are capable of being executed using a first scientific device, wherein the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory”, “receiving, from the first scientific device, a result signal indicating whether executing at least the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch was successful”, “updating, based on the result signal, a batch status for the batch of samples to indicate completion of the first part of the selected laboratory application”, “the second scientific device is selected, by the user”.
These abstract ideas are mental processes that could be performed by a human person by pen and paper or by a black box computer. The processing circuitry to perform the recited steps/processes is simply a general-purpose computer for which to apply the abstract ideas, but does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III). The “receiving” steps are merely observations or determinations.
Step 2A, Prong Two: Has the abstract idea been integrated into a particular practical application?
No. These judicial exceptions are not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements recited in the claims do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract ideas.
The abstract ideas are performed by processing circuitry of one or more servers and a memory storing instructions which are just a general-purpose computer. However, use of conventional computer functions to apply the judicial exception does not qualify as a particular machine (MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I), MPEP § 2106.05(b)(II) and MPEP § 2106.05(b)(III)).
Storing, in the memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples is interpreted as insignificant pre-solution activity and generally linking the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use in which to apply the judicial exception, but does not amount to significantly more than the exception itself and cannot integrate the judicial exception into a practical application (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
The memory to store information is just a general purpose computer. A general purpose computer is not a particular machine, and does not effectively transform or reduce the system to a different state or thing beyond such that the claims recite significantly more (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I), Particular Machine and MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation).
Transmitting, to the first scientific device, a control signal for executing the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch in accordance with the admin configuration is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Transmitting, based on the batch status, to a second scientific device, a second control signal for executing the second part of the selected laboratory applicant is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
If “receiving” is deemed not to be abstract ideas, then it do not integrate the exception into a particular practical application because it is merely data gathering and generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor.
Receiving, from a first lab administrator client device associated with a first laboratory, a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory and an admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the first subset for use in the first laboratory is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Receiving, via a web software platform, one or more configuration of one or more batches to be used for running at least a portion of the first subset of laboratory applications configured according to the admin configuration is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Receiving, from a first scientific device, via the web software platform a request to run a laboratory application from the first subset of the laboratory applications to process a batch, wherein the laboratory application includes a first part and a second part and the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Receiving, from the first scientific device, a result signal indicating whether executing at least the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch was successful is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
The step of “providing” is not enough to integrate the judicial exception into a particular practical application.
Providing, in response to the request, one or more laboratory applications from the first subset that are capable of being executed using a first scientific device, wherein the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment).
Further, the steps of “updating” and “running” are not enough to integrate the judicial exception into a particular practical application.
Updating, based on the result signal, a batch status for the batch of samples to indicate completion of the first part of the selected laboratory application is interpreted as mere instructions to implement the abstract idea to the field of use and insignificant extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment and § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply an Exception).
Running, based on the updated batch status, the second part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch at a second scientific device, wherein the second scientific device is selected, by the user, from the one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory and the second scientific device is different from the first scientific device is interpreted as mere instructions to implement the abstract idea to the field of use and insignificant extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment and § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply an Exception).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite any elements which are significantly more than the abstract idea?
Claims 1, 13, and 15 recite the additional elements of “storing, in the memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples”, “receiving, from a first lab administrator client device associated with a first laboratory, a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory and an admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the first subset for use in the first laboratory”, “receiving, via a web software platform, one or more configuration of one or more batches to be used for running at least a portion of the first subset of laboratory applications configured according to the admin configuration”, “receiving, from a first scientific device, via the web software platform a request to run a laboratory application from the first subset of the laboratory applications to process a batch, wherein the laboratory application includes a first part and a second part and the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory”, “providing, in response to the request, one or more laboratory applications from the first subset that are capable of being executed using a first scientific device, wherein the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory”, “transmitting, to the first scientific device, a control signal for executing the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch in accordance with the admin configuration”, “receiving, from the first scientific device, a result signal indicating whether executing at least the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch was successful”, “updating, based on the result signal, a batch status for the batch of samples to indicate completion of the first part of the selected laboratory application”, “transmitting, based on the batch status, to a second scientific device, a second control signal for executing the second part of the selected laboratory application”.
These additional elements do not amount to significantly more as they are well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art as evidenced by Freudanthal et al. (US 2014/0213487 – hereinafter “Freudenthal”) and Hren et al. (US 2015/0100155 – hereinafter “Hren”). Freudanthal and Hren teach
“storing, in the memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples” (Freudenthal; figs. 12-14, [0112-0124] and Hren; figs. 7-8, [0063]),
“receiving, from a first lab administrator client device associated with a first laboratory, a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory and an admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the first subset for use in the first laboratory”, (Freudenthal; figs. 1-2, 5-7, and 12-17, [0020-0021, 0058-0060, 0062-0066, 0068-0069, 0071, 0080, 0089-0092, 0113-0130] and Hren; figs. 1, 7, 10, 14-36, [0021, 0042, 0047, 0067, 0078-0170]),
“receiving, via a web software platform, one or more configuration of one or more batches to be used for running at least a portion of the first subset of laboratory applications configured according to the admin configuration”, (Freudenthal; figs. 14-17, [0124-0130] and Hren; figs. 10 & 14-26, [0055, 0067, 0078-0118],
“receiving, from a first scientific device, via the web software platform a request to run a laboratory application from the first subset of the laboratory applications to process a batch, wherein the laboratory application includes a first part and a second part and the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory”, (Freudenthal; figs. 1-2, 5-8 & 12-17, [0058-0060, 0062-0066, 0068-0069, 0071, 0089-0092, 0113-0130] and Hren; Hren; figs. 1, 6, 9-13, 28, and 30, [0021, 0024, 0037, 0042, 0045-0046, 0062, 0067-0077, 0126, 0133]; [0062]),
“providing, in response to the request, one or more laboratory applications from the first subset that are capable of being executed using a first scientific device, wherein the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory”, (Freudenthal; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121] and Hren; [0021, 0046, 0134]),
“transmitting, to the first scientific device, a control signal for executing the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch in accordance with the admin configuration”, (Freudenthal, fig. 14, [0020-0021, 0124] and Hren; [0042, 0046, 0062]),
“receiving, from the first scientific device, a result signal indicating whether executing at least the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch was successful”, (Freudenthal; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121] and Hren; [0024, 0041-0042]),
“updating based on the result signal, a batch status for the batch of samples to indicate completion of the first part of the selected laboratory application”, (Freudenthal; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]),
“transmitting, based on the batch status, to a second scientific device, a second control signal for executing the second part of the selected laboratory application”, (Freudenthal; figs. 12-14, [0020-0021, 0117, 0120-0121, 0124]), and
“running based on the updated batch status, the second part of the second laboratory application to process the batch at a second scientific device, wherein the second scientific device is selected, by the user, from the one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory and the second scientific device is different from the first scientific device” (Freudenthal; fig. 13, [0121]).
Claims 2 recites the abstract idea of receiving an operator configuration from a lab operator client device (step 2A prong 1) which is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment), but does not integrate the additional element “a lab operator client device” under 2A prong 2 because the lab operator client device does not amount to significantly more as this is well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art in view of Freudenthal and Hren (Freudenthal; figs. 12-14, [0020-0021, 0117, 0120-0121, 0124] and Hren; [0025]).
Claim 6 recites the abstract idea of receiving a selection of a second subset of the selected laboratory applications from a second lab administrator client device associated with a second laboratory (step 2A prong 1), which is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor, and also as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment), but does not integrate the additional element “a second lab administrator client device and a second laboratory” under 2A prong 2 because the lab operator client device does not amount to significantly more as this is well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art in view of Hren (Hren; [0021, 0025]).
Claim 7 recites the abstract ideas of receiving a result, determining whether the result is within a range, and providing the result to a lab operator client device (step 2A prong 1), which is interpreted as extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity, but would not integrate a judicial exception or provide significantly more as performing repetitive calculations does not impose meaningful limits on the scope of the claims (see MPEP § 2106.05(b)(I), MPEP § 2106.05(b)(II), MPEP § 2106.05(b)(III), MPEP § 2106.05(c), Particular Transformation, MPEP § 2106.05(f), Mere Instruction To Apply An Exception, MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). The claim recites the additional element of “a lab operator client device”, but does not integrate the additional element under 2A prong 2 because the lab operator client device does not amount to significantly more as this is well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art in view of Freudenthal and Hren (Freudenthal; figs. 6-8, 13, 15, [0010, 0092, 0103, 0122, 0126-0128] and Hren; [0025]).
Claim 8 recites elements directed towards receiving the result from the user via the lab operator client device while the first scientific device is offline (step 2A prong 1), which is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor and extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). The additional elements are also considered well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art in view of Freudenthal (Fruedenthal; figs. 6-8, 13, 15, [0092, 0103, 0122, 0126-0128]).
Claim 9 recites the abstract idea of determining whether the first scientific device is connected via a network (step 2A prong 1), which is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor and extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). The additional elements are also considered well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art in view of Freudenthal (Fruedenthal; [0062, 0115, 0117, 0120, 0122, 0126]).
Claim 10 recites the abstract idea “setting a production status of at least one laboratory application” (step 2A prong 1), which is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor and extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). The additional elements are also considered well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art in view of Hren (Hren; fig. 16, [0080]).
Claim 11 recites the abstract idea “at least a scan of a container of a sample … identifying the sample based on the scan” which is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor and extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). The additional elements are also considered well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art in view of Dockrill et al. (US 2015/0300931; hereinafter “Dockrill”) (Dockrill; fig. 7, [0067]).
Claim 12 recites the abstract idea “applying optical character recognition (OCR) to at least a portion of the scan” which is interpreted as generally linking the abstract idea to the field of endeavor and extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving and transmitting data over a network has been recognized as a generic computer function and is interpreted as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, and MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment). The additional elements are also considered well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) in the art in view of Dockrill (Dockrill; fig. 7, [0067-0068]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 11, 13, 14-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Freudenthal et al. (US 2014/0213487 – hereinafter “Freudenthal”).
Regarding claim 1, Freudenthal disclose a system (Freudenthal; fig. 1, #100, [0051]) comprising:
processing circuitry of one or more servers (Freudenthal; fig. 2, [0060-0062]); and
a memory in communication with the processing circuitry, the memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processing circuitry (Freudenthal; figs. 2 & 14, #206, #1402, [0063, 0124]), cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising:
storing, in the memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples (Freudenthal disclose the memory comprises instructions for a filling apparatus 1200 and operation of a thermal cycler scheduler; figs. 12-13, [0112-0123]. A scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]);
receiving, from a first lab administrator client device associated with a first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose computing system 200 as a computer, server, client, desktop, laptop, tablet, etc. and comprises user interface 122 for communicating information and command selections to the processor on control system 120, and a web-based scheduling interface 1406, which may be displayed on another computing system, connected to the instrument that communicates with a processor of the instrument; figs. 1, 5-8 & 14-17, [0058-0059, 0062, 0089-0092, 0124-0130]), a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose instructions are sent and received as a data file by the scheduler 1400 to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler to perform applications on batches of samples; figs. 1-2, 5-7, and 12-17, [0060, 0063-0066, 0068-0069, 0071, 0113-0123]) and an admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the first subset for use in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]);
receiving, via a web software platform, one or more configurations of one or more batches to be used for running at least a portion of the first subset of laboratory applications configured according to the admin configuration (Freudenthal; figs. 14-17, [0124-0130]);
receiving, from a first scientific device, via the web software platform a request to run a laboratory application from the first subset to process a batch, wherein the laboratory application includes a first part and a second part and the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose computing system 200 as a computer, server, client, desktop, laptop, tablet, etc. and comprises user interface 122 for communicating information and command selections to the processor on control system 120, and a web-based scheduling interface 1406, which may be displayed on another computing system, connected to the instrument that communicates with a processor of the instrument; figs. 1, 5-8 & 14-17, [0058-0059, 0062, 0089-0092, 0124-0130]. Instructions are sent and received as a data file by the scheduler 1400 to the filling apparatus (first scientific device) to process a batch of samples and thermal cycler (second scientific device) to perform applications on batches of samples; figs. 1-2, 5-7, and 12-17, [0060, 0063-0066, 0068-0069, 0071, 0113-0123]);
providing, in response to the request, one or more laboratory applications from the first subset that are capable of being executed using a first scientific device, wherein the first scientific device is selected by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the laboratory (Freudenthal; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
transmitting, to the first scientific device, a control signal for executing the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch in accordance with the admin configuration (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]);
receiving, from the first scientific device, a result signal indicating whether executing at least the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch was successful (Freudenthal disclose after loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
updating, based on the result signal, a batch status for the batch of samples to indicate completion of the first part of the selected laboratory application (Freudenthal disclose after loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
transmitting, based on the batch status, to a second scientific device, a second control signal for executing the second part of the selected laboratory application (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]. After loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]); and
running, based on the updated batch status, the second part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch at a second scientific device, wherein the second scientific device is selected, by the user, from the one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory and the second scientific device is different from the first scientific device (Freudenthal; fig. 13, step 1360, [0121]).
Regarding claim 2, Freudenthal disclose the system of claim 1 above, the operations further comprising: receiving, from a lab operator client device, an operator configuration for the selected laboratory application, wherein the control signal is for executing the at least the first part of the selected laboratory application in accordance with the admin configuration and the operator configuration (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]. After loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]).
Regarding claim 7, Freudenthal disclose the system of claim 1 above, the operations further comprising: receiving, upon completion of the selected laboratory application to process the batch, a result of the selected laboratory application to process the batch; determining whether the result falls within a predefined range; and providing, to a lab operator client device, the result of the selected laboratory application to process the batch and an indication whether the result falls within the predefined range (Freudenthal disclose an error may be determined during operations due to thermal inaccuracy and results may be viewed by the client device, or the progress/status of the instrument may be viewed on the user interface; figs. 6-8, 13 15, step 1362, [0092, 0103, 0122, 0126-0128]. The thermal inaccuracy being outside of a predefined temperature range; [0010]).
Regarding claim 8, Freudenthal disclose the system of claim 7 above, wherein the result is received from the user via the lab operator client device while the first scientific device is offline (Freudenthal disclose an error may be determined during operations due to thermal inaccuracy and results may be viewed by the client device, or the progress/status of the instrument may be viewed on the user interface; figs. 6-8, 13 15, step 1362, [0092, 0103, 0122, 0126-0128]. The thermal inaccuracy being outside of a predefined temperature range; [0010]. The error can include a power surge in which case the instrument would be offline; [0122]).
Regarding claim 9, Freudenthal disclose the system of claim 1 above, wherein the first scientific device is configured to: determine, upon completing executing the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch, whether the first scientific device is connected to the one or more servers via a network; if the first scientific device is connected to the one or more servers: transmit the result signal to the one or more servers; and if the first scientific device is not connected to the one or more servers: periodically ping the one or more servers to determine whether the first scientific device has reestablished connectivity with the one or more servers; and upon reestablishing connectivity: transmit the result signal to the one or more servers (Freudenthal disclose the data file 1212 is modified by the first scientific device and the updated filed 1218 is sent to the second scientific device; [0117]. An error may occur due to a power surge in which case the network connection to the first scientific device would be lost; [0122]. In such case, the filling station 1200 connected to the network would reestablish connectivity and transmit the result to the one or more servers accessible via the web-based user interface and IP address assigned to the device; [0062, 0115, 0120, 0126]).
Regarding claim 11, Freudenthal disclose the system of claim 1 above, wherein the request to run the laboratory application to process the batch comprises at least a scan of a container of a sample, the operations further comprising: identifying the sample based on the scan (Freudenthal; fig. 4, #462, [0086-0087, 0118]).
Regarding claim 13, Freudenthal disclose a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by processing circuitry of one or more servers, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations (Freudenthal disclose a system comprising computing system 200 with non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions that are executed by processing circuitry of one or more servers; figs. 1-2 & 14, #206, #1402, [0050, 0059-0069]) comprising:
storing, in a memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples (Freudenthal disclose the memory comprises instructions for a filling apparatus 1200 and operation of a thermal cycler scheduler; figs. 12-13, [0112-0123]. A scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]);
receiving, from a first lab administrator client device associated with a first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose computing system 200 as a computer, server, client, desktop, laptop, tablet, etc. and comprises user interface 122 for communicating information and command selections to the processor on control system 120, and a web-based scheduling interface 1406, which may be displayed on another computing system, connected to the instrument that communicates with a processor of the instrument; figs. 1, 5-8 & 14-17, [0058-0059, 0062, 0089-0092, 0124-0130]), a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose instructions are sent and received as a data file by the scheduler 1400 to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler to perform applications on batches of samples; figs. 1-2, 5-7, and 12-17, [0060, 0063-0066, 0068-0069, 0071, 0113-0123]) and an admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the first subset for use in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]);
receiving, via a web software platform, one or more configurations of one or more batches to be used for running at least a portion of the first subset of laboratory applications configured according to the admin configuration (Freudenthal; figs. 14-17, [0124-0130]);
receiving, from a first scientific device, via the web software platform a request to run a laboratory application from the first subset to process a batch, wherein the laboratory application includes a first part and a second part and the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose computing system 200 as a computer, server, client, desktop, laptop, tablet, etc. and comprises user interface 122 for communicating information and command selections to the processor on control system 120, and a web-based scheduling interface 1406, which may be displayed on another computing system, connected to the instrument that communicates with a processor of the instrument; figs. 1, 5-8 & 14-17, [0058-0059, 0062, 0089-0092, 0124-0130]. Instructions are sent and received as a data file by the scheduler 1400 to the filling apparatus (first scientific device) to process a batch of samples and thermal cycler (second scientific device) to perform applications on batches of samples; figs. 1-2, 5-7, and 12-17, [0060, 0063-0066, 0068-0069, 0071, 0113-0123]);
providing, in response to the request, one or more laboratory applications from the first subset that are capable of being executed using the first scientific device, wherein the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the laboratory (Freudenthal; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
transmitting, to the first scientific device, a control signal for executing the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch in accordance with the admin configuration (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]);
receiving, from the first scientific device, a result signal indicating whether executing at least the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch was successful (Freudenthal disclose after loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
updating, based on the result signal, a batch status for the batch of samples to indicate completion of the first part of the selected laboratory application (Freudenthal disclose after loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
transmitting, based on the batch status, to a second scientific device, a second control signal for executing the second part of the selected laboratory application (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]. After loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]); and
running, based on the updated batch status, the second part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch at a second scientific device, wherein the second scientific device is selected, by the user, from the one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory and the second scientific device is different from the first scientific device (Freudenthal; fig. 13, step 1360, [0121]).
Regarding claim 14, Freudenthal disclose a method implemented at one or more servers (Freudenthal disclose a system and method comprising computing system 200 with servers storing instructions that are executed by processing circuitry of one or more servers; figs. 1-2 & 14, #206, #1402, [0050, 0059-0069]), the method comprising:
storing, in a memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples (Freudenthal disclose the memory comprises instructions for a filling apparatus 1200 and operation of a thermal cycler scheduler; figs. 12-13, [0112-0123]. A scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]);
receiving, from a first lab administrator client device associated with a first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose computing system 200 as a computer, server, client, desktop, laptop, tablet, etc. and comprises user interface 122 for communicating information and command selections to the processor on control system 120, and a web-based scheduling interface 1406, which may be displayed on another computing system, connected to the instrument that communicates with a processor of the instrument; figs. 1, 5-8 & 14-17, [0058-0059, 0062, 0089-0092, 0124-0130]), a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose instructions are sent and received as a data file by the scheduler 1400 to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler to perform applications on batches of samples; figs. 1-2, 5-7, and 12-17, [0060, 0063-0066, 0068-0069, 0071, 0113-0123]) and an admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the first subset for use in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]);
receiving, via a web software platform, one or more configurations of one or more batches to be used for running at least a portion of the first subset of laboratory applications configured according to the admin configuration (Freudenthal; figs. 14-17, [0124-0130]);
receiving, from a first scientific device, via the web software platform, a request to run a laboratory application from the first subset to process a batch, wherein the laboratory application includes a first part and a second part and the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory (Freudenthal disclose computing system 200 as a computer, server, client, desktop, laptop, tablet, etc. and comprises user interface 122 for communicating information and command selections to the processor on control system 120, and a web-based scheduling interface 1406, which may be displayed on another computing system, connected to the instrument that communicates with a processor of the instrument; figs. 1, 5-8 & 14-17, [0058-0059, 0062, 0089-0092, 0124-0130]. Instructions are sent and received as a data file by the scheduler 1400 to the filling apparatus (first scientific device) to process a batch of samples and thermal cycler (second scientific device) to perform applications on batches of samples; figs. 1-2, 5-7, and 12-17, [0060, 0063-0066, 0068-0069, 0071, 0113-0123]);
providing, in response to the request, one or more laboratory applications from the first subset that are capable of being executed using the first scientific device, wherein the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory (Freudenthal; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
transmitting, to the first scientific device, a control signal for executing the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch in accordance with the admin configuration (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]);
receiving, from the first scientific device, a result signal indicating whether executing at least the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch was successful (Freudenthal disclose after loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
updating, based on the result signal, a batch status for the batch of samples to indicate completion of the first part of the selected laboratory application (Freudenthal disclose after loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]);
transmitting, based on the batch status, to a second scientific device, a second control signal for executing the second part of the selected laboratory application (Freudenthal disclose the scheduler 1400 is used to reserve time to perform experiments or testing, and includes a memory 1402 for storing scheduling data and instructions executable by a processor for receiving and updating the schedule; fig. 14, [0124]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]. After loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]); and
running, based on the updated batch status, the second part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch at a second scientific device, wherein the second scientific device is selected, by the user, from the one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory and the second scientific device is different from the first scientific device (Freudenthal; fig. 13, step 1360, [0121]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freudenthal, and further in view of Hren et al. (US 2015/0100155; already of record – hereinafter “Hren”).
Regarding claim 6, Freudenthal disclose the system of claim 1 above, wherein the set of laboratory applications comprises applications (Freudenthal; “experiments or testing”, [0119-0120, 0124, 0127-0128]), the operations further comprising: receiving, from a second lab administrator client device (Freudenthal disclose computing system 200 as a computer, server, client, desktop, laptop, tablet, etc. and comprises user interface 122 for communicating information and command selections to the processor on control system 120, and a web-based scheduling interface 1406, which may be displayed on another computing system, connected to the instrument that communicates with a processor of the instrument; figs. 1, 5-8 & 14-17, [0058-0059, 0062, 0089-0092, 0124-0130]), a selection of a second subset of the selected laboratory applications and a second admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the second subset (Freudenthal; “experiments or testing”, [0119-0120, 0124, 0127-0128]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]), wherein the second subset is different from the first subset (Freudenthal; “experiments or testing”, [0119-0120, 0124, 0127-0128]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]), and wherein the second admin configuration is different from the admin configuration received from the first lab administrator client device (Freudenthal; “experiments or testing”, [0119-0120, 0124, 0127-0128]. The data file provided to the filling apparatus and thermal cycler is comprised of instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]).
Freudenthal does teach multiple different laboratories or a second laboratory.
However, Hren teach the analogous art of a system (Hren disclose a liquid handling system 100; fig. 1, [0021]) comprising: processing circuitry of one or more servers (Hren; processor 808 for server 102; figs. 1 & 8, [0058]); and a memory in communication with the processing circuitry (Hren; computer readable medium 806 and database 812 of server 102; figs. 1 & 8, [0058]), the memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising: storing, in the memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples (Hren; database 812 may save, access, and retrieve protocol creation applications 712/810; figs. 7-8, [0063]), and a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory (Hren disclose protocol creation application 712/810 comprises user interface window 1000; fig. 10, [0067]. When a user selects button 1006 “Manage qPCR analyses”, the user is presented with an interface window shown in fig. 15 that allows the user to search, edit, or create files containing information for analyzing samples according to a protocol; figs. 14-26, [0078-0118]. When a user selects button 1008 “Create new qPCR experiment” or save button 2308 shown in fig. 23 after creating a new analysis, the user is presented with an interface window shown in fig. 26 that allows the user to select batches of samples using button 2816 or button 2820 to be processed according to the selected protocol; figs. 26-36; [0119-0170]), wherein the laboratory applications comprise applications for multiple different laboratories and a second laboratory (Hren; [0021, 0024-0025, 0086]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Freudenthal with the system comprising multiple different locations, as taught by Hren, because Hren teach the system comprising multiple different locations allows the system to be implemented in a variety of industries including pharmaceutical, gnomic, proteomic research, drug develop, clinical laboratories, diagnostic laboratories, and biotechnology applications; [0024]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Freudenthal and Hren both teach systems for performing a plurality of assays on a sample for multiple users.
Regarding claim 10, Freudenthal disclose the system of claim 1 above.
Freudenthal does not teach the operations further comprising: setting a production status of at least one laboratory application to in-production, wherein laboratory applications that are in-production are accessible to both the lab administrator and lab operators, and wherein laboratory applications that are not in-production are accessible to the lab administrator and not accessible to lab operators.
However, Hren disclose a system (Hren disclose a liquid handling system 100; fig. 1, [0021]) comprising: processing circuitry of one or more servers (Hren; processor 808 for server 102; figs. 1 & 8, [0058]); and a memory in communication with the processing circuitry (Hren; computer readable medium 806 and database 812 of server 102; figs. 1 & 8, [0058]), the memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising: storing, in the memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples (Hren; database 812 may save, access, and retrieve protocol creation applications 712/810; figs. 7-8, [0063]), wherein the operations further comprising: setting a production status of at least one laboratory application to in-production (Hren; fig. 16, #1512, “Ready”, [0080]), wherein laboratory applications that are in-production are accessible to both the lab administrator and lab operators (Hren; [0080]), and wherein laboratory applications that are not in-production are accessible to the lab administrator and not accessible to lab operators (Hren; fig. 16, #1512, “In editing”, [0080]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the operations of Freudenthal to further comprise setting a production status, as taught by Hren, because Hren teach setting the production status notifies other users whether an analysis is ready or in editing (Hren; [0080]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Freudenthal and Hren both teach systems for performing a plurality of assays on a sample for multiple users.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freudenthal, and further in view of Dockrill et al. (US 2015/0300931; already of record – hereinafter “Dockrill”).
Regarding claim 12, Freudenthal disclose the system of claim 11 above.
Freudenthal does not teach teach wherein identifying the sample comprises applying optical character recognition (OCR) to at least a portion of the scan.
However, Dockrill teach the analogous art of a system (Dockrill; fig. 1, #12, [0052]) comprising one or more scientific devices (Dockrill; fig. 1, #10, [0052]) configured to run a laboratory application to process samples (Dockrill disclose instructions for a controller to treat samples; [0067]) wherein the system is configured to run the laboratory application to process the sample comprises at least a scan of a container of a sample, the operations further comprising: identifying the sample based on the scan (Dockrill disclose an indicia reader 44 which is disposed on the scientific device 10 and configured to read labels disposed on the sample container to receive information indicative of instructions for the controller to treat the sample; fig. 7, [0067]), wherein identifying the sample comprises applying optical character recognition (OCR) to at least a portion of the scan (Dockrill teach the indicia reader applies optical character recognition; [0068]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the sample container and system of Hren to comprise a label and indicia reader, as in Dockrill, because Dockrill teach the label and indicia reader allow the scientific device to perform the laboratory application to process the sample based on instructions received from the label (Dockrill; [0067]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have expected this modification could have been performed with a reasonable expectation of success since Hren and Dockrill both teach scientific devices configured to process a batch of samples.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 13 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 13 and 15 of copending Application No. 17/787,216 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because 17/787,216 disclose:
Regarding claim 1, 17/787,216 disclose a system/non-transitory machine-readable medium/method (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15) comprising:
processing circuitry of one or more servers (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15); and
a memory in communication with the processing circuitry, the memory storing instructions which, when executed by the processing circuitry (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15), cause the processing circuitry to perform operations comprising:
storing, in the memory, a set of laboratory applications to process batches of samples (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15);
receiving, from a first lab administrator client device associated with a first laboratory, a selection of a first subset of the laboratory applications to process the batches of samples in the first laboratory and an admin configuration for at least one laboratory application in the first subset for use in the first laboratory (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15);
receiving, via a web software platform, one or more configurations of one or more batches to be used for running at least a portion of the first subset of laboratory applications configured according to the admin configuration (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15);
receiving, from a first scientific device, via the web software platform a request to run a laboratory application from the first subset of the laboratory applications to process a batch, wherein the laboratory application includes a first part and a second part and the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15);
providing, in response to the request, one or more laboratory applications from the first subset that are capable of being executed using a scientific device (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15), wherein the first scientific device is selected, by a user, from one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15);
transmitting, to the first scientific device, a control signal for executing the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch in accordance with the admin configuration (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15),
receiving, from the first scientific device, a result signal indicating whether executing at least the first part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch was successful (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15);
updating, based on the result signal, a batch status for the batch of samples to indicate completion of the first part of the selected laboratory application (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15);
transmitting, based on the batch status, to a second scientific device, a second control signal for executing the second part of the selected laboratory application (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15); and
running, based on the updated batch status, the second part of the selected laboratory application to process the batch at a second scientific device, wherein the second scientific device is selected, by the user, from the one or more scientific devices in the first laboratory and the second scientific device is different from the first scientific device (17/787,216 – Claims 1, 13, and 15).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 06/17/2026, have been considered but are moot because the arguments are towards the amended claims and do not apply to the current grounds of rejection. However, because the examiner is using the same prior art in the rejection, then the examiner will address applicant’s remarks in order to promote compact prosecution.
Applicant argues, see pages 7-10 of their remarks, towards Step 2A, Prong 1 of the 101 rejection, that claims 1,13, and 15 are not abstract idea(s), and are suited to solve the technological problem of reducing errors and increasing efficiency in performing protocols at scientific devices by identifying applications that are incompatible with the current lab configuration, and either hide those applications [or] suggest how to address that problem. Applicant further argues that the result signal from the first scientific device is used to update an operational state of a physical batch of samples, and is therefore not an incidental data field, but rather used to coordinate subsequent processing of that same batch.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Each of the recited operations is an abstract concept that is in the grouping of “mental process” (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection (III)) because identifying applications that are compatible with a scientific device could be performed in the human mind as an observation, evaluation, or judgement, and the use of a computer does not preclude these concepts from being an abstract concept. Specifically, a user could, in their mind, look at the software version running on a scientific device and identify compatible or incompatible applications based on a current lab configuration. If a claim recites a limitation that can practically be performed in the human mind, with or without the use of a physical aid such as pen and paper, the limitation falls within the mental processes grouping, and the claim recites an abstract idea. MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III) is clear that using a computer/controller to perform the abstract idea does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. Further, the processing circuitry to perform the recited steps/processes is simply a general-purpose computer for which to apply the abstract ideas, but does not preclude the steps from being considered an abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III).
Applicant argues on pages 10-11 of their remarks towards step 2A prong 1 of the 101 rejection that the claim is not directed merely to collecting, storing, or displaying information, but rather the claim uses information generated by a scientific device to control the progression of a physical laboratory workflow. Applicant argues the result signal is not merely information for observation or mental evaluation, it is used to update an operational state of a physical batch of samples, and that operational state governs subsequent execution of the laboratory application.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The amended limitations “updating, based on the result signal, … and running, based on the updated batch status…”, as well as the additional elements recited in the claim, are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea to the field of use and insignificant extra-solution activity incidental to the primary process as mere data gathering which is not considered significantly more than the abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(g), Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity, MPEP § 2106.05(h), Field of Use and Technological Environment and § 2106.05(f), Mere Instructions To Apply an Exception). The claim is generally a device with processing circuitry that filters incompatible protocols/applications, and tracks the status of a batch of samples where many laboratory devices with software and processing circuitry would perform these functions. See for example Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Erie Indem. Co., 850 F.3d at 1328-29, 121 USPQ2d at 1937, where limiting a database index to XML tags, Ultramercial, 772 F.3d at 715, 112 USPQ2d at 1754, where consulting and updating an activity log, and In re Meyers, 688 F.2d 789, 794; 215 USPQ 193, 196-97 (CCPA 1982), where testing a system for a response and the response was used to determine a system malfunction were deemed mere data gathering as insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2105.05(g). The laboratory devices and batches of samples are merely linking the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, but does not add significantly more, similar to how limiting the abstract idea in Flook, supra, at 593, 98 S. Ct. 2522, 57 L. Ed. 2d 451. MPEP 2106.05(I)(A) is clear “The fact that a computer "necessarily exist[s] in the physical, rather than purely conceptual, realm," is beside the point. There is no dispute that a computer is a tangible system (in § 101 terms, a "machine"), or that many computer-implemented claims are formally addressed to patent-eligible subject matter. But if that were the end of the § 101 inquiry, an applicant could claim any principle of the physical or social sciences by reciting a computer system configured to implement the relevant concept. Such a result would make the determination of patent eligibility "depend simply on the draftsman’s art," Flook, supra, at 593, 98 S. Ct. 2522, 57 L. Ed. 2d 451, thereby eviscerating the rule that "‘[l]aws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patentable,’" Myriad, 133 S. Ct. 1289, 186 L. Ed. 2d 124, 133).”.
Regarding applicant’s argument on pages 10-11 that the computing efficiencies are improved by tracking statuses, the examiner respectfully disagrees. The alleged improvement seems to be the abstract idea itself and the alleged improvement cannot be the abstract idea, but must be in a particular technology. See MPEP 2106.05(a), paragraphs 4 - 7. Further, the alleged improvement must be in a particular technology, and in this case the claims essentially recite a memory and processor, which is a general purpose computer. The processor and memory (i.e. computer) are not used outside their normal capacity and the computer does not appear to be improved in any way. A general purpose computer is not a particular machine, and performing the abstract idea on a general purpose computer is not enough to integrate the exception into a practical application. MPEP 2106.05(b)I discusses why the antenna was considered particular (included details such as shape of the antenna, length, conductors, etc) and why a Fourdrinier machine was particular. Even if a laboratory was recited, which it does not appear to be, the laboratory is still used in it’s conventional manner and is not transformed into anything different and therefore there is no improvement in the laboratory itself.
Applicant argues on pages 11-13 of their remarks towards step 2B of the 101 rejection that a showing of the additional elements as being obvious under 35 U.S.C. § 103 or the lack of novelty under § 102 is not by itself sufficient to establish that that additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the relevant field, and that Hren and Fava are improper to cite for showing the additional elements are well-understood, routine, and conventional. Applicant further argues the communication between the scientific devices and the network as described in the claims adds functionality not present in prior systems.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Step 2B of the 101 rejection provides at least two citations to prior art publications which disclose the additional elements of the claimed invention dating back to July 31, 2014. The plurality of references show the additional elements are well-known, routine, and conventional in the field of endeavor. Further, updating a batch status and executing a laboratory application on a batch of samples that has been previously partially process provides no technical improvements as Freudenthal disclose a data file provided to a filling apparatus and thermal cycler which comprises instructions/admin configuration for defining an assay to be performed, location of samples, sample location definitions, etc.; [0020-0021]. After loading a plurality of samples into wells of a respective sample holder, the data file 1212 received by filling station 1200 is modified to include the initially provided assay definitions in combination with updated sample and positional locations after sample loading. The modified data file 1218 is delivered to the thermal cycler and errors and/or compatibility is checked; figs. 12-13, [0117, 0120-0121]). Accordingly, the additional functionality recited in the amended claims does not provide a technical improvement.
Applicant argues on page 13 of their remarks towards the provisional double patenting that applicant reserves the right to address the rejection, including by terminal disclaimer, if necessary. The examiner agrees with applicant’s remarks. However, a terminal disclaimer has not been made of record and therefore, the double patenting rejection has been maintained.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-13 of their remarks, towards the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. §102 and §103, with respect to claim(s) 1-2 and 6-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Citations to art
In the above citations to documents in the art, an effort has been made to specifically cite representative passages, however rejections are in reference to the entirety of each document relied upon. Other passages, not specifically cited, may apply as well.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
E-mail communication Authorization
Per updated USPTO Internet usage policies, Applicant and/or applicant’s representative is encouraged to authorize the USPTO examiner to discuss any subject matter concerning the above application via Internet e-mail communications. See MPEP 502.03. To approve such communications, Applicant must provide written authorization for e-mail communication by submitting the following statement via EFS Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300):
Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.
Written authorizations submitted to the Examiner via e-mail are NOT proper. Written authorizations must be submitted via EFS-Web (using PTO/SB/439) or Central Fax (571-273-8300). A paper copy of e-mail correspondence will be placed in the patent application when appropriate. E-mails from the USPTO are for the sole use of the intended recipient, and may contain information subject to the confidentiality requirement set forth in 35 USC § 122. See also MPEP 502.03.
/C.A.T./Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/BENJAMIN R WHATLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1798