DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is based on the 18/355128 application originally filed July 19, 2023.
Claims 1-11, filed June 26, 2026, are pending and have been fully considered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pimentel et al. (US 2014/0262989) hereinafter “Pimentel” in view of Newenhizen (US 2005/0109703) and Tally et al. (WO 2020/251959 A1) hereinafter cited under US 2022/0250959 “Tally”.
Regarding Claims 1-11
Pimentel discloses in the abstract, a water filtering system.
Pimentel discloses in paragraph 0005, a water filtering system is provided that measures a concentration of an impurity in incoming water, and more specifically, a TDS concentration in the incoming water, and automatically moves a bypass valve between a closed position and an open position based on the measured concentration of TDS for maintaining desired TDS concentrations.
Pimentel discloses in paragraph 0014 and FIGS. 1-2, a water filtering system and more specifically, a reverse osmosis filtering system generally designated as reference number 10, includes at least one treatment tank 12 having at least one filter, preferably a reverse osmosis membrane 14 for removing impurities, such as dissolved solids, from feed water. The treatment tank 12 includes at least one incoming port or inlet 16 and at least one outgoing port or outlet 18. It should be appreciated that the treatment tank 12 may be a bladder tank, an atmospheric tank or any suitable tank. The filtering system 10 also does not have to include a treatment tank where the filter is installed directly in the inlet, the outlet, between the inlet and the outlet or in any other suitable part of the system. In the illustrated embodiment, incoming water or feed water is transferred to the treatment tank 12 via the inlet 16. Inside the treatment tank 12, a reverse osmosis filtering process is used to remove a portion of the feed water, i.e., retenate such as larger solids and other impurities in the water, and pass the remaining portion of the feed water, i.e., permeate, through the reverse osmosis filter. Specifically, the pressure inside the treatment tank 12 on the inlet side of the filter is increased to a level that is greater than the osmotic pressure in the tank to force the feed water through the filter and to the portion of the tank at the outlet side of the filter. It should be appreciated that one filter 14 (FIG. 1) or a plurality of filters 14 a, 14 b (FIG. 2) may be installed in the treatment tank 12 to filter the feed water. The retenate is removed from the treatment tank 12 via a drain 19.
Pimentel discloses in paragraph 0016, to help control the TDS concentration levels in the water, the present reverse osmosis filtering system 10 includes a controller 20 that automatically monitors TDS concentration levels at various points in the system, and a bypass or bypass line 21 including an automated, modulated bypass valve or bleed valve 22 connected to the outlet 18 of the treatment tank 12 to re-direct filtered or product water through the bypass line from the outlet 18 to the inlet 16 based on the measured TDS concentration levels communicated to the controller. It should be appreciated that the bypass valve 22 may be a hydraulic valve or any suitable valve. Additionally, it is contemplated that the present reverse osmosis filtering system 10 may include one or a plurality of bypasses 21 and/or bypass valves 22 for moving the treated product water from the outlet 18 to the inlet 16.
Pimentel discloses in paragraph 0017, a pump 24 is connected to the bypass line 21 and is turned “on” or activated by the controller 20 when the bypass valve 22 is opened to pump the product water from the outlet 18, through the bypass line 21 and to the inlet 16. It should be appreciated the bypass may include one or more pumps 24, and that the pump may be a hydraulic pump or any suitable pump. It is contemplated that modulation logic programmed into the controller can utilize the operation of the pump 24, i.e., when the pump is “on” or running, to control the mixing ratio of the feed water to the product water at the inlet 16. The data on the operation of the pump 24 can also be used to determine the integrity of the filter or filters in the filtering system. For example, an increase in the operation of the pump 24 indicates that degradation and/or scaling of the filter or filters in the system are occurring.
Pimentel discloses in paragraph 0019, the controller 20 and modulated bypass valve 22 of the present reverse osmosis filtering system 10 overcomes the above problems. As shown in FIG. 1, the controller 20 includes a plurality of measurement devices such as probes 26 connected to different monitoring points in the filtering system 10 where the probes automatically measure the concentration levels of TDS in the water at the monitoring points. Specifically in the illustrated embodiment, probes 26 are installed or mounted at the water inlet 16, the treatment tank 12, the outlet 18, the bypass valve 22 and the pump 24. It should be appreciated that the present filter system 10 may have one measurement device or probe 26 or any suitable number of probes installed in the filtering system and in communication with the controller 20. Based on the TDS concentration levels measured by the probe or probes 26 at one or more of the monitoring points, the controller 20 sends a signal to the bypass valve 22 to turn “on” or “off” resulting in the valve moving to a fully open position, a fully closed position or a partially open position, i.e., a position between the open position and the closed position, depending on the mixing ratio of the product water to the filtered water required at the inlet 16 to produce the desired TDS concentration level at the outlet 18.
Pimentel discloses in paragraph 0025, in a further embodiment, one or a plurality of flow meters 34 are connected to at least one of the following: the inlet 16, the bypass line 21 and the outlet 18, for determining the flow rate of the water at one or more of these locations and adjusting the flow rate as needed to control the mixing ratio of the feed water and the product water at the inlet 16 to achieve designated TDS concentration levels in the product water. The flow meters 34 may be any suitable flow meters used to measure fluid flow.
It is to be noted, Pimentel fails to further disclose sensors, water leak detection and multi-filter unit.
However, it is known in the art for a water treatment system comprising a pump to comprise sensors, water leak detection and multi-filter unit, as taught by Newenhizen.
Newenhizen discloses in the abstract, a fluid treatment system includes at least one flow-through tank, a treatment device configured for treating at least one of an untreated fluid and a treated fluid and providing the treated fluid to the at least one flow-through tank and at least one sensing device configured for sensing the quality of fluid in the at least one flow-through tank.
Newenhizen further discloses in paragraph 0022, a water quality sensor 24 at least partially positioned within or associated to be in fluid communication with the tank 12 determines whether the quality of the water 18 in the flow-through tank 12 is below a predetermined water quality threshold, and provides a signal to a control panel 26. The control panel 26 operates, among other things, the side-stream treatment device 16 and reactivates the device, causing treatment of the water 18 in the tank 12 until a selected water quality level is again detected by the sensor 24. It is anticipated that a water quality sensor or sensors could be used at multiple locations in the tank 12 or the water system 10 to signal information to the control panel 26.
Newenhizen discloses in paragraph 0026 and FIG. 2 illustrates a treatment device 16 that is an exemplary reverse osmosis (RO) system, generally designated as 46, which is operable with the present flow-through tank 12 of FIG. 1. When the water quality sensor 24 (see FIG. 1) measures the water quality level below a predetermined water quality threshold, then the water 18 is fed through the line 38 to the RO system 46. The water 18 then passes through an open inlet solenoid valve 48 which is controlled by the control panel 26. Optionally, a prefilter 50 can be included to protect the RO system 46 from any contaminant particles that may be present in the water 18. The water 18 next enters a pressure vessel 52 having an internal RO membrane 54 (shown hidden). The water 18 is passed through the membrane 54 and separated into a high quality product water, and a low quality concentrated water supply that passes through a line 56 that feeds into a drain 58.
Newenhizen discloses in paragraph 0027, a line 60 feeds low TDS product water (i.e., higher quality water) to a pressure pump 62 which is controlled by the control panel 26. Although a pump to create a pressure differential in a RO system is typically employed on a feed side of the membrane 54, it is preferred to position the present pump 62 so that low TDS product water is pumped after passing through the membrane 54. Such positioning of the pump 62 is advantageous because a smaller pump may be used. In addition, the pump 62 provides a reliable pressure boost for the low TDS product water passing through the line 40 to return the water to the flow-through tank 12.
Newenhizen discloses in paragraph 0028, pressurized product water from the pump 62 passes through a line 64 to a check valve 66 and then through a line 68 and into a three-way solenoid valve 70 that is also controlled by the control panel 26. Low TDS product water is then either directed to the drain 58 via a line 72 or flows through the solenoid valve 70 and the line 40 and is returned to the flow-through tank 12. The control panel 26 of FIG. 1, upon receiving a turn-on signal from the sensor 24, energizes the solenoid valves 48 and 70 and the pump 62 to turn on the RO system 46 and generate the low TDS product water. When the sensor 24 determines that the water quality level is at or above the predetermined threshold, the control panel 26 no longer receives the turn-on signal and causes the solenoid valves 48 and 70, and the pump 62, to be de-energized. Consequently, the treating of the water 18 is discontinued and the outlet three-way solenoid valve 70 opens to the drain 58, which relieves any backpressure on the RO membrane 54. It is contemplated that the valving and arrangement of conduits may vary to suit the application provided the basic flow patterns described above are maintained.
Newenhizen discloses in paragraph 0038, it can be seen that valves 215 and 216 operate together in a switching type of mode. That is, when the valve 215 places the tank 204 in the service position; the valve 216 places the opposite tank, 202, in the refill-with-treated-water position. Valves 212 and 214 only operate when the treatment device 16 is working to refill each respective tank. After the control panel 26 receives the low quality signal from the sensor 210, it reverses the valves 215 and 216 to place the tank 204 in the service position and the tank 202 in the refill position.
Newenhizen, the control panel 26 turns on the treatment device 16. The treatment device 16 will then continue to run, receiving inlet water from the line 206 and monitoring quality at the sensor 218 as the water being pushed out of the tank 202 is sent to drain at 222 through the activated valve 212. Once the control panel 26 has determined that the water quality at the sensor 218 has reached the desired level, it will turn off the treatment device 16 and the valve 212. Flow into the tank 202, now filled with treated water, will cease and the tank will remain in this stand-by position until the quality of water being delivered by the tank 204 and monitored by a sensor 224, also part of the selection mechanism, is determined to be below the desired level. At that time, the tanks 202 and 204 will reverse modes as described above, and the tank 202 will begin delivering service water and the tank 204 will go into the refill mode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the detection and sensor system of Newenhizen to the water treatment system of Pimentel. The motivation to do so is to use a detection and sensor system to monitor levels, pressure and quality.
It is to be noted, Pimentel modified by Newenhizen discloses the claimed water treatment system but fails to further disclose the water treatment system in an enclosure.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to enclose the water treatment system as a design choice, as taught by Tally.
Tally discloses in the abstract, a water treatment system which may include at least one reverse osmosis cartridge, at least one filtration cartridge, at least one pump and an enclosure.
Tally discloses in paragraph 0058, components or assemblies of a water treatment system are located within, are enclosed by, or are incorporated into an enclosure. The enclosure provides protection for system components from environmental stress, such as water or particulate matter. For example, enclosures may provide protection for electronics to at least the IP54 standard as defined by the International Electrochemical Commission. The enclosure is formed from materials that are resistant to a range of environmental conditions and to physical stresses. In preferred examples, the enclosure is formed largely from a plastic material. In particularly preferred examples, the enclosure is formed from high density polyethylene. The plastic may have been treated to stabilize the material from ultraviolet radiation. In some examples, other materials may be incorporated into the enclosure for particular situations, including other plastics or metals.
Tally discloses in paragraph 0064, water treatment systems may include components for monitoring the status of the system. For example, systems may include at least one sensor, at least one gauge, at least one valve, or other similar devices.
Tally discloses in paragraph 0059, one or more components or assemblies may be external to the disclosure but connected to the enclosure. For example, external assemblies or components may be electrically connected to the enclosure, may be fluidly connected to the enclosure, may be mechanically connected to the enclosure or some combination of these arrangements. For example, water may be flowed through one or more filtration cartridges or through one or more pumps before flowing to an enclosure, the enclosure having a water treatment system.
Tally discloses in paragraph 0075, sensors that monitor water quality or water characteristics may be present, such as a sensor 208 that monitors total dissolved solids (TDS). Pressure gauge 207 may be present. A system may include a meter to measure flow rate 210 at this point. In this example, feed water passes from the one or more filtration cartridges to a pump 214. A check valve 212 may be present between the filter cartridges 204,206 and pump 214. In this example, the check valve 212 is a one-way check valve where the check valve prevents the flow of water from the one or more pumps back towards the filter cartridges 204,206. In other examples, water may flow to two or more pumps. In examples where there are two or pumps, the pumps may be placed in parallel or in series or some combination of in parallel and in series.
Tally discloses in paragraph 0076, a pressure sensor and flow meter 218, 220 may be positioned adjacent to and fluidly connected to the pump, thereby measuring the pressure and flow rates in the pump. In this example, the pump 214 flows water to two reverse osmosis cartridges 222,224 which are placed in parallel. In other examples, systems may have one reverse osmosis cartridge, or have more than two reverse osmosis cartridges. In other examples, the reverse osmosis cartridges may be in series or the cartridges may in a combination of in series and in parallel.
Tally discloses in paragraph 0091, the enclosure may include one or more observation windows 326 through which particular enclosed assemblies or components may be observed. Each component of an enclosure includes an external surface and an internal surface. In this example, internal surfaces of the enclosure may include modifications to facilitate the insertion, mounting or assembly of components, including assemblies of the water treatment system. For example, the internal surfaces may have slots or depressions (318,319,320,321,323) into which assemblies may be placed or mounted. The internal surfaces may have supports or shelves (for example, 322,330) upon which assemblies may be mounted onto or which may support the assemblies. Enclosures may include one or more vents 327. Water connections 331 using an inlet/outlet assembly are shown.
Through the teachings of Tally, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art as a design choice to use an enclosure as a housing for the various components of a water treatment system. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to add the enclosure of Tally to the water treatment system of Pimentel due to an enclosure provides protection and resistant to a range of environmental conditions and physical stresses.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments directed to the newly submitted claimed amendments, filed June 26, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under Pimentel et al. (US 2014/0262989) hereinafter “Pimentel” in view of Newenhizen (US 2005/0109703) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Pimentel et al. (US 2014/0262989) hereinafter “Pimentel” in view of Newenhizen (US 2005/0109703) and Tally et al. (WO 2020/251959 A1) hereinafter cited under US 2022/0250959 “Tally”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang (US 2016/0060135) discloses in the abstract, a RO water purification system includes a RO pressure pump, a motor and a microprocessor control unit and a method thereof includes: providing the motor in the RO pressure pump; utilizing the microprocessor control unit to control the motor and to measure at least one motor operation data; utilizing the motor operation data to calculate inflow water pressure data and outflow water pressure data; utilizing the inflow water pressure data and outflow water pressure data to adjust the operation of the motor for enhancing the efficiency of systematic operation.
Hank (US 2009/0218285) discloses in the abstract, a control device for a filtration unit for filtering a fluid, the control device comprising an integrity test unit for performing an integrity test for checking the functional integrity of the filtration unit, and a reaction unit for determining a reaction based on a result of the integrity test.
/Latosha Hines/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771