DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-14, in the reply filed on 09/08/2025 is acknowledged. Thus, claims 1-14 are pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 10/25/2023 and 11/20/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Prabhu et al. (U.S Publication No. 20200186947 A1) in view of Dushyantt Garg et al. ("Multi band compact bow-tie slot antenna for WLAN applications,” IEEE, 21 May 2012 (2012-05-21), pages 597-600).
Regarding claim 1, Prabhu discloses an antenna for a hearing instrument (which is an ear-worn electronic hearing device, see fig. 1-10), the antenna comprising:
a first antenna portion (402a or 602a) comprising a first body (410a), (see fig. 4 and 6, paragraph [0038], and [0046]), wherein the first antenna portion (402a) further comprises at least one of:
a first set of two or more anterior arms (which is a plurality of cutouts 414a in a group of cutouts G1 or G5, see fig. 4, paragraph [0041]) extending in an anterior direction from the first body (410a),
a first set of two or more posterior arms (which is a plurality of cutouts 414a in a group of cutouts G2 or G3, see fig. 4, paragraph [0041]) extending in a posterior direction from the first body (410a);
a second antenna portion (402b or 602b) comprising a second body (410b), (see fig. 4 and 6, paragraph [0038] and [0046]), wherein the second antenna portion (402b) further comprises at least one of:
a second set of two or more anterior arms (which is a plurality of cutouts 414b in a group of cutouts G6 or G8, see fig. 4, paragraph [0041]) extending in the anterior direction from the second body (410b),
a second set of two or more posterior arms (which is a plurality of cutouts 414b in a group of cutouts G4 or G7, see fig. 4, paragraph [0041]) extending in the posterior direction from the second body (410b);
a first feed line (406a) extending from an edge of the first antenna portion (402a), (see fig. 4, paragraph [0038]; and
a second feed line (406b) extending from an edge of the second antenna portion (402b), (see fig. 4, paragraph [0038]).
Prabhu does not explicitly disclose each arm of the first set of anterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the first antenna portion, or each arm of the first set of posterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the first antenna portion; and each arm of the second set of anterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the second antenna portion, or each arm of the second set of posterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the second antenna portion.
Prabhu further discloses the antenna 400 has a physical size, which can be defined by length (L), height (H), and width (W) dimensions. As was discussed previously, the physical size of the antenna 400 is limited by the available space within the enclosure of a particular ear-worn electronic hearing device (see paragraph [0042]). However, it can be safely assumed, that each cutout within the groups G1 or G5 has a depth which is at least 10% of the minimal distance between the upper border and the lower border of the first body 410a, or each cutout within the groups G2 or G3 has a depth which is at least 10% of the minimal distance between the upper border and the lower border of the first body 410a; and each cutout within the groups G6 or G8 has a depth which is at least 10% of the minimal distance between the upper border and the lower border of the first body 410b, or each cutout within the groups G4 or G7 has a depth which is at least 10% of the minimal distance between the upper border and the lower border of the first body 410b (see fig. 4 and 7A-7C).
Dushyantt Garg, on the other hand, discloses a multi-band bowtie slot antenna for wireless applications is designed. The slot antenna is selected to obtain an omnidirectional radiation pattern so that the antenna can be used as a part of a MIMO system for wireless applications. In this research, numbers of slits are introduced on each arm of the bowtie antenna, leading to multiple resonances which, by modifying the location and size of the slit. Starting with the simple bowtie antenna, numbers of slits were introduced on each arm of the bowtie (see fig. 4, 6 and 9, introduction section, col. 2, third and fourth paragraph, page 597). Starting with the simple bowtie antenna, numbers of slits were introduced on each arm of the bowtie. The size of the antenna determines the lowest of the three resonant frequencies, whereas the size and location of the slits decide the two other resonant frequencies. Several designs for the bowtie slot antenna for dual, triple and multi band operations have been considered (see fig. 1-3, discussion section, col. 1, first paragraph, page 600). Dushyantt Garg discloses a first antenna portion (left triangular arm) comprising a first body (central strip of the left arm), wherein the first antenna portion further comprises at least one of: a first set of two or more anterior arms (three upper fingers) extending in an anterior direction from the first body, each arm of the first set of anterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the first antenna portion, or a first set of two or more posterior arms (three lower fingers) extending in a posterior direction from the first body, each arm of the first set of posterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the first antenna portion; a second antenna portion (right triangular arm) comprising a second body (central strip of the left arm), wherein the second antenna portion further comprises at least one of: a second set of two or more anterior arms (three upper fingers) extending in the anterior direction from the second body, each arm of the second set of anterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the second antenna portion, or a second set of two or more posterior arms (three lower fingers) extending in the posterior direction from the second body. each arm of the second set of posterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the second antenna portion (see fig. 4, 6 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention was made to modify the antenna as taught by Prabhu with the antenna as taught by Dushyantt Garg having each arm of the first set of anterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the first antenna portion, or each arm of the first set of posterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the first antenna portion; and each arm of the second set of anterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the second antenna portion, or each arm of the second set of posterior arms having a physical length at least 10% of a total physical length of the second antenna portion as claimed in which numbers of slits are introduced on each arm of the bowtie antenna, leading to multiple resonances which, by modifying the location and size of the slits; and which is also considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 2, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein the first antenna portion is proximate a medial side of the hearing instrument and the second antenna portion is proximate a lateral side of the hearing instrument (see fig. 3 and 4, paragraph [0033] and [0041] by Prabhu).
Regarding claim 3, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein, for at least one arm of the first set of anterior arms, the first set of posterior arms, the second set of anterior arms, or the second set of posterior arms: a distal end of the arm is subdivided into a plurality of sub-arms (see fig. 4 and 7A-7C by Prabhu).
Regarding claim 4, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein the hearing instrument is a behind-the-ear hearing instrument or a receiver-in-canal hearing instrument (see paragraph [0026] by Prabhu).
Regarding claim 5, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein each arm of the first set of anterior arms, the first set of posterior arms, the second set of anterior arms, and/or the second set of posterior arms has the same width through their entire physical lengths excepting proximal and distal ends of the arm (see fig. 4 by Prabhu).
Regarding claim 6, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein spaces between the first set of anterior arms, spaces between the first set of posterior arms, spaces between the second set of anterior arms (see fig. 4 by Prabhu).
Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg does not explicitly disclose spaces between the second set of posterior arms each have physical lengths at least 10% of the total physical lengths of the first and second antenna portions.
However, it can be safely assumed, that each cutout within the groups G1 or G5 has a depth which is at least 10% of the minimal distance between the upper border and the lower border of the first body 410a, or each cutout within the groups G2 or G3 has a depth which is at least 10% of the minimal distance between the upper border and the lower border of the first body 410a; and each cutout within the groups G6 or G8 has a depth which is at least 10% of the minimal distance between the upper border and the lower border of the first body 410b, or each cutout within the groups G4 or G7 has a depth which is at least 10% of the minimal distance between the upper border and the lower border of the first body 410b.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna as taught by Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg having spaces between the second set of posterior arms each have physical lengths at least 10% of the total physical lengths of the first and second antenna portions, which is also considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claims 7-9, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 6, wherein the first antenna portion comprises the first set of anterior arms and the first set of posterior arms, and a combined width of the first set of anterior arms and the spaces between the first set of anterior arms is equal to a combined width of the first set of posterior arms and the spaces between the first set of posterior arms; wherein the first antenna portion comprises the first set of anterior arms and the first set of posterior arms, the second antenna portion comprises the second set of anterior arms and the second set of posterior arms, and there are the same number of arms in the first set of anterior arms and the first set of posterior arms, and there are the same number of arms in the second set of anterior arms and the second set of posterior arms; wherein the first antenna portion comprises the first set of anterior arms and the first set of posterior arms, the second antenna portion comprises the second set of anterior arms and the second set of posterior arms, and each of the first set of anterior arms, the first set of posterior arms, the second set of anterior arms, and the second set of posterior arms consists of three arms (see fig. 4, paragraph [0041] by Prabhu, which is the antenna portion 402a comprises both anterior arms G1 or G5 and posterior arms G2 or G3, and the antenna portion 402b comprises both anterior arms G6 or G8 and posterior arms G4 or G7; and the number of cutouts 414a and 414b can be the same or different).
Regarding claim 10, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein each of the first set of anterior arms, the first set of posterior arms, the second set of anterior arms, and/or the second set of posterior arms is arc shaped (see fig. 4 and 7, paragraph [0043], [0047] and [0074] by Prabhu).
Regarding claim 11, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 10, wherein: the first antenna portion comprises the first set of anterior arms and the first set of posterior arms, the first set of anterior arms includes a superior-anterior arm, a middle-anterior arm, and an inferior-anterior arm, the first set of posterior arms includes a superior-posterior arm, a middle-posterior arm, and an inferior-posterior arm, a curved line defined by a superior edge of the superior-anterior arm is continuous with a curved line defined by a superior edge of the superior-posterior arm, a curved line defined by an inferior edge of the superior-anterior arm is continuous with a curved line defined by an inferior edge of the superior-posterior arm, a curved line defined by a superior edge of the middle-anterior arm is continuous with a curved line defined by a superior edge of the middle-posterior arm, and a curved line defined by an inferior edge of the inferior-anterior arm is continuous with a curved line defined by an inferior edge of the inferior-posterior arm fig. 4 and 7, paragraph [0043], [0047] and [0074] by Prabhu).
Regarding claim 12, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein: the first antenna portion comprises the first set of anterior arms and the first set of posterior arms, the first set of anterior arms includes a superior-anterior arm, a middle-anterior arm, and an inferior-anterior arm, the first set of posterior arms includes a superior-posterior arm, a middle-posterior arm (see fig. 4 by Prabhu).
Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg does not explicitly disclose an inferior-posterior arm, a width of the superior-anterior arm is approximately 0.039 inches, a width of the middle-anterior arm is approximately 0.032 inches, a width of the inferior-anterior arm is approximately 0.048 inches, a width of the superior-posterior arm is approximately 0.039 inches, a width of the middle-posterior arm is approximately 0.040 inches, and a width of the inferior-posterior arm is approximately 0.039 inches.
However, Prabhu further discloses the antenna 400 has a physical size, which can be defined by length (L), height (H), and width (W) dimensions. As was discussed previously, the physical size of the antenna 400 is limited by the available space within the enclosure of a particular ear-worn electronic hearing device (see fig. 4, paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna as taught by Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg having an inferior-posterior arm, a width of the superior-anterior arm is approximately 0.039 inches, a width of the middle-anterior arm is approximately 0.032 inches, a width of the inferior-anterior arm is approximately 0.048 inches, a width of the superior-posterior arm is approximately 0.039 inches, a width of the middle-posterior arm is approximately 0.040 inches, and a width of the inferior-posterior arm is approximately 0.039 inches, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 13, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg antenna of claim 1, wherein: the first set of anterior arms includes a superior-anterior arm, a middle-anterior arm, and an inferior-anterior arm, the first set of posterior arms includes a superior-posterior arm, a middle-posterior arm, and an inferior-posterior arm (see fig. 4 by Prabhu).
Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg does not explicitly disclose a total physical length of the antenna is 0.764 inches, a space between the superior-anterior arm and the middle-anterior arm has a physical length of approximately 0.406 inches, a space between the middle-anterior arm and the inferior-anterior arm has a physical length of approximately 0.331 inches as measured from a distal-most point of the inferior-anterior arm to the first body, a space between the superior-posterior arm and the middle-posterior arm has a physical length of approximately 0.274 inches, and a space between the middle-posterior arm and the inferior-posterior arm has a physical length of approximately 0.238 inches as measured from a distal-most point of the inferior-posterior arm to the first body.
However, Prabhu further discloses the antenna 400 has a physical size, which can be defined by length (L), height (H), and width (W) dimensions. As was discussed previously, the physical size of the antenna 400 is limited by the available space within the enclosure of a particular ear-worn electronic hearing device (see fig. 4, paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to modify the antenna as taught by Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg having a total physical length of the antenna is 0.764 inches, a space between the superior-anterior arm and the middle-anterior arm has a physical length of approximately 0.406 inches, a space between the middle-anterior arm and the inferior-anterior arm has a physical length of approximately 0.331 inches as measured from a distal-most point of the inferior-anterior arm to the first body, a space between the superior-posterior arm and the middle-posterior arm has a physical length of approximately 0.274 inches, and a space between the middle-posterior arm and the inferior-posterior arm has a physical length of approximately 0.238 inches as measured from a distal-most point of the inferior-posterior arm to the first body, which is considered as an obvious matter of design choice based upon an actual design requirement so that the various designs of circuit may be satisfied.
Regarding claim 14, Prabhu in view of Dushyantt Garg discloses the antenna of claim 1, wherein: the antenna further comprises a strap member (404) that connects inferior edges of the first antenna portion (402a) and the second antenna portion (402b), the first feed line (406a) extends from a superior edge of the first antenna portion (402a), and the second feed line (406b) extends from a superior edge of the second antenna portion (402b), (see fig. 4, paragraph [0038] and [0039] by Prabhu).
Conclusion
/Thai Pham/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844 12/11/2025