CTNF 18/355,248 CTNF 82789 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant's election with traverse of Group I and Species A & 1, corresponding to claims 1-7 and 11-18 in the reply filed on December 3 rd , 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the classifications of the inventions of Groups I & II are similar, the Species A & B are similar, and Species 1 & 2 are similar, so that a single search can cover all inventions and species without placing a serious burden on the examiner. This is not found persuasive because, as noted in the restriction requirement filed on October 21 st , 2025, the inventions of Groups I & II are separately classified in distinctly different CPC Sections (F24F 11/65 vs. A61L 9/22); and the species between Species A & B (control and switch assembly vs. first and second power supplies) as well as 1 & 2 (first input terminal of the positive electrode coupled to the power supply vs. first input terminal of the positive electrode being coupled to a first terminal of the switch assembly) are directed to distinctly different embodiments of the claimed invention. As such, due to their different classifications and distinctly different embodiments, the prior art applicable to one Group or Species may not be applicable to the other. Therefore, a serious search burden would exist if the restriction were not required. As such, the requirement is still deemed proper and is made FINAL. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation 07-30-05 The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Furuhashi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0233660) . Furuhashi discloses an air conditioner indoor unit (Figures 1, 17 and 18), an operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit including a first purification mode and a second purification mode (Figures 15 & 19), and the air conditioner indoor unit comprising: A power supply device (106/201): A control device (numeral 150; paragraphs 18, 27 and 101); A negative electrode discharge device coupled to the power supply device (paragraphs 103-108) and configured to discharge in the first purification mode (prediction purification mode and/or clean mode) or the second purification mode (ion control mode) to ionize air to generate air negative ions (Figures 15 & 19); and A positive electrode discharge device coupled to the power supply device (106/201) and configured to discharge in the first purification mode (prediction purification mode and/or clean mode) to ionize air to generate air positive ions (S06 and S07 in Figure 19); The air positive ions cooperating with the air negative ions generated by the negative electrode discharge device to perform disinfection and sterilization (paragraphs 7-21, 154 and 155); wherein The control device is configured to: Determine the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit according to first information (paragraphs 151-153); Control the power supply device to supply power to the negative electrode discharge device and the positive electrode discharge device in a case where the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit is the first purification mode (paragraphs 110-114); and Control the power supply device to supply power to the negative electrode discharge device and stop supplying power to the positive electrode discharge device in a case where the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit is the second purification mode (paragraphs 123 and 124); wherein The first information includes of least one of a purification mode trigger instruction, environment information, or operating duration information (paragraphs 151-162 & 189-198). Concerning claim 2, Furuhashi continues to disclose that the control device includes a sensing assembly (151-154) configured to collect the environment information; and The control device is further configured to determine the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit according io the environment information collected by the sensing assembly (paragraphs 151-162 & 189-198) as shown in Figures 6, 15 and 19. Regarding claim 3, the reference further discloses that the environment information includes temperature information, and the control device (150) is configured to determine that the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit is the first or second purification mode in a case where the temperature information collected by the sensing assembly (151-154) reaches a corresponding preset threshold (paragraphs 157-162). With respect to claim 4, Furuhashi also discloses that the control device includes a control assembly and a switch assembly (203/208), and the control assembly is coupled to a control terminal (203a/208a) of the switch assembly (203/208); the control assembly is configured to: control the switch assembly (203/208) to be turned on in a case where the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit is the first purification mode (paragraphs 109-115): and control the switch assembly (203/208) to be turned off in a case where the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit is the second purification mode (paragraphs 123 & 124). See also paragraphs 126-129 and 137-145. Concerning claim 7, Furuhashi further discloses that the control assembly is configured to determine whether the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit is the first purification mode or the second purification mode according to the purification mode trigger instruction (paragraph 151). Regarding claim 16, the reference also discloses that the unit comprises an air outlet (105); Wherein the negative discharge device includes a negative discharge electrode, and the positive electrode discharge device includes a positive discharge electrode (paragraphs 103-106); and Wherein the negative and positive discharge electrodes are disposed at the air outlet (105) and coupled to the control device (paragraphs 77, 78 and 101) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuhashi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0233660) in view of Chunduri et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0119625) . Furuhashi is relied upon as set forth above. Furuhashi does not appear to disclose that the unit includes a human body detection device and an electric control assembly. Chunduri discloses an air conditioner indoor unit a positive and negative electrode discharge device (paragraph 28), a power supply (paragraph 21), and an electronic control assembly that is configured to run operational modes of the unit (paragraphs 126, 132, 136 and 137). The reference continues to disclose that the electronic control assembly is coupled to the power source, and control the power supply device to be turned on in response to a human body detection device detecting that there are no people in the environment space, so that the unit operates in the operational mode; and control the power supply device to be turned off in response to the human body detection device detecting that there are people in the environment space, so that the unit pauses or stops operating in the operational mode in order to prevent exposing a person to purifying agents that may be harmful to said person (paragraphs 29 & 158). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a human detection device and electronic control assembly coupled to the power supply in Furuhashi, in which the electronic control assembly controls the power supply device to be turned on in response to the human body detection device detecting that there are no people in the environment space, so that the unit operates in the first or second purification mode; and controls the power supply device to be turned off in response to the human body detection device detecting that there are people in the environment space, so that the unit pauses or stops operating in the first or second purification mode in order to prevent exposing a person to purifying agents that may be harmful to said person as exemplified by Chunduri. Thus, claim 12 is not patentable over Furuhashi in view of Chunduri. Regarding claim 13, Furuhashi continues to disclose that the operation mode of the air conditioner indoor unit further includes a heating mode (paragraphs 43 and 180); and the air conditioner indoor unit is configured to operate in the heating mode when the air conditioner indoor unit operates in the first purification mode or the second purification mode, and a heating temperature is any value in a range from 24°C to 30°C, inclusive (paragraphs 43 and 180-183) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 14 & 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuhashi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0233660) in view of Chunduri et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0119625) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Takeda et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2004/0007000) . Furuhashi is relied upon as set forth above. Furuhashi continues to disclose: An air outlet guide plate (105), and an indoor fan (paragraphs 77 & 78); The indoor fan being coupled to the electric control assembly (paragraph 92); Wherein in a case where the air conditioner indoor unit operates in the first purification mode or the second purification mode, the air outlet guide plate is in a fully open state (Figures 1 & 18), and a temperature of the indoor unit is less than or equal to a predetermined temperature (Figures 15 & 19), the electric control assembly is further configured to control the indoor fan to operate at a first wind speed for a first predetermined time (paragraphs 83, 92 and 163-166; Figure 16). Furuhashi does not appear to disclose an indoor heat exchanger, wherein the indoor heat exchanger and the air outlet guide plate are coupled to the electric control assembly. Takeda discloses an air conditioner indoor unit that includes a power supply (paragraph 51), an electric control assembly (paragraphs 26-30), a fan (126), an ion generating source (20), and an air outlet guide plate (127/128). The reference continues to disclose that the unit includes an indoor heat exchanger (125), wherein the indoor heat exchanger and the air outlet guide plate are coupled to the electric control assembly in order to prep the air flowing therethrough to a desired temperature, and guide said air in the desired direction from the unit (paragraphs 43-45, 53, 241-257 and 417). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the unit of Furuhashi with an indoor heat exchanger, wherein the indoor heat exchanger and the air outlet guide plate are coupled to the electric control assembly in order to prep the air flowing therethrough to a desired temperature, and guide said air in the desired direction from the unit as exemplified by Takeda. As such, claim 14 is not patentable over Furuhashi in view of Chunduri and Takeda (herein referred to as modified Furuhashi). With respect to claim 15, modified Furuhashi also discloses that the electric control assembly is further configured to control the indoor fan to operate at a second wind speed in a case where the air conditioner indoor unit operates in the first purification mode or the second purification mode (paragraphs 165-168), the air outlet guide plate (105) is in the fully open state (Figures 1 & 18), and the temperature of the indoor heat exchanger is greater than the predetermined temperature (Figure 19), the second wind speed being greater than the first wind speed (Figure 16). Thus, claim 15 in not patentable over Furuhashi in view of Chunduri and Takeda as well . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuhashi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2006/0233660) in view of Takeda et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2004/0007000) . Furuhashi is relied upon as set forth above. Furuhashi does not appear to disclose an air outdoor unit connected with the air indoor unit. Takeda is relied upon as set forth above as well. Takeda continues to disclose an air outdoor unit (140) connected with the air indoor unit in order to allow the indoor unit to condition the air appropriately and heat or cool a cooling medium for said indoor unit (paragraphs 246, 250 and 251). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to connect the indoor unit of Furuhashi with an outdoor unit in order to allow the indoor unit to condition the air appropriately and heat or cool a cooling medium for said indoor unit as exemplified by Takeda. Therefore, claim 18 is not patentable over Furuhashi in view of Takeda . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 5, 6, 11 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KEVIN C JOYNER whose telephone number is (571)272-2709. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 8:00AM-4:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, MICHAEL MARCHESCHI can be reached at (571) 272-1374. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KEVIN JOYNER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 2 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 3 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 4 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 5 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 6 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 7 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 8 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 9 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 10 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 11 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 12 Art Unit: 1799 Application/Control Number: 18/355,248 Page 13 Art Unit: 1799