DETAILED ACTION
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
An inkjet ink comprising:
an aqueous medium; and pigment particles dispersed in the aqueous medium, wherein
the pigment particles contain a pigment and a specific resin,
the specific resin includes an acid group and a first repeating unit derived from a specific monomer, and has a crosslinking structure derived from a carbodiimide crosslinking agent,
the specific resin has a neutralization rate of at least 20% and no greater than 50%,
the first repeating unit has a percentage content in the specific resin of at least 1.0% by mass and no greater than 20.0% by mass, and
the specific monomer has a morpholine structure or a pyrrolidone structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aotani et al. (JP 2019038890 as listed on IDS dated ) in view of Lee et al. (US 20110046295).
The examiner will refer to the English translation of Aotani et al. (JP 2019038890) provided by the Applicant.
Regarding claim 1 and 2, Aotani et al. teach in Example 7 a colorant dispersion formed from mixing water, colorant particles, resin particles P-3 comprising acrylic acid monomers, and a carbodiimide crosslinking agent ([0089-0090], Table 3, machine translation provided below), thereby reading on an aqueous medium, pigment particles, and a resin including an acid group and a crosslinking structure as recited in the instant claim.
Aotani et al. is silent on if the resin P-3 has a neutralization rate as recited in the instant claim.
However, Aotani et al. teach the degree of neutralization is of the resin is preferably from 10 to 100 mol% [0054], thereby overlapping the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the volumed median particle size as taught by Aotani et al.
Aotani et al. is silent on the resin particles comprising a specific monomer as recited in instant claims 1 and 2.
Lee et al. teach a colorant dispersion comprising a colorant and a polymer resin obtained by polymerizing a composition comprising a basic monomer, a macromonomer, and a polymerizable unsaturated monomer (claim 1). Lee et al. teach the basic monomer includes N-vinyl pyrrolidone [0043], thereby reading on the specific monomer of instant claim 1 and 2. Lee et al. further teach the basic monomer is present in an amount of about 1 to about 80 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the polymerizable unsaturated monomer and the amount of macromonomer is about 1 to about 100 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the polymerizable unsaturated monomer (claims 8 and 9). Therefore, the equivalent amount of the first repeating unit is calculated to be 0.5% to 45% by mass based on the specific resin taught by Lee et al. and thereby overlapping with the claimed range of at least 1.0% by mass and no greater than 20.0% by mass.
Lee et al. offer the motivation that electrostatic interaction between the colorant and the basic monomer may occur and thereby reduces the amount of polymer resin in an aqueous solution and inhibits clogging of the colorant with a large particle size [0053]. Aotani et al. is also concerned about clogging due to the particle size [0028]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the basic monomer of Lee et al. to the resin particle of Aotani et al. with reasonable expectation that the clogging of the particles would be reduced.
Regarding claim 3, Aotani et al. teach in Example 7 the volume median particle size is 35 µm, thereby lying outside the claimed range.
However, Aotani et al. teach the volume median size of the resin particle is 20 to 100 nm (claim 3), thereby overlapping the claimed range of 80 nm to 130 nm. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select the volume median particle size as taught by Aotani et al.
Regarding claim 4, Aotani et al. teach the resin particle P-3 of Example 7 comprises the 20% of monomer A-3 having the structure shown in General Formula (1) shown below:
Wherein R1 = methyl, R2 = ethylene, R3 = methyl, and m = 23 (see Table 1, machine translation provided below), thereby reading on the second repeating unit derived from a monomer with a polyethylene glycol structure and lying within the claimed range.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/CATHERINE S BRANCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763