DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection arguments on pages 6-12.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with the Applicant’s argument beginning on page 6 that the system is ‘not a generic bonding apparatus, as it is specifically designed to work with a solid SEBS/TPU adhesive tape, which has a unique activation behavior’. The Applicant argues on page 7 that the system must ‘use low-temperature air’ to ‘bond stretch fabrics in curved geometries.
However, independent claims 5 and 12 do not contain any non-generic activation components to account for the unique activation behavior.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to adjust and optimize conventional activation equipment based on the material types worked upon. Heating applied by an air nozzle can be a result effective variable – to reduce heat to account for a SEBS/TPU material, one of ordinary skill in the art could: move the air nozzle further from the bonding materials, reduce the air temperature, and/or reduce heated air exposure time to the material by increasing roller speeds, etc.
The Applicant’s argument beginning on page 10 that the SEBS and plasticizer-free TPU in a solid tape is novel and non-obvious is moot, because the tape and its components as claimed are outside of the scope of patentable subject matter.
Essentially, independent claims 5 and 12 are citing: a bonding system, comprising a first roller… a second roller… and a heated air nozzle. The first roller of the system is performing an action on an adhesive tape (which comprises SEBS and TPU elements); therefore, the tape is a material worked upon and is not cited as a part of the system. The second roller of the system is performing an action on a fabric; therefore, the fabric is a material worked upon and is also not cited as a part of the system.
The claim objections from the previous office action have been corrected by amendment; the objections are withdrawn.
The amendments to claims 6-11 & 15 are acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-11 & 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long (US3075868A), in view of Alper (US20110021103A1). Claim elements are presented in italics.
5. An automatic continuous bonding system comprising: a first ‘driven’ roller for controlling which controls the speed and a tension of an adhesive tape, the adhesive tape comprising a styrene-ethylene- butylene-styrene (SEBS) block copolymer blended with 5% to 20% by weight of an aromatic polyester thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU); a second roller for a speed and a tension of a fabric; and a heated air nozzle, the heated air nozzle generating heated air to melt the adhesive tape to the fabric passing between the first and second rollers.
With respect to claim 5, the prior art of Long teaches an automatic continuous bonding system comprising: a first ‘driven’ roller (Fig. 1, item 11) for controlling which controls the speed and a tension of a polymer plastic (Fig. 1, item A; [Col. 2, lines 7-9]); a second ‘driven’ roller (Fig. 1, item 13) for a speed and a tension of a fabric (Fig. 1, item B; [Col. 2, lines 9-12]); and a heated air nozzle, the heated air nozzle (Fig. 1, item 14) generating heated air to melt the polymer plastic into an adhesive tape to the fabric passing between the first and second rollers [Col. 2, lines 12-40].
Long is silent on the polymer plastic adhesive tape comprising a styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS) block copolymer blended with 5% to 20% by weight of an aromatic polyester thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU).
However, inclusion of the material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115. It is understood by the Examiner that the cited adhesive composition type is not critical for the use of the apparatus; therefore, the composition provides no limiting elements for patentability to the apparatus claims.
However, for the sake of compact prosecution, the composition elements cited in independent claim 5 will be examined.
The prior art of Alper teaches a hot melt adhesive composition [0029] comprising a styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS) block copolymer [0030, 0038] blended with an aromatic polyester thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) [0026, 0058] at about 0% to 20% by weight [0034].
A prima facie case of obviousness exists that Alper teaches the claim 5 aromatic polyester thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) [0026, 0058] at about 0% to 20% by weight, as the Alper range overlaps the claimed range of 5% to 20% by weight. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the known hot melt adhesive composition comprising SEBS AND aromatic polyester thermoplastic polyurethane, taught by Alper, in place of the polymer plastic adhesive composition in the bonding apparatus taught by Long, to predictably obtain similar results of a substituted adhesive bonded to a fabric using the apparatus of Long, in view of Alper.
6. The automatic continuous bonding system of claim 5 wherein the styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene block copolymer comprises: a hardness range between 25 Shore A and 50 Shore A; and a melting range between 150°C and 170°C.
With respect to claim 6, Long, in view of Alper, is silent on the styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene block copolymer comprises: a hardness range between 25 Shore A and 50 Shore A; and a melting range between 150°C and 170°C. these physical and thermal properties of the material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
7. The automatic continuous bonding system of claim 5 wherein the adhesive tape further comprises a plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane hotmelt adhesive grade with a hardness range of 50 Shore A to 70 Shore A.
With respect to claim 7, Long, in view of Alper, is silent on the adhesive tape further comprises a plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane hotmelt adhesive grade with a hardness range of 50 Shore A to 70 Shore A. However, hardness is a physical property of a material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
8. The automatic continuous bonding system of claim 7 wherein the plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane hotmelt adhesive grade has a melting range of 100°C to 130°C.
With respect to claim 8, Long, in view of Alper, is silent on the plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane hotmelt adhesive grade has a melting range of 100°C to 130°C. However, melting range is a thermal property of a material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
9. The automatic continuous bonding system of claim 1 wherein the plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane hotmelt adhesive grade allows continuous bonding of three-dimensional geometries and seams with curves.
With respect to claim 9, Long, in view of Alper, does not explicitly teach the plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane hotmelt adhesive grade allows continuous bonding of three-dimensional geometries and seams with curves.
However, Long teaches the three-dimensional continuous bonded product curves along a roller after pressing and then curves the opposite direction onto a winding reel (Fig. 1, item 15); Alper teaches the substituted adhesive with general elastomeric fabrics in continuous or discrete forms, such a diaper application as an example.
Although inclusion of the material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that the modified apparatus of Long, in view of Alper, could allow continuous bonding of three-dimensional geometries and seams with curves.
10. The automatic continuous bonding system of claim 9, in which an adhesive blend grade, comprising of plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane and styrene-ethylene-styrene block copolymer, allows continuous bonding of three-dimensional geometries and seams with curves.
With respect to claim 10, Long, in view of Alper, does not explicitly teach an adhesive blend grade, comprising of plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane and styrene-ethylene-styrene block copolymer, allows continuous bonding of three-dimensional geometries and seams with curves.
However, Long teaches the three-dimensional continuous bonded product curves along a roller after pressing and then curves the opposite direction onto a winding reel (Fig. 1, item 15); Alper teaches the substituted adhesive with general elastomeric fabrics in continuous or discrete forms, such a diaper application as an example.
Although inclusion of the material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing that the modified apparatus of Long, in view of Alper, could allow continuous bonding of three-dimensional geometries and seams with curves.
11. The automatic continuous bonding system of claim 9 wherein the plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane hotmelt adhesive grade creates continuous bonding at glue line temperatures below 137°C and activation temperatures below 150°C.
With respect to claim 11, Long, in view of Alper, is silent on the plasticizer-free aromatic polyester-based polyurethane hotmelt adhesive grade creates continuous bonding at glue line temperatures below 137°C and activation temperatures below 150°C. However, bonding at glue line temperatures is a thermal property of a material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed, and does not impart patentability to the claims.
14. An automatic continuous bonding system comprising: a first roller for controlling a speed and a tension of an adhesive tape, the adhesive tape comprising a styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS) block copolymer blended with 5% to 20% by weight of an aromatic polyether thermoplastic polyurethane; a second roller for a speed and a tension of a fabric; and a heated air nozzle, the heated air nozzle generating heated air to melt the adhesive tape to the fabric passing between the first and second rollers.
With respect to claim 14, the prior art of Long teaches an automatic continuous bonding system comprising: a first ‘driven’ roller (Fig. 1, item 11) for controlling which controls the speed and a tension of a polymer plastic (Fig. 1, item A; [Col. 2, lines 7-9]); a second ‘driven’ roller (Fig. 1, item 13) for a speed and a tension of a fabric (Fig. 1, item B; [Col. 2, lines 9-12]); and a heated air nozzle, the heated air nozzle (Fig. 1, item 14) generating heated air to melt the polymer plastic into an adhesive tape to the fabric passing between the first and second rollers [Col. 2, lines 12-40].
Long is silent on the polymer plastic adhesive tape comprising a styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS) block copolymer blended with 5% to 20% by weight of an aromatic polyether thermoplastic polyurethane.
However, inclusion of the material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims. See MPEP 2115. It is understood by the Examiner that the cited adhesive composition type is not critical for the use of the apparatus; therefore, the composition provides no limiting elements for patentability to the apparatus claims.
However, for the sake of compact prosecution, the composition elements cited in independent claim 14 will be examined.
The prior art of Alper teaches a hot melt adhesive composition [0029] comprising a styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene (SEBS) block copolymer [0030, 0038] blended with an aromatic polyether thermoplastic polyurethane [0026, 0058] at about 0% to 20% by weight [0034].
A prima facie case of obviousness exists that Alper teaches the claim 14 aromatic polyether thermoplastic polyurethane [0026, 0058] at about 0% to 20% by weight, as the Alper range overlaps the claimed range of 5% to 20% by weight. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the time of filing to substitute the known hot melt adhesive composition comprising SEBS AND aromatic polyether thermoplastic polyurethane, taught by Alper, in place of the polymer plastic adhesive composition in the bonding apparatus taught by Long, to predictably obtain similar results of a substituted adhesive bonded to a fabric using the apparatus of Long, in view of Alper.
15. The automatic continuous bonding system of claim 14 wherein the styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene block copolymer comprises: a hardness range between 25 Shore A and 50 Shore A; and a melting range between 150°C and 170°C.
With respect to claim 15, Long, in view of Alper, is silent on the styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene block copolymer comprises: a hardness range between 25 Shore A and 50 Shore A; and a melting range between 150°C and 170°C. However, these physical and thermal properties of the material or article acted upon by a structure (apparatus) being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY C. GROSSO
Examiner
Art Unit 1748
/GREGORY C. GROSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 1748
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748