DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on January 16, 2026 for the application filed July 19, 2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 9, 15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shibaike et al. (EP4383887A1).
Regarding claim 1, Shibaike teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: a transceiver configured to receive a configuration about transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, the configuration including information about a SRS sequence length of
N
F
H
B
W
>1 and frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb, where:
N
F
H
B
W
is a number of an SRS bandwidth and
N
F
H
B
W
>1, nb is a frequency position index, and Nb is a value associated with a frequency-hopping pattern; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine based on the SRS sequence length and the frequency hopping parameters, a bandwidth for transmission of the SRS resource over time, wherein the transceiver is further configured to transmit, based on the determined bandwidth, the SRS resource over time (Paragraph [0178]: The processor 1001 controls the whole computer by, for example, running an operating system. The processor 1001 may be configured with a central processing unit (CPU), which includes interfaces with peripheral apparatus, control apparatus, computing apparatus, a register, and so on. For example, at least part of the above-described control section 110 (210), the transmitting/receiving section 120 (220), and so on may be implemented by the processor 1001. Paragraph [0022]: The SRS resource configuration information (for example, an RRC parameter "SRS-Resource") may include information related to an SRS resource ID (SRS-ResourceId), the number of SRS ports, an SRS port number, a transmission comb, SRS resource mapping (for example, a time and/or frequency resource location, resource offset, a resource periodicity, the number of repetitions, the number of SRS symbols, an SRS bandwidth, or the like), hopping, an SRS resource type, a sequence ID, a spatial relation, and the like. Paragraph [0027]: As shown in an example shown in FIG. 2, an available bandwidth is divided into some parts by using B SRS. A plurality of parts are used for SRS hopping. C SRS configures a set of SRS bands. B SRS selects one bandwidth out of the configured set. Paragraph [0028]: Parameter b hop E {0, 1, 2, 3} is configured for SRS frequency hopping. When bhop < B SRS , the SRS frequency hopping is enabled. Paragraph [0029]: FIG. 3 shows an example of the SRS frequency hopping in a case where CSRS = 24, b hop = 0, B SRS = 2, and N symb SRS = 4. In a band (hopping band) given to the SRS frequency hopping, an SRS having SRS band m SRS,b (in this example, 12 RBs) is transmitted. Paragraph [0042]: A UE may receive a configuration of an SRS (for example, an SRS configuration or an SRS band configuration). The UE may, when performing transmission of the SRS (for example, an RPFS SRS) in a partial band of a part of a band determined by the configuration, determine at least one of a width of the partial band (for example, an RPFS SRS bandwidth), a bandwidth of the SRS (for example, an RPFS SRS sequence length), and a frequency domain start location (for example, k0 pi ) for the SRS.)
Regarding claim 7, Shibaike teaches the UE of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
wherein: the configuration further includes information related to a frequency-domain position offset
n
o
f
f
s
e
t
F
H
, and the frequency-domain position offset,
n
o
f
f
s
e
t
F
H
is based on an expression:
n
o
f
f
s
e
t
F
H
=
Y
+
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
m
S
R
S
,
b
N
s
c
R
B
n
b
,
where
m
S
R
S
,
b
is a number of resource blocks (RBs), which is based on a SRS bandwidth configuration,
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration,
N
s
c
R
B
is a number of subcarriers in a RB, and
Y
is a quantity that can adjust the frequency-domain position offset
n
o
f
f
s
e
t
F
H
of SRS sequence over time (Paragraph [0053]: The RPFS SRS bandwidth may be defined by the following equation.
Paragraph [0060]: The RPFS SRS sequence length may be defined by a combination of existing (Rel. 15/16) SRS sequence length (the following equation) and a specific variable
Paragraph [0068]: The RPFS SRS sequence length may be an integer. For example, the RPFS SRS sequence length may be defined by the following equation.
Paragraph [0074]: The specific variable may be at least one of the number P F of parts, partial index k F , the number N SC RB of subcarriers in an RB (for example, 12), start RB index N offset of a partial band, and RPFS SRS sequence length SRS RPFS. k F may be equal to {0, ..., P F - 1}.
Paragraph [0075]: The frequency domain start location may be defined by the following equation.
Paragraph [0080]: The specific variable may be SRS sequence length SRS RPFS in aspect 2-2, P F , or N offset . The frequency domain start location may be defined by the following equation.
Regarding claim 9, Shibaike teaches a base station (BS) comprising: a transceiver configured to transmit a configuration about reception of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, the configuration including information about a SRS sequence length of
N
F
H
B
W
>1 and frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb, where:
N
F
H
B
W
is a number of an SRS bandwidth and
N
F
H
B
W
>1, nb is a frequency position index, and Nb is a value associated with a frequency-hopping pattern; and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver, the processor configured to determine based on the SRS sequence length and the frequency hopping parameters, a bandwidth for reception of the SRS resource over time, wherein the transceiver is further configured to receive, based on the determined bandwidth, the SRS resource over time (see rejection for claim 1).
Regarding claim 15, Shibaike teaches the BS of Claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
wherein: the configuration further includes information related to a frequency-domain position offset
n
o
f
f
s
e
t
F
H
, and the frequency-domain position offset,
n
o
f
f
s
e
t
F
H
is based on an expression:
n
o
f
f
s
e
t
F
H
=
Y
+
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
m
S
R
S
,
b
N
s
c
R
B
n
b
,
where
m
S
R
S
,
b
is a number of resource blocks (RBs), which is based on a SRS bandwidth configuration,
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration,
N
s
c
R
B
is a number of subcarriers in a RB, and
Y
is a quantity that can adjust the frequency-domain position offset
n
o
f
f
s
e
t
F
H
of SRS sequence over time (see rejection for claim 7).
Regarding claim 17, Shibaike teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: receiving a configuration about transmission of a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource, the configuration including information about a SRS sequence length of
N
F
H
B
W
>1 and frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb, where:
N
F
H
B
W
is a number of an SRS bandwidth and
N
F
H
B
W
>1, nb is a frequency position index, and Nb is a value associated with a frequency-hopping pattern; determining, based on the SRS sequence length and the frequency hopping parameters, a bandwidth for transmission of the SRS resource over time; and transmitting, based on the determined bandwidth, the SRS resource over time (see rejection for claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, 10, 13, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike et al. (EP4383887A1) in view of Iwai et al. (US2023/0308330A1).
Regarding claim 2, Shibaike teaches the UE of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
wherein the SRS sequence length is based on an expression:
M
s
c
.
b
S
R
S
=
m
S
R
S
,
b
N
s
c
R
B
.
X
/
(
K
T
C
P
F
)
, where:
m
S
R
S
,
b
is a number of resource blocks (RBs), which is based on a SRS bandwidth configuration,
N
s
c
R
B
is a number of subcarriers in a RB,
K
T
C
is a transmission comb number,
P
F
is a scaling factor (Paragraph [0053]: The RPFS SRS bandwidth may be defined by the following equation.
Paragraph [0060]: The RPFS SRS sequence length may be defined by a combination of existing (Rel. 15/16) SRS sequence length (the following equation) and a specific variable
Paragraph [0068]: The RPFS SRS sequence length may be an integer. For example, the RPFS SRS sequence length may be defined by the following equation.
Shibaike does not explicitly teach where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb.
However, Iwai teaches where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb (Paragraph [0114]: For example, in FIG. 15 , a frequency hopping pattern of two-RB granularity (i.e., transmission bandwidth is less than threshold value) is configured for an SRS transmitted by UE #0, and a frequency hopping pattern of four-RB granularity (i.e., transmission bandwidth is equal to or greater than threshold value) is configured for an SRS transmitted by UE #1. Paragraph [0118]: Therefore, even when frequency hopping patterns of different granularities are applied to different terminals 200, an occurrence of a collision between SRSs can be suppressed. Paragraph [0128]: Further, in an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, a parameter such as a candidate for an SRS resource (e.g., combination of transmission bandwidth, number of transmission Combs, and sequence length), a threshold value (e.g., four RBs), an upper limit value of the number of transmission Combs, granularity of the frequency hopping (e.g., one RB, two RBs, or four RBs), or the number of subcarriers per RB is not limited to the above-mentioned examples and may be other values, for example.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb. as taught by Iwai in the system of Shibaike, so that the SRS sequence length can be varied by having different resource block size allocations, and collisions between SRSs can be suppressed (Iwai: Paragraphs [0114], [0118], [0128]).
Regarding claim 5, Shibaike teaches the UE of Claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
wherein the SRS sequence length is based on an expression:
M
s
c
.
b
S
R
S
=
m
S
R
S
,
b
N
s
c
R
B
/
(
K
T
C
P
F
)
+
X
'
where:
m
S
R
S
,
b
is a number of resource blocks (RBs), which is based on a SRS bandwidth configuration,
N
s
c
R
B
is a number of subcarriers in a RB,
K
T
C
is a transmission comb number,
P
F
is a scaling factor (Paragraph [0053]: The RPFS SRS bandwidth may be defined by the following equation.
Paragraph [0060]: The RPFS SRS sequence length may be defined by a combination of existing (Rel. 15/16) SRS sequence length (the following equation) and a specific variable
Paragraph [0068]: The RPFS SRS sequence length may be an integer. For example, the RPFS SRS sequence length may be defined by the following equation.
Shibaike does not explicitly teach where
X
'
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time, where
X
'
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb.
However, Iwai teaches where
X
'
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
'
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb (Paragraph [0114]: For example, in FIG. 15 , a frequency hopping pattern of two-RB granularity (i.e., transmission bandwidth is less than threshold value) is configured for an SRS transmitted by UE #0, and a frequency hopping pattern of four-RB granularity (i.e., transmission bandwidth is equal to or greater than threshold value) is configured for an SRS transmitted by UE #1. Paragraph [0118]: Therefore, even when frequency hopping patterns of different granularities are applied to different terminals 200, an occurrence of a collision between SRSs can be suppressed. Paragraph [0128]: Further, in an exemplary embodiment of the present disclosure, a parameter such as a candidate for an SRS resource (e.g., combination of transmission bandwidth, number of transmission Combs, and sequence length), a threshold value (e.g., four RBs), an upper limit value of the number of transmission Combs, granularity of the frequency hopping (e.g., one RB, two RBs, or four RBs), or the number of subcarriers per RB is not limited to the above-mentioned examples and may be other values, for example.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide where
X
'
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
'
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb. as taught by Iwai in the system of Shibaike, so that the SRS sequence length can be varied by having different resource block size allocations, and collisions between SRSs can be suppressed (Iwai: Paragraphs [0114], [0118], [0128]).
Regarding claim 10, Shibaike teaches the BS of Claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
wherein the SRS sequence length is based on an expression:
M
s
c
.
b
S
R
S
=
m
S
R
S
,
b
N
s
c
R
B
.
X
/
(
K
T
C
P
F
)
, where:
m
S
R
S
,
b
is a number of resource blocks (RBs), which is based on a SRS bandwidth configuration,
N
s
c
R
B
is a number of subcarriers in a RB,
K
T
C
is a transmission comb number,
P
F
is a scaling factor (see rejection for claim 2);
Shibaike does not explicitly teach where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb.
However, Iwai teaches where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb. as taught by Iwai in the system of Shibaike, so that the SRS sequence length can be varied by having different resource block size allocations, and collisions between SRSs can be suppressed (Iwai: Paragraphs [0114], [0118], [0128]).
Regarding claim 13, Shibaike teaches the BS of Claim 9 (see rejection for claim 9);
wherein the SRS sequence length is based on an expression:
M
s
c
.
b
S
R
S
=
m
S
R
S
,
b
N
s
c
R
B
/
(
K
T
C
P
F
)
+
X
'
where:
m
S
R
S
,
b
is a number of resource blocks (RBs), which is based on a SRS bandwidth configuration,
N
s
c
R
B
is a number of subcarriers in a RB,
K
T
C
is a transmission comb number,
P
F
is a scaling factor (see rejection for claim 5);
Shibaike does not explicitly teach where
X
'
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time, where
X
'
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb.
However, Iwai teaches where
X
'
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
'
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb (see rejection for claim 5);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide where
X
'
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
'
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb. as taught by Iwai in the system of Shibaike, so that the SRS sequence length can be varied by having different resource block size allocations, and collisions between SRSs can be suppressed (Iwai: Paragraphs [0114], [0118], [0128]).
Regarding claim 18, Shibaike teaches the method of Claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
wherein the SRS sequence length is based on an expression:
M
s
c
.
b
S
R
S
=
m
S
R
S
,
b
N
s
c
R
B
.
X
/
(
K
T
C
P
F
)
, where:
m
S
R
S
,
b
is a number of resource blocks (RBs), which is based on a SRS bandwidth configuration,
N
s
c
R
B
is a number of subcarriers in a RB,
K
T
C
is a transmission comb number,
P
F
is a scaling factor (see rejection for claim 2);
Shibaike does not explicitly teach where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb.
However, Iwai teaches where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb (see rejection for claim 2);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide where
X
is a quantity that can vary the SRS sequence length over time and
X
is a function of:
N
F
H
B
W
and the frequency hopping parameters nb and Nb. as taught by Iwai in the system of Shibaike, so that the SRS sequence length can be varied by having different resource block size allocations, and collisions between SRSs can be suppressed (Iwai: Paragraphs [0114], [0118], [0128]).
Claims 3, 4, 6, 11, 12, 14, 19, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike et al. (EP4383887A1) in view of Iwai et al. (US2023/0308330A1), and further in view of Choi et al. (US2021/0036825A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Shibaike and Iwai teaches the UE of Claim 2 (see rejection for claim 2);
The combination of Shibaike and Iwai does not explicitly teach wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
However, Choi teaches wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
(Paragraph [0158]: The allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern. Paragraph [0159]: The SRS is frequency-hopped using the hopping pattern in each subframe in which the cell-specific and/or UE-specific SRS is transmitted, and a start location on a frequency domain of the SRS hopping and a hopping formula may be interpreted through the following Equation 8.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Shibaike and Iwai, so that the allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0158], [0159]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shibaike, Iwai, and Choi teaches the UE of Claim 3 (see rejection for claim 3);
The combination of Shibaike and Iwai does not explicitly teach wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
However, Choi teaches wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
(Paragraph [0158]: The allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern. Paragraph [0159]: The SRS is frequency-hopped using the hopping pattern in each subframe in which the cell-specific and/or UE-specific SRS is transmitted, and a start location on a frequency domain of the SRS hopping and a hopping formula may be interpreted through the following Equation 8. Paragraph [0161]: FIG. 10 illustrates an example of a method for configuring a SRS hopping pattern. Paragraph [0162]: In FIG. 10, it is assumed that CSRS=1, N{circumflex over ( )}UL_RB=100, nf=1, and ns=1 via the cell-specific signalling (e.g., cell-specific RRC signalling). Further, for UEs A, Band C, BSRS, bhop, nRRC, and TSRS may be configured via the cell-specific signalling (e.g., cell-specific RRC signalling). More specifically, the UE A may be configured such that BSRS=1, bhop=1, nRRC =22, and TSRS=10, the UE B may be configured such that BSRS=2, bhop=0, nRRC=10, and TSRS=5, and the UE C may be configured such that BSRS=3, bhop=2, nRRC=23, and TSRS=2.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
as taught by Choi in the combined system of Shibaike and Iwai, so that each UE can be configured with an SRS hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0159], [0161], [0162]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shibaike and Iwai teaches the UE of Claim 5 (see rejection for claim 5);
The combination of Shibaike and Iwai does not explicitly teach wherein
X
'
is based on an expression:
X
'
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
m
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and m(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
However, Choi teaches wherein X is based on an expression:
X
'
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
m
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and m(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
(Paragraph [0158]: The allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern. Paragraph [0159]: The SRS is frequency-hopped using the hopping pattern in each subframe in which the cell-specific and/or UE-specific SRS is transmitted, and a start location on a frequency domain of the SRS hopping and a hopping formula may be interpreted through the following Equation 8.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein X is based on an expression:
X
'
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
m
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and m(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Shibaike and Iwai, so that the allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0158], [0159]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shibaike and Iwai teaches the BS of Claim 10 (see rejection for claim 10);
The combination of Shibaike and Iwai does not explicitly teach wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
However, Choi teaches wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
(see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Shibaike and Iwai, so that the allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0158], [0159]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shibaike, Iwai, and Choi teaches the BS of Claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
The combination of Shibaike and Iwai does not explicitly teach wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
However, Choi teaches wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
(see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
as taught by Choi in the combined system of Shibaike and Iwai, so that each UE can be configured with an SRS hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0159], [0161], [0162]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Shibaike and Iwai teaches the BS of Claim 13 (see rejection for claim 13);
The combination of Shibaike and Iwai does not explicitly teach wherein
X
'
is based on an expression:
X
'
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
m
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and m(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
However, Choi teaches wherein X is based on an expression:
X
'
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
m
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and m(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
(see rejection for claim 6);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein X is based on an expression:
X
'
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
m
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and m(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Shibaike and Iwai, so that the allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0158], [0159]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Shibaike and Iwai teaches the method of Claim 18 (see rejection for claim 18);
The combination of Shibaike and Iwai does not explicitly teach wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
However, Choi teaches wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
(see rejection for claim 3);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein X is based on an expression:
X
=
f
n
b
,
N
b
=
g
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where:
B
S
R
S
is a parameter based on the SRS bandwidth configuration, and g(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Shibaike and Iwai, so that the allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0158], [0159]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Shibaike, Iwai, and Choi teaches the method of Claim 19 (see rejection for claim 19);
The combination of Shibaike and Iwai does not explicitly teach wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
However, Choi teaches wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
(see rejection for claim 4);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein
g
x
=
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
or
g
x
=
3
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
0
1
2
,
f
o
r
x
=
1
, when
N
F
H
B
W
=
2
as taught by Choi in the combined system of Shibaike and Iwai, so that each UE can be configured with an SRS hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0159], [0161], [0162]).
Claims 8, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike et al. (EP4383887A1) in view of Choi et al. (US2021/0036825A1).
Regarding claim 8, Shibaike teaches the UE of Claim 7 (see rejection for claim 7);
Shibaike does not explicitly teach wherein
Y
is based on an expression:
Y
=
l
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where l(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
However, Choi teaches wherein
Y
is based on an expression:
Y
=
l
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where l(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
(Paragraph [0158]: The allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern. Paragraph [0159]: The SRS is frequency-hopped using the hopping pattern in each subframe in which the cell-specific and/or UE-specific SRS is transmitted, and a start location on a frequency domain of the SRS hopping and a hopping formula may be interpreted through the following Equation 8.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein
Y
is based on an expression:
Y
=
l
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where l(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
as taught by Choi in the system of Shibaike, so that the allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0158], [0159]).
Regarding claim 16, Shibaike teaches the BS of Claim 15 (see rejection for claim 15);
Shibaike does not explicitly teach wherein
Y
is based on an expression:
Y
=
l
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where l(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
However, Choi teaches wherein
Y
is based on an expression:
Y
=
l
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where l(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
.
(see rejection for claim 8);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein
Y
is based on an expression:
Y
=
l
(
∑
b
=
0
B
S
R
S
n
b
.
∏
b
'
=
b
+
1
B
S
R
S
N
b
'
m
o
d
N
F
H
B
W
), where l(x) is a function of x, where x ∈ {0,1,⋯,
N
F
H
B
W
-
1
}
as taught by Choi in the system of Shibaike, so that the allocation of SRS resources may be provided according to a predefined hopping pattern (Choi: Paragraphs [0158], [0159]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 16, 2026 with respect to claims 1, 7, 9, 15, and 17 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shibaike et al. (EP4383887A1); claims 2, 5, 10, 13, and 18 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike in view of Iwai et al. (US2023/0308330A1); claims 3, 4, 6, 11, 12, 14, 19, and 20 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike and Iwai in further view of Choi et al. (US2021/0036825A1); claims 8 and 16 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Shibaike in view of Choi have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that Shibaike does not disclose that the bandwidth for transmission of the SRS resource over time is determined based on SRS sequence length and the frequency hopping parameters, as recited in independent claim 1. Claim 1 mentions that the configuration includes information about a SRS sequence length of
N
F
H
B
W
, where
N
F
H
B
W
is a number of an SRS bandwidth, and that “the processor is configured to determine based on the SRS sequence length and the frequency hopping parameters, a bandwidth for transmission of the SRS resource over time”. Thus, claim 1 mentions determining, based on a number of an SRS bandwidth (where
N
F
H
B
W
is a number of SRS BWs) and the frequency hopping parameters, a bandwidth for transmission of the SRS resource over time. Shibaike teaches in paragraph [0022] that the SRS resource configuration information includes SRS resource mapping such as an SRS bandwidth, and hopping. In paragraph [0042], Shibaike teaches that a UE may receive a configuration of an SRS, and the UE may, when performing transmission of the SRS, determine a bandwidth of the SRS (for example, an RPFS SRS sequence length). Shibaike also mentions in paragraph [0027], an example of Fig. 2, which indicates candidate values for SRS bandwidth m SRS,b. C SRS configures a set of SRS bands. B SRS selects one bandwidth out of the configured set, which is similar to the
N
F
H
B
W
. Paragraph [0029] of Shibaike teaches configuring based on b hop and B SRS , an SRS band m SRS,b for transmitting the SRS. Fig. 3 shows the SRS bandwidth and the hopping bandwidth based on the particular configuration. Claim 1 mentions information about an SRS sequence length of
N
F
H
B
W
which is a number of possible SRS BWs, but does not explicitly describe the SRS sequence length. However, dependent claim 2 clearly describes that the SRS sequence length given by the equation
M
s
c
.
b
S
R
S
=
m
S
R
S
,
b
N
s
c
R
B
.
X
/
(
K
T
C
P
F
)
. Claim 1 seems to describe the determination of an SRS bandwidth based on a number of an SRS bandwidth and frequency hopping parameters, rather than the determination of an SRS bandwidth specifically based on the SRS sequence length and frequency hopping parameters. Shibaike describes that SRS resource configuration information includes SRS resource mapping such as an SRS bandwidth, and hopping, and when performing transmission of the SRS, determining a bandwidth of the SRS, and thus seems to teach independent claim 1, and also independent claims 9 and 17, which recite similar limitations. Claim 1 does not seem to explicitly define an equation for determining a bandwidth for SRS transmission based on a SRS sequence length and frequency hopping parameters, or that the bandwidth for SRS transmission based on a SRS sequence length and frequency hopping parameter. Also, in claim 1, the SRS sequence length of
N
F
H
B
W
is further defined as a number of an SRS bandwidth, which seems to relate the SRS sequence length to a number of SRS bandwidth, and not the sequence length itself.
Dependent claims 2-8, 10-16, 18-20 are also taught by the combinations of the cited references.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461