DETAILED ACTION
This is response to Application 18/355,305 filed on 07/19/2023 in which claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 11-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Islam et al. (WO 2020/223654 A1).
1. Regarding claim 1, Islam teaches a working method for communications device, performed by a first communications device (Paragraphs [0113] and [0175] to [0197] various power saving mechanisms: UE configured by network), wherein the method comprises:
transitioning from non-sleep state to sleep state (Paragraph [0176] go-to-sleep signal) in a case that at least one of the following is satisfied:
a sleep state transition command from a second communications device has been received (Paragraph [0176] go-to-sleep signal); and
it has been determined that the first communications device meets a preset sleep state transition condition (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; transition between active and sleep states); wherein the sleep state transition condition comprises at least one of the following:
received signal quality of the first communications device is higher than a first threshold, or received signal quality of the first communications device is lower than a second threshold (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; trigger to transition between active and sleep states; L1 signaling);
the first communications device undergoes no cell re-selection within a first preset time period;
fluctuation range of received signal quality of the first communications device within a second preset time period is less than a third threshold;
the first communications device receives no paging message or system message within a third preset time period; and
continuous camping time of the first communications device in at least one other state than sleep state is longer than a first preset duration (Figs. 10A, 10B, and 10C; Paragraphs [0087], [0113] and [0175] to [0197] various power saving mechanisms; camp on the best cell).
2. Regarding claim 13, Islam teaches a communications device (Figure 1 Paragraph [0032]) comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions are executed by the processor to perform:
transitioning from non-sleep state to sleep state (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; transition between active and sleep states) in a case that at least one of the following is satisfied:
a sleep state transition command from a second communications device has been received (Paragraph [0176] go-to-sleep signal); and
it has been determined that the first communications device meets a preset sleep state transition condition (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; transition between active and sleep states); wherein the sleep state transition condition comprises at least one of the following:
received signal quality of the first communications device is higher than a first threshold, or received signal quality of the first communications device is lower than a second threshold (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; trigger to transition between active and sleep states; L1 signaling);
the first communications device undergoes no cell re-selection within a first preset time period;
fluctuation range of received signal quality of the first communications device within a second preset time period is less than a third threshold;
the first communications device receives no paging message or system message within a third preset time period; and
continuous camping time of the first communications device in at least one other state than sleep state is longer than a first preset duration (Figs. 10A, 10B, and 10C; Paragraphs [0087], [0113] and [0175] to [0197] various power saving mechanisms; camp on the best cell).
3. Regarding claims 2 and 14, Islam teaches wherein
in the sleep state, the first communications device at least monitors for wake-up signal; and in the non-sleep state, the first communications device does not monitor for wake-up signal and performs physical layer procedures under radio resource control (RRC) idle state (IDLE), inactive state (INACTIVE), or connected state (CONNECTED) (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; transition between active and sleep states);wherein information carried on the wake-up signal comprises at least one of the following: wake-up indication information indicating the first communications device to wake up; sleep indication information indicating the first communications device to sleep; and synchronization information (Figs. 10A, 10B, and 10C; Paragraphs [0113] and [0175] to [0197] various power saving mechanisms).
4. Regarding claims 5 and 17, Islam teaches, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving second indication information from the second communications device to indicate denial of entering sleep state (Paragraph [0180] GTS signaling related parameters; offset and sleep duration parameters).
5. Regarding claims 6 and 18, Islam teaches wherein the method further comprises:
receiving a third message from the second communications device; and
acquiring configuration information of the wake-up signal based on the third message (Paragraphs [0180] to [0185] GTS signaling related parameters; offset and sleep duration parameters; symbols or slots); wherein the third message carries the configuration information of the wake-up signal, and the configuration information comprises at least one of the following:
sequence information of the wake-up signal;
frequency domain information of the wake-up signal;
parameter configuration for triggering state transition; and
configuration of beacon (Beacon) signal;
or,
wherein the third message carries the configuration information of the wake-up signal or the third message carries information for calculating the configuration information of the wake-up signal, and the configuration information of the wake-up signal comprises at least one of the following:
time domain resources for the wake-up signal;
frequency domain resources for the wake-up signal; and
code domain resources for the wake-up signal (Paragraphs [0180] to [0185] GTS signaling related parameters; offset and sleep duration parameters; symbols or slots).
6. Regarding claims 7 and 19, Islam teaches, wherein after entry to sleep state, the method further comprises: according to the configuration information of the wake-up signal, periodically monitoring for wake-up signal or always monitoring for wake-up signal (Paragraphs [0194] to [0197] WUS; monitoring).
7. Regarding claim 11, Islam teaches, wherein in a case that the wake-up signal indicates the first communications device to wake up, the method further comprises:
entering non-sleep state (Paragraphs [0191] and [0192] UE configured with WUS monitoring duration).
8. Regarding claim 12, Islam teaches, wherein
the first communications device is a mobile terminal, and the second communications device is a network-side device, a mobile terminal, or a network node; or
the first communications device is a receiving node of a communications system, and the second communications device is a transmitting node of a communications device (Paragraphs [0191] and [0192] UE configured with WUS monitoring duration).
9. Regarding claim 20, Islam teaches a readable storage medium (Paragraph [0250] readable media), wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or instructions, and the program or instructions are executed by a processor to perform:
transitioning from non-sleep state to sleep state (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; trigger to transition between active and sleep states; L1 signaling) in a case that at least one of the following is satisfied:
a sleep state transition command from a second communications device has been received (Paragraph [0176] go-to-sleep signal); and
it has been determined that the first communications device meets a preset sleep state transition condition (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; trigger to transition between active and sleep states; L1 signaling); wherein the sleep state transition condition comprises at least one of the following:
received signal quality of the first communications device is higher than a first threshold, or received signal quality of the first communications device is lower than a second threshold (Paragraphs [0174] to [0176] go-to-sleep signal; trigger to transition between active and sleep states; L1 signaling);
the first communications device undergoes no cell re-selection within a first preset time period;
fluctuation range of received signal quality of the first communications device within a second preset time period is less than a third threshold;
the first communications device receives no paging message or system message within a third preset time period; and
continuous camping time of the first communications device in at least one other state than sleep state is longer than a first preset duration (Figs. 10A, 10B, and 10C; Paragraphs [0087], [0113] and [0175] to [0197] various power saving mechanisms; camp on the best cell).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 8-10, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (WO 2020/223654 A1) in view of Cox et al. (US 2020/029302 A1).
10. Regarding claims 3 and 15, Islam does not explicitly disclose wherein the method further comprises: reporting assistance information to the second communications device, wherein the assistance information is used for the second communications device to determine whether to transmit a sleep state transition command to the first communications device, and the assistance information comprises at least one of the following: signal strength or signal quality of the first communications device; and
a mobility condition of the first communications device.
Cox teaches reporting assistance information to the second communications device, wherein the assistance information is used for the second communications device to determine whether to transmit a sleep state transition command to the first communications device, and the assistance information comprises at least one of the following: signal strength or signal quality of the first communications device; and
a mobility condition of the first communications device (Cox, Paragraph [0136] to [0140] WUS; estimation of threshold).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide reporting assistance information to the second communications device, wherein the assistance information is used for the second communications device to determine whether to transmit a sleep state transition command to the first communications device, and the assistance information comprises at least one of the following: signal strength or signal quality of the first communications device; and a mobility condition of the first communications device as taught by Cox in the system of Islam for reducing power consumption see abstract of Cox.
11. Regarding claims 4 and 16, Islam does not explicitly disclose, wherein before or after the transitioning from non-sleep state to sleep state, the method further comprises:
transmitting first indication information to the second communications device to indicate that the first communications device enters sleep state;
wherein the first indication information is carried on any one of the following:
a random access channel (RACH);
a sounding reference signal (SRS);
a reference signal (SR);
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH);
a predefined physical channel; and
a predefined physical signal.
Cox teaches transmitting first indication information to the second communications device to indicate that the first communications device enters sleep state; wherein the first indication information is carried on any one of the following:
a random access channel (RACH);
a sounding reference signal (SRS);
a reference signal (SR);
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH);
a predefined physical channel; and
a predefined physical signal (Paragraph [0112] and [0113] WUS configured and detected).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting first indication information to the second communications device to indicate that the first communications device enters sleep state; wherein the first indication information is carried on any one of the following: a random access channel (RACH);
a sounding reference signal (SRS); a reference signal (SR);
a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH); a predefined physical channel; and
a predefined physical signal as taught by Cox in the system of Islam for reducing power consumption see abstract of Cox.
12. Regarding claim 8, Islam does not explicitly disclose, wherein after entry to sleep state, the method further comprises:
turning off a main receiver, wherein the main receiver is configured to receive downlink information in non-sleep state; and
turning on a dedicated receiver, wherein the dedicated receiver is configured to monitor for wake-up signal in sleep state.
Cox teaches turning off a main receiver, wherein the main receiver is configured to receive downlink information in non-sleep state; and
turning on a dedicated receiver, wherein the dedicated receiver is configured to monitor for wake-up signal in sleep state (Paragraphs [0221] and [0222] entire Rx chain turned off and separate radio receiver used instead).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide turning off a main receiver, wherein the main receiver is configured to receive downlink information in non-sleep state; and turning on a dedicated receiver, wherein the dedicated receiver is configured to monitor for wake-up signal in sleep state as taught by Cox in the system of Islam for reducing power consumption see abstract of Cox.
13. Regarding claim 9, Islam in view of Cox teaches wherein the method further comprises:
performing downlink synchronization via the dedicated receiver, wherein signal for downlink synchronization is different from wake-up (WUS) signal (Cox, Paragraph [0228] preamble sequence for time and frequency synchronization).
14. Regarding claim 10, Islam in view of Cox teaches, wherein the method further comprises:
performing at least one of radio resource measurement and downlink synchronization based on the wake-up signal (Islam Paragraph [0192] WUS; necessary synchronization operation).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Lee et al. (US 2023/0164732 A1) Paragraphs [0158] and [0163]
Maleki et al. (US 2022/0174603 A1) Paragraph [0082]
/DIANE L LO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466