DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Akens et al. (USPUB 2019/0077505).
As to Claim 1, Akens discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle system, comprising: an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV); a wireless power transfer (WPT) unit carried by the UAV, wherein the WPT unit is configured to transfer power from a powerline to the UAV, the WPT unit comprising: a first field guiding portion configured to wirelessly couple to the powerline; a second field guiding portion operatively coupled to the first field guiding portion; and an induction coil operatively coupled to the UAV and at least partially wound around at least one of the first field guiding portion or the second field guiding portion, wherein the first and second field guiding portions are configured to guide a magnetic field generated by current passing through the powerline toward the induction coil (Figure 5).
As to Claim 2, Akens discloses the unmanned aerial vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the WPT unit further comprises an actuator operatively coupled to at least one of the first field guiding portion or the second field guiding portion to control an airgap between the first and second field guiding portions (Paragraph 25).
As to Claim 3, Akens discloses the unmanned aerial vehicle system of claim 1, wherein: a shape of the first field guiding portion comprises a portion of a first ring, the first field guiding portion has a cavity; a shape of the second field guiding portion comprises a portion of a second ring, the second field guiding portion is positioned to move at least partially into and out of the cavity, and the WPT unit further comprises an actuator operatively coupled to the second field guiding portion to move the second field guiding portion at least partially into and out of the cavity (Figures 5- 6D).
As to Claim 4, Akens discloses the unmanned aerial vehicle system of claim 1, wherein: a shape of the first field guiding portion comprises a first partial-ring, a shape of the second field guiding portion comprises a second partial-ring, and the WPT unit further comprises a non-straight rail and an actuator operatively coupled to at least one of the first field guiding portion or the second field guiding portion to move at least one of the first field guiding portion toward or away from the second field guiding portion along the non-straight rail (Figure 9-12).
As to Claim 5, Akens discloses the unmanned aerial vehicle system of claim 1, wherein: a shape of the first field guiding portion comprises a first partial-ring, a shape of the second field guiding portion comprises a second partial-ring, and the WPT unit further comprises a straight rail and an actuator operatively coupled to at least one of the first field guiding portion or the second field guiding portion to move at least one of the first field guiding portion toward or away from the second field guiding portion along the straight rail (Figure 9-12).
As to Claim 6, Akens discloses the unmanned aerial vehicle system of claim 1, wherein the first field guiding portion comprises a first elongate member, and wherein the second field guiding portion comprises a second elongate member extending parallel to and spaced apart from the first elongate member (Figure 5-6D).
As to Claim 8, Akens discloses a wireless power transfer (WPT) unit to be carried by an unmanned aerial vehicle, comprising: a first field guiding portion configured to wirelessly couple to an electrical cable; a second field guiding portion operatively coupled to the first field guiding portion; an induction coil at least partially wound around at least one of the first field guiding portion or the second field guiding portion, wherein the induction coil is configured to wirelessly couple to the electrical cable through at least one of the first field guiding portion or the second field guiding portion; and a support carried by at least one of the first field guiding portion, the second field guiding portion, or the induction coil, wherein the first and second field guiding portions are configured to guide a magnetic field toward the induction coil, and wherein the support is positioned to connect to, and be carried by, an unmanned aerial vehicle (Figure 5).
As to Claim 9, Akens discloses the WPT unit of claim 8, further comprising a non-straight rail and an actuator operatively coupled to at least one of the first field guiding portion or the second field guiding portion to move at least one of the first field guiding portion toward or away from the second field guiding portion along the non-straight rail (Figures 9-12).
As to Claim 10, Akens discloses the WPT unit of claim 8, wherein the first field guiding portion comprises a first elongate member, and wherein the second field guiding portion comprises a second elongate member extending parallel to and spaced apart from the first elongate member (Figure 9-12).
As to Claim 12, Akens discloses t method for transferring power to a battery carried by an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising: receiving an indication of an amount of power carried by the battery; positioning the UAV proximate to a powerline; engaging a wireless power transfer (WPT) unit carried by the UAV with the powerline, wherein the WPT unit comprises: a first field guiding portion configured to wirelessly couple to the powerline and receive magnetic forces caused by an alternating current (AC) traversing through the powerline; a second field guiding portion operatively coupled to the first field guiding portion; and an induction coil operatively coupled to the UAV, at least partially wound around a length of at least one of the first field guiding portion and the second field guiding portion, and configured to generate power in reaction to the received magnetic forces, wherein the power is used to operate the UAV and/or charge the battery; disengaging the WPT unit from the powerline; and positioning the UAV away from the powerline (Figure 5, Paragraphs 41-42).
As to Claim 15, Akens disclose the method of claim 12, further comprising: controlling the UAV to enter a hover mode prior to transferring the power, wherein the UAV remains airborne while in the hover mode while transferring the power (Paragraph 43).
As to Claim 16, Akens discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: controlling the UAV to enter a standby mode prior to transferring the power, wherein a propulsion system of the UAV is turned off while in the standby mode while transferring the power (Paragraph 44).
As to Claim 17, Akens discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: measuring a rate of power transfer from the powerline to the UAV; and calculating current in the powerline in real-time based on the measured rate of power transfer (Paragraph 55).
As to Claim 18, Akens discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising: controlling an airgap between the first and second field guiding portions, thereby controlling a rate of power transfer from the powerline to the UAV (Paragraph 55).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 13-14, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ROBERT GRANT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859