DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE-10105791 (DE’791) in view of CN-110627985 (CN’985).
Re: claim 1. DE’791 shows in figure 1 and discloses a vibration isolating and damping member as shown in figure 1 formed of polyurethane as described in claim 4, wherein: a polyol component of the polyurethane includes a polyester-based polyol excluding a short-chain polyol as described in the paragraph starting “Preferred as (b) are polyester polyalcohols”; an isocyanate component of the polyurethane contains 1,5- naphthalenediisocyanate as a main component as described in the paragraph starting “Generally known (cyclo) aliphatic”; and the vibration isolating and damping member comprises a foam of a thermoplastic urethane composition having an NCO index of 0.9 to 1.04 in the paragraph beginning “The elastic moldings are usually based” and the paragraph beginning “the production of the molded parts is advantageously carried out”, but is silent with regard to the limitation wherein the polyurethane has a weight average molecular weight of 50,000 to 500,000.
CN’985 teaches in the section directly under the summary of the invention heading the use of a polyurethane average molecular weight being within the range of 30000-100000 which is at least partially encompassed in the recited range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the polyurethane of the damping member of DE’791 to have had an average molecular weight of 50000 to 500000, in view of the teachings of CN’985, in order to provide an optimum amount to achieve good damping performance as taught. Also see In re Aller. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE-10105791 (DE’791) in view of CN-110627985 (CN’985) as applied above, and further in view of JP-2013079407 (JP’407).
DE’791, as modified, is silent with regard to the limitation wherein a proportion of the isocyanate component in the thermoplastic urethane composition is 10 to 30% by mass.
JP’407 teaches in the paragraph beginning “The isocyanate group-terminated prepolymer” teaches the use of a damping material with a proportion of the isocyanate component in the urethane composition being 0.5% to 10% or 0.5% or higher which is at least partially encompassed in the 10 to 30% range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the proportion of the isocyanate component in the urethane of DE’791, as modified, being in the recited range, in view of the teachings of JP’407, in order to enable the polymer chains to still be able to move for damping capabilities but to be constrained enough to convert motion to heat efficiently.
Also see In re Aller. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE’791 in view of CN’985 as applied above, and further in view of US Patent Application 2014/0017429 to Kasazaki et al.
DE’791, as modified, is silent with regard to the polyester-based polyol being selected from the recited group.
Kasazaki et al. teach in paragraph [0053] the use of a polyester-based polyol being in the form of polyethylene adipate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the polyester-based polyol of DE’791, as modified, being in the form of polyethylene adipate, in view of the teachings of Kasazaki, in order to provide a material with flexible chains, surface durability, and improved noise and vibration reduction capabilities.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE’791 in view of CN’985 as applied above, and further in view of KR-20210102082 (KR’082).
Re: claim 5. DE’791, as modified, is silent with regard to the foam having the recited density range.
KR’082 teaches in the section of the claim language beginning “the noise damping strips 20, 21, 22, 24, 25 are optionally strips” the use of a polymeric foam having a density in the range of 0.1 to 1 g/cm3.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the foam of DE’791, as modified, to have had a density in the recited range, in view of the teachings of KR’082, in order to provide a foam with the characteristics of being lightweight, effectively cushioning, while still being structurally sound enough to bear loads without collapsing. Also see In re Aller. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE’791 in view of CN’985 as applied above, and further in view of US Patent Application 2020/0123341 to Morio et al.
Re: claim 6. DE’791, as modified, is silent with regard to the number average diameter of foam cells in the foam being the recited range.
Morio et al. teach in claim 1 the use of an average cell diameter of cells of a foam being 10 to 400 micrometers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the foam of DE’791, as modified, to have had the number average diameter of foam cells as recited, in view of the teachings of Morio et al., in order to provide a foam with a balance of improved compressive strength and also sufficient flexibility. Also see In re Aller. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE’791 in view of CN’985 as applied above, and further in view of JP-2002160234 (JP’234).
DE’791, as modified, is silent with regards to the method of manufacturing the damping member comprising molding a polyurethane foam from the urethane composition and separating the polyurethane foam from a molding die.
JP’234 teaches in the English abstract and in the background of invention section the use of a method of molding a polyurethane foam and in the sentence before paragraph [0025] the use of separating the polyurethane foam from a molding die by describing how the molded article is obtained and used as a vehicle seat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the foam of DE’791, as modified, to have been molded into a foam and then separated from a molding die, in view of the teachings of JP’234, in order to provide a damper member with a porous structure which is lighter than solid urethane.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE’791 in view of CN’985 and JP-2002160234 (JP’234) as applied above, and further in view of JP-2009149768 (JP’768).
DE’791, as modified, teaches in JP’234 casting urethane into a foamed state into a molding die to mold the polyurethane foam as taught in the rejection of claim 7, but is silent with regard to the method of manufacturing specifically including pelletizing the urethane and melting the pellets.
JP’768 teaches under Example 4 the use of the urethane being formed as pellets (pelletized) and being heated/melted with injection molding as mentioned above the mode-for-invention label to ultimately mold in a die.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of manufacturing the damping member of DE’791, as modified, to have included pelletizing and melting the pellets, in view of the teachings of JP’768, in order to provide a means of obtaining consistent material properties and to reduce defects in the final molded article.
Response to Amendment
Upon further review Examiner notes the rejections set forth above based on new references with the recited ranges.
Conclusion
mmb
March 24, 2026
/MELODY M BURCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616