DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the display panels." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jun et al. (KR 1020170006770, provided by Applicant in the 07/20/23 IDS and using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Jun teaches a device (“lithium secondary battery with an integrated display panel”), wherein the device comprises a lithium ion battery (140) (“lithium secondary battery”) having an electrode assembly (“electrode assembly”) with an OLED display panel (i.e. light emitting unit (120) and transparent window (110), in combination) (“display panel”) integrated with said battery (and therefore said electrode assembly) in a common packaging part (150) (“outer case”) such that the packaging part has at least on surface provided as the OLED display panel (Figure 2, Abstract, Pages 5-6 of translation). Jun teaches that the electrode assembly comprises a cathode (“cathode”) and an anode (“anode”) disposed to face the cathode (Background Art, Page 3 of translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-4, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al. (KR 1020170006770, provided by Applicant in the 07/20/23 IDS and using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes), and further in view of Hiroki (US 2016/0157372).
Regarding Claim 2, Jun teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Jun does not explicitly teach that the cathode and anode are structured in the instantly claimed manner.
However, Hiroki teaches an electronic device (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 1-2A, Hiroki teaches that the device comprises a display panel (102) which is powered by a lithium-ion secondary battery ([0065], [0140]-[0144]). Hiroki teaches that the battery includes a cathode (203) and an anode (206), wherein the cathode comprises a cathode current collector and a cathode active material layer on at least one surface of the cathode current collector, wherein the anode comprises an anode current collector and an anode active material layer on at least one surface of the anode current collector, wherein a cathode tab protrudes from the cathode current collector, and wherein an anode tab protrudes from the anode current collector ([0141]-[0145]). Hiroki teaches that a lithium ion battery constructed in said manner allows not only for increased flexibility, but enables the use of battery active materials which improve safety, stability, capacity, potential, expansion, and cost characteristics ([0139], [0150], [0163])
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would construct the cathode and anode of Jun in the manner disclosed by Hiroki (i.e. form the cathode such that it comprises a cathode current collector with a cathode active material layer formed thereon and a cathode tab protruding therefrom, and form the anode such that it comprises an anode current collector with an anode active material formed thereon and an anode tab protruding therefrom), given not only because such a configuration of a lithium battery is well-known based on Hiroki, but also because a lithium ion battery constructed in such a manner would enable the use of battery active materials which improve safety, stability, capacity, potential, expansion, and cost characteristics.
Regarding Claim 3, Jun, as modified by Hiroki, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 2, as previously described.
As illustrated in Figure 2 of Jun, the lithium ion battery is entirely accommodated inside the packaging part. Therefore (and in context of Jun, as modified by Hiroki), the cathode and anode tabs, which are part of the lithium ion battery, would each also be disposed only inside the packaging part.
Regarding Claim 4, Jun, as modified by Hiroki, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 2, as previously described.
Jun, as modified by Hiroki, does not explicitly teach a circuit structure disposed between the electrode assembly and the OLED display panel with the circuit structure electrically connected with the OLED display panel.
However, and as illustrated in Figures 1-2A, Hiroki teaches that a circuit structure (i.e. circuit board (104) and circuit board (107), in combination) are disposed between the battery (and therefore the electrode assembly of the battery) and the display panel such that the circuit structure is electrically connected with the display panel ([0066]). Hiroki teaches that the circuit structure comprises a driver circuit for driving the display panel, and a wiring which electrically connects the display panel with the driver circuit ([0102]). Hiroki teaches that the circuit structure allows for the battery to feed power to the display panel ([0066]). Furthermore, Hiroki teaches that that the circuit structure is formed of flexible materials which helps prevent cracks and electrical disconnections when bent or impacted by external force ([0103]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would include a flexible circuit structure (“circuit structure”), as taught by Hiroki, between the electrode assembly and the OLED display panel such that the flexible circuit structure is electrically connected with the OLED display panel, given not only because such a flexible circuit structure would enable the lithium ion battery to feed power to the OLED display panel, but also because such a flexible circuit structure would help prevent cracks and electrical disconnections when bent or impacted by external force.
Regarding Claim 9, Jun, as modified by Hiroki, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 4, as previously described.
As previously described (See Claim 8), the circuit structure comprises a driver circuit (“display panel driving integrated circuit chip”) and a wiring (“connection circuit wiring”) which electrically connects said driver circuit with the OLED display panel.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al. (KR 1020170006770, provided by Applicant in the 07/20/23 IDS and using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes), and further in view of Hiroki (US 2016/0157372) and Yoshitani et al. (US 2016/0313769).
Regarding Claim 5, Jun, as modified by Hiroki, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 4, as previously described.
Jun, as modified by Hiroki, does not explicitly teach that the circuit structure is surrounded in a sealing case.
However, Yoshitani teaches an electronic device (Abstract). As illustrated in Figures 1A-1G, Yoshitani teaches that the device comprises a display panel (10) and a battery (20) with a circuit (30) positioned therebetween ([0123]). Yoshitani teaches that said components are encased in a buoyancy material which enhances the floatability of the device, or a rubber member which enhances flexibility characteristics ([0125]-[0127]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would, at least, surround the circuit structure of Jun, as modified by Hiroki, in a buoyancy material (“sealing case”) or a rubber member (“sealing case,” alternatively), as taught by Yoshitani, given that such a buoyancy material would enhance the floatability of the device and such a rubber member would enhance flexibility characteristics.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun et al. (KR 1020170006770, provided by Applicant in the 07/20/23 IDS and using the provided English machine translation for citation purposes), and further in view of Hiroki (US 2016/0157372) and Yoshitani et al. (US 2016/0097501).
Regarding Claim 10, Jun, as modified by Hiroki, teaches the instantly claimed invention of Claim 1, as previously described.
Jun, as modified by Hiroki, does not explicitly teach that two surfaces of the packaging part facing each other are provided as the OLED display panels.
However, Yoshitani teaches a battery powered light-emitting device (Abstract). As illustrated in Figure 3D, Yoshitani teaches that as opposed to a single surface, the device comprises two surfaces facing each other which are provided as display panels that transmit light therethrough ([0141]-[0145]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill in the art would form the packaging part of Jun, as modified by Hiroki, such that two surfaces thereof facing each other are provided as the OLED display panels, given not only because such a configuration would allow for visual display(s) on more than one side of the device, as illustrated by Yoshitani.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 6 further limits the battery of Claim 5 by requiring that at least one surface of the sealing case comprises a connection part which electrically connects the circuit structure with the electrode assembly.
Jun, as modified by Hiroki and Yoshitani, neither teaches nor suggests the instantly claimed connection part. At best, Yoshitani obviates the provision of a buoyancy material or a rubber member, as previously described. However, Yoshitani neither teaches nor suggests that said material or said member includes a connection part, as instantly claimed on at least one surface thereof.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W VAN OUDENAREN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728