DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) or (f), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Information disclosure statements (IDS), submitted July 20, 2023 and December 23, 2025, have been received and considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
4. All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
5. Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 8-10 recite “the content ratio” but this limitation lacks antecedent basis because there have not been any thicknesses mentioned in Claim 1, upon which Claims 8-10 depend.
6. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites “the thickness of the second solid electrolyte layer is smaller than the thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer” but this limitation lacks antecedent basis because there have not been any thicknesses mentioned in Claim 1, upon which Claim 11 depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 1-4, 6, and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsutsumi JP2015-213007.
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 13-15, Tsutsumi discloses a battery (electrochemical device) comprising a first electrode (which is a positive electrode, para 0014, meeting Claims 3 and 15), a second electrode (which is a negative electrode, para 0014, meeting Claims 3 and 15), and a solid electrolyte layer located between the first electrode and the second electrode and including a fibrous material (para 0014), wherein the solid electrolyte layer includes a first solid electrolyte layer (“electrolyte layer”) and a second solid electrolyte layer (“fibrous polymer electrolyte”) located between the first solid electrolyte layer and the second electrode (“a positive electrode, a fibrous polymer electrolyte, and an electrolyte layer can be laminated by uniformly arranging a fibrous polymer electrolyte on a positive electrode and then placing a separately prepared solid electrolyte membrane on top of it and applying pressure, and an electrochemical device can be manufactured by further laminating a negative electrode on top of it”, para 0014), which also meets Claim 13, and the content ratio of the fibrous material in the second solid electrolyte layer is higher than the content ratio of the fibrous material in the first solid electrolyte layer since there is no fibrous material in the first solid electrolyte layer (also meeting Claims 2 and 14) (see entire disclosure and especially paras 0010-015).
Regarding Claim 4, Tsutsumi discloses wherein the negative electrode includes a negative electrode active material which includes titanium (e.g. titanium dioxide or lithium titanate, para 0013).
Regarding Claims 6 and 12, Tsutsumi discloses in paras 0017-0018 that the solid electrolyte layer and the fibrous polymer electrolyte layer of the battery both comprise a solid electrolyte comprising PCEO and PVdF-HFP polymers, PVdF-HFP being a polypropylene derivative, and therefore being “a polyolefin”, meeting Claim 6), and lithium ion salt, and so this material is the first solid electrolyte and the second solid electrolyte, and it is implied and understood and, most importantly, inherent, that the electrolytes have lithium ion conductivity.
Regarding Claim 11, Tsutsumi discloses wherein the thickness of the second solid electrolyte layer (0.014 mm, para 0017) is smaller than the thickness of the first solid electrolyte layer (0.12 mm, para 0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 5 and 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi JP2015-213007, as applied to Claims 1 and 6, and further in view of Roumi WO2013-154623.
Regarding Claim 5, Tsutsumi discloses the claimed battery as described in the rejection of Claim 1 and 6, which are incorporated herein in their entireties. Tsutsumi fails to specifically disclose wherein the negative electrode active material includes silicon. However, in the same field of endeavor of the design of separator type elements for batteries, Roumi teaches that in lithium ion batteries, known negative electrode active materials include titanium dioxide and lithium titanate and also silicon as functional equivalents (para 0059) and so it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery of Tsutsumi such that the negative electrode active material includes silicon because Roumi teaches that in lithium ion batteries, known negative electrode active materials include titanium dioxide and lithium titanate and silicon as functional equivalents.
Regarding Claim 7, Tsutsumi discloses the claimed battery as described in the rejection of Claim 1 and 6, which are incorporated herein in their entireties. Tsutsumi fails to specifically disclose wherein the fibrous material includes polypropylene. However, Roumi teaches that in lithium ion batteries, dendrite formation is an issue, and a solution is the design of separators using solid electrolytes, such that solid electrolytes are beneficially embedded in supporting fiber systems (and stacked with other layers having complementarily-positioned apertures filled with solid electrolyte) in order to increase a toughness of a solid electrolyte material while preventing pinhole cracks in the solid electrolyte during fabrication and due to cycling (see entire disclosure and especially paras 0016-0020, 00125-0128, especially 0127 which mentions high mechanical strength polymer fibers and para 0043 which mentions polypropylene as a high mechanical strength polymer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery of Tsutsumi such that the fibrous material including polyolefin is e.g. polypropylene and e.g. such that the fibrous second electrolyte layer is designed using Roumi’s structure since Roumi teaches that such fibrous materials formed as layers combined with solid electrolyte form layers with high mechanical strength that are resistant to formation of pinholes during construction and cycling of the battery.
Regarding Claims 8-10, Tsutsumi does not specifically disclose wherein the content ratio of the fibrous material in the second solid electrolyte layer is greater than or equal to 0.05 mass% and less than or equal to 5 mass%, or greater than or equal to 0.1 mass% or less than or equal to 1 mass%, or greater than or equal to 0.1 mass% and less than or equal to 0.2 mass% (addressing the ranges of Claims 8, 9, and 10). However, Roumi teaches that the beneficial design includes a polymer volume ratio is e.g. about 5% (para 0281) and so it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the optimal volume ratio of fibers to solid electrolyte in the second solid electrolyte layer of Tsutsumi such that the ratio can be about 5 volume% because Roumi teaches that this value is known to be beneficial in the given design. Although Tsutsumi modified by Roumi does not specifically discuss the mass% (and instead discusses vol%), the skilled artisan knows that the density of polypropylene is about 0.9 g/mL, and so the mass% would be close to but slightly below the given volume%, in a range that is overlapping the range of Claim 8 and close to, but not overlapping, the ranges of Claims 9 and 10.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (The prior art taught carbon monoxide concentrations of "about 1-5%" while the claim was limited to "more than 5%." The court held that "about 1-5%" allowed for concentrations slightly above 5% thus the ranges overlapped.); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Claim reciting thickness of a protective layer as falling within a range of "50 to 100 Angstroms" considered prima facie obvious in view of prior art reference teaching that "for suitable protection, the thickness of the protective layer should be not less than about 10 nm [i.e., 100 Angstroms]." The court stated that "by stating that 'suitable protection' is provided if the protective layer is 'about' 100 Angstroms thick, [the prior art reference] directly teaches the use of a thickness within [applicant's] claimed range."). Similarly, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (Court held as proper a rejection of a claim directed to an alloy of "having 0.8% nickel, 0.3% molybdenum, up to 0.1% iron, balance titanium" as obvious over a reference disclosing alloys of 0.75% nickel, 0.25% molybdenum, balance titanium and 0.94% nickel, 0.31% molybdenum, balance titanium.).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ito JP2012-089420 discloses a solid electrolyte 35 for a battery wherein the electrolyte layer is filled with insulating needle-like fillers 25 formed of e.g. resin (which can be likened to fibers) that are useful to suppress local deformation (see e.g. paras 0048-0049).
/LISA S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729