DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 24, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicants’ assertion-Wang does not disclose that the difference value received by the first communication apparatus and the reference value are used to determine a complete value of the same satellite parameter-
Applicants’ have actually broadened the claims with such language “difference value”. Wang further teaches receiving, by a first communication apparatus, first satellite information from a second communication apparatus, wherein the first satellite information comprises a difference value of a satellite parameter (UE receives compressed ephemeris data (Section 0025), said ephemeris data comprises satellite velocity and position (Section 0024), which is the difference value); determining, by the first communication apparatus, second satellite information, the second satellite information including a complete value of the satellite parameter based on at least a reference value of the satellite parameter and the difference value of the satellite parameter in the first satellite information (ephemeris data comprises the satellite position and velocity relative to a ground-based reference system (Section 0024), which is the reference value information, the uplink (UL) timing with the satellite will be adjusted or the compensation for Doppler by transmitting on an offset set of subcarriers occurs based on the ephemeris data (Sections 0023, 0024), the position and velocity with respect to the ground-based reference information makes up the complete value); and communicating, by the first communication apparatus, with the second communication apparatus based on the second satellite information (the uplink (UL) timing with the satellite will be adjusted or the compensation for Doppler by transmitting on an offset set of subcarriers occurs based on the ephemeris data (Sections 0023, 0024)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 – 25, 28 – 31, 34 – 38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2021/0273719).
Regarding Claim 21, Wang teaches receiving, by a first communication apparatus, first satellite information from a second communication apparatus, wherein the first satellite information comprises a difference value of a satellite parameter (UE receives compressed ephemeris data (Section 0025), said ephemeris data comprises satellite velocity and position (Section 0024), which is the difference value); determining, by the first communication apparatus, second satellite information, the second satellite information including a complete value of the satellite parameter based on at least a reference value of the satellite parameter and the difference value of the satellite parameter in the first satellite information (ephemeris data comprises the satellite position and velocity relative to a ground-based reference system (Section 0024), which is the reference value information, the uplink (UL) timing with the satellite will be adjusted or the compensation for Doppler by transmitting on an offset set of subcarriers occurs based on the ephemeris data (Sections 0023, 0024), the position and velocity with respect to the ground-based reference information makes up the complete value); and communicating, by the first communication apparatus, with the second communication apparatus based on the second satellite information (the uplink (UL) timing with the satellite will be adjusted or the compensation for Doppler by transmitting on an offset set of subcarriers occurs based on the ephemeris data (Sections 0023, 0024)).
Regarding Claim 28, Wang teaches a method, comprising: determining, by a second communication apparatus, first satellite information, wherein the first satellite information comprises a difference value of a satellite parameter (UE receives compressed ephemeris data (Section 0025) from the satellite, said ephemeris data comprises satellite velocity and position (Section 0024), which is the difference value); and sending, by the second communication apparatus, the first satellite information to a first communication apparatus (UE receives compressed ephemeris data (Section 0025), said ephemeris data comprises satellite velocity and position (Section 0024), which is the floating-point value), wherein at least the difference value of the satellite parameter in the
first satellite information and a reference value of the satellite parameter are used to obtain a complete value of second satellite information (ephemeris data comprises the satellite position and velocity relative to a ground-based reference system (Section 0024), which is the reference value information, the uplink (UL) timing with the satellite will be adjusted or the compensation for Doppler by transmitting on an offset set of subcarriers occurs based on the ephemeris data (Sections 0023, 0024) the position and velocity with respect to the ground-based reference information makes up the complete value).
Regarding Claim 34, Wang teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: at least one processor configured to execute a computer program or executable instructions stored in a memory, wherein the computer program or the executable instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the communication apparatus to perform operations including: receiving first satellite information from a second communication apparatus, wherein the first satellite information comprises a difference value of a satellite parameter (UE receives compressed ephemeris data (Section 0025), said ephemeris data comprises satellite velocity and position (Section 0024), which is the floating-point value, typical UEs comprise processors with memory that stores code executed by said processors); determining the second satellite information including a complete value of the satellite parameter based on at least a reference value of the satellite parameter and the difference value of the satellite parameter in the first satellite information (ephemeris data comprises the satellite position and velocity relative to a ground-based reference system (Section 0024), which is the reference value information, the uplink (UL) timing with the satellite will be adjusted or the compensation for Doppler by transmitting on an offset set of subcarriers occurs based on the ephemeris data (Sections 0023, 0024), the position and velocity with respect to the ground-based reference information makes up the complete value); and communicating with the second communication apparatus based on the second satellite information (the uplink (UL) timing with the satellite will be adjusted or the compensation for Doppler by transmitting on an offset set of subcarriers occurs based on the ephemeris data (Sections 0023, 0024)).
Regarding Claims 22, 29, 35, Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 28, 34. Wang further teaches receiving, by the first communication apparatus, first indication information, wherein the first indication information indicates the reference value of the satellite parameter/sending, by the second communication apparatus, first indication information to the first communication apparatus, wherein the first indication information indicates the reference value of the satellite parameter (Section 0024, stationary ground-based reference information).
Regarding Claims 23, 30, 36, Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 22, 29, 35. Wang further teaches wherein the first satellite information is carried in a first system message (Section 0025, compressed versions of the ephemeris can sent at different time periods thus creating a plurality of ephemeris messages, the satellite velocity, position, and stationary ground-based information that make up the ephemeris information (Section 0024) are transmitted in each of the plurality of ephemeris messages), the first indication information is carried in a second system message (Section 0025, compressed versions of the ephemeris can sent at different time periods thus creating a plurality of ephemeris messages, the satellite velocity, position, and stationary ground-based information that make up the ephemeris information (Section 0024) are transmitted in each of the plurality of ephemeris messages), and a first delivery/sending period of the first system message is different from a second delivery/sending period of the second system message (Section 0025, compressed versions of the ephemeris can sent at different time periods thus creating a plurality of ephemeris messages, the satellite velocity, position, and stationary ground-based information that make up the ephemeris information (Section 0024) are transmitted in each of the plurality of ephemeris messages).
Regarding Claim 24, 31, 37, Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 28, 34. Wang further teaches receiving, by the first communication apparatus, the first satellite information sent by the second communication apparatus at a first moment, wherein the first satellite information comprises a first difference value of the satellite parameter/sending, by the second communication apparatus, the first satellite information at a first moment, wherein the first satellite information comprises a first floating-point value of the satellite parameter (Section 0025, compressed versions of the ephemeris can sent at different time periods thus creating a plurality of ephemeris messages, the satellite velocity, position, and stationary ground-based information that make up the ephemeris information (Section 0024) are transmitted in each of the plurality of ephemeris messages); and receiving, by the first communication apparatus, the first satellite information sent by the second communication apparatus at a second moment, wherein the first satellite information comprises a second difference value of the satellite parameter/sending, by the second communication apparatus, the first satellite information at a second moment, wherein the first satellite information comprises a second floating-point value of the satellite parameter (Section 0025, compressed versions of the ephemeris can sent at different time periods thus creating a plurality of ephemeris messages, the satellite velocity, position, and stationary ground-based information that make up the ephemeris information (Section 0024) are transmitted in each of the plurality of ephemeris messages), wherein the second difference value is a value relative to the first difference value (Section 0025, compressed versions of the ephemeris can sent at different time periods thus creating a plurality of ephemeris messages, the satellite velocity, position, and stationary ground-based information that make up the ephemeris information (Section 0024) are transmitted in each of the plurality of ephemeris messages, different ephemeris messages renders a scenario wherein the position information in the second ephemeris message is the position information of a first ephemeris message plus an adjustment or change value thus position information of the second ephemeris message would be related or relative to the position information of the first ephemeris message).
Regarding Claims 25, 38, Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 24, 34. Wang further teaches receiving, by the first communication apparatus, second indication information, wherein the second indication information comprises an indication manner of the satellite parameter (Section 0024, the position and/or velocity of the satellite is the indication manner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 32, 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0273719) in view of Wang et al. (US 2008/0084336), hereafter Wang336
Regarding Claims 26, 32, 39, Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 28, 34.
Wang does not teach wherein the satellite parameter comprises at least one of an orbit parameter or a beam parameter; wherein the orbit parameter comprises one or more of: orbital semi-major axis information, an orbital plane inclination angle at reference time, an eccentricity, an argument of perigee, a longitude of ascending node of orbit plane, or a mean anomaly at the reference time; and wherein the beam parameter comprises at least one of an azimuth or a pitch angle of a beam pointing axis relative to a satellite motion direction.
Wang336, which also teaches the use of satellites and ephemeris, teaches wherein the satellite parameter comprises at least one of an orbit parameter or a beam parameter; wherein the orbit parameter comprises one or more of: orbital semi-major axis information, an orbital plane inclination angle at reference time, an eccentricity, an argument of perigee, a longitude of ascending node of orbit plane, or a mean anomaly at the reference time (Section 0022, semi-major axis).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with the above features of Wang336 for the purpose of providing a navigation system wherein a navigation signal receiver is enabled to perform both data assisted and non-data assisted integration to provide better integration during signal acquisition, reacquisition and tracking as taught by Wang336.
Claim(s) 27, 33, 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0273719) in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0128896)
Regarding Claim 27, 33, 40, Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claims 21, 28, 34. Wang does not teach receiving, by the first communication apparatus, third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates an update amount of the reference value of the satellite parameter; and updating, by the first communication apparatus, the reference value of the satellite parameter based on the third indication information/sending, by the second communication apparatus, third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates an update amount of the reference value of the satellite parameter.
Kim, which also teaches the use of satellites and ephemeris, teaches receiving, by an entity, third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates an update amount of the reference value of the satellite parameter; and updating, by the entity, the reference value of the satellite parameter based on the third indication information/sending, by the second communication apparatus, third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates an update amount of the reference value of the satellite parameter/sending, by the second communication apparatus, third indication information, wherein the third indication information indicates an update amount of the reference value of the satellite parameter (Section 0110, reference location is updated).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with the above features of Kim for the purpose of reducing the amount of data transmitted and received between electronic devices as taught by Kim.
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2021/0273719) in view of Garrison et al. (US 2007/0273581)
Regarding Claim 41, Wang teaches all of the claimed limitations recited in Claim 21. Wang further teaches wherein the second satellite information is based on at least a sum of the reference value of the satellite parameter and the difference value of the satellite parameter in the first satellite information (ephemeris data comprises the satellite position and velocity relative to a ground-based reference system (Section 0024), which is the reference value information, the uplink (UL) timing with the satellite will be adjusted or the compensation for Doppler by transmitting on an offset set of subcarriers occurs based on the ephemeris data (Sections 0023, 0024), the position and velocity with respect to the ground-based reference information is effectively the combination of the position and velocity and the ground-based reference information).
Wang does not teach wherein the difference value occupies a smaller number of bits than the complete value, and wherein the reference value of the satellite parameter is received from the second communication apparatus via indication information separate from the first satellite information.
Garrison, which also teaches use of ephemeris, teaches a difference value that occupies varied numbers of bits (Section 0301, ephemeris can be optimized by varying the number of bits thus rendering a scenario wherein a small number of bits is used) and wherein ephemeris reference information consisting of a reference time is sent and received (Section 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wang with the above features of Garrison for the purpose of providing for a longer propagating ephemeris that may reduce the frequency of uploaded data as taught by Garrison. The combination of Wang and Garrison teaches wherein the difference value occupies a smaller number of bits than the complete value, and wherein the reference value of the satellite parameter is received from the second communication apparatus via indication information separate from the first satellite information.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAYMOND S DEAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 Raymond S. Dean
March 6, 2026