DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group (B) a host material comprising a compound represented by any one of the formulas 2'-1 to 2'-4 in the reply filed on 08/21/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-13 read on the elected species.
Claims 1-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/21/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 07/20/2023 fails to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609 because the citation KR-101612164-B appears to be incorrect, specifically, the kind code appears to be incorrect. Applicant is advised that the date of any re-submission of any item of information contained in this information disclosure statement or the submission of any missing element(s) will be the date of submission for purposes of determining compliance with the requirements based on the time of filing the statement, including all certification requirements for statements under 37 CFR 1.97(e). See MPEP § 609.05(a).
It is noted that KR-101612164-B1 (kind code B1 instead of B) is cited on the PTO-892 and therefore has been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
in claim 11 on line 19 of numbered page 56, it is suggested that "deuterium, or a naphthyl unsubstituted or substituted with deuterium or a phenyl(s); and" be changed to "deuterium, or a naphthyl unsubstituted or substituted with deuterium or
in claim 11 on line 27 of numbered page 56, it is suggested that "unsubstituted or substituted with deuterium or a naphthyl(s), a biphenyl unsubstituted or" be changed to "unsubstituted or substituted with deuterium or .
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 11, the claim recites the limitation "the organic electroluminescent compound represented by any one of the following formulas 2'-1 to 2'-4" on lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For purposes of examination, the claims will be interpreted such that the claim refers to "an organic electroluminescent compound represented by any one of the following formulas 2'-1 to 2'-4" consistent with the claim being an independent claim.
Claims 12-13 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 11.
Regarding claim 11, the claims recites "with the proviso that if X8' is -L7-Ar9 and a phenyl" and also "with the proviso that if X5' is -L7-Ar9 and a naphthyl" on lines 11 and 29 of numbered page 56, respectively. It is unclear from this if the entire moiety, that is, both of L7 and Ar9 together must represent a phenyl/naphthyl to engage the proviso or if the moiety of -L7-Ar9 comprising a phenyl/naphthyl would engage the proviso. Additionally, must the phenyl/naphthyl be unsubstituted or may it be substituted? Put another way, must the entire moiety -L7-Ar9 be a phenyl/naphthyl (and may this be further substituted?) to engage the proviso or would -L7-Ar9 only comprising a phenyl/naphthyl engage the proviso?
For purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted such that, if the entire moiety of -L7-Ar9 is an unsubstituted phenyl/naphthyl group, then the proviso is engaged.
Claims 12-13 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Suh et al. WO-2020171530-A1 (hereinafter "Suh-WO" and see English language machine translation referred to herein as "Suh-MT").
Regarding claims 11-13, Suh discloses an organic light emitting device comprising one or more organic material layers provided between a first electrode and a second electrode, wherein at least one of the organic material layers includes a compound represented by a Formula 1 in the emission layer (page 10 of 29, lines 10-21) and discloses specific examples of the compound of Formula 1 that meet the claimed formula 2'-3 on pages 11-16 (Suh-WO) including
(Suh-WO, page 11).
For example,
corresponds to the claimed compound E-43 and is a compound of the claimed formula 2'-3 wherein:
T represents O;
X'1 to X'4 each represent hydrogen;
L'4 to L'6 each represent a single bond;
Ar'7 and Ar'8 each represent an unsubstituted naphthyl group;
X'5 represents -L7-Ar9 and X'6 and X'8 each represent hydrogen; and
L7 represents a single bond and Ar9 represents an unsubstituted naphthyl.
The device comprising the compound of Suh meet claims 11-13.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. WO-2021182893-A1 (see English language equivalent US-20230086039-A1 referred to herein as "Kim").
Regarding claims 11-13, Kim discloses an organic light emitting device including a light emitting layer disposed between an anode and a cathode, wherein the light emitting layer comprises a compound of a Chemical Formula 1 and a compound of a Chemical Formula 2 (¶ [0009]-[0010]) and Kim discloses examples of the compound of Chemical Formula 1 that meet the claimed formula 2'-1 in paragraph [0066] including
(page 824).
For example,
is equivalent to claimed compound E-45 and meets the claimed formula 2'-1 wherein:
T represents O;
X'1 to X'4 each represent hydrogen;
L'4 to L'6 each represent a single bond;
Ar'7 represents an unsubstituted phenyl and Ar'8 represents an unsubstituted dibenzofuranyl;
X'6 and X'7 each represent hydrogen and X'8 represents -L7-Ar9; and
L7 represents a single bond and Ar9 represents an unsubstituted phenyl.
The device comprising the compound of Kim meets claims 11-13.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Park et al. WO-2019245262-A1 and English language equivalent US-20210179596-A1 teaches a compound of a Chemical Formula 1
(see paragraph [0009] of US-20210179596-A1).
Contact Information
/ELIZABETH M. DAHLBURG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786