DETAILED ACTION
The present application is a Continuation Application (CON) of PCT/JP2022/004141.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on February 8, 2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fan et al. (WO 2020/073254 A1).
Claim 1. Fan discloses obtaining a glass ceramic article within a comparative example in which a f3-quartz is used as a crystal phase and a glass phase occupies 70 vol%, as a result of heat-treating a glass having the following chemical composition: 70 wt% of SiO2, 19 wt% of Al2O3, 1.9 wt% of MgO, 2.6 wt% of Li2O, 0.3 wt% of Na2O, 0.1 wt% of K2O, 2 wt% of ZrO2, 3 wt% of TiO2, and 1 wt% of ZnO ([0126] – [0127]). Thus, the calculated Young's modulus parameter (ER) and the parameter (P) of the residual glass equals the following values: ER = >75, and P = 0.520-0.570, which is calculated by subtracting the components corresponding to the crystal phase using approximately 2.2 g/cm3 as the density of the f3-quartz and approximately 2.4-2.7 g/cm3 as the density of the glass.
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Click et al. (US 2020/0017399)1.
Claim 1. Click discloses a glass-ceramic article including 12±2 wt% of residual glass; 44±2 wt% of a petalite crystalline phase; and 44±2 wt% of a lithium disilicate crystalline phase (Abstract; [0100] “Example 3”), wherein the glass-ceramic has a 90% transmission in visible wavelengths ([0100]) and a haze of less than 0.2 (%), obtained by heat-treating a precursor glass sample having a thickness of 0.8 mm and the following chemical composition ([0101]). Click discloses that the residual glass comprises: 70.52 mol% of SiO2; 4.27 mol% of Al2O3; 0.85 mol% of P2O5; 22.07 mol% of Li2O; 0.05 mol% of Na2O; 0.09 mol% of K2O; 1.97 mol% of ZrO2; 0.15 mol% of SnO2; and 0.02 mol% of Fe2O3 (Example 3). When the residual glass components are calculated by subtracting the components corresponding to the 44 wt% of the petalite crystal phase and the 44 wt% of the lithium disilicate crystalline phase from the glass ceramic composition, Click discloses that the chemical composition of the residual glass contains: 46.85 mol% of SiO2; 1.74 mol% of Al2O3; 10.11 mol% of P2O5; 14.18 mol% of Li2O; 0.55 mol% of Na2O; 1.09 mol% of K2O; 23.46 mol% of ZrO2; 1.77 mol% of SnO2; and 0.26 mol% of Fe2O3 (Example 3). Thus, the calculated Young's modulus parameter (ER) and the parameter (P) of the residual glass equals the following values: ER = 83.8 and P = 0.531 ([0042]; [0100]).
Claim 3. Click discloses a glass-ceramic article including 12±2 wt% of residual glass; 44±2 wt% of a petalite crystalline phase; and 44±2 wt% of a lithium disilicate crystalline phase ([0100] “Example 3”).
Claims 5-6. Click discloses that the residual glass comprises: 70.52 mol% of SiO2; 4.27 mol% of Al2O3; 0.85 mol% of P2O5; 22.07 mol% of Li2O; 0.05 mol% of Na2O; 0.09 mol% of K2O; 1.97 mol% of ZrO2; 0.15 mol% of SnO2; and 0.02 mol% of Fe2O3 (Example 3). When the residual glass components are calculated by subtracting the components corresponding to the 44 wt% of the petalite crystal phase and the 44 wt% of the lithium disilicate crystalline phase from the glass ceramic composition, Click discloses that the chemical composition of the residual glass contains: 46.85 mol% of SiO2; 1.74 mol% of Al2O3; 10.11 mol% of P2O5; 14.18 mol% of Li2O; 0.55 mol% of Na2O; 1.09 mol% of K2O; 23.46 mol% of ZrO2; 1.77 mol% of SnO2; and 0.26 mol% of Fe2O3 (Example 3). Thus, the calculated Young's modulus parameter (ER) and the parameter (P) of the residual glass equals the following values: ER = 83.8 and P = 0.531 ([0042]; [0100]).
Claim 10. Click discloses wherein the glass-ceramic has a 90% transmission in visible wavelengths ([0100]) and a haze of less than 0.2 (%), obtained by heat-treating a precursor glass sample having a thickness of 0.8 mm and the following chemical composition ([0101]).
Claim 11. Click discloses that the precursor glasses and glass-ceramics may be generically described as lithium-containing aluminosilicate glasses ([0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 7-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Click et al. (US 2020/0017399).
Claim 2. Click discloses that the residual glass comprises: 70.52 mol% of SiO2; 4.27 mol% of Al2O3; 0.85 mol% of P2O5; 22.07 mol% of Li2O; 0.05 mol% of Na2O; 0.09 mol% of K2O; 1.97 mol% of ZrO2; 0.15 mol% of SnO2; and 0.02 mol% of Fe2O3 (Example 3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the concentration range(s) of oxides within the residual glass in Click to the range(s) as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 4. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the content of oxides within the residual glass in Click to the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claims 7-9. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the ratio(s) of oxides within the residual glass in Click to the range(s) as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 12. Click discloses the glass-ceramic article is capable of being chemically strengthened using one or more ion exchange techniques ([0036]; [0092] – [0093]); wherein ion exchange can occur by subjecting one or more surfaces of such glass-ceramic article to one or more ion exchange mediums (for example molten salt baths), having a specific composition and temperature, for a specified time period to impart to the one or more surfaces with compressive stress layer(s) (Fig. 5; [0092]). Click discloses that the adjustment of the ion exchange conditions affects the surface compressive stress profile (Fig. 5 illustrates trend toward a compressive stress of nearly 200 MPa with a depth of the compressive stress layer to be approximately 0.4 mm). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the ion exchange conditions in Click to achieve the surface compressive stress in the range as claimed, because it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F. 2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Yuan (US 2020/0131080).
Yuan discloses a glass-ceramic article and a glass-ceramic for an electric device cover plate, the glass-ceramic comprises, as a predominant crystalline phase, lithium silicate and the quartz crystalline phase, and has a composition expressed in weight percent including: SiO2: 65-85%, Al2O3: 1-15%, Li2O: 5-15%, ZrO2: 0.1-10%, P2O5: 0.1-10%, K2O: 0-10%, MgO: 0-10%, ZnO: 0-10%, and Na2O: 0-5%.
/CRYSTAL J LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
1 See also Click et al. (WO 2020/018309 A2)