DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/30/2023 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 07/20/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-4 and 13-14 in the reply filed on 08/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 5-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/11/2025.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: since the makeup palette case is required as part of the claimed invention, it should be set forth as:
“A makeup palette, comprising:
A makeup palette case; at least one removable makeup pan disposed within a recess formed in [[a]]the makeup palette case…”
Claim 14: “the pan” should read “the at least one pan”
Appropriate correction are required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“an ejection feature ” in claim 1.
Based on a review of the specifications, it appears that “an ejection feature ” refers to “the fulcrum(s)128 and engagement surface(s)132 cooperate to define an ejection feature180” (page 7, first paragraph).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and
the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
103 are summarized as follows:
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geer (US 4421127 A) in view of Lan (US 20230276920 A1), further in view of Gallagher (US 20180110578 A1).
Note: The broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied to the term fulcrum. According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary a fulcrum is “the support about which a lever turns”.
Additionally, the broadest reasonable interpretation was applied to the term “twisting”. According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary to twist is the action of “causing to move or change position with a turning motion”.
Regarding claim 1, Geer discloses a makeup palette (Figure 1), comprising: at least one removable makeup pan (24) disposed within a recess (38) formed in a makeup palette case (14), the makeup palette case including an ejection feature configured to separate the makeup pan from the makeup palette case (since the cosmetic pans are removably received in said recess; col 5, line 61; additionally, the ejection feature further includes an engagement surface (36) disposed within the recess (38), see Figure 3 and col 3, lines 38-43). And a makeup composition (40) disposed within the makeup pan (24).
However, Geer is silent to the materials of the pans and palette. Therefore, it fails to disclose “wherein the makeup pan includes a first material, and the makeup palette case includes a second material. Additionally Geer does not disclose the ejection feature as best understood and interpreted in the 112(f)-claim interpretation presented above (i.e. a fulcrum(s) in combination with the engagement surface(s) cooperating to define an ejection feature).
Lan discloses a cosmetic container having a cover, a base, and a make-up pan (Figure 1, Abstract). Lan discloses that cosmetic containers can include multiple materials, for example, some cosmetic containers can include mixed polymers ([0032]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Geer’s makeup palette to make it comprising the makeup pan and the makeup palette case made of different materials, e.g. different polymers, as taught by Lan, since such modification would create a palette made of known polymers that are sustainable and are designed for easing effort of recycling ([0032]).
Gallagher discloses a packaging assembly comprising an outer tray (102) and an inner tray (106) housing a delivery system within (Abstract), the outer tray including a recess (132) and an ejection feature configured to separate the inner tray from the outer tray, wherein the ejection feature includes at least one fulcrum (150) disposed within the recess (132) and defining an axis (vertical axis) (Figures 2 and 4, [0026]), wherein a twisting force applied to the makeup palette case rotates the makeup pan relative to the makeup palette case about the axis (since as shown in Figure 4 a twisting force applied to the makeup case rotates the makeup pan relative to the makeup case about the axis; structure of fulcrum would also be such that the case is capable of being rotated as claimed about an axis of the fulcrum ).
Geer and Gallagher are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of containers with pan/tray ejection features. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Geer/Lan’s makeup palette case to add Gallagher’s fulcrum and Gallagher’s tray/pan removable mechanism through the twisting motion, since such modification would add an effective and quick removal mechanism that facilitate replacement of the pans once the cosmetic materials have been consumed.
The Examiner notes that the device created by the combined teachings of Geer, Lan and Gallagher, as a whole, discloses an ejection feature configured to separate the makeup pan from the makeup palette case (since Geer discloses the engagement surface (36) disposed within the recess (38), see Figure 3 and col 3, lines 38-43 and Gallagher discloses at least one fulcrum (150) disposed within the recess (132) and defining an axis (vertical axis) (Figures 2 and 4, [0026]; therefore, together these components would cooperate to define an ejection feature).
Regarding claim 2, Geer, Lan and Gallagher discloses the invention substantially as claimed. Gallagher discloses wherein the ejection feature includes at least one fulcrum (150) disposed within the recess (132) and defining an axis (vertical axis) (Figures 2 and 4, [0026]), wherein a twisting force applied to the makeup palette case rotates the makeup pan relative to the makeup palette case about the axis (since as shown in Figure 4 a twisting force applied to the makeup case rotates the makeup pan relative to the makeup case about the axis; structure of fulcrum would also be such that the case is capable of being rotated as claimed about an axis of the fulcrum).
Regarding claim 3, Geer, Lan and Gallagher, as combined above, disclose the invention substantially as claimed. Geer discloses wherein the ejection feature further includes an engagement surface (36) disposed within the recess (38) (see Figure 3 and col 3, lines 38-43), and the engagement surface engages the makeup pan (24) to rotate the pan about the axis when the twisting force is applied. The Examiner notes that the makeup palette disclosed by Geer allows for said twisting force applied to the makeup palette case to rotate the makeup pan relative to the engagement surface about the axis, since Geer palette is made of thermoplastic materials (col 4, line 60), which is a flexible material that would allow this ejecting mechanism to take place; said mechanism is interpreted to be analogous as the motion that takes place when ice is ejected from an ice making tray.
Regarding claim 4, Geer, Lan and Gallagher, as combined above, fail to disclose “wherein the recess includes one or more retention features engaging the pan in an interference fit to retain the pan within the makeup palette case”.
However, Gallagher further discloses wherein the recess (132) includes one or more retention features (protrusions/corrugations 148) engaging the inner tray (see [0027] where it is disclosed that the inner tray’s structural dimensions are adjacent and lie withing the structures of the outer tray). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Geer/Lan/Gallagher’s makeup palette in order to add one or more retention features, as disclosed by Gallagher, since such modification would allow a more secure attachment of the pan in the recesses.
The Examiner notes that even though Geer, Lan and Gallagher, as combined above, does not specifically disclose “or more retention features engaging the pan in an interference fit to retain the pan within the makeup palette case”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art to add this interference fit feature to the engaging mechanism, since this constitutes applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, as evidenced by the interference fit used in Gallagher’s packaging assembly to retain the delivery system 108 in the inner tray, which provides a variable interference fit for holding the delivery system 108 [0020].
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geer in view of Lan, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Huang (US 11174086 B2).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Geer and Lan fail to disclose wherein the makeup palette case is formed from at least one of the group consisting of paper, pulp, fiber, and cellulose and wherein the pan is formed from a metal.
Huang discloses a cosmetic case comprising at least one removable makeup pan (20) disposed within a recess (22) formed in a makeup palette case (Figure 8), wherein the makeup palette case is formed from at least one of the group consisting of paper, pulp, fiber, and cellulose (Abstract, and claim 1). And wherein the pan is formed from a metal (col 3, lines 10-20). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art, before the effective filing date of the application, to modify Geer/Lan’s makeup palette in order to makeup palette case of paper and the pan formed from a metal, since such modification would be a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results, such as making the device of alternative recyclable materials for environmental protection purposes (col 3, lines 19-20).
Conclusion
/LUIS RUIZ MARTIN/
Examiner, Art Unit 3772
/ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772