DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 13 November 2025 has been considered. Revised rejections based on applicant’s amendments are recited below. Claims 14-28 are currently pending.
Double Patenting
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 11,779,932. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both require the same structure where the pending claim is merely broader than the patented claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-X is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 8,844,851 to Solomon (Solomon).
Concerning claim 14, Solomon discloses a crusher for mineral materials or recycled materials, comprising:
a crusher unit including a first crusher body (7) and a second crusher body (9), wherein a crushing gap (6) is formed between the first crusher body and the second crusher body;
a hydraulic cylinder (21, 31, 33 or 35) including a cylinder (E1 in the figure reproduced below) and a piston (E2 in the figure reproduced below) guided in the cylinder, the hydraulic cylinder including a pressure chamber (31c) delimited by the piston;
an overload triggering device coupled to one of the first and second crusher bodies (9) to permit an evasive motion of the one of the first and second crusher bodies increasing a width of the crushing gap, the overload triggering device including a movable assembly (21, 31, 33 or 35) and a valve (55);
wherein the movable assembly includes two components that are movable relative to each other, one of the two components being a cylinder or a piston (E2 in the figure reproduced below) of a hydraulic cylinder (21, 31, 33 or 35), the hydraulic cylinder including a pressure chamber (31c) delimited by the piston (E2); and
wherein the valve (55) is formed between the two components (as the valve is located such that fluid enters the cylinder to move the piston) of the movable assembly that are movable relative to each other to define an open position establishing a fluid-conveying connection between the pressure chamber and a compensation area (31d or 151 or 58), and to define a closed position blocking the fluid-conveying connection, one of the two components forming the valve being the cylinder or the piston.
However, in the event that applicant argues that the valve (55) is not directly between the two components, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to have the valve positioned as such. It is noted that the valve is connected to the hydraulic cylinder and the particular placement of the valve (being closer to or further away from the hydraulic cylinder along the hydraulic lines) is an obvious design choice and would not modify the operation of the device.
Concerning claim 15, Solomon discloses the movable assembly includes the piston (E2), a piston rod (E3 in the figure reproduced below) coupled to the piston (E2), and an inertia element (E4 in the figure reproduced below) coupled to the piston (E2) or the piston rod, wherein the two components of the movable assembly forming the valve (55) include the piston (E2) and the inertia element (E4).
Concerning claim 16, Solomon discloses a spring (column 8, lines 46-58) biasing the inertia element toward the closed position of the valve.
Concerning claim 17, Solomon discloses the movable assembly includes the cylinder (E1) and an inertia element (E4) coupled (as it is moveably coupled) to the cylinder (E1), wherein the two components of the movable assembly forming the valve include the cylinder and the inertia element.
Concerning claim 18, Solomon discloses the movable assembly includes an inertia element (E4) coupled to the piston (E2) or the cylinder (E1), wherein the inertia element (E4) is one of the two components forming the valve (55), and wherein the inertia element includes one or more guide sections (E5 in the figure reproduced below) configured to movably guide the inertia element (E4) within the cylinder (E1) between the open position and the closed position of the valve.
Concerning claim 19, Solomon discloses the fluid-conveying connection between the pressure chamber (31c) and the compensation area (31d) is routed inside the cylinder.
Concerning claim 20, Solomon discloses the movable assembly includes an inertia piston (E4) coupled to the piston (E2) or the cylinder of the hydraulic cylinder, wherein the inertia piston is one of the two components forming the valve, and wherein the inertia piston is movably guided inside a receiving space of the cylinder (E1).
Concerning claim 21, Solomon discloses the inertia piston (E4) includes a guide section (E6 in the figure reproduced below) mounted on a piston rod (E2) of the piston of the hydraulic cylinder so that the inertia piston is guided for movement in a longitudinal direction of the piston rod.
Concerning claim 22, Solomon discloses the hydraulic cylinder includes a piston rod (E3) extending from the piston through the compensation area; and wherein the fluid-conveying connection between the pressure chamber and the compensation area includes a discharge channel formed in the piston.
Concerning claim 23, Solomon discloses the movable assembly includes an inertia element (E4) coupled to the piston or the cylinder, wherein the inertia element is one of the two components forming the valve; and the fluid-conveying connection between the pressure chamber and the compensation area further includes a fluid guide formed by the inertia element.
Concerning claim 26, Solomon discloses the hydraulic cylinder further includes a piston rod (E3) extending from the piston (E2); the piston (E2) includes a piston crown adjoined by a securing piece (E6); the piston rod (E3) includes a mounting neck connected to the securing piece; and the fluid-conveying connection between the pressure chamber and the compensation area includes an overflow area (31d) formed between the piston rod and the securing piece.
Concerning claim 27, Solomon discloses a tank (51); a pressure valve (61, 62); a pressure line connecting the compensation area (31c) to the pressure valve (61, 62); a hydraulic line connecting the pressure valve (61, 62) to the tank (51); wherein the pressure valve (61, 62) is configured to open after the valve (55) of the overload triggering device has been triggered as a result of an overload situation at the crusher unit in order to discharge hydraulic fluid from the compensation area into the tank.
Concerning claim 28, Solomon discloses a pressure generator (53); and wherein the pressure chamber is connected to the pressure generator via a hydraulic port so that hydraulic fluid can be fed into the pressure chamber in order to increase a volume of the pressure chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 13 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Solomon does not disclose a valve formed between the two components of the moveable assembly. However applicant has only claimed, in claim 14, one of the two components (either a cylinder or a piston of a hydraulic cylinder) the second component can be anything that is part of the moveable assembly. This would include any structure attached to the moveable assembly that is not structure of other claim limitations. As Solomon discloses a hydraulic cylinder having a piston within the cylinder and a valve that is connected between the piston and another component it reads on the claim as written. Applicant is correct that Solomon does not disclose the valve is formed by the left end of an inertial element sealing against the right end of the piston (as seen in applicant’s figure 4) but this has not actually been claimed. Further, as seen in claim 17, while applicant has claimed an inertial element that is part of the two components, applicant has still failed to claim that this element is the second of the two components. As seen in claim 18, applicant appears to claim that the inertial element is part of the first component as it is coupled to either the piston or the cylinder which is explicitly the first component.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Matthew Katcoff/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725 01/09/2026