DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 1, 2-6, 9, 10, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a fastener coupling the housing with the metal base”. It is not clear what the housing comprises in this limitation as claim 1 recites the limitation “A battery housing comprising: a frame portion having a first material with a first thermal conductivity; a metal base coupled to the frame portion”. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as “a fastener coupling the frame portion with the metal base”.
4. Claims 2-6, 9, 10, and 13-15 are rejected as depending from claim 1.
5. Claim 15 recites the limitation "the housing" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the battery housing" as there is antecedent basis.
6. Claim 15 recites the limitation "the battery cells" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the plurality of battery cells" as there is antecedent basis.
7. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
8. Claim 26 recites the limitation "the battery cells" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the plurality of battery cells" as there is antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claim(s) 1-4, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071).
Regarding claim 1, Geskes discloses a battery housing (13, Figs. 1-3, abstract) comprising: a frame portion having a first material with a first thermal conductivity (housing part 14 made of plastic, Figs. 1-5, [0034]); a metal base coupled to the frame portion(cooling plate 6, Figs. 1-5), the metal base having second thermal conductivity greater than the first thermal conductivity(cooling plate 6 is made of metal which has greater thermal conductivity than plastic [0032]), wherein the frame portion and the metal base have internal surfaces at least partially defining an interior space for a cell assembly and have external surfaces to an exterior space of the battery housing(see battery blocks 2 with battery cells 3 in Figs. 1-5); and a fastener coupling the frame portion with the metal base(fasteners 15 such as screws, glue, weld, solder, clamp, caulk or a riveted connection, Figs. 1-4, [0034]).
Regarding claim 2, Geskes discloses the first material includes a polymeric material ([0034]).
Regarding claim 3, Geskes discloses the metal base includes a flat plate(Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, Geskes discloses the metal base includes a cooling feature([0032]).
Regarding claim 14, Geskes discloses further comprising a metal top cover coupled to the frame portion(housing part 14 of metal or of plastic can be made in one piece or joined together from several individual housing parts for example by gluing, screwing, riveting, welding or soldering [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, Geskes discloses a battery module (accumulator arrangement 1, Figs. 1-5) comprising: the battery housing of claim 1 (Figs. 1-5); and a plurality of battery cells housed by the battery housing (3, Figs. 1-5) and coupled to the metal base([0032]); and an adhesive coupled to the plurality of battery cells and to the metal base, the adhesive to thermally couple the plurality of battery cells and the metal base([0032]), wherein the metal base includes a heat sink to transfer heat from the plurality of battery cells([0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim(s) 5, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Capati et al. (US2019/0081310).
Regarding claim 5, Geskes discloses the housing part 14 is secured on the cooling plate 6—or respectively on the housing cover—by a first fastener 15—here screws 15 a—, wherein a ring seal 17 is braced between the cooling plate 6 and a flange 16 of the housing part 14([0034]). Geskes discloses the screws 15 a can be replaced by a glued, a welded, a soldered, a clamped, a caulked or a riveted connection([0034]) but does not explicitly disclose the fastener includes an epoxy cured to the frame portion and the metal base.
Capati teaches systems and methods for interconnecting battery blocks(abstract). Capati teaches the battery cells 110 can be positioned within the respective one of the cell holder 130, 135 using adhesive material (e.g., 2-part epoxy, silicone-based glue, or other liquid adhesive), heat staking, or press fit (Fig. 3, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use in the battery housing of Geskes, the fastener includes an epoxy as taught by Capati as art recognized equivalence for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 6, modified Geskes discloses the frame portion includes a shelf and a groove disposed in the shelf (Geskes, see ring seal 17 secured in annular groove 18 in housing part 14, Fig. 1, [0034]), wherein the metal base abuts the shelf (Geskes, cooling plate 6, Fig. 1), and wherein the epoxy is disposed in the groove (Capati [0021]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Geskes discloses the frame portion further includes a wall formed with the shelf and extending away from the shelf (Geskes, see Fig. A as annotated Fig. 1)
Fig. A.
15. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) and further in view of Capati et al. (US2019/0081310) as applied to claims 1, 6, and 9 above, further in view of Jansen et al. (US2019/0280265).
Regarding claim 10, modified Geskes does not explicitly disclose a gap is disposed between the metal base and the wall, and wherein the wall includes a chamfer.
Jansen teaches the sides 52 of the housing 50 and the casing 57 of the lid assembly 56 may be made of a plastic or any other non-conductive material(Fig. 5, [0042]). Jansen teaches the base 54 of the housing 50 may be made of or include a metal or other thermally conductive material that may enable transfer of heat from within the battery module 28 to an adjacent material or to the ambient air([0042]). Jansen teaches together, the housing 50, including the sides 52 and the base 54, and the lid assembly 56 may enclose the battery cell assembly within the battery module 28([0042]). Jansen teaches a gap is disposed between the metal base (54, Fig. 9) and the wall (see sides 52 in Fig. 9), and wherein the wall includes a chamfer (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery housing of modified Geskes with a gap is disposed between the metal base and the wall, and wherein the wall includes a chamfer as taught by Jansen as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
16. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) and further in view of Capati et al. (US2019/0081310) as applied to claims 1, and 6 above, further in view of Huang (US2023/0103699).
Regarding claim 13, modified Geskes does not explicitly disclose the frame portion further includes a plurality of voids formed in the shelf and a plurality of channels formed in the shelf, the plurality of channels providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove to the plurality of voids.
Huang teaches a battery includes a shell, a cell module, and a circuit board(abstract). Huang teaches the frame portion (11, Figs. 3 and 4) further includes a plurality of voids formed in the shelf (112, Figs. 3 and 4) and a plurality of channels formed in the shelf (113, Figs. 3 and 4), the plurality of channels providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove (111, Figs. 3 and 4) to the plurality of voids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery housing of modified Geskes with the frame portion further includes a plurality of voids formed in the shelf and a plurality of channels formed in the shelf, the plurality of channels providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove to the plurality of voids as taught by Huang as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
17. Claim(s) 17-22, 25, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) in view of Huang (US2023/0103699).
Regarding claim 17, Geskes discloses a battery housing (13, Figs. 1-3, abstract) comprising an injection molded frame portion (housing part 14 made of plastic, Figs. 1-5, [0034]) having a shelf comprising (see Fig. B as annotated Fig. 1),
Fig. B. The instant claim includes a recitation describing the manner in which the frame portion is formed: by injection molding. Said recitation appears to be product-by-process language. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. MPEP 2113.
Continuing with claim 17, Geskes does not explicitly disclose formed in the shelf: a groove, a spillway, and a channel providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove to the spillway.
Huang teaches a battery includes a shell, a cell module, and a circuit board(abstract). Huang teaches the frame portion (11, Figs. 3 and 4) further includes formed in the shelf: a groove(111, Figs. 3 and 4), a spillway(112, Figs. 3 and 4), and a channel(113, Figs. 3 and 4) providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove to the spillway(Figs. 3 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery housing of Geskes with formed in the shelf: a groove, a spillway, and a channel providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove to the spillway as taught by Huang as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Regarding claim 18, modified Geskes discloses the groove includes a rectangular portion and an arcuate portion(Geskes [0034]).
Regarding claim 19, modified Geskes discloses the shelf further comprises, formed in the shelf: a plurality of spillways; and a plurality of channels (Huang, Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 20, modified Geskes discloses further comprising a base portion abutting the shelf (Geskes, cooling plate 6, Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 21, modified Geskes discloses the frame portion has a first material with a first thermal conductivity (Geskes, housing part 14 made of plastic, Figs. 1-5, [0034]), and the base portion has a second material with a second thermal conductivity greater than the first thermal conductivity (Geskes, cooling plate 6 is made of metal which has greater thermal conductivity than plastic [0032]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Geskes discloses the first material includes a polymeric material (Geskes [0034]) and the second material includes metal(Geskes [0032]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Geskes discloses a battery module (Geskes, accumulator arrangement 1, Figs. 1-5) comprising; the battery housing of claim 20(Geskes, Figs. 1-5) a plurality of battery cells housed by the housing(Geskes, 3, Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 26, modified Geskes discloses further comprising a plurality of battery cells coupled to the base portion(Geskes [0032]), wherein the base portion includes a heat sink to transfer heat from the plurality of battery cells(Geskes [0032]).
18. Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) in view of Huang (US2023/0103699) as applied to claims 17 and 20 above, further in view of Capati et al. (US2019/0081310).
Regarding claim 23, modified Geskes discloses the housing part 14 is secured on the cooling plate 6—or respectively on the housing cover—by a first fastener 15—here screws 15 a—, wherein a ring seal 17 is braced between the cooling plate 6 and a flange 16 of the housing part 14(Geskes [0034]). Modified Geskes discloses the screws 15 a can be replaced by a glued, a welded, a soldered, a clamped, a caulked or a riveted connection (Geskes [0034]) but does not explicitly disclose further comprising an epoxy cured to the frame portion and the base portion.
Capati teaches systems and methods for interconnecting battery blocks(abstract). Capati teaches the battery cells 110 can be positioned within the respective one of the cell holder 130, 135 using adhesive material (e.g., 2-part epoxy, silicone-based glue, or other liquid adhesive), heat staking, or press fit (Fig. 3, [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use in the battery hosing of modified Geskes, an epoxy as taught by Capati as art recognized equivalence for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Conclusion
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724