DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
2. Applicant’s amendments submitted on 5/12/26 have been received. Claims 1, 5, 13, 15, 17, 25 and 26 have been amended. Claims 7, 8, 11, 12, 16, and 24 have been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 6, 9, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
5. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the epoxy" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the cured epoxy" as there is antecedent basis.
6. Claims 9, 10, and 13 are rejected as depending from claim 6.
7. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 26 recites the limitation "a plurality of battery cells" in lines 1-2. It is not clear whether it is the same or different plurality of battery cells recited in claim 25 from which it depends. For the purpose of this Office Action, the limitation has been interpreted as "the plurality of battery cells".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) in view of Lobert et al. (US 2016/0049703).
Regarding claim 1, Geskes discloses a battery housing (13, Figs. 1-3, abstract) comprising: a frame portion having a first material with a first thermal conductivity (housing part 14 made of plastic, Figs. 1-5, [0034]); a metal base coupled to the frame portion(cooling plate 6, Figs. 1-5), the metal base having second thermal conductivity greater than the first thermal conductivity(cooling plate 6 is made of metal which has greater thermal conductivity than plastic [0032]), wherein the frame portion and the metal base have internal surfaces at least partially defining an interior space for a cell assembly and have external surfaces to an exterior space of the battery housing(see battery blocks 2 with battery cells 3 in Figs. 1-5); and a fastener coupling the frame portion with the metal base(fasteners 15 such as screws, glue, weld, solder, clamp, caulk or a riveted connection, Figs. 1-4, [0034]), but does not explicitly disclose the fastener includes a cured epoxy.
Lobert teaches battery module with restrained battery cells utilizing a heat exchanger (title). Lobert teaches a lithium ion battery module prepared by a process comprising the steps of: placing a heat exchanger comprising a plurality of heat exchanger fins into a battery module housing; positioning a first lithium ion battery cell and a second lithium ion battery cell on either side of a fin of the plurality of heat exchanger fins; positioning one or more temperature sensing components proximate a free end of one or more of the plurality of heat exchanger fins; filling the battery module housing with an epoxy filler material such that the fin of the plurality of heat exchanger fins and the one or more temperature sensing components are covered with the epoxy filler material; and curing the epoxy filler material such that the epoxy filler material restrains the lithium ion battery cells, the plurality of heat exchanger fins, and the temperature sensing components and serves as a thermal conduction path from the first and second lithium ion battery cells to a heat exchanger plate coupled to the plurality of heat exchanger fins(claim 21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery housing of Geskes with the fastener includes a cured epoxy as taught by Lobert as art recognized equivalence for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding claim 2, modified Geskes discloses the first material includes a polymeric material (Geskes [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Geskes discloses the metal base includes a flat plate(Geskes Figs. 1-3).
Regarding claim 4, modified Geskes discloses the metal base includes a cooling feature(Geskes [0032]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Geskes discloses the fastener includes the epoxy cured (Lobert, claim 21) to the frame portion and the metal base(Geskes, [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Geskes discloses the frame portion includes a shelf and a groove disposed in the shelf (Geskes, see ring seal 17 secured in annular groove 18 in housing part 14, Fig. 1, [0034]), wherein the metal base abuts the shelf (Geskes, cooling plate 6, Fig. 1), and wherein the cured epoxy is disposed in the groove (Lobert, claim 21).
Regarding claim 9, modified Geskes discloses the frame portion further includes a wall formed with the shelf and extending away from the shelf (Geskes, see Fig. A as annotated Fig. 1)
Fig. A.
Regarding claim 14, modified Geskes discloses further comprising a metal top cover coupled to the frame portion(Geskes, housing part 14 of metal or of plastic can be made in one piece or joined together from several individual housing parts for example by gluing, screwing, riveting, welding or soldering [0034]).
Regarding claim 15, modified Geskes discloses a battery module (Geskes, accumulator arrangement 1, Figs. 1-5) comprising: the battery housing of claim 1 (Geskes, Figs. 1-5); and a plurality of battery cells housed by the battery housing (Geskes, 3, Figs. 1-5) and coupled to the metal base(Geskes [0032]); and an adhesive coupled to the plurality of battery cells and to the metal base, the adhesive to thermally couple the plurality of battery cells and the metal base(Geskes [0032]), wherein the metal base includes a heat sink to transfer heat from the plurality of battery cells(Geskes [0032]).
11. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) in view of Lobert et al. (US2016/0049703) as applied to claims 1, 6, and 9 above, and further in view of Jansen et al. (US2019/0280265).
Regarding claim 10, modified Geskes does not explicitly disclose a gap is disposed between the metal base and the wall, and wherein the wall includes a chamfer.
Jansen teaches the sides 52 of the housing 50 and the casing 57 of the lid assembly 56 may be made of a plastic or any other non-conductive material(Fig. 5, [0042]). Jansen teaches the base 54 of the housing 50 may be made of or include a metal or other thermally conductive material that may enable transfer of heat from within the battery module 28 to an adjacent material or to the ambient air([0042]). Jansen teaches together, the housing 50, including the sides 52 and the base 54, and the lid assembly 56 may enclose the battery cell assembly within the battery module 28([0042]). Jansen teaches a gap is disposed between the metal base (54, Fig. 9) and the wall (see sides 52 in Fig. 9), and wherein the wall includes a chamfer (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery housing of modified Geskes with a gap is disposed between the metal base and the wall, and wherein the wall includes a chamfer as taught by Jansen as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
12. Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) further in view of Lobert et al. (US2016/0049703) as applied to claims 1, and 6 above, and further in view of Huang (US2023/0103699).
Regarding claim 13, modified Geskes does not explicitly disclose the frame portion further includes a plurality of voids formed in the shelf and a plurality of channels formed in the shelf, the plurality of channels providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove to the plurality of voids.
Huang teaches a battery includes a shell, a cell module, and a circuit board(abstract). Huang teaches the frame portion (11, Figs. 3 and 4) further includes a plurality of voids formed in the shelf (112, Figs. 3 and 4) and a plurality of channels formed in the shelf (113, Figs. 3 and 4), the plurality of channels providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove (111, Figs. 3 and 4) to the plurality of voids.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery housing of modified Geskes with the frame portion further includes a plurality of voids formed in the shelf and a plurality of channels formed in the shelf, the plurality of channels providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove to the plurality of voids as taught by Huang as obvious to try choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.
Allowable Subject Matter
13. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the invention in independent claim 17 is directed to a battery housing comprising an injection molded frame portion having a shelf comprising, formed in the shelf: a groove having an adhesive, a spillway, and a channel providing a pathway for the adhesive through the shelf from the groove to the spillway.
The prior art to Geskes et al. (US2020/0112071) discloses a battery housing comprising an injection molded frame portion having a shelf but does not disclose, teach or render obvious comprising, formed in the shelf: a groove having an adhesive, a spillway, and a channel providing a pathway for the adhesive through the shelf from the groove to the spillway.
The prior art to Huang (US2023/0103699) teaches the frame portion further includes formed in the shelf: a groove, a spillway, and a channel providing a pathway through the shelf from the groove to the spillway but does not teach, disclose or render obvious a groove having an adhesive, a channel providing a pathway for the adhesive through the shelf from the groove to the spillway.
Response to Arguments
14. Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument: Applicant cancels claim 14 and applies the limitations of claim 14 to amended claim 1.
Examiner’s Answer: Claim 14 has not been canceled. Claim 14 is directed to a metal top cover coupled to the frame portion.
15. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-6, 9-10, and 13-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICTORIA H LYNCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724