DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The current Office action is in response to Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination filed on September 28, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 28, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, Applicant argues that it would be premature to file a terminal disclaimer since no claims have been indicated as allowable. This argument is similar to the arguments made in responses filed on October 10, 2024, on July 14, 2025, and on January 22, 2026. However, as noted in the previous Office action, the rejection will not be held in abeyance. A reply showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims or the filing of a terminal disclaimer is required. See MPEP 804.1(B).
Applicant further argues that the Office action is inconsistent as to whether or not Chandwadkar discloses supplemental sensors because the Office action states that the sensors are disclosed in [0069] and states that Chandwadkar fails to disclose a plurality of supplemental sensors associated with the add-on system. However, as noted in the previous Office action, Chandwadkar discloses a plurality of supplemental sensors in [0069] but fails to disclose the supplemental sensors being associated with the add-on system. The claim fails to define what the add-on system is and how the supplemental sensors are part of the add-on system. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Belson teaches protecting the operator from being exposed to X-rays for improved safety in [0008].
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11744529 (notated as Yifat ‘529). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the narrower claims of the previous application anticipate the broader claims of the current application.
Regarding claim 1:
Yifat ‘529 discloses a supplementary collision detection and prevention system for use in combination with medical imaging equipment which includes a native anti-collision mechanism having native sensors and an add-on system, the supplementary collision detection and prevention system comprising:
a plurality of supplemental sensors associated with the add-on system, wherein the plurality of supplemental sensors is any one of a proximity sensor and/or contact sensor, and/or an inertial motion sensor, and/or an operator detection sensor, and/or an electrical current sensor configured to facilitate prevention or protection from collision with an entity (Claim 1); and
an interface configured to receive communication from at least one of the plurality of supplemental sensors and to transmit a signal to the native anti-collision mechanism to actuate an anti-collision operation of the medical imaging equipment to avoid or mitigate a collision (Claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandwadkar (2018/0289342) in view of Belson (U.S. 2009/0232282).
Regarding claim 1:
Chandwadkar discloses a supplementary collision detection and prevention system for use in combination with medical imaging equipment which comprises a native anti-collision mechanism having native sensors and an add-on system, the supplementary collision detection and prevention system comprising:
a plurality of supplemental sensors ([0069], proximity sensors), wherein the plurality of supplemental sensors is any one of a proximity sensor ([0069], proximity sensors) and/or contact sensor, and/or an inertial motion sensor, and/or an operator detection sensor, and/or an electrical current sensor configured to facilitate prevention or protection from collision with an entity; and
an interface ([0068], anti-collision unit) configured to receive communication from at least one of the plurality of supplemental sensors ([0068], sensor communicates with anti-collision unit) and to transmit a signal that actuates an anti-collision operation of the medical imaging equipment ([0068], signal cause holding or slowing of moving part), and/or actuates said add-on system thereof, to avoid or mitigate a collision ([0068], signal cause holding or slowing of moving part to avoid collision).
However, Chandwadkar fails to disclose a plurality of supplemental sensors associated with the add-on system.
Belson teaches a plurality of supplemental sensors associated with the add-on system ([0050], shield has sensors).
It would have been obvious to one of an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the sensors of Chandwakar with the shield taught by Belson in order to protect the operator from being exposed to X-rays (Belson; [0008]). KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Conclusion
/S.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2884
/DAVID J MAKIYA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2884