DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 4/14/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/14/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim term “UHMWPE” should first state that it is “ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene” before using the abbreviated form (UHMWPE) in later instances. Examiner finds this abbreviation to be clear/concise once it is defined in the claim and informal as drafted. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the use of scientific notation of “5*106 g/mol to 107 g/mol” is not clear as to the second value. Is this supposed to be 5*107 or 1*107? As such, the metes and bounds of this limitation are not clear, as drafted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mulliez et al. (US 2019/0218355), hereinafter Mulliez.
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, Mulliez discloses a method of producing an implant based on UHMWPE comprising the steps of: (a) mixing UHMWPE powder with 0.1% by weight of an antioxidant (α-tocopherol) (par. 0038);
(b) compacting (“compression molding”) (par. 0038) the mixture of UHMWPE and antioxidant into a molded body (see also ref. claim 4);
(c) manufacturing one or more elements from the molded body by material-removing machining (“machining” – par. 0034; “cut” – par. 0039, where cutting is considered a form of material-removing machining); and
(d) irradiating the machined body by gamma radiation (par. 0011) or x-ray radiation (par. 0018, 0031-0033, 0041) in order to crosslink the UHMWPE (ref. claim 1), wherein the method comprises no thermal post-treatment of the irradiated element (par. 0036).
Mulliez does not explicitly disclose that the radiation dose is between 25-45 kGy, instead suggesting a range of 60-110 kGy (par. 0031). However, the reference also notes that the radiation dose is result-effective upon amount of cross-linking that occurs among the molecular chains (par. 0027), while also noting that the temperature of the mixture also causes a greater degree of crosslinking. It has been held that the optimization of a result-effective variable is within routine skill in the art and supports a case of prima facie obviousness. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to have modified the above from Mulliez to have specified that the radiation dose is as required in the claims.
Regarding claim 2, Mulliez discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the UHMWPE is in the range of 5*10^6 to 10^7 g/mol and a density of 0.92-0.94 g/cm^3 (par. 0024).
Regarding claims 3-4, Mulliez discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the antioxidant is a tocopherol as claimed (par. 0020-0021).
Regarding claim 7, Mulliez discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the irradiation of the element is performed with gamma (par. 0011) or x-ray radiation (par. 0018. 0031-0033, 0041) for 4 to 5 hours (par. 0033).
Regarding claim 8, Mulliez discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses packaging the implant element (par. 0041)
Regarding claim 9, Mulliez discloses the subject matter of claim 1, and further discloses that the irradiation is performed in a receiving space (par. 0041 – x ray irradiation apparatus).
Conclusion
/ANDREW D GRAHAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742