DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,9, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liu (US 20220198928 A1) (hereinafter Liu) in view of Suleiman (DE 102020215254 A1) (hereinafter Suleiman).
Regarding Claim 1, Liu teaches a navigation system(Liu, Paragraph 7, navigation system) comprising:
a control circuit(Liu, Paragraph 7, control circuit) configured to:
receive a sensor data packet for a range captured in a scan area(Liu, Paragraph 7, receive a sensor data packet for a scan area);
analyze the sensor data packet(Liu, Paragraph 7, analyze the sensor data packet) including storing the sensor data packet(Liu, Paragraph 7, including storing the sensor data packet);
parse the sensor data packet(Liu, Paragraph 7, parse the sensor data packet) to generate a processed scan including identifying the real-world coordinates(Liu, Paragraph 7, generate real world endpoints and a bounding box including identifying the real world coordinates); and
merge vehicle maneuvering instructions into the overhead depiction for accessing the parking space(Liu, Paragraph 7, merge vehicle maneuvering instructions into the overhead depiction for accessing the parking space).
While Liu teaches about a navigation system that can receive a sensor data packet for a range captured in a scan area as well as analyzing and storing the sensor data packet, Liu fails to teach a system with ultrasonic sensor to identify a parking space from the processed scan submitted to a parking space filter; compile an overhead depiction including real-world coordinates of the parking space by analyzing the scan area.
However, Suleiman, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about identifying parking spaces using ultrasonic sensor, discloses a system to identify a parking space from the processed scan submitted to a parking space filter(Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces, comprising at least one ultrasonic sensor and a computing unit, which is designed to evaluate the information provided by the ultrasonic sensor); compile an overhead depiction(Suleiman discloses a two dimensional depiction of horizontal plane where vehicle is moving similar to overhead depiction. The horizontal plane depiction of the vehicle further indicates its capability to determine the overhead depiction of the parking space. Moreover, Fig.2 and fig.3 of Suleiman demonstrate an overhead depiction of parking space based on ultrasonic points. Suleiman, paragraph 49, two-dimensional coordinates that relate to a horizontal plane in which the vehicle is moving. In other words, the coordinates indicate a position in the horizontal longitudinal and lateral directions, but not in the vertical direction) including real-world coordinates of the parking space by analyzing the scan area(Suleiman discloses parking space detections performed based on fixed coordinates of ultrasonic reflection position indicating its capability to determine the coordinates detected parking space. Suleiman, paragraph 19, the local position at which the reflection that generates the echo took place is specified by coordinates which relate to a stationary position that is not moving with the vehicle. The coordinates of the local position of the echo are thus geographic coordinates which indicate a fixed point on the surface of the earth in the area surrounding the vehicle).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Liu with Suleiman to identify parking space using ultrasonic sensors. By using ultrasonic sensors, it is possible to measure the range of echo received from ultrasonic sensor to determine proximity of a nearby parked vehicle or an object. Ultrasonic sensors are advantageous because they perform well in low light environments. Specifically, ultrasonic sensors perform well in parking lots with dark and unclear environment where other sensors struggle to detect signals.
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches a method of operation for a navigation system(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system) comprising:
receiving a sensor data packet for a range captured in a scan area(Liu, Paragraph 6, receiving a sensor data packet for a scan area);
analyzing the sensor data packet including storing the sensor data packet(Liu, Paragraph 6, analyzing the sensor data packet);
parsing the sensor data packet(Liu, Paragraph 6, parsing the sensor data packet) to generate a processed scan including identifying the real- world coordinates(Liu, Paragraph 6, generate real world endpoints and a bounding box including identifying the real world coordinates); and
merging vehicle maneuvering instructions into the overhead depiction for accessing the parking space(Liu, Paragraph 6, merging vehicle maneuvering instructions into the overhead depiction for accessing the parking space.).
While Liu teaches about a navigation system that can receive a sensor data packet for a range captured in a scan area as well as analyzing and storing the sensor data packet, Liu fails to teach a method of identifying a parking space from the processed scan;
compiling an overhead depiction including the real-world coordinates of the parking space identified by analyzing the scan area;
However, Suleiman, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about identifying parking spaces using ultrasonic sensor, discloses a method of identifying a parking space from the processed scan(Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces, comprising at least one ultrasonic sensor and a computing unit, which is designed to evaluate the information provided by the ultrasonic sensor);
compiling an overhead depiction(Suleiman discloses a two dimensional depiction of horizontal plane where vehicle is moving similar to overhead depiction. The horizontal plane depiction of the vehicle further indicates its capability to determine the overhead depiction of the parking space. Moreover, Fig.2 and fig.3 of Suleiman demonstrate an overhead depiction of parking space based on ultrasonic points. Suleiman, paragraph 49, two-dimensional coordinates that relate to a horizontal plane in which the vehicle is moving. In other words, the coordinates indicate a position in the horizontal longitudinal and lateral directions, but not in the vertical direction) including the real-world coordinates of the parking space identified by analyzing the scan area(Suleiman discloses parking space detections performed based on fixed coordinates of ultrasonic reflection position indicating its capability to determine the coordinates detected parking space. Suleiman, paragraph 19, the local position at which the reflection that generates the echo took place is specified by coordinates which relate to a stationary position that is not moving with the vehicle. The coordinates of the local position of the echo are thus geographic coordinates which indicate a fixed point on the surface of the earth in the area surrounding the vehicle);
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Liu with Suleiman to identify parking space using ultrasonic sensors. By using ultrasonic sensors, it is possible to measure the range of echo received from ultrasonic sensor to determine proximity of a nearby parked vehicle or an object. Ultrasonic sensors are advantageous because they perform well in low light environments. Specifically, ultrasonic sensors perform well in parking lots with dark and unclear environment where other sensors struggle to detect signals.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lui and Suleiman teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium including instructions(Paragraph 7, control circuit) for a navigation system(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system) comprising:
receiving a sensor data packet for a range captured in a scan area(Liu, Paragraph 6, receiving a sensor data packet for a scan area);
analyzing the sensor data packet(Liu, Paragraph 6, analyzing the sensor data packet) including storing the sensor data packet(Liu, Paragraph 6, including storing the sensor data packet);
parsing the sensor data packet(Liu, Paragraph 6, parsing the sensor data packet) to generate a processed scan including identifying the real- world coordinates(Liu, Paragraph 6, generate real world endpoints and a bounding box including identifying the real world coordinates); and
merging vehicle maneuvering instructions into the overhead depiction for accessing the parking space(Liu, Paragraph 6, merging vehicle maneuvering instructions into the overhead depiction for accessing the parking space.).
While Liu teaches about a navigation system that can receive a sensor data packet for a range captured in a scan area as well as analyzing and storing the sensor data packet, Liu fails to teach a identifying a parking space from the processed scan;
compiling an overhead depiction including the real-world coordinates of the parking space identified by analyzing the scan area;
However, Suleiman, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about identifying parking spaces using ultrasonic sensor, discloses identifying a parking space from the processed scan(Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces, comprising at least one ultrasonic sensor and a computing unit, which is designed to evaluate the information provided by the ultrasonic sensor);
compiling an overhead depiction(Suleiman discloses a two dimensional depiction of horizontal plane where vehicle is moving similar to overhead depiction. The horizontal plane depiction of the vehicle further indicates its capability to determine the overhead depiction of the parking space. Moreover, Fig.2 and fig.3 of Suleiman demonstrate an overhead depiction of parking space based on ultrasonic points. Suleiman, paragraph 49, two-dimensional coordinates that relate to a horizontal plane in which the vehicle is moving. In other words, the coordinates indicate a position in the horizontal longitudinal and lateral directions, but not in the vertical direction) including the real-world coordinates of the parking space identified by analyzing the scan area(Suleiman discloses parking space detections performed based on fixed coordinates of ultrasonic reflection position indicating its capability to determine the coordinates detected parking space. Suleiman, paragraph 19, the local position at which the reflection that generates the echo took place is specified by coordinates which relate to a stationary position that is not moving with the vehicle. The coordinates of the local position of the echo are thus geographic coordinates which indicate a fixed point on the surface of the earth in the area surrounding the vehicle);
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Liu with Suleiman to identify parking space using ultrasonic sensors. By using ultrasonic sensors, it is possible to measure the range of echo received from ultrasonic sensor to determine proximity of a nearby parked vehicle or an object. Ultrasonic sensors are advantageous because they perform well in low light environments. Specifically, ultrasonic sensors perform well in parking lots with dark and unclear environment where other sensors struggle to detect signals.
Claims 2, 3,10,11,16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liu(US 20220198928 A1) (hereinafter Liu) in view of Suleiman (DE 102020215254 A1) (hereinafter Suleiman) in further view of Dolan (US 20200050716 A1) (hereinafter Dolan).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the system as claimed in claim 1(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces)
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a control circuit that can receive, analyze, store, as well as identify real world coordinates of a parking space, it fails to teach a control circuit wherein the control circuit is configured to: process a range data scan including generate a missing point scan from the range data scan to correct the range of a missing point; and generate a corrected data input including substitute a corrected range for the missing point in the missing point scan.
However, Dolan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about procedural world generation, discloses a system wherein the control circuit is configured to: process a range data scan(Dolan, paragraph 16, data collection devices 102 can utilize sensor system(s) 104 to collect sensor data 106 associated with a real environment… the sensor system(s) 104 can include, but are not limited to, LIDAR sensors, RADAR sensors, ultrasonic transducers) including generate a missing point scan from the range data scan to correct the range of a missing point(Dolan, paragraph 19, there may be holes in the simulated environment (e.g., incomplete data), for instance, due to occlusions (e.g., parked cars, tight alleyways, etc.) when constructing the road mesh 110 ); and generate a corrected data input including substitute a corrected range for the missing point in the missing point scan(Dolan, paragraph 19, the USGS DEM data may not have holes and thus, such data can be used to supplement data sets that are missing data (e.g., due to occlusions or other deficiencies in data collection)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lui and Suleiman with Dolan to incorporate the detection of holes(missing point) in scan data, and supplement the hole/missing point. By identifying the missing point of a scan, and substituting it with a correct data, it is possible to improve the accuracy of parking space and obstruction detection by supplementing points with associated data to construct a complete representation of an environment.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the system as claimed in claim 1(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces), wherein the control circuit is configured to: process a range data scan( Dolan, paragraph 16, data collection devices 102 can utilize sensor system(s) 104 to collect sensor data 106 associated with a real environment… the sensor system(s) 104 can include, but are not limited to, LIDAR sensors, RADAR sensors, ultrasonic transducers) including generate a false point scan from the range data scan to correct the range of a false point(Dolan disclose an outlier ( wrong detection) which corresponds to a false point. Dolan, paragraph 66, Any outliers (e.g., surfaces which do not align with the road mesh after projection (e.g., a sidewalk projected into a tree due to errors in alignment or generation of the maps)) may be determined); and generate a corrected data input including substitute an adjusted range for the false point in the false point scan(Dolan discloses smoothening of outliers/false points which is similar to adjusting false points. Dolan, paragraph 66, errors in alignment or generation of the maps)) may be determined and smoothed as necessary).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the method as claimed in claim 9(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces)
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a control circuit that can receive, analyze, store, as well as identify real world coordinates of a parking space, it fails to teach a control circuit further compromising: processing a range data scan including generating a missing point scan from the range data scan for correcting the range of a missing point; and
generating a corrected data input including substituting a corrected range for the missing point in the missing point scan.
However, Dolan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about procedural world generation, discloses a method further compromising: processing a range data scan(Dolan, paragraph 16, data collection devices 102 can utilize sensor system(s) 104 to collect sensor data 106 associated with a real environment… the sensor system(s) 104 can include, but are not limited to, LIDAR sensors, RADAR sensors, ultrasonic transducers) including generating a missing point scan from the range data scan for correcting the range of a missing point(Dolan, paragraph 19, there may be holes in the simulated environment (e.g., incomplete data), for instance, due to occlusions (e.g., parked cars, tight alleyways, etc.) when constructing the road mesh 110); and
generating a corrected data input including substituting a corrected range for the missing point in the missing point scan(Dolan, paragraph 19, the USGS DEM data may not have holes and thus, such data can be used to supplement data sets that are missing data (e.g., due to occlusions or other deficiencies in data collection)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lui and Suleiman with Dolan to incorporate the detection of holes(missing point) in scan data, and supplement the hole/missing point. By identifying the missing point of a scan, and substituting it with a correct data, it is possible to improve the accuracy of parking space and obstruction detection by supplementing points with associated data to construct a complete representation of an environment.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the method as claimed in claim 9(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces)
further comprising: processing a range data scan(Dolan, paragraph 16, data collection devices 102 can utilize sensor system(s) 104 to collect sensor data 106 associated with a real environment… the sensor system(s) 104 can include, but are not limited to, LIDAR sensors, RADAR sensors, ultrasonic transducers) including generating a false point scan from the range data scan for correcting the range of a false point(Dolan disclose an outlier ( wrong detection) which corresponds to a false point. Dolan, paragraph 66, Any outliers (e.g., surfaces which do not align with the road mesh after projection (e.g., a sidewalk projected into a tree due to errors in alignment or generation of the maps)) may be determined); and
generating a corrected data input including substituting an adjusted range for the false point in the false point scan(Dolan discloses smoothening of outliers/false points which is similar to adjusting false points. Dolan, paragraph 66, errors in alignment or generation of the maps)) may be determined and smoothed as necessary).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lui and Suleiman teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium including the instructions as claimed in claim 15(Liu, Paragraph 7, control circuit)
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a control circuit that can receive, analyze, store, as well as identify real world coordinates of a parking space, it fails to teach a system further compromising:
processing a range data scan including generating a missing point scan from the range data scan for correcting the range of a missing point; and
generating a corrected data input including substituting a corrected range for the missing point in the missing point scan.
However, Dolan, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about procedural world generation, discloses a system further compromising:
processing a range data scan(Dolan, paragraph 16, data collection devices 102 can utilize sensor system(s) 104 to collect sensor data 106 associated with a real environment… the sensor system(s) 104 can include, but are not limited to, LIDAR sensors, RADAR sensors, ultrasonic transducers) including generating a missing point scan from the range data scan for correcting the range of a missing point(Dolan, paragraph 19, there may be holes in the simulated environment (e.g., incomplete data), for instance, due to occlusions (e.g., parked cars, tight alleyways, etc.) when constructing the road mesh 110); and
generating a corrected data input including substituting a corrected range for the missing point in the missing point scan(Dolan, paragraph 19, the USGS DEM data may not have holes and thus, such data can be used to supplement data sets that are missing data (e.g., due to occlusions or other deficiencies in data collection)).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lui and Suleiman with Dolan to incorporate the detection of holes(missing point) in scan data, and supplement the hole/missing point. By identifying the missing point of a scan, and substituting it with a correct data, it is possible to improve the accuracy of parking space and obstruction detection by supplementing points with associated data to construct a complete representation of an environment.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium including the instructions as claimed in claim 15(Liu, Paragraph 7, control circuit) further comprising:
processing a range data scan(Dolan, paragraph 16, data collection devices 102 can utilize sensor system(s) 104 to collect sensor data 106 associated with a real environment… the sensor system(s) 104 can include, but are not limited to, LIDAR sensors, RADAR sensors, ultrasonic transducers) including generating a false point scan from the range data scan for correcting the range of a false point(Dolan disclose an outlier ( wrong detection) which corresponds to a false point. Dolan, paragraph 66, Any outliers (e.g., surfaces which do not align with the road mesh after projection (e.g., a sidewalk projected into a tree due to errors in alignment or generation of the maps)) may be determined); and
generating a corrected data input including substituting an adjusted range for the false point in the false point scan(Dolan discloses smoothening of outliers/false points which is similar to adjusting false points. Dolan, paragraph 66, errors in alignment or generation of the maps)) may be determined and smoothed as necessary).
Claims 4, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liu(US 20220198928 A1) (hereinafter Liu) in view of Suleiman (DE 102020215254 A1) (hereinafter Suleiman) in further view of Wu (CN 109581389 A) (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the system as claimed in claim 1(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces)
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a system to analyze ultrasonic data to identify parking space, it fails to teach a system wherein the control circuit is configured to: process a range data scan including generate a boundary point scan from the range data scan to identify the range of an identified point that follows an increase point; and generate a corrected data input including substitute a follow-on point for the identified point that follows the increase point in a boundary points scan.
However, Wu, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a system for identifying parking space boundary, discloses a system wherein the control circuit is configured to: process a range data scan including generate a boundary point scan from the range data scan to identify the range of an identified point that follows an increase point(Wu discloses identifying a point with sudden range increase calling is a hop point, and further identifying points that follow the hop point which is similar to the identified point. Wu, paragraph 3, the ultrasonic sensor of the vehicle side can detect the distance between the obstacle and the vehicle. when the ultrasonic sensor detects the distance between hop point increases abruptly occurs, then the hop point will be identified as a boundary of the parking space); and generate a corrected data input including substitute a follow-on point for the identified point that follows the increase point in a boundary points scan(Wu discloses a correction mechanism that corrects detected data. Additionally, Wu discloses a point where the range of the ultrasonic data abruptly decreases, therefore it is possible to identify the points following the hop point up to the decreased point to determine the follow-on point. Wu, paragraph 8, the embodiments of the present invention by further correction on the basis of the hop point, can more accurately identify the parking space boundary, thereby improving the identification accuracy of the parking stall ).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lui and Suleiman with Wu to incorporate the hop point to identify boundary point of parking space or an obstacle. After identifying the hop point, it is possible to determine the range of the following identified points until the detection of a point where range of ultrasonic data abruptly decreases. By identifying corrected boundary point and subsequent identified points, it is possible to evaluate parked vehicle/ obstacle with oblique or curved edge to accurately determine parking space.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the method as claimed in claim 9(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces) further comprising:
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a system to analyze ultrasonic data to identify parking space, it fails to teach a method of processing a range data scan including generating a boundary point scan from the range data scan for identifying the range of an identified point following an increase point; and
generating a corrected data input including substituting a follow-on point for the identified point following the increase point in a boundary points scan.
However, Wu, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a system for identifying parking space boundary, discloses a method of processing a range data scan including generating a boundary point scan from the range data scan for identifying the range of an identified point following an increase point(Wu discloses identifying a point with sudden range increase calling is a hop point, and further identifying points that follow the hop point which is similar to the identified point. Wu, paragraph 3, the ultrasonic sensor of the vehicle side can detect the distance between the obstacle and the vehicle. when the ultrasonic sensor detects the distance between hop point increases abruptly occurs, then the hop point will be identified as a boundary of the parking space); and
generating a corrected data input including substituting a follow-on point for the identified point following the increase point in a boundary points scan(Wu discloses a correction mechanism that corrects detected data. Additionally, Wu discloses a point where the range of the ultrasonic data abruptly decreases, therefore it is possible to identify the points following the hop point up to the decreased point to determine the follow-on point. Wu, paragraph 8, the embodiments of the present invention by further correction on the basis of the hop point, can more accurately identify the parking space boundary, thereby improving the identification accuracy of the parking stall).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lui and Suleiman with Wu to incorporate the hop point to identify boundary point of parking space or an obstacle. After identifying the hop point, it is possible to determine the range of the following identified points until the detection of a point where range of ultrasonic data abruptly decreases. By identifying corrected boundary point and subsequent identified points, it is possible to evaluate parked vehicle/ obstacle with oblique or curved edge to accurately determine parking space.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium including the instructions as claimed in claim 15(Liu, Paragraph 7, control circuit)
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a system to analyze ultrasonic data to identify parking space, it fails to teach a system further comprising:
processing a range data scan including generating a boundary point scan from the range data scan for identifying the range of an identified point following an increase point; and
generating a corrected data input including substituting a follow-on point for the identified point following the increase point in a boundary points scan.
However, Wu, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about a system for identifying parking space boundary, discloses a system further comprising:
processing a range data scan including generating a boundary point scan from the range data scan for identifying the range of an identified point following an increase point(Wu discloses identifying a point with sudden range increase calling is a hop point, and further identifying points that follow the hop point which is similar to the identified point. Wu, paragraph 3, the ultrasonic sensor of the vehicle side can detect the distance between the obstacle and the vehicle. when the ultrasonic sensor detects the distance between hop point increases abruptly occurs, then the hop point will be identified as a boundary of the parking space); and
generating a corrected data input including substituting a follow-on point for the identified point following the increase point in a boundary points scan(Wu discloses a correction mechanism that corrects detected data. Additionally, Wu discloses a point where the range of the ultrasonic data abruptly decreases, therefore it is possible to identify the points following the hop point up to the decreased point to determine the follow-on point. Wu, paragraph 8, the embodiments of the present invention by further correction on the basis of the hop point, can more accurately identify the parking space boundary, thereby improving the identification accuracy of the parking stall).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Lui and Suleiman with Wu to incorporate the hop point to identify boundary point of parking space or an obstacle. After identifying the hop point, it is possible to determine the range of the following identified points until the detection of a point where range of ultrasonic data abruptly decreases. By identifying corrected boundary point and subsequent identified points, it is possible to evaluate parked vehicle/ obstacle with oblique or curved edge to accurately determine parking space.
Claims 5-8,13,14,19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Liu(US 20220198928 A1) (hereinafter Liu) in view of Suleiman (DE 102020215254 A1) (hereinafter Suleiman) in further view of Li (CN 109871745 A) (hereinafter Li) in further view of Inoue (US 20120062396 A1) (hereinafter Inoue).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the system as claimed in claim 1(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces),
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a system to analyze ultrasonic data to identify parking space, it fails to teach a system wherein the control circuit is configured to: process a corrected data input including generate an increase point scan; from the corrected data input to identify an adjusted increase point; and generate the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real-world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle.
However, Li, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about identification of empty parking space, discloses a system wherein the control circuit is configured to: process a corrected data input including generate an increase point scan(Li discloses a determining an empty space when a range of ultrasonic data is higher than a preset threshold. Fig.3 of Li demonstrates a point(M, X1) to determine the existence empty parking space which corresponds to increase point. Li, paragraph 5, the range position and the ultrasonic data is greater than the preset ultrasonic data threshold value, identifying the predetermined parking position is empty parking space).
Fig.3 (Li) demonstrates a threshold point(M, X1) to identify empty parking space.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Liu and Suleiman with Li to determine empty/non-empty space based ultrasonic data’s value compared to preset threshold value. By determining an ultrasonic datapoint with greater range than preset value, it is possible to determine whether a parking position is empty parking space or non-empty parking space.
The combination of Liu, Suleiman, and Li specifically fails to disclose a system incorporating increase point from the corrected data input to identify an adjusted increase point; and generate the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real-world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle.
However, Inoue, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about parking support device discloses a system incorporating increase point from the corrected data input to identify an adjusted increase point(The specification discloses the adjusted increase point is filtered based on effect of the edge of the parked vehicle in the scan area. Similarly Inoue discloses corrected points that are adjusted based on corner position based on parked vehicle followed with a point. After the detection of that increase points by Li, It is possible for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the adjusted increase point based on corner of a vehicle. Inoue, paragraph 126, the corner position correcting unit 22, in step ST5-1, receives the result of the determination of the corner position of a front B of a parked vehicle 2b, and reflection point data used for this determination from the corner position determining unit 16, defines the reflection point which is the endmost one of the group of reflection points shown by the reflection point data as a reference, and estimates a gap (correction amount). Inoue, paragraph 128, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction.); and generate the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real-world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle(Inoue, paragraph 18, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Liu, Suleiman, and Li with Inoue to determine corrected increase points /adjusted increase point based on the corner of parked vehicle. By finding the adjusted increase point recognizing the effect of edge of parked vehicle, it’s possible to approximate the real corner of the vehicle with a high degree of precision. Furthermore, it is possible to determine the corner position (coordinates) and the parking space length by complementing the detection point data with removed noise components.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the system as claimed in claim 1(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces)wherein the control circuit is configured to: process a corrected data input including generate a decrease point scan(Li discloses a determining a non-empty space when a range of ultrasonic data is lower than a threshold. Fig.3 of Li demonstrates a point(M, X2) to identify non-empty parking space which corresponds to a decrease point. Li, paragraph 8, the travel distance that the vehicle runs in the preset parking angle point at two sides of the range and the preset ultrasonic of the ultrasonic data is smaller than the data threshold value, identifying the predetermined parking position is non-empty parking space)
Fig.3 (Li) demonstrates a threshold point(M, X2) to identify non-empty parking space
from the corrected data input to identify an adjusted decrease point(Inoue discloses corrected points that are similar to adjusted points that are based on corner of the parked vehicle/obstruction. Furthermore, it is possible for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the adjusted decrease point based on surface of obstruction by identifying the decrease point detection of Li, and the corrected point based on corner of obstruction taught by Inoue. Inoue, paragraph 126, the corner position correcting unit 22, in step ST5-1, receives the result of the determination of the corner position of a front B of a parked vehicle 2b, and reflection point data used for this determination from the corner position determining unit 16, defines the reflection point which is the endmost one of the group of reflection points shown by the reflection point data as a reference, and estimates a gap (correction amount). Inoue, paragraph 128, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction.,); and generate the processed scan including the adjusted decrease point based on the real-world coordinates of a side surface of a structural obstruction(Corner position coordinates are similar to world coordinates. Inoue, paragraph 18, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction ).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the system as claimed in claim 1(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces) wherein the control circuit configured to identify the real-world coordinates of a structural obstruction and a parked vehicle from the processed scan(Inoue, paragraph 103, The reflection point estimating unit 15 calculates the coordinates of the position of each corner of each of the parked vehicles 2a and 2b from the coordinates of the series of detection points in the coordinate system shown in FIG. 11. Inoue, paragraph 109, The data acquiring unit determines the position coordinates of each corner portion (rear Ab and front Bb) of the parked vehicle 2b by using these detection point data and sensor position data. This coordinate system will be referred to as a coordinate world).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the system as claimed in claim 1(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces) wherein the control circuit configured to evaluate a triplet of an identified point(Inoue, paragraph 144, FIG. 18 is a view for explaining the correction algorithm for correcting the position of a corner. First, the reflection point D1 which is the endmost one of the reflection points is defined as a reference, and at least three reflection points (in the example of FIGS. 18, D1 to D3) including this reflection point D1 and reflection points which are close to the reflection point D1 are extracted ) includes a false point detected and replaced by an adjusted range(Inoue discloses noise component which is similar to false point, and removing the noise component by adjusting it with approximating curve, which corresponds to replacement of the false point. Inoue, paragraph 72, process performed by the noise component removing unit 13 using the least-squares method to create a second approximating curve, as shown in FIG. 6(c). As a result, the detection point data are complemented with the second approximating curve.).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the method as claimed in claim 9(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces)
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a system to analyze ultrasonic data to identify parking space, it fails to teach a method further comprising: processing a corrected data input including generating an increase point scan from the corrected data input for identifying an adjusted increase point; and
generating the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real- world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle.
However, Li, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about identification of empty parking space, discloses a method further comprising: processing a corrected data input including generating an increase point scan(Li discloses a determining an empty space when a range of ultrasonic data is higher than a preset threshold. Fig.3 of Li demonstrates a point(M, X1) to determine the existence empty parking space which corresponds to increase point. Li, paragraph 5, the range position and the ultrasonic data is greater than the preset ultrasonic data threshold value, identifying the predetermined parking position is empty parking space)
Fig.3 (Li) demonstrates a threshold point(M, X1) to identify empty parking space.
The combination of Liu, Suleiman, and Li specifically fails to disclose a method incorporating increase point scan from the corrected data input for identifying an adjusted increase point; and
generating the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real- world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle.
However, Inoue, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about parking support device discloses a method incorporating increase point scan from the corrected data input for identifying an adjusted increase point(The specification discloses the adjusted increase point is filtered based on effect of the edge of the parked vehicle in the scan area. Similarly Inoue discloses corrected points that are adjusted based on corner position based on parked vehicle followed with a point. After the detection of that increase points by Li, It is possible for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the adjusted increase point based on corner of a vehicle. Inoue, paragraph 126, the corner position correcting unit 22, in step ST5-1, receives the result of the determination of the corner position of a front B of a parked vehicle 2b, and reflection point data used for this determination from the corner position determining unit 16, defines the reflection point which is the endmost one of the group of reflection points shown by the reflection point data as a reference, and estimates a gap (correction amount). Inoue, paragraph 128, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction); and
generating the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real- world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle(Inoue, paragraph 18, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Liu, Suleiman, and Li with Inoue to determine corrected increase points /adjusted increase point based on the corner of parked vehicle. By finding the adjusted increase point recognizing the effect of edge of parked vehicle, it’s possible to approximate the real corner of the vehicle with a high degree of precision. Furthermore, it is possible to determine the corner position (coordinates) and the parking space length by complementing the detection point data with removed noise components.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the method as claimed in claim 9(Liu, Paragraph 6, navigation system; Suleiman, paragraph 25, a system for detecting parking spaces) further comprising:
processing a corrected data input including generating a decrease point scan(Li discloses a determining a non-empty space when a range of ultrasonic data is lower than a threshold. Fig.3 of Li demonstrates a point(M, X2) to identify non-empty parking space which corresponds to a decrease point. Li, paragraph 8, the travel distance that the vehicle runs in the preset parking angle point at two sides of the range and the preset ultrasonic of the ultrasonic data is smaller than the data threshold value, identifying the predetermined parking position is non-empty parking space).
Fig.3 (Li) demonstrates a threshold point(M, X2) to identify non-empty parking space
from the corrected data input for identifying an adjusted decrease point(Inoue discloses corrected points that are similar to adjusted points that are based on corner of the parked vehicle/obstruction. Furthermore, it is possible for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the adjusted decrease point based on surface of obstruction by identifying the decrease point detection of Li, and the corrected point based on corner of obstruction taught by Inoue. Inoue, paragraph 126, the corner position correcting unit 22, in step ST5-1, receives the result of the determination of the corner position of a front B of a parked vehicle 2b, and reflection point data used for this determination from the corner position determining unit 16, defines the reflection point which is the endmost one of the group of reflection points shown by the reflection point data as a reference, and estimates a gap (correction amount). Inoue, paragraph 128, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction.); and
generating the processed scan including the adjusted decrease point based on the real- world coordinates of a side surface of a structural obstruction(Corner position coordinates are similar to world coordinates. Inoue, paragraph 18, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium including the instructions as claimed in claim 15(Liu, Paragraph 7, control circuit)
While the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches about a system to analyze ultrasonic data to identify parking space, it fails to teach a system further comprising:
processing a corrected data input including generating an increase point scan from the corrected data input for identifying an adjusted increase point; and
generating the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real- world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle.
However, Li, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about identification of empty parking space, discloses a system further comprising:
processing a corrected data input including generating an increase point scan(Li discloses a determining an empty space when a range of ultrasonic data is higher than a preset threshold. Fig.3 of Li demonstrates a point(M, X1) to determine the existence empty parking space which corresponds to increase point. Li, paragraph 5, the range position and the ultrasonic data is greater than the preset ultrasonic data threshold value, identifying the predetermined parking position is empty parking space).
Fig.3 (Li) demonstrates a threshold point(M, X1) to identify empty parking space.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Liu and Suleiman with Li to determine empty/non-empty space based ultrasonic data’s value compared to preset threshold value. By determining an ultrasonic datapoint with greater range than preset value, it is possible to determine whether a parking position is empty parking space or non-empty parking space.
The combination of Liu, Suleiman, and Li specifically fails to disclose a system incorporating increase point from the corrected data input for identifying an adjusted increase point; and
generating the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real- world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle.
However, Inoue, which is in the same analogous art and that teaches about parking support device discloses a system incorporating increase point from the corrected data input for identifying an adjusted increase point(The specification discloses the adjusted increase point is filtered based on effect of the edge of the parked vehicle in the scan area. Similarly Inoue discloses corrected points that are adjusted based on corner position based on parked vehicle followed with a point. After the detection of that increase points by Li, It is possible for a person of ordinary skill in the art to determine the adjusted increase point based on corner of a vehicle. Inoue, paragraph 126, the corner position correcting unit 22, in step ST5-1, receives the result of the determination of the corner position of a front B of a parked vehicle 2b, and reflection point data used for this determination from the corner position determining unit 16, defines the reflection point which is the endmost one of the group of reflection points shown by the reflection point data as a reference, and estimates a gap (correction amount). Inoue, paragraph 128, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction); and
generating the processed scan including the adjusted increase point based on the real- world coordinates of an edge of a parked vehicle(Inoue, paragraph 18, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Liu, Suleiman, and Li with Inoue to determine corrected increase points /adjusted increase point based on the corner of parked vehicle. By finding the adjusted increase point recognizing the effect of edge of parked vehicle, it’s possible to approximate the real corner of the vehicle with a high degree of precision. Furthermore, it is possible to determine the corner position (coordinates) and the parking space length by complementing the detection point data with removed noise components.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Liu and Suleiman teaches the non-transitory computer readable medium including the instructions as claimed in claim 15(Liu, Paragraph 7, control circuit) further comprising:
processing a corrected data input including generating a decrease point scan(Li discloses a determining a non-empty space when a range of ultrasonic data is lower than a threshold. Fig.3 of Li demonstrates a point(M, X2) to identify non-empty parking space which corresponds to a decrease point. Li, paragraph 8, the travel distance that the vehicle runs in the preset parking angle point at two sides of the range and the preset ultrasonic of the ultrasonic data is smaller than the data threshold value, identifying the predetermined parking position is non-empty parking space)
Fig.3 (Li) demonstrates a threshold point(M, X2) to identify non-empty parking space
from the corrected data input for identifying an adjusted decrease point(Inoue discloses corrected points that are similar to adjusted points that are based on corner of the parked vehicle/obstruction. Furthermore, it is possible for one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the adjusted decrease point based on surface of obstruction by identifying the decrease point detection of Li, and the corrected point based on corner of obstruction taught by Inoue. Inoue, paragraph 126, the corner position correcting unit 22, in step ST5-1, receives the result of the determination of the corner position of a front B of a parked vehicle 2b, and reflection point data used for this determination from the corner position determining unit 16, defines the reflection point which is the endmost one of the group of reflection points shown by the reflection point data as a reference, and estimates a gap (correction amount). Inoue, paragraph 128, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction); and
generating the processed scan including the adjusted decrease point based on the real- world coordinates of a side surface of a structural obstruction(Corner position coordinates are similar to world coordinates. Inoue, paragraph 18, the correction of the corner position coordinates (Xcn, Ycn) is intended for correcting the coordinate in the Y axis direction).
Prior Art of Record
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s
disclosure.
Miao(CN 110775052 B ) discloses parking space detection based on vision and ultrasonic sensing fusion, the vision system and the ultrasonic radar system can independently perform parking space detection and obstacle detection.
Conclusion
/BESUFEKAD LEMMA TESSEMA/Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/HUNTER B LONSBERRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3665