Status of Claims
Claims 1-20, as filed 20 July 2023, are examined herein. No new matter is included.
Claim Objections
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 6 recites: “The battery pack according to claim 1, further a first insulator, and the first insulator is disposed between the at least two cells; an opening is provided on the third insulator, and the opening communicates with the first space.” For the purpose of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation is determined to include “further comprising a first insulator.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20210226295 A1) in view of Okada (US 20100173181 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon teaches a battery pack (abstract),
comprising a cover plate (FIG. 4 and [0035] pack cover 200), a cell module (FIG. 2 and [0035] cell 311), a second resin layer ([0058] “the adhesive resin may be injected into the pack case 100 through the resin holes H at both sidewalls 130 of the pack case 100.”) and a battery pack housing (FIG. 2 and [0035] housing 100),
wherein the cell module is accommodated in the battery pack housing and fixed by the second resin layer; (FIG. 2 and [0015] “adhesive resin … fix the cell stack with respect to the case”)
the cover plate 200 is fixed to the battery pack housing; ([0043] “The positive and negative electrode terminals of the pack cover 200 … and the secondary battery cells 311 of the cell module assembly 300 may be electrically connected to each other by components such as a bus bar, a cable, a connector, or the like.” [0056] “the cells 311 and … and the side wall 130 of the pack case 100 may be fixedly coupled.”) Examiner notes that because the terminals are connected to the cells, and the cells are connected to the pack case, therefore the cover plate 200 is connected to the pack case.
the cell module comprises a plurality of cells (FIG. 7 and [0045] cells 311), each cell comprises a first end and a second end disposed opposite to each other along a first direction; the cell comprises a metal portion disposed at the first end (FIG. 7 terminal 311a); the plurality of cells are stacked along a second direction; and the first direction is perpendicular to the second direction; (FIG. 7 stacking direction Z is perpendicular to direction Y)
Kwon teaches (FIG. 7 vertical plate 333 and space 337) which creates a structure having an assembly disposed at the second ends of at least two cells, wherein the assembly and the second ends of the at least two cells form a first space; (FIG. 7 vertical plate 333 and space 337) and the first space communicates with a clearance between the at least two cells; ([0068] “a lot of empty space are present above and below the short-side terraces”) and the assembly closes off one side of the first space, the one side of the first space facing away from the at least two cells along a direction opposite to the first direction, (as shown FIG. 7) the assembly and the first space form an exhaust passage, and the exhaust passage communicates with an outside of the battery pack. (FIG. 6, FIG. 7 gas moving route 337, 336, 335, outlet 210 and [0062-0065]). However, Kwon does not explicitly teach a material for vertical plate 333 and that vertical plate 333 has an electric or thermal insulation property. Therefore Kwon does not teach an insulation assembly.
Okada, in the field of (abstract) battery exhaust ducts, discloses at [0008] that the use of insulating plastic in battery housings can provide desirable weight reduction, and further discloses at [0040] that exhaust duct 20 can be made from insulating plastic. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select an insulating plastic for the vertical plate 333 of Kwon for the purpose of weight reduction, thus creating an insulating assembly forming an exhaust passage.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon in view of Okada teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Kwon teaches at [0037-0038] the use of adhesive resin in a space between the side surfaces of the cell stack 310 and the sidewalls 130 of the cell case. (See FIG. 2, resin not illustrated.) Kwon contemplates that the adhesive resin not only fixes the cell module assembly 300 but also may be used as a heat exchange medium between the secondary battery cells 311 and the pack case 100. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to entirely fill the side wall 130 area in order to maximize heat conduction to the cell casing, with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, Kwon does teach a first resin layer. While Kwon does not explicitly teach the first resin layer is disposed at the second ends of the at least two cells, and the first resin layer is bonded to the insulation assembly and the second ends of the at least two cells, Examiner notes that if the side wall 130 internal area is completely filled with resin, it will extent to touch the second ends of the at least two cells, and the first resin layer will bond to the insulation assembly and the second ends of the at least two cells, thus meeting the instant claim limitation.
Regarding claim 6, Kwon in view of Okada teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Kwon teaches (FIG. 7) that vertical plate 333 forms an exhaust passage but does not explicitly teach that an opening is provided on this structure. Kwon shows (FIG. 7) two spacer sheets (not numbered) between cells 311. However, Kwon does not explicitly teach that the spacer sheets are insulating and does not explicitly teach the battery pack further comprising a first insulator, and the first insulator is disposed between the at least two cells; an opening is provided on the third insulator, and the opening communicates with the first space.
Okada, in the field of (abstract) battery exhaust ducts, discloses at [0008] that the use of insulating plastic in battery housings can provide desirable weight reduction. At FIG. 6. and [0031] Okada discloses intervening insulating separators 15.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select an insulating separator for the separators of Kwon, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a desirable weight reduction of the battery.
Regarding claim 17, Kwon in view of Okada teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Kwon further teaches wherein the second resin layer comprises a potting glue, and the second resin layer adhesively fixes the cell module and the battery pack housing together. ([0015] “adhesive resin … fix the cell stack with respect to the pack case”) Examiner notes that because the resin fixed the cell stack, it is a potting glue.
Regarding claim 18, Kwon in view of Okada teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Kwon further teaches wherein a clearance exists between the first insulator and the second end of each cell. (As shown FIG. 7 cell 311 vertical plate 333 gas pocket 337)
Regarding claim 19, Kwon in view of Okada teaches a method for manufacturing the battery pack of claim 1, the method comprising the following steps: disposing the plurality of cells in the battery pack housing, ([0055] “slidably inserted”) and disposing the insulation assembly at the second ends of the at least two cells, so that the insulation assembly and the second ends of the at least two cells form the first space, and the first space communicates with the clearance between the at least two cells; (as shown FIG. 6, FIG. 7). At [0036] resin is injected into the pack case.
Kwon does not explicitly teach that the assembly at the second end is an insulation assembly.
Okada, in the field of (abstract) battery exhaust ducts, discloses at [0007] that the use of plastic in battery housings can provide desirable weight reduction, and further discloses at [0040] that exhaust duct 20 can be made from insulating plastic. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select an insulating plastic for the vertical plate 333 of Kwon, for the purpose of weight reduction, thus creating an insulating assembly forming an exhaust passage.
Kwon does not explicitly teach disposing the first insulator between the at least two cells, wherein the clearance exists between the at least two cells; However, Kwon shows (FIG. 7) two spacer sheets (not numbered) between cells 311.
Okada, in the field of (abstract) battery exhaust ducts, discloses at [0008] that the use of insulating plastic in battery housings can provide desirable weight reduction. At FIG. 6. and [0031] Okada discloses intervening insulating separators 15.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select an insulating separator for the separators of Kwon, and to dispose that between the at least two cells, with a reasonable expectation of successfully achieving a desirable weight reduction of the battery.
Regarding claim 20, Kwon in view of Okada teaches all of the limitations as set forth above, and Kwon further teaches wherein the electrical device comprises a body and the battery pack according to claim 1, and the battery pack is disposed in the body. ([0082] electric vehicle) Examiner notes that for an electric vehicle to function, the battery pack is commonly disposed in the body of the vehicle.
Claim(s) 3-5 and 7-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon (US 20210226295 A1) in view of Okada (US 20100173181 A1) as set forth in clam 1, above, and in further view of Pinon (US 20150037662 A1) and Kanai (US 20080171259 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 10, Kwon in view of Okada teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Kwon teaches (FIG. 7 vertical plate 333), and the selection of insulating plastic for this plate is rendered obvious by Okada, as set forth in claim 1, above. While Kwon does not explicitly teach wherein the insulation assembly comprises a second insulator and a third insulator, Pinon in the field of (abstract) the battery modules, discloses at (FIG. 6 and [0135]) that end assembly 80 includes insulating polymer layer 90 and thermal gap pad 92. Therefore, Pinon demonstrated that multiple insulators may be used. The court has held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Therefore, the use of two insulation assemblies at the location of vertical plate 1333 is rendered obvious. (See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B))
Kwon does not explicitly teach that the second insulator is disposed at the second ends of the at least two cells, the second insulator comprises a third through-hole, the third through-hole communicates with a clearance between the at least two cells; the third insulator closes off one side of the third through-hole, and the one side of the third through-hole facing away from the at least two cells along the direction opposite to the first direction.
Kanai, in the field of (abstract) battery thermal management, discloses (FIG.7, FIG. 8 and [0081-0082]) a battery side wall 75 having duct 71. FIG. 8 shows gas path 77 formed from duct 71. At [0083] the gas is emitted to the outside… adverse effects of the emitted gas on the peripheral device arranged near housing case 70 can be prevented. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify vertical plate 333 of Kwon with the profile Kanai’s side wall 75, in order to channel emitted gas out of the housing case.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the gas can be channeled upwards (as in Kwon) or out the side (as in Kanai), depending on the specific needs of the overall battery housing, therefore rendering obvious the use of Kanai’s side wall profile to direct gas upwards to the top surface of the battery housing. This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 10, wherein the third insulator comprises an exhaust slot, and the exhaust slot communicates with the third through-hole.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Kwon in view of Okada and Kanai teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Kwon teaches at [0037-0038] the use of adhesive resin in a space between the side surfaces of the cell stack 310 and the sidewalls 130 of the cell case. (See FIG. 2, resin not illustrated.) Kwon contemplates that the adhesive resin not only fixes the cell module assembly 300 but also may be used as a heat exchange medium between the secondary battery cells 311 and the pack case 100. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to entirely fill the side wall 130 area in order to maximize heat conduction to the cell casing, with a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, Kwon does teach a first resin layer.
While Kwon does not explicitly teach the second insulator covers the first resin layer; a bonding structure is disposed on a surface of the second insulator, the surface of the first insulator being a surface closest to the first resin layer; and the second insulator is bonded to the at least two cells by the bonding structure., Examiner notes that if the side wall 130 internal area is completely filled with resin, it will extent to touch the second ends of the at least two cells, and the first resin layer will bond to the insulation assembly and the second ends of the at least two cells, thus meeting the instant claim limitation.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 5, wherein the second insulator is bonded to the second ends of the at least two cells, and the first resin layer is disposed at an edge of the third through-hole.
Regarding claim 7, Kwon in view of Okada and Kanai teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. While Kwon does not explicitly teach the wherein the second insulator comprises a first body, and the third through-hole is provided on the first body, the court has held that making separable has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Therefore, the use of a first body at the location of the first through hole of modified vertical plate 1333 is rendered obvious. (See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C))
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Kwon in view of Okada and Kanai teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Kwon does not explicitly teaches wherein the cover plate comprises a first through-hole, the second insulator further comprises a first portion, and at least a part of the first portion is located in the first through-hole.
Kanai, in the field of (abstract) battery thermal management, discloses (FIG.7, FIG. 8 and [0081] the use of projections 73 which extend beyond through a through hole in the cover plate, extend beyond the cover plate, and are used to secure the cover plate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify vertical plate 333 of Kwon by having it extend past the cover plate, and to modify the cover plate of Kwon to add a through hole, with a reasonable expectation of successfully securing the cover plate.
This also renders obvious the limitation of claim 9, wherein the first portion extends beyond the cover plate through the first through-hole.
Regarding claim 11, Kwon in view of Okada and Kanai teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. While Kwon does not explicitly teach wherein the third insulator comprises a second body and a second portion, the second body closes the third through-hole, the second portion is connected to the first portion, and at least a part of the second portion is located in the first through-hole, the court has held that making separable has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Therefore, the use of a first body and second body at the location of the first through hole of modified vertical plate 1333 is rendered obvious. (See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C))
Regarding claim 12, Kwon in view of Okada and Kanai teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. However, Kwon does not explicitly teach wherein the first portion extends beyond the cover plate through the first through-hole.
Kanai, in the field of (abstract) battery thermal management, discloses (FIG.7, FIG. 8 and [0081] the use of projections 73 which extend beyond through a through hole in the cover plate, extend beyond the cover plate, and are used to secure the cover plate. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify vertical plate 333 of Kwon by having it extend past the cover plate, and to modify the cover plate of Kwon to add a through hole, with a reasonable expectation of successfully securing the cover plate.
Regarding claim 13, Kwon in view of Okada and Kanai teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. However Kwon does not explicitly teach wherein the third insulator comprises a second bonding region, the second bonding region comprises a bonding structure, and the third insulator is adhesively connected to the second insulator by the bonding structure.
Kwon at [0015] teaches the use of resin to fix cell stacks with respect to the sidewalls of the pack case. A person of ordinary skill would understand the need to hold insulation parts in alignment during assembly, and would therefore be motivated to test the use of adhesive to connect the send and third insulators, in order to hold them in alignment for assembly, with a reasonable expectation of success, therefore forming the bonding region with bonding structure adhering 2nd and 3rd insulators.
Regarding claim 14, Kwon in view of Okada and Kanai teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Kwon does not explicitly teach wherein the second insulator and the third insulator are a one-piece formed structure, an exhaust slot is provided on the one-piece formed structure, and the exhaust slot communicates with the third through-hole. Examiner notes that reduction in the part count of a battery is expected to reduce assembly cost and potentially reduce total component cost. Regarding the one-piece formed structure, the court has held that making integral has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Therefore, the use of a one-piece formed structure is rendered obvious. (See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B)).
Regarding the exhaust slot communicating with the through hole, Kanai, in the field of (abstract) battery thermal management, discloses (FIG.7, FIG. 8 and [0081-0082]) a battery side wall 75 having duct 71. FIG. 8 shows gas path 77 formed from duct 71. At [0083] the gas is emitted to the outside… adverse effects of the emitted gas on the peripheral device arranged near housing case 70 can be prevented. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to modify vertical plate 333 of Kwon with the profile Kanai’s side wall 75, in order to channel emitted gas out of the housing case.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that the gas can be channeled upwards (as in Kwon) or out the side (as in Kanai), depending on the specific needs of the overall battery housing, therefore rendering obvious the use of Kanai’s exhaust slot communicating with the third through-hole.
Regarding claim 15, Kwon in view of Okada and Kanai teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Kwon does not explicitly teach wherein a second through-hole is provided on the first insulator, and the second through-hole provides an expansion space for the plurality of cells. Kanai, in the field of (abstract) battery thermal management, discloses (FIG.6 and [0070-0075] frame 30a having space portion 30d). The frame acts to prevent the application of strong pressure on the cell, and in the case of expansion acts to direct gasses. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to use the frame of Kanai with the battery of modified Kwon, in order to prevent the application of excess pressure on individual cells, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, Kwon in view of Okada and Kosugi teaches all of the limitations as set forth above. Kwon further teaches wherein each of the cells comprises an electrode assembly, a cell housing, and a metal portion; the electrode assembly is accommodated in the cell housing; the metal portion is connected to the electrode assembly and extends out of the cell housing; ([0045] electrode assembly, pouch, and electrode lead 311a) viewed in a direction opposite to the second direction.
However, Kwon does not explicitly teach a projected area of the first insulator on the cell is greater than or equal to a projected area of the electrode assembly.
Kanai, in the field of (abstract) battery thermal management, discloses (FIG. 5-7 and [0070-0075] frame 30, which is has a projected area greater than that of the electrode assembly). The frame acts to prevent the application of strong pressure on the cell, and in the case of expansion acts to direct gasses.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated, as of before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to select a frame larger than the electrode assembly, as taught by Kanai with the battery of modified Kwon, in order to prevent the application of excess pressure on individual cells, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
CLAIRE A. RUTISER
Examiner
Art Unit 1751
/C.A.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/Haroon S. Sheikh/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751