DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 19 August 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansinger et al. (US 6,056,215).
Regarding claim 5, Hansinger teaches a coating machine (10) comprising a rotary atomizing head-type sprayer having a rotary atomizing head (col. 1, ln. 20-25; fig. 1) to spray paint on the tip (238) of a hollow rotary axis (202) that may be rotated by an air motor (44) in order to supply paint from a feed tube inserted into the rotary axis toward the rotary atomizing head (col. 7, ln. 53-65),
wherein the rotary atomizing head is constructed of a cup part (col. 7, ln. 62-63; fig. 6A) that is mounted at the tip end of said rotary axis (fig. 6A) and that has an extended paint surface (242) with a front surface that extends toward the front (fig. 6A), and a hub part (232) that is provided inside the cup part and that has an opposing surface that forms a uniform gap part (240, see col. 18, ln. 41-60 – each of the gaps are uniform) with said extended paint surface throughout the entire circumference (col. 18, ln. 41-43; fig. 6A);
a paint supply source (col. 8, ln. 6-8) to supply the paint for the rotary atomizing head-type sprayer, and
a paint supply channel (46) from the paint supply source to the rotary atomizing head (fig. 1),
wherein the paint supply channel is provided with a paint micronization means (col. 18, ln. 44-49 – “finely divided, individual streams”) to promote the micronization of the paint that may be sprayed from the rotary atomizing head;
and said paint micronization means is said gap part (col. 18, ln. 44-49).
Regarding claim 6, Hansinger teaches a coating machine (10) comprising a rotary atomizing head-type sprayer having a rotary atomizing head (col. 1, ln. 20-25; fig. 1) to spray paint on the tip (238) of a hollow rotary axis (202) that may be rotated by an air motor (44) in order to supply paint from a feed tube inserted into the rotary axis toward the rotary atomizing head (col. 7, ln. 53-65),
a paint supply source (col. 8, ln. 6-8) to supply the paint for the rotary atomizing head-type sprayer, and
a paint supply channel (46) from the paint supply source to the rotary atomizing head (fig. 1),
wherein the paint supply channel is provided with a paint micronization means (49) to promote the micronization of the paint that may be sprayed from the rotary atomizing head;
wherein the paint micronization means a mesh-shaped micronization member (610, see col. 8, ln. 7-8; fig. 1);
wherein the mesh-shaped micronization member is external to a housing (14) of the rotary atomizing head-type sprayer (fig. 1 – element 610 is in section 16, which is external from section 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansinger.
Regarding claim 4, Hansinger discloses the coating machine described regarding claim 6, but not wherein the mesh-shaped micronization member has a pore size of 20 μm or less.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize 20 μm or less for the pore size since our reviewing courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art teaches the coating machine described above but does not disclose a paint micronization means comprising a shearing member that is a plate equipped with a plurality of micropores, in combination with the other recited elements of claim 1.
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 3, the prior art does not disclose a gap dimension between said extended paint surface and said opposing surface has been set to be less than 0.2 mm. Applicant further discloses that this dimension “is the boundary at which the gap part begins to function as a paint micronization means by shearing the paint”.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 19 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 5, Applicant argues that Hansinger does not teach the limitation to an opposing surface that forms a uniform gap part with the extended paint surface through the entire circumference. In response, it is noted that the claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005). And, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. MPEP 2111.01(I). Hansinger is considered to teach this limitation since the gap 240 has a uniform opening size about the entire circumference between the extended paint surface and the opposing surface. Applicant argues that the ribs 242 of Hansinger separate the gap into “discrete, enclosed channels” “rather than the claimed single uniform gap”. In response, it is noted that a “single uniform gap” or a continuous uniform is not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the gaps of Hansinger are all uniform and extend around the circumference, they are considered to teach a “uniform gap part”.
Applicant further argues that Hansinger does not teach that the paint micronization means is the gap part. In response it is noted that Hansinger teaches that the ribs 242 “divide the coating material flowing through gap 240 into a plurality of finely divided , individual streams” (col. 18, ln. 44-49). Further, the ribs 242 are considered to be part of the gap part because they set the width of the gap part and form a portion of the sides of the gap part (col. 18, ln. 49-53).
Regarding claim 6, Applicant argues that Hansinger does not teach a mesh-shaped micronization member. In response, it is noted that the claims must be "given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification." Phillips v. AWH Corp., 415 F.3d 1303, 1316, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 2005). And, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. MPEP 2111.01(I). Hansinger is considered to teach a mesh shaped micronization member at element 610 since they are a plurality of small openings (see col. 8, ln. 7-8; fig. 1), which is the same structure as a mesh.
Applicant further argues that Hansinger does not teach a micronization member that is external to a housing of the rotary atomizing head-type sprayer. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., that the housing houses the entire rotary atomizer) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Hansinger is considered to teach housings at both elements 14 and 16, and the micronization means (interpreted to be element 610) is external to the forward housing (element 14).
Applicant’s argument, see page 9 of Applicant’s Remarks, with respect to claim 3 has been fully considered and is persuasive. The obviousness rejection of claim 3 has been withdrawn.
Regarding claim 4, Applicant argues that since Hansinger does not disclose a mesh-shaped micronization member, as argued regarding claim 6, it would not have been obvious to change the dimension of a pore size. In response, it is noted that this argument is moot since Applicant’s argument regarding claim 6 was not found persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752