DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 10 November 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-4 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome the 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 12 August 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” which are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “paint micronization means” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansinger et al. (US 6,056,215).
Regarding claim 1, Hansinger teaches a coating machine (10) comprising a rotary atomizing head-type sprayer having a rotary atomizing head (col. 1, ln. 20-25; fig. 1) to spray paint on the tip (238) of a hollow rotary axis (202) that may be rotated by an air motor (44) in order to supply paint from a feed tube inserted into the rotary axis toward the rotary atomizing head (col. 7, ln. 53-65),
a paint supply source (col. 8, ln. 6-8) to supply the paint for the rotary atomizing head-type sprayer, and
a paint supply channel (46) from the paint supply source to the rotary atomizing head (fig. 1),
wherein the paint supply channel is provided with a paint micronization means (49) to promote the micronization of the paint that may be sprayed from the rotary atomizing head.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansinger.
Regarding claim 2, Hansinger discloses the coating machine described regarding claim 1, and further wherein said paint micronization means is provided at a position to obstruct the paint supply channel in the feed tube (fig. 1), and is a shearing member (col. 8, ln. 7-8; fig. 1) that is equipped with a plurality of micropores (610). Hansinger does not explicitly disclose that a total area of a part that allows for distribution of the paint is 1.53 mm2 or less.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize 1.53 mm2 or less for the total area of the part that allows for distribution of the paint since our reviewing courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 3, Hansinger discloses the coating machine described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the rotary atomizing head is constructed of a cup part (col. 7, ln. 62-63; fig. 6A) that is mounted at the tip end of said rotary axis (fig. 6A) and that has an extended paint surface (242) with a front surface that extends toward the front (fig. 6A), and a hub part (232) that is provided inside the cup part and that has an opposing surface that forms a gap part (240) with said extended paint surface throughout the entire circumference (col. 18, ln. 41-43; fig. 6A), and said paint micronization means is said gap part (col. 18, ln. 44-49) and the gap dimension between said extended paint surface and said opposing surface has been set to be 0.10 in. (col. 18, ln. 58 – which is about . Hansinger does not explicitly disclose that the gap dimension between said extended paint surface and said opposing surface has been set to be less than 0.2 mm.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize 0.2 mm or less for the gap dimension between said extended paint surface and said opposing surface since our reviewing courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 4, Hansinger discloses the coating machine described regarding claim 1, and further wherein said paint micronization means is a mesh-shaped micronization member (610, see col. 8, ln. 7-8; fig. 1) that has been provided in the paint supply channel (fig. 1). Hansinger does not explicitly disclose a pore size of 20 μm or less.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize 20 μm or less for the pore size since our reviewing courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Hansinger fails to teach “a paint micronization means” because Hansinger is silent regarding element 49, which is interpreted to teach this limitation, providing any micronization of the paint.
In response it is noted that element 49 of Hansinger has the same structure as that disclosed in the instant application as the “paint micronization means”. Applicant’s Specification identifies either the first or second shearing members, elements 21 or 22, respectively, as being the “paint micronization means” (see paragraph 42 and 45). Elements 21 and 22 are further described to be orifices in a valve seat (par. 43 and figs. 2, 3). This is the same as the structure of element 49 of Hansinger, which further includes a valve seat (608) having an orifice (col. 8, ln. 4-15; fig. 1). Therefore, this is interpreted to teach the “paint micronization means” consistent with the interpretation of this limitation under 112(f) “means-plus-function”, as explained above.
Regarding the capability of this structure in Hansinger as being able to “promote the micronization of the paint that may be spray from the rotary atomizing head”, it is noted that when the structure recited in the prior art is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed functions are presumed to be inherent. See MPEP 2112.01.I. Additionally, it is noted that "[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990), and that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2114.II. Element 49 of Hansinger controls the flow of the paint to the atomizing head 30; therefore, it promotes micronization by permitting paint to be supplied to the atomizing head.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752