DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6 are pending in the application. Claims 5 and 6 are newly added. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Final Office Action dated 29 December 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hansinger et al. (US 6,056,215).
Regarding claim 5, Hansinger teaches a coating machine (10) comprising a rotary atomizing head-type sprayer having a rotary atomizing head (col. 1, ln. 20-25; fig. 1) to spray paint on the tip (238) of a hollow rotary axis (202) that may be rotated by an air motor (44) in order to supply paint from a feed tube inserted into the rotary axis toward the rotary atomizing head (col. 7, ln. 53-65),
wherein the rotary atomizing head is constructed of a cup part (col. 7, ln. 62-63; fig. 6A) that is mounted at the tip end of said rotary axis (fig. 6A) and that has an extended paint surface (242) with a front surface that extends toward the front (fig. 6A), and a hub part (232) that is provided inside the cup part and that has an opposing surface that forms a uniform gap part (240, see col. 18, ln. 41-60 – each of the gaps are uniform) with said extended paint surface throughout the entire circumference (col. 18, ln. 41-43; fig. 6A);
a paint supply source (col. 8, ln. 6-8) to supply the paint for the rotary atomizing head-type sprayer, and
a paint supply channel (46) from the paint supply source to the rotary atomizing head (fig. 1),
wherein the paint supply channel is provided with a paint micronization means (col. 18, ln. 44-49 – “finely divided, individual streams”) to promote the micronization of the paint that may be sprayed from the rotary atomizing head;
and said paint micronization means is said gap part (col. 18, ln. 44-49).
Regarding claim 6, Hansinger teaches a coating machine (10) comprising a rotary atomizing head-type sprayer having a rotary atomizing head (col. 1, ln. 20-25; fig. 1) to spray paint on the tip (238) of a hollow rotary axis (202) that may be rotated by an air motor (44) in order to supply paint from a feed tube inserted into the rotary axis toward the rotary atomizing head (col. 7, ln. 53-65),
a paint supply source (col. 8, ln. 6-8) to supply the paint for the rotary atomizing head-type sprayer, and
a paint supply channel (46) from the paint supply source to the rotary atomizing head (fig. 1),
wherein the paint supply channel is provided with a paint micronization means (49) to promote the micronization of the paint that may be sprayed from the rotary atomizing head;
wherein the paint micronization means a mesh-shaped micronization member (610, see col. 8, ln. 7-8; fig. 1);
wherein the mesh-shaped micronization member is external to a housing (14) of the rotary atomizing head-type sprayer (fig. 1 – element 610 is in section 16, which is external from section 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hansinger.
Regarding claim 3, Hansinger discloses the coating machine described regarding claim 5, and further wherein the gap dimension between said extended paint surface and said opposing surface has been set to be 0.10 in. (col. 18, ln. 58 – which is about 2.5 mm). Hansinger does not explicitly disclose that the gap dimension between said extended paint surface and said opposing surface has been set to be less than 0.2 mm.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize 0.2 mm or less for the gap dimension between said extended paint surface and said opposing surface since our reviewing courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Regarding claim 4, Hansinger discloses the coating machine described regarding claim 6, but not wherein the mesh-shaped micronization member has a pore size of 20 μm or less.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize 20 μm or less for the pore size since our reviewing courts have held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-2 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art teaches the coating machine described above, but does not disclose a paint micronization means comprising a shearing member that is a plate equipped with a plurality of micropores, in combination with the other recited elements of claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752