DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group 1 and Species IA, claims 1-2 and 4-17 in the reply filed on 03/10/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 3 and 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-2 and 4-17 are currently under examination on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claims 9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the anisotropic organic material” should read “the anisotropic organic molecule”, in order to be consistent with their base claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10, “the anisotropic organic molecule is crystalline” is suggested to be changed to “the anisotropic organic molecule forms crystalline”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Parkerson et al (US 3,352,906, ‘906 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16, ‘906 discloses a thin single crystal plate (Fig. 2, C2/L20- C2/L39) reading upon a thin film comprising a tri-glycine sulfate single crystal being a solid organic phase, which has three amino acid scaffolds, satisfying the limitations of present claims 1, 4-6, 8, 14 and 16; and a dye which is an anisotropic organic molecule (C3/L50-C3/L60, Buffalo Black NBR, Trypan Red and Congo Red are azo-based dyes with rod-like molecule, which may be included into the crystal).
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jarvis et al (US 2012/0021362, ‘362 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1, 4-6, 8, 10, 14 and 16, ‘362 discloses an image coating layer ([0004], [0080]) reading upon a thin film comprising a co-crystal of two oxalamide of glycine being amino acid scaffold, satisfying the limitations of present claims 1, 4-6, 8 and 16; with one Docosadiyndioic acid being an anisotropic organic molecule (Example J, [0139], Docosadiyndioic acid is part of co-crystal which satisfies present claim 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jarvis et al (US 2012/0021362, ‘362 hereafter).
Regarding claim 13, ‘362 teaches all the limitations of claim 1, ‘362 also discloses that the coating layer can be used in an electronic display ([0066]), which is one of essential components in an artificial reality headset; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have used the coating layer of ‘362 in the electronic display of an artificial reality headset.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 7, 9, 11-12, 15 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The reason for the allowance is that the prior art of record fails to disclose or fairly suggests a thin film comprising an amino acid scaffold being an enantiomer having an chiral center (Glycine is an achiral molecule which lacks of a chiral center). The prior art also fails to disclose or fairly suggest that the anisotropic organic molecule is chemically bonded to the amino acid scaffold as recited in the present claims 9 and 11, and the thin film has refractive indices satisfying present claims 12 and 14.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782