Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 7/24/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. The examiner finds no copy of the NPL documents.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the lateral play of the screw shaft (claims 21 and 24) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “running clearance” is not found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dobbrunz (US 5,333,976). In the embodiments shown in Figs. 8 and 9, Dobbrunz discloses a machining fixing counterbore bolt (14) comprising: a hexagonal head (52); a bolt shaft including a shank portion (54) and a threaded portion (42); a smooth axial bore (50) through the head and shaft for a clearance or sliding fit with a screw shaft (18); and a smooth counterbore in the bolt head to fit a screw head (62) sized for the screw head to bear on a bottom of the counterbore (at 126). The machining fixture and the part to be machined are recitations of intended use of which the bolt of Dobbrunz would be capable of. Dobbrunz further teaches a “running clearance” between the head of the screw and sidewall of the counter bore because the limitation is undefined. Dobbrunz also teaches a annular bottom (128). There is nothing which precludes the annular bottom from bring conical.
Claims 1-5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hagen (US 2022/0065281). Hagen discloses a machining fixing counterbore bolt (48) comprising: a hexagonal head (72); a bolt shaft including an unthreaded shank portion (pointed to below) and a threaded portion (66); a smooth axial bore (74, 80) through the head and shaft for a clearance or sliding fit with a screw shaft (82); and a smooth cylindrical counterbore (74) with a smooth sidewall and an annular end wall (78); the counterbore sized to fit a screw head (84) with a “running clearance” between the head of the screw and sidewall for the screw head to bear on a bottom of the counterbore. The smooth axial bore is larger than the screw shaft (at 80) to provide a lateral play of the screw relative to the bolt. The machining fixture (14) and the part to be machined (12) are recitations of intended use of which the bolt of Hagen would be capable of.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 22-24 allowed. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art does not disclosed the machining fixture in combination with a machining fixture and a part to be machined.
Response to Remarks
As still applicable to the pending rejection, the applicant argues the claims as amended define over Dobbrunz (US 5,333,976). Applicant argues that Dobbrunz teaches a locking friction so it would not meet the limitation of the smooth counterbore sidewall and screw head having a running clearance. In response, the examiner disagrees because as explained in the above rejection the “running clearance” is undefined which does not impart any specific structure, and the claims do not preclude there being a locking friction.
The reference to Hagen has been applied to teach the “running clearance” as a gap between the counterbore sidewall and screw head as well as the lateral play.
The arguments addressing the rejections over Attermeyer are moot in light of the indication of allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rausch (US 2004/0037670) is cited to teach a lateral play. Vassalotti (US 4,664,586) and Smith (US 5,481,811) are cited to teach adjustable work holders.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FLEMMING SAETHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675