DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 14 and 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palve et al. US 2022/0357546 in view of Yang et al. US 2019/0179103.
Regarding claim 1, Palve teaches a lens assembly (see Fig. 1) comprising:
a lens barrel (Fig. 1 and para 0031: lens barrel 100);
a plurality of lenses arranged inside the lens barrel along an optical axis (see para 0031 and Fig. 1: several lenses disposed inside lens barrel 100); and
a cover member fixed to an end of the lens barrel on a subject side and fixing a last lens of the plurality of lenses on the subject side (see annotated figure below),
wherein outer diameters of the plurality of lenses decrease from the subject side to an image side (as shown in Fig. 1: the plurality of lenses decrease in diameter as move from the object to image side), and
wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel is constant or smaller from the subject side to the image side (as shown in Fig. 1: the diameter of the lens barrel 100 from the object side to the image side is getting smaller).
[AltContent: textbox (Cover member fixed to the end of the lens barrel 106, and also fixing last lens)][AltContent: textbox (Last lens)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Palve fails to teach: wherein at least one of the plurality of lenses includes a D-cut portion having a straight shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches that D-cut portion is a plane potion formed in the flange portion, and that plane may include substantially planar surface shape (see para 0082, 0085 and 0086). Yang further teaches planarized surfaces associated with the first D-cut portion 141 and the second D-cut portion 142, specifically para 0123 and 0124 teach that a planarized surface 160 may be formed between the end 141a of the first D-cut portion 141 and the first inclined surface 120. Additionally, Yang in para 0144, 0145 and 0147: teaches a plurality of lenses in the lens assembly and that among the plurality of lenses, two lenses L5 and L6 includes D-cut portions 140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify at least one lens of Palve to include D-cut portion having a straight shape as taught by Yang in order to facilitate compact lens packaging and reduce lens size while maintaining performance, and provide a known peripheral geometry for coupling within the lens barrel, since Yang teaches that such D-cut lens structures are used in lens assembly to miniaturize the assembly while securing lens performance. See paras. 0092, 0093, 0097 and 0153.
Regarding claim 2, Palve teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein an inner diameter of the lens barrel decreases from the subject side to the image side corresponding to the outer diameters of the plurality of lenses (Fig. 1: depicts that the inner diameter of the lens barrel 100 is getting smaller from the object to the image side corresponding the plurality of lenses inside the lens barrel 100).
Regarding claim 3, Palve teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover member has an outer diameter larger than that of the lens barrel (as shown in Fig. 1: cover end has larger diameter than the end part of the lens barrel).
Regarding claim 4, Palve teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover member has a contact portion (see annotated figure below) contacting an outer diameter portion of the last lens on the subject side of the lens barrel (as shown in annotated figure above or Fig. 1: the cover member contacting the last lens from the object side).
Regarding claim 5, Pavel teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover member includes a fixing portion into which the outer diameter of the lens barrel is fitted (see annotated figure below).
[AltContent: textbox (Fixing portion, outside diameter of lens barrel 106)][AltContent: textbox (Contact portion)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 13, Pavel teaches a lens assebly comprising the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the image side of the lens barrel is accommodated in a housing (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 6, and para 0047: lens barrel 100 fixed into lens holder 202).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 10-12 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. US 2023/0204898 in view of Yang et al. US 2019/0179103.
Regarding claim 1, Tsai teaches a lens assembly (see at least Fig. 1A-1D: 100) comprising:
a lens barrel (carrier 110);
a plurality of lenses (Fig. 1D: lenses 121-126) arranged inside the lens barrel (carrier 110) along an optical axis (see Figs. 1C-1D and para 0083); and
a cover member (Fig. 1D: retaining element 150) fixed to an end of the lens barrel on a subject side and fixing a last lens of the plurality of lenses on the subject side (Fig. 1D and para 0087: “the retaining element 150 and includes a contact surface 177 and a first shrunk surface 171. The contact surface 177 is in physical contact with a part of the first lens element 121 of the optical elements, as shown in the lower part relative to the paraxial path z in FIG. 1D.”),
wherein outer diameters of the plurality of lenses decrease from the subject side to an image side (as shown in Fig. 1D: the lenses diameter increases as it goes down from the object side i.e., lens 121 to the image side i.e., lens 126), and
wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel is constant or smaller from the subject side to the image side (as it can be shown in Fig. 1D: the diameter of the outer side of lens barrel 110 is getting smaller from the object side to the image side).
Regarding claim 4, Tsai teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover member has a contact portion contacting an outer diameter portion of the last lens on the subject side of the lens barrel (Fig. 1D and para 0087: “the retaining element 150 and includes a contact surface 177 and a first shrunk surface 171. The contact surface 177 is in physical contact with a part of the first lens element 121 of the optical elements, as shown in the lower part relative to the paraxial path z in FIG. 1D.”).
Regarding claim 10, Tsai teaches the lens assembly of claim 4, wherein a coating surface is provided for preventing flare on an outer surface of the contact portion (para 0084: “the retaining element 150 may further have the function of reducing stray light”).
Regarding claim 11, Tsai teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the plurality of lenses implement an ultra-wide-angle lens (see para 0151: camera module are ultra-wide angle).
Regarding claim 12, Tsai teaches the lens assembly of claim 11, wherein an angle of view of the ultra-wide-angle lens is 120 to 130 degrees (para 0154: “the ultra-wide-angle camera module is used for shooting, the field of view is 105 degrees to 125 degrees”).
Regarding claim 17, Tsai teaches a lens assembly (see Figs. 1A-1D: 100) comprising: a lens barrel (110) comprising an outer diameter at an image side equal to or less than an outer diameter at a subject side (as shown in Fig. 1D: the diameter of the object side of lens barrel 110 is greater than the image side of the lens barrel i.e., 112), and a wall having a thickness at the image side equal to or greater than a thickness at the subject side (as depicts in Fig. 1D: the image side 112 of the lens barrel 110 has thicker wall then the tip or object side of the lens barrel); a plurality of lenses (Fig. 1D: lenses 121-126) disposed in the lens barrel (110); and a cover member (150) fixed to an end of the lens barrel on the subject side and fixing a last lens of the plurality of lenses on the subject side (Fig. 1D and para 0087: “the retaining element 150 and includes a contact surface 177 and a first shrunk surface 171. The contact surface 177 is in physical contact with a part of the first lens element 121 of the optical elements, as shown in the lower part relative to the paraxial path z in FIG. 1D.”).
Tsai fails to teach: wherein at least one of the plurality of lenses includes a D-cut portion having a straight shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches that D-cut portion is a plane potion formed in the flange portion, and that plane may include substantially planar surface shape (see para 0082, 0085 and 0086). Yang further teaches planarized surfaces associated with the first D-cut portion 141 and the second D-cut portion 142, specifically para 0123 and 0124 teach that a planarized surface 160 may be formed between the end 141a of the first D-cut portion 141 and the first inclined surface 120. Additionally, Yang in para 0144, 0145 and 0147: teaches a plurality of lenses in the lens assembly and that among the plurality of lenses, two lenses L5 and L6 includes D-cut portions 140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify at least one lens of Tsai to include D-cut portion having a straight shape as taught by Yang in order to facilitate compact lens packaging and reduce lens size while maintaining performance, and provide a known peripheral geometry for coupling within the lens barrel, since Yang teaches that such D-cut lens structures are used in lens assembly to miniaturize the assembly while securing lens performance. See paras. 0092, 0093, 0097 and 0153.
Regarding claim 18, Tsai teaches the lens assembly of claim 17, wherein outer diameters of the plurality of lenses decrease from the subject side to the image side (see Fig. 1D: the diameter of the lenses decrease from the object side i.e., lens 121 to the image side lens 126), and an inner diameter of the lens barrel decreases corresponding to the outer diameters of the plurality of lenses (see Fig. 1D: the inside diameter of the lens decreases in stepwise from the object side to image side).
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, 9 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teraoka et al. US 2012/0019905 in view of Yang et al. US 2019/0179103.
Regarding claim 1, Teraoka teaches a lens assembly (see at least Fig. 3 and 4: 4) comprising:
a lens barrel (30);
a plurality of lenses (Fig. 4: 10 and 20) arranged inside the lens barrel (30) along an optical axis (Fig. 4 and para 0174); and
a cover member (50) fixed to an end of the lens barrel on a subject side and fixing a last lens of the plurality of lenses on the subject side (see para 0162: “a lens retainer 50 fixed to barrel 30 for retaining the two infrared lenses and spacer 40”),
wherein outer diameters of the plurality of lenses decrease from the subject side to an image side (as shown in Fig. 4: the lenses diameter increases as it goes down from the object side i.e., lens 20 to the image side i.e., lens 10), and
wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel is constant or smaller from the subject side to the image side (as it can be shown in Fig. 4: the diameter of the outer side of lens barrel 30 is getting smaller from the object side to the image side).
Teraoka fails to teach: wherein at least one of the plurality of lenses includes a D-cut portion having a straight shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches that D-cut portion is a plane potion formed in the flange portion, and that plane may include substantially planar surface shape (see para 0082, 0085 and 0086). Yang further teaches planarized surfaces associated with the first D-cut portion 141 and the second D-cut portion 142, specifically para 0123 and 0124 teach that a planarized surface 160 may be formed between the end 141a of the first D-cut portion 141 and the first inclined surface 120. Additionally, Yang in para 0144, 0145 and 0147: teaches a plurality of lenses in the lens assembly and that among the plurality of lenses, two lenses L5 and L6 includes D-cut portions 140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify at least one lens of Teraoka to include D-cut portion having a straight shape as taught by Yang in order to facilitate compact lens packaging and reduce lens size while maintaining performance, and provide a known peripheral geometry for coupling within the lens barrel, since Yang teaches that such D-cut lens structures are used in lens assembly to miniaturize the assembly while securing lens performance. See paras. 0092, 0093, 0097 and 0153.
Regarding claim 4, Teraoka teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover member (50) has a contact portion (Fig. 4: 52) contacting an outer diameter portion of the last lens (20) on the subject side of the lens barrel (as shown in figure Fig. 4: the cover member contacting the last lens 20 from the object side).
Regarding claim 5, Teraoka teaches the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the cover member (50) includes a fixing portion (Fig. 4: 51 and 53) into which the outer diameter of the lens barrel (35) is fitted (see para 0174: “Thread groove portion 53 is screwed on thread groove portion 35 formed at the front-side end of barrel 30.”).
Regarding claim 6, Teraoka teaches the lens assembly of claim 5, wherein the fixing portion is screw-assembled to the outer diameter of the lens barrel (see para 0174: “Thread groove portion 53 is screwed on thread groove portion 35 formed at the front-side end of barrel 30.”).
Regarding claim 9, Teraoka teaches the lens assembly of claim 5, wherein the fixing portion is fixed to the lens barrel by bonding using an adhesive (para 0174: “It is noted that lens retainer 50 may be fixed to barrel 30, for example, using adhesive.”).
Regarding claim 13, Teraoka teaches a lens assembly comprising the lens assembly of claim 1, wherein the image side of the lens barrel is accommodated in a housing (see para 0173: “Thread groove portion 36 formed at the rear side of barrel 30 is to fix vehicle-mounted infrared lens unit 4 to a housing (not shown) in which image pickup device 3a”).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pavel and Yang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Teraoka et al. US 2012/0019905.
Regarding claim 6, Pavel teaches the lens assembly of claim 5, but fails to teach wherein the fixing portion is screw-assembled to the outer diameter of the lens barrel.
In the same field of endeavor, Teraoka teaches lens assembly, comprising a cover (see Fig. 3-4: lens retainer 50), wherein the fixing portion is screw-assembled to the outer diameter of the lens barrel (see para 0174: “Thread groove portion 53 is screwed on thread groove portion 35 formed at the front-side end of barrel 30”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lens assembly of Pavel by utilizing the threaded fixing method as taught by Teraoka in order to securely fix the lens retainer with the lens barrel.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teraoka and Yang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Hamasaki US Patent No. 5,867,740.
Regarding claim 7, Teraoka teaches the lens assembly of claim 5, but fails to teach wherein the fixing portion is slide-fitted to the outer diameter of the lens barrel.
In the same field of endeavor, Hamasaki teaches the use of retainer (see Fig. 3) fixed into the lens barrel (Fig. 3: 2), wherein the fixing portion is slide-fitted to the outer diameter of the lens barrel (see col. 4 lines 34-47). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lens assembly of Teraoka to use a well-known slide-fitted, mechanical alternative for attaching the retainer to a lens barrel for easy assembly of the lens assembly i.e., allows rotation free fixing of the retainer ring to the lens barrel, as well as slide-fitted assembly also reduce cost of manufacturing.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teraoka and Yang as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Cotoros et al. US 2021/0173167.
Regarding claim 8, the lens assembly of claim 5, wherein the fixing portion is press-fitted to the lens barrel.
Regarding claim 8, Teraoka teaches the lens assembly of claim 5, but fails to teach wherein the fixing portion is press-fitted to the lens barrel.
In the same field of endeavor, Hamasaki teaches the use of retainer (see Fig. 3) fixed into the lens barrel (Fig. 3: 2), wherein the fixing portion is press-fit (see para 0029). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the lens assembly of Teraoka to use a well-known press-fit, mechanical alternative for attaching the retainer to a lens barrel for easy assembly of the lens assembly i.e., allows rotation free fixing of the retainer ring to the lens barrel, as well as press-fitted assembly also reduce cost of manufacturing.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teraoka and Yang as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Chang et al. US 2021/0333518.
Regarding claim 10, Teraoka teaches the lens assembly of claim 4, but fails to disclose wherein a coating surface is provided for preventing flare on an outer surface of the contact portion.
In the field of endeavor, Chang teaches providing outer peripheral/object-side surface with light-absorbing properties to absorb non-imaging light and suppress flare (see Fig. 1B and para 0075: “the ability of the light absorbing portion 120 to absorb the stray light can be enhanced”). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to apply a low-reflectance coating to the outer surface of the primary contact portion (cover member) to achieve the same known anti-flare (prevent stray light) function as taught by Chang (see para 0075-0076).
Claim(s) 14-16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. US 2023/0204898 in view of Yang et al. US 2019/0179103.
Regarding claim 14, Tsai teaches a lens assembly (at least Fig. 1A) comprising: a lens barrel including a plurality of lenses disposed therein along an optical axis (Fig. 1C: depicts plurality of lenses 121-126 disposed inside lens barrel 110 along Z axis);
a circular cover member (at least Fig. 1A-1C: depicts 150 circular cover member) fixed to an end of the lens barrel (110) on a subject side and fixing a last lens of the plurality of lenses on the subject side (Fig. 1D and para 0087: “the retaining element 150 and includes a contact surface 177 and a first shrunk surface 171. The contact surface 177 is in physical contact with a part of the first lens element 121 of the optical elements, as shown in the lower part relative to the paraxial path z in FIG. 1D.”); and
a rectangular housing (Fig. 1: depicts rectangular housing 11) for accommodating the lens barrel (110) (para 0080: “The lens assembly 100 is coupled to the base 11, the image sensor 12 is disposed on an imaging surface of the camera module 10, and the imaging surface is located on an image-side of the base 11”) therein, wherein outer diameters of the plurality of lenses decrease from the subject side to an image side (see Fig. 1D: the diameter of the lenses decrease from the object side i.e., lens 121 to the image side lens 126).
Tsai fails to explicitly teach: wherein a ratio of a diameter of the cover member to a length of a longest side of the housing is in a range of 7:10 to 9:10. However, Tsai the same architecture (circular cover on a rectangular housing), choosing the relative sizes is an ordinary design choice to achieve known goals; maximize aperture/clear aperture, leave enough border for bonding/ribs/seals, maintain mechanical strength, and minimize the module’s footprint. That makes the ration of cover diameter to the housing’s long side a is a classic result-effective variable. MPEP expressly recognizes that where the general arrangement is disclosed, optimizing a parameter by routine experimentation is obvious (In re Aller). And claimed ranges are prima facies obvious when they overlap, abut, or lie inside the range suggested in the art unless criticality/unexpected results are shown (In re Peterson, In re Woodruff).
Tsai fails to teach: wherein at least one of the plurality of lenses includes a D-cut portion having a straight shape.
In the same field of endeavor, Yang teaches that D-cut portion is a plane potion formed in the flange portion, and that plane may include substantially planar surface shape (see para 0082, 0085 and 0086). Yang further teaches planarized surfaces associated with the first D-cut portion 141 and the second D-cut portion 142, specifically para 0123 and 0124 teach that a planarized surface 160 may be formed between the end 141a of the first D-cut portion 141 and the first inclined surface 120. Additionally, Yang in para 0144, 0145 and 0147: teaches a plurality of lenses in the lens assembly and that among the plurality of lenses, two lenses L5 and L6 includes D-cut portions 140. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify at least one lens of Tsai to include D-cut portion having a straight shape as taught by Yang in order to facilitate compact lens packaging and reduce lens size while maintaining performance, and provide a known peripheral geometry for coupling within the lens barrel, since Yang teaches that such D-cut lens structures are used in lens assembly to miniaturize the assembly while securing lens performance. See paras. 0092, 0093, 0097 and 0153.
Regarding claim 15, Tsai teaches the lens assembly of claim 14, wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel decreases stepwise from the subject side to the image side (see Fig. 1D: the inside diameter of the lens decreases in stepwise from the object side to image side).
Regarding claim 16, Tsai teaches the lens assembly of claim 14, wherein an outer diameter of the lens barrel is parallel to a direction of the optical axis (see Figs. 5D-5E: the outer diameter of barrel 510 is parallel to the Z-axis).
Regarding claim 19, Tsai teaches a lens assembly comprising the lens assembly of claim 17, wherein the image side of the lens barrel (110) is accommodated in a rectangular housing (11) (see Fig. 1A).
Tsai fails to explicitly teach: a ratio of a diameter of the cover member to a length of a longest side of the housing is in a range of 7:10 to 9:10. However, Tsai the same architecture (circular cover on a rectangular housing), choosing the relative sizes is an ordinary design choice to achieve known goals; maximize aperture/clear aperture, leave enough border for bonding/ribs/seals, maintain mechanical strength, and minimize the module’s footprint. That makes the ration of cover diameter to the housing’s long side a is a classic result-effective variable. MPEP expressly recognizes that where the general arrangement is disclosed, optimizing a parameter by routine experimentation is obvious (In re Aller). And claimed ranges are prima facies obvious when they overlap, abut, or lie inside the range suggested in the art unless criticality/unexpected results are shown (In re Peterson, In re Woodruff).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872