This office action is in response to remarks filed 01/14/2026.
Claims 1-8 are pending. Claims 21-32 are newly presented. Claims 9-20 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 21-26, 30-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US 2024/0397474 A1) in view of Thiebaut et al. (US 2006/0271693 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 22, Wu discloses a method or a base station (BS), comprising:
a radio frequency (RF) transceiver and one or more processors configured to, when executing instructions stored in a memory, cause the BS to:
transmit a sensing message based on a sensing service request, wherein the sensing service request is associated with a sensing procedure (see fig. 8, step 1-2, discloses receiving a request and sending a sensing service request, see also para. 0159-0172);
receive a request for sensing in response to transmitting the sensing message (see fig. 8, step 8, discloses start sensing service as a request for sensing, see also para. 0159-0172); and
transmit sensing data based on the sensing procedure associated with the sensing message, wherein the sensing data is transmitted through a base station / sensing function (BS/SF) interface (see fig. 8, step 12, discloses sending sensing result, see also para. 0159-0172).
Although, Wu discloses separate BS and SF and as such indirectly transmits a sensing message based on a sensing service request, Wu does not explicitly disclose wherein the SF is integrated or is part of base station.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include integrating SF within the base station or making SF part of BS, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In reLarson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
The motivation for doing so would be to allow reducing the overhead in communication by integrating the sensing function.
Although Wu discloses the sensing message comprising location information wherein the location information may include a cell or a tracking area of the user (para. 0067), if fails to disclose wherein such location information are identified by a public land mobile network (PLMN) ID.
However, Thuebaut discloses wherein the location information such as a cell or tracking area of user can be identified by PLMN ID (see para. 0022).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include location information such as PLMN ID within a sensing message.
The motivation for doing so would be to use well known identifiers that can be recognized universally.
Regarding claim 31, Wu discloses one or more processors (see fig. 12, para. 0244-0245) configured to, when executing instructions stored in memory, perform operations as described with respect to claim 1 (rejected based on same rationale as claim 1).
Regarding claims 2, 23, Wu fails to disclose the BS wherein a sensing function (SF) is located within the BS.
Although, Wu discloses separate BS and SF and as such indirectly transmits a sensing message based on a sensing service request, Wu does not explicitly disclose the BS wherein a sensing function (SF) is located within the BS.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include integrating SF within the base station or making SF part of BS, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In reLarson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965).
The motivation for doing so would be to allow reducing the overhead in communication by integrating the sensing function.
Regarding claims 3, 24, Wu discloses the BS wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the BS to: receive a paging request or a notification message comprising the sensing service request from a core network (CN) network function (NF), and wherein the sensing service request is generated by the CN NF (see par. 0167, fig. 8, step 8).
Regarding claims 4, 25, Wu discloses the BS wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the BS to: receive the sensing service request, wherein the sensing service request is generated by a user equipment (UE), and the sensing message includes the sensing service request (see fig. 8, step 1, para. 0160).
Regarding claims 5, 26, Wu discloses the BS wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the BS to: perform a sensing procedure based on the request for sensing (see fig. 8, step 9, para. 0168); and generate the sensing data based on the performed sensing procedure (see Id.).
Regarding claims 21, 30, 32, Wu discloses the BS wherein the sensing message further comprises at least one of a serving temporary mobile subscription identifier (S-TMSI), location information, establishment cause or UE context request (see para. 0067, fig. 8, step 2 discloses message including at least location information).
Claims 7-8, 28, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. in view of Thiebaut et al. and Liu et al. (US 2024/0406690 A1).
Regarding claims 7, 28, Wu fails to disclose but Liu discloses the BS of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the BS to: receive a sensing response associated with the transmitted sensing data (see fig. 9, sensing parameters sent from SF to UE and in response sensing data is received, see para. 0311-0327), wherein the sensing response includes one or more of a sensing processing report or sensing commands (see fig. 9, deliver sensing data, see para. 0311-0327).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include receiving a response associated with transmitted data as described by Liu.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow collecting sensing data.
Regarding claims 8, 29, the combination of Wu and Liu discloses the BS wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the BS to: transmit the sensing response to a user equipment (UE) (see Liu, para. sending sensing parameter from SF to UE).
Claims 6, 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. in view of Thiebaut et al. and Roy et al. (US 2023/0086144 A1).
Regarding claim 6, 27, Wu fails to disclose but Roy discloses the BS wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the BS to: transmit a radio resource control (RRC) sensing reconfiguration comprising the request for sensing to a user equipment (UE) (see fig. 2, 206, fig. 3, 308, para. 0264-0275, response message as request for sensing, see also para. 0200, describes the message can be sent in RRC reconfig. message); and receive the sensing data based on the sensing procedure performed by the UE in response to receiving the RRC sensing reconfiguration (see fig. 2, 3, para. 0117, 0120-0123, abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include a request and response sequence as described by Roy.
The motivation for doing so would be to allow configuration and implementation of multiple sensing as described by Roy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NISHANT B. DIVECHA
Supervisory Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419