DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-6, 8, and 11-18 are pending. Claim 7 is canceled. Claim 18 is new. Claims 12-17 remain withdrawn.
In view of the amendment, filed 10/23/2025, the following objections and rejections are withdrawn from the previous Office Action mailed 07/28/2025:
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
New grounds of rejection are made in response to claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
New claim 18 recites the limitation “the nozzles” in the next to last line (“returning re-dissolved solid to the nozzles by negative pressure of the nozzles in the print head”). The claim has introduced “openings” in the nozzle plate of the print head (preamble) as well as “outlet nozzles” on each side of those openings. The claim language is unclear as to whether “the nozzles” is intended to refer to “the openings” of the nozzle plate, or “the outlet nozzles” on the sides of the openings. It is further unclear whether each instance of “the nozzles” refers to the same set of nozzles or not. For further examination any of these would apply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krichtman et al., US 20130141491 A1 (of record), in view of Kanemura et al., JP 2005271314 A (Espacenet translation provided and referenced below).
Regarding claim 1, Krichtman discloses a method for preventing deposits (preventing accumulation of solid sediment, [0032], [0066]) of a printing liquid (the sediment originating from printing liquid/ink, [0062], [0090]) at a nozzle plate of a print head (on the nozzle plate of an inkjet head, [0032], [0066]) within a 3D printer (within an inkjet printing system, [0061], [0069], performing 3D printing of layers, [0101], [0114]), comprising
Increasing a saturation level of a liquid in air (keeping the nozzle plate wet, [0032], by fumes emerging from a pool of volatile liquid underneath the printing head, [0034]) in front of the nozzle plate (the fumes being underneath, i.e., in front of, the nozzle plate 102, Fig. 11, [0034], [0100]).
In the applied embodiment Krichtman is silent as to the liquid being a carrier liquid of the printing liquid. However, in other embodiments of wetting the nozzle plate, Krichtman discloses the liquid forming the fumes/vapor is a carrier liquid of the printing liquid (the fumes/vapor wetting the nozzle being fumes/vapor emerging from ejected printing liquid on heated substrate, [0032]-[0033], [0091]).
Accordingly, in implementing a suitable liquid for wetting the nozzle by the vapor in the applied embodiment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify the liquid forming the vapor was a carrier liquid of the printing liquid as taught by Krichtman since it would have been suitable for producing fumes and providing moisture around the nozzle plate to prevent sediment accumulation as intended.
Krichtman further discloses using an auxiliary suction system for removing part of the fumes so as to maintain a predefined level of moisture adjacent to the nozzle plate ([0035]). Krichtman discloses various embodiments for wetting the nozzle plate and utilizing suction for removing carrier liquid from the nozzle plate and around the print head (e.g., Fig. 6b including auxiliary suction system 640, Fig. 14 including capillary gap 110 and auxiliary suction system 640). In the applied embodiment, Krichtman does not disclose the carrier liquid or air enriched with the carrier liquid is discharged via an outlet nozzle and suctioned off via a suction nozzle at the nozzle plate, wherein the outlet nozzle is arranged on one side of the nozzle plate and the suction nozzle is arranged on the opposite side of the nozzle plate, wherein the openings of the nozzle plate, outlet nozzle and suction nozzle are all positioned at a common level.
In the analogous art directed to atmosphere adjustment for moistening print head nozzles and thereby preventing their drying out ([0022], [0079]), Kanemura discloses techniques for preventing the drying out of ink inside ejection ports of a print head ([0072], [0079]). Kanemura teaches providing a humidified air flow ([0078]-[0079], Fig. 13, i.e., air containing vapor of a liquid) in front of a nozzle plate (ejection port array 300a, [0074], see annotated Fig. 13 below), wherein the moistening liquid or air enriched with the liquid (air humidified with water-based moistening liquid, [0076]) is discharged via an outlet nozzle (discharged via exhaust port 341A of the exhaust section 341C on the upstream side of the print head, [0078], Fig. 13) and is suctioned off via a suction nozzle at the nozzle plate (suctioned into suction section 341C through suction port 341A on downstream side of print head, [0080], Fig. 13), wherein the outlet nozzle is arranged on one side of the nozzle plate and the suction nozzle is arranged on the opposite side of the nozzle plate (outlet nozzle is upstream of print head and suction nozzle is downstream of print head on opposite side of nozzles, Fig. 13), wherein the openings of the nozzle plate, outlet nozzle, and suction nozzle are all positioned at a common level (Fig. 13).
Kanemura teaches the arrangement allows the vicinity of the nozzle array to be constantly maintained at an appropriate humidity so as to prevent drying out of the nozzles ([0078]-[0080]) while being intended to avoid issues related to the humidifying means being located too far from the nozzles or condensation being formed in other areas of the apparatus ([0016]-[0018], [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Krichtman to use the outlet and suction nozzle arrangement taught by Kanemura in place of the evaporating liquid pool and auxiliary suction system of Krichtman as a substitution of one known technique for another for providing a humid air flow containing a moistening liquid vapor to a nozzle plate for maintaining an appropriate level of moisture adjacent the nozzle plate. Both techniques were known for providing moist air to a nozzle plate in order to achieve the same result of preventing drying out of printing liquid at the nozzles, and Kanemura teaches their technique beneficially keeps the humidifying means close to the region of interest at the print head nozzles and would avoid condensation around other areas of the apparatus.
Regarding claim 2, modified Krichtman discloses the method according to claim 1, and Krichtman discloses the nozzle plate is wetted with the carrier liquid (the nozzle plate is kept wet by the fumes/vapor, [0032], [0034]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Krichtman teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the carrier liquid is vapor deposited onto the nozzle plate (Krichtman: the nozzle plate is kept wet by fumes/vapor, [0032], [0034]; Kanemura: the liquid vapor being provided in a moist air flow, [0076]; i.e., the liquid is provided via a vapor).
Regarding claim 4, modified Krichtman discloses the method according to claim 1. In the applied embodiment, Krichtman does not disclose the carrier liquid is sprayed onto the nozzle plate. However, Krichtman further discloses that, as necessary, the liquid vapor can be sprayed on the nozzle plate in-between printing runs ([0101]). Kanemura also discloses using a water spray for humidification ([0076]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further specify in the method of the combination that the carrier liquid is also sprayed onto the nozzle plate, e.g., as required between printing passes, in order to ensure the nozzle plate remains sufficiently wetted to achieve the benefit disclosed above of reduced sediment accumulation and clogging, as taught by Krichtman.
Regarding claim 8, modified Krichtman discloses the method according to claim 1, and Krichtman further discloses the carrier liquid is applied to the nozzle plate before, during or after a printing operation (wetting during/after printing, [0032], [0034]; see also before, during, or after printing operations, [0101]).
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krichtman et al., US 20130141491 A1, in view of Kanemura et al., JP 2005271314 A, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Caballero et al., WO 2020263274 A1 (of record).
Regarding claims 5-6, modified Krichtman discloses the method according to claim 1. As indicated above, Krichtman further discloses that, as needed, the liquid vapor or steam can be sprayed on the nozzle plate in-between printing runs ([0101]).
Krichtman is silent as to the carrier liquid being atomized in front of the nozzle plate by ultrasound.
Kanemura discloses using ultrasonic waves for humidification ([0076]) but is silent as to further details.
In the analogous art, Caballero discloses printhead servicing to prevent buildup of dried printing liquid (Abstract, [0001], [0008]-[0010]). Caballero teaches atomizing a liquid in front of the nozzle plate (Figs. 3-4, nozzles 34 direct humidified air stream towards nozzle plates 52a, [0019], the humidified air made by atomized droplets, [0012]) by ultrasound (humidified air generation includes producing a mist by atomizing water using ultrasonic mist generators, [0012]). Caballero teaches the humidified air generation by the mist generators produces small droplets facilitating humidification of the air and provides a cooling effect as the water droplets evaporate ([0012]-[0013]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Krichtman to include atomizing the carrier liquid in front of the nozzle plate by ultrasound in order to facilitate humidification of the nozzle plate between printing runs as desired by Krichtman and to provide a cooling effect during the maintenance stage as taught by Caballero.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krichtman et al., US 20130141491 A1, in view of Kanemura et al., JP 2005271314 A, as applied to claim 1 above. Evidentiary support is provided by Gunther et al., US 20170106595 A1 (of record).
Regarding claim 11, modified Krichtman discloses the method according to claim 1. The combination discloses the carrier liquid for increasing the saturation level is volatilized (Krichtman: fumes from volatile liquid, [0034], [0100]; Kanemura: vaporized liquid, [0076]), with the vapor/fumes typically being generated by heat (“hot pool,” [0034], [0100]; Kanemura: heating, [0076]).
The combination as applied is silent as to the carrier liquid having a temperature above 50°C.
Kanemura further teaches providing the moistening fluid via steam generated by heating ([0076]) and describes heating the air flow to vaporize the liquid droplets ([0084]). Kanemura discloses the liquid being preferably water or mainly water ([0076]), which is consistent with typical inkjet printing fluids, as evidenced by Gunther (aqueous/water-based fluid being known for jetting of metal particles, [0021]-[0022], [0055]-[0056]), as well as the carrier liquids presently disclosed (filed specification, p. 2, lines 20-22). Water vaporizes at 100°C, therefore the temperature required to vaporize the carrier liquid at some point in the process would have been expected to reach at least 100°C, or greater than 50°C.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to specify for the combination that, at some point in the printing and wetting process, the carrier liquid has a temperature above 50°C, since the carrier liquid is volatilized by heat and is water or water-based, and in order to control a vaporization of the liquid, where temperatures above 50°C were known for achieving a suitable amount of vaporization of a typical carrier fluid, such as water, as taught by Kanemura and evidenced by Gunther.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laubersheimer et al., US 20160059495 A1, in view of Higashiyama et al., JP 2011016301 A (Espacenet translation provided and referenced below).
Regarding new claim 18, Laubersheimer discloses a method for preventing deposits of a printing liquid at a nozzle plate of a print head (cleaning nozzles of a printhead to comminute and release any deposits in the nozzle, Abstract; printhead 2, Fig. 1, [0032]) which nozzle plate includes openings (plurality of nozzles 6, Fig. 1, [0032]) for releasing printing liquid (for discharging drops of liquid, Fig. 1, [0032]-[0033]) from a 3D printer (the device performs 3D inkjet printing, Abstract, [0011]), comprising returning re-dissolved solid to the nozzles by negative pressure of the nozzles in the print head (Figs. 7-10, negative pressure is applied to the nozzles which sucks ink and comminuted/released deposits upwards out of the nozzles, [0041]-[0042]).
Laubersheimer does not disclose increasing a saturation level of a carrier liquid of the printing liquid in air in front of the nozzle plate using outlet nozzles located on each side of the openings in the nozzle plate.
In the analogous art directed to suppressing ejection defects caused by drying of nozzles during printing ([0010]), Higashiyama teaches providing a gas containing vaporized solvent components of the ink around the ejection ports of the print head ([0012]), i.e., increasing a saturation level of a carrier liquid of the printing liquid in air in front of the nozzle plate. Higashiyama teaches doing so by using outlet nozzles located on each side of the openings in the nozzle plate (see Fig. 2 below, ink solvent component-containing air supply ports, or humidified air supply ports, 2, being located on each side of the nozzle plate to send humidified air to the periphery of the ejection ports, [0015]-[0016]). Higashiyama teaches providing the humidified gas to the periphery of the ejection openings avoids drying out of the nozzles during printing ([0016], [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Laubersheimer to include increasing a saturation level of a carrier liquid of the printing liquid in air in front of the nozzle plate using outlet nozzles located on each side of the openings in the nozzle plate in order to suppress drying of the nozzles during printing, as taught by Higashiyama.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20020122090 A1, Sharma et al. discloses a relevant method for cleaning a print head using cleaning fluid flowing from an outlet nozzle, across the nozzle plate, and to a suction nozzle (Figs. 4-7), where the cleaning fluid can be the printing ink and a negative pressure can be applied to draw fluid into ink jet orifices.
US 20100066787 A1, Yokouchi et al., and US 6575556 B1, Eremity et al. disclose flowing a fluid across a nozzle surface and suctioning the fluid, the ports all being on a common level.
/J.L.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754