DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Weldy (7,334,830).
Weldy discloses a tether assembly for use on a tonneau cover that selectively covers a cargo bed of a truck, as shown in Figures 1-7. The tether assembly comprises a tether hook attached at a first end of strap (42), as shown in Figure 5. The tether hook is selectively engageable with a rail (30) that is secured to a sidewall of the cargo box of the truck (10), as shown in Figure 5. A bracket (30) is attached to the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 5. In reference to claim 2, the strap (42) is made of a flexible material, as shown in Figures 4 and 5. In reference to claim 3, the tether hook is attached to the first end of the strap (42), as shown in Figure 5. In reference to claim 4, the bracket (30) is attached to the second end of the strap (42), as shown in Figure 5. The bracket (30) is configured to attach to at least one frame member (40) of the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 6.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Williamson et al. (US 2018/0147925).
Williamson et al. discloses a tie down block assembly (66) for use on a tonneau cover assembly (10) that selectively covers a cargo bed (12) of a truck (14), as shown in Figures 1 and 11-17. The tie down block assembly comprises a block at end (102) and an arm extending from the block to form end (104), as shown in Figure 17.
The arm includes a hook (106) extending therefrom, as shown in Figure 17. The hook (106) is spaced apart from the block, as shown in Figure 17. A bolt (108) includes a bolthead (110) and a shaft (112) extending from the bolthead (110) such that the bolthead is wider than a diameter of the shaft (112), as shown in Figure 17. The bolthead (110) of the bolt is configured to fit in an opening (100) of the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 17. The shaft (112) of the bolt is disposed in the block, as shown in Figure 17. A portion of the block is configured to abut a surface of a portion (64) of the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 17. The hook (106) is engageable with a structure (30) that is selected from the group consisting at least one of the tonneau cover assembly and the cargo box of the truck, as shown in Figure 17. In reference to claim 6, a threaded knob, the nut, engages threads on the shaft (112) of the bolt and engages the block of the tie down block assembly, as shown in Figure 17. In reference to claim 7, the shaft (112) of the bolt is disposed through the block, as shown in Figure 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weldy (7,334,830) in view of Williamson et al. (US 2018/0147925).
Weldy discloses a tether assembly for use on a tonneau cover that selectively covers a cargo bed of a truck, as shown in Figures 1-7. The tether assembly comprises a tether hook attached at a first end of strap (42), as shown in Figure 5. The tether hook is selectively engageable with a structure (30) of the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 5. A bracket (30) is attached to the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 5. In reference to claim 10, the strap (42) is made of a flexible material, as shown in Figures 4 and 5. In reference to claim 11, the tether hook is attached to the first end of the strap (42), as shown in Figure 5. In reference to claim 12, the bracket (30) is attached to the second end of the strap (42), as shown in Figure 5. The bracket (30) is configured to attach to at least one frame member (40) of the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 6. However, the cam lock clamps (50) of Weldy do not meet the limitations of the tie down assembly.
Williamson et al. teaches a tie down block assembly (66) for use on a tonneau cover assembly (10) that selectively covers a cargo bed (12) of a truck (14), as shown in Figures 1 and 11-17. The tie down block assembly comprises a block at end (102) and an arm extending from the block to form end (104), as shown in Figure 17.
The arm includes a hook (106) extending therefrom, as shown in Figure 17. The hook (106) is spaced apart from the block, as shown in Figure 17. A bolt (108) includes a bolthead (110) and a shaft (112) extending from the bolthead (110) such that the bolthead is wider than a diameter of the shaft (112), as shown in Figure 17. The bolthead (110) of the bolt is configured to fit in an opening (100) of the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 17. The shaft (112) of the bolt is disposed in the block, as shown in Figure 17. A portion of the block is configured to abut a surface of a portion (64) of the tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 17. The hook (106) is engageable with a structure (30) that is selected from the group consisting at least one of the tonneau cover assembly and the cargo box of the truck, as shown in Figure 17. In reference to claim 13, a threaded knob, the nut, engages threads on the shaft (112) of the bolt and engages the block of the tie down block assembly, as shown in Figure 17. In reference to claim 14, the shaft (112) of the bolt is disposed through the block, as shown in Figure 17. In reference to claim 15, the portion of the block that is configured to abut the surface of the portion (64) of the tonneau cover assembly is configured to abut an underside surface of the portion of tonneau cover assembly, as shown in Figure 17.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the tie down assembly taught by Williamson et al. for the cam lock clamps of Weldy with a reasonable expectation for success as an alternate attachment mechanism that is simpler and less expensive to manufacture.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/16/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued the rejection of claim 1 by stating the new limitation of claim 1 is not disclosed. Weldy clearly discloses the tether hook is selectively engageable with a rail (30) secured to the sidewall of the cargo box of the truck, as shown in Figure 5. The engaged position is shown in solid line and the disengaged position is shown in dashed lines.
Applicant has argued Williamson et al. does not disclose the block is “configured to abut a surface of a portion of the tonneau cover”, as claimed in claim 5. The claim does not require the block to abut the surface. The block only needs to be capable of abutting the surface. The block of Williamson et al. is capable of abutting the surface since it pivots towards the tonneau cover for the stowed position, as shown in Figure 18. Further, the block does abut the surface of the tonneau cover when in the stowed position, as shown in Figure 18 and disclosed in paragraph [0066].
The rejection of claims 9-15 is argued based on the argument set forth with claim 5. Williamson et al. teaches the claimed feature, as discussed above in section 11. The rejection stands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
GREGORY A. BLANKENSHIP
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3612
/GREGORY A BLANKENSHIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612 February 10, 2026