DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 1 – 20 are pending in this Office Action. After a further search and a thorough examination of the present application, claims 1 – 20 remain rejected.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to claims 1 – 20 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Byron et al. (US 20170220953 A1) (‘Byron’ herein after) further in view of Harper et al. (US 20210004540 A1) (‘Harper’ herein after) further in view of Dominic WIDDOWS. (US 20220237217 A1) (‘Widdows’ herein after).
With respect to claim 1, 12, 18,
Byron discloses a computer-implemented method comprising: storing a units of measure (UoMs) and relationships of the UoMs to textual representations of the UoMs (figures 1 – 3, paragraphs 20 – 25 teach numerical expressions and the units of measure associated with them, Byron); extracting, text corresponding to a measurement of a product to determine a value of the measurement and an initial textual representation of a corresponding unit of measure (UoM) of the measurement (figures 1 – 3, paragraphs 20 – 25 teach extracting numerical expressions and the units of measure associated with the numerical expression and the product, Byron); determining, a recommended textual representation of the measurement of the product based on the initial textual representation of the UoM, the recommended textual representation comprising a corresponding textual representation stored and causing display of the recommended textual representation of the measurement of the product (figures 1 – 3, paragraphs 24 – 37 teach the feature vector from the expression program, Byron).
Byron teaches storing the plurality of units of measure but does not teach it explicitly as claimed as a knowledge graph.
However, Harper teaches storing the information and using a knowledge graph in paragraphs 38 – 40 and 44 teaching storing and presenting the data aggregates of measurements in the form of a knowledge graph. Furthermore, paragraphs 50 – 58 of Harper teach the extraction of logic and context and using algorithms and models to organize the knowledge about the subject matter.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention because both references are directed to the same field of study, namely extracting and providing information. Furthermore, Harper states in paragraphs 13 – 14, by extracting context from measured values contained in a variety of journal articles or other scientific literature, a database may be created aggregating measured values from a large corpus of scientific literature and to detect numerical values or quantities contained therein. The system may then extract a portion of text (e.g., a sentence, a paragraph, or the like) surrounding each numerical value detected. The extracted text may then be encoded or mapped to a vector representation and the vector representation of the text may be analyzed using multi-turn question answering to learn the context of each numerical value.
The combination of Byron and Harper teach storing units of measure and extracting the measurement but does not specifically describe as claimed UoM synonymous with representation based on relationships, in that the corresponding textual representation is an alternate word abbreviation or symbol for the same UoM as the corresponding UoM of the initial textual representation.
However, Widdows teaches UoM synonymous with representation based on relationships in that the corresponding textual representation is an alternate word abbreviation or symbol for the same UoM as the corresponding UoM of the initial textual representation in figure 2, paragraphs 19 – 20, Widdows teaches receiving text data comprising at least one text data element associated with an abbreviated text unit; comparing the at least one text data element with a plurality of candidate text data elements from a representation of a given text database, each candidate text data element associated with a respective candidate text unit in the database; determining values for a similarity measure between the at least one text data element and the candidate text data elements; processing candidate text data elements to select candidate text data elements with associated candidate text units having an ordered relationship with the abbreviated text unit; and using the similarity measure values and the candidate text data element selections to nominate an associated candidate text unit as a disabbreviated text unit for the abbreviated text unit. Widdows also teaches in paragraphs 32 – 35 comparing the abbreviated word or text unit with similar words, such as those which may be found in a similar context and/or those which are lexically or orthographically similar, finding potential candidates for the correct canonical word by similar or matching ordering of the abbreviated word; comparing the abbreviated unit with reference data derived from a body of reference work, finding frequently used words in the reference as candidates.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Widdows to the combination of Byron and Harper’s method because they are directed to the same field of study of extracting and providing information. Widdows teaches the improvement in a question answer system by applying synonyms for units of measurements and their values in questions received by the question answer system in determining the most probable answers to the question by augmenting it with various equivalents.
With respect to claim 2,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the relationships of the UoMs comprise at least one of quantitative measure, dimensions, type of measurement system, symbols defined by the type of measurement system, commonly occurring representations or conversion factors for other measurement systems (paragraphs 20, 25, 37, 41, Byron).
With respect to claim 3, 15,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein extracting, the text corresponding to the measurement of the product further comprises: detecting, by named entity recognition, the text corresponding to the measurement of the product and classifying, by a classifier, the text corresponding to the measurement of the product as the corresponding UoM from the UoMs to determine the initial textual representation (paragraphs 20, 37, 41 – 45, Byron).
With respect to claim 4,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the classifier is trained based on the relationships of the UoMs and a plurality of product descriptions and wherein the classifier enriches the knowledge graph based on the plurality of product descriptions (paragraphs 28, 36 – 38, 41 – 44, Byron).
With respect to claim 5,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the classifier is trained to disambiguate between the initial textual representation of the corresponding UoM and a different one of the UoMs with a similar symbol based on a product description (figures 3 – 5, paragraph 28 – 33 and 44 – 55, Harper).
With respect to claim 6,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein the classifier is trained to determine the initial textual representation of the corresponding UoM when the text contains an erroneous representation of the corresponding UoM (paragraphs 28, 36 – 38, 41 – 44, Byron).
With respect to claim 7, 16, 17,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining, the recommended textual representation of the measurement of the product further comprises: determining the recommended textual representation of the measurement of the product based on at least one of a location of a customer, a location of a business, a product description in a product catalog of the business, customer data of the customer, or business data of the business and converting the value of the measurement to a synonymous representation of the value based on the recommended textual representation of the measurement of the product (figures 3 – 5, paragraph 28 – 33 and 44 – 55, Harper).
With respect to claim 8,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, is trained based on at least one of product catalogs from different business models, product catalogs from different industry verticals, product catalogs from different locations, the knowledge graph, or search query data (figures 1, 2, paragraphs 38 – 41, Byron).
With respect to claim 9, 13, 19,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a product description of the product, wherein the text corresponding to the measurement of the product is missing a textual representation of a the corresponding UoM; classifying, by a classifier, the text corresponding to the measurement of the product as the corresponding UoM from the UoMs based on the product description of the product to determine the initial textual representation and determining, the recommended textual representation of the measurement of the product further based on the product description of the product (paragraphs 28, 36 – 38, 41 – 44, Byron).
With respect to claim 10,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a product description of the product in a plurality of product descriptions of a plurality of products, wherein the text corresponding to the measurement of the product comprises a textual representation of a the corresponding UoM that is different from a different textual representation of the corresponding UoM in a different one of the plurality of product descriptions ; classifying, by a classifier, the text corresponding to the measurement of the product as the corresponding UoM from the UoMs based on the plurality of product descriptions of the product to determine the initial textual representation and determining, the recommended textual representation of the measurement of the product further based on the plurality of product descriptions of the product (figures 3 – 5, paragraph 28 – 33 and 44 – 55, Harper).
With respect to claim 11,
Byron as modified discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving a search query for the product with the text corresponding to the measurement of the product and determining the recommended textual representation of the measurement of the product further based on the search query for the product to normalize the measurement in the search query with respect to a search engine index (figures 1 – 3, paragraphs 28, 36 – 38, 41 – 44, Byron and paragraphs 19 – 20 and 32 – 35, Widdows).
With respect to claim 14,
Byron as modified discloses the one or more non-transitory computer readable media of claim 12, the method further comprising normalizing textual representations of measurements of products in product descriptions of the products to normalize the measurements in the product descriptions with respect to the search engine index (figures 3 – 5, paragraph 28 – 33 and 44 – 55, Harper).
With respect to claim 20,
Byron as modified discloses the system of claim 18, wherein the instructions that when executed by the processor, cause the processor to perform operations further including: based on identifying zero results for the product in response to a number of search queries: generating taxonomies for one or more sets of products of a plurality of products based on a normalizing measurements of the plurality of products and classifying the one or more sets of products in a particular taxonomy based on the measurements and causing display of the taxonomies for the one or more sets of products of the plurality of products (figures 3 – 5, paragraph 28 – 33 and 44 – 55, Harper and paragraphs 19 – 20 and 32 – 35, Widdows).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20170270549 A1 teaches normalizing a unit of measures of a product provided by multiple retailers.
US 20250036604 A1 teaches the model to infer a correct size value and size UOM of the product. The online system evaluates the accuracy of the inferred size value and size UOM of the product. Responsive to determining that the inferred data is accurate, the online system updates the product catalog with the corrected product attribute information.
US 20190130289 A1 teaches capturing expression as written text data, obtaining a knowledge graph representing concepts and relationships between the concepts automatically topic modeling the written text data to ascertain thought units and identify respective concepts of the thought unit, mapping a thought unit to the knowledge graph, determining that the thought unit is an original idea based on a graph distance in the knowledge graph between correlated concepts represented in the knowledge graph, and based on determining that the thought unit is an original idea, storing a representation of the original idea to an idea repository and invoking processing.
Contact Information
/NAVNEET GMAHL/Examiner, Art Unit 2166 Dated: 5/1/2026
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166