DETAILED ACTION
The following communication is in response to Amendment filed on November 28, 2025.
Claims 1-18 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Independent claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended to include, in part, limitations “wherein, among the first plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the QPSK is greater than a number of indices indicating the 64 QAM” and “wherein, among the second plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the 256 QAM is greater than a number of indices indicating the QPSK.”
Examiner is unable to find support for the aforementioned limitations in the originally filed specification. Paragraphs [0164]-[0169] and [0202]-[0205] describe that an MCS table may be selected according to a target BLER value. For example, as a corresponding target BLER is higher, an MCS table having an MCS index may be configured based on a higher order modulation scheme such as 64QAM, 256QAM, or 1024QAM. And, as a target BLER is lower, another MCS table having an MCS index may be configured based on a lower order modulation scheme such as QPSK or 16 QAM.
However, the originally filed specification is silent on the specific relative counts of indices per modulation order within each MCS table, as described in the amended claims. Therefore, the amended claims 1, 7, and 13 and the corresponding dependent claims introduce new matter.
For the purpose of examination on the merit, the amended claims will be interpreted as best understood, in light of the originally filed specification.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-18 on the ground of non-statutory double patenting rejection have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to rejections of claims 1-18 under 35 U.S.C. §§ 102(a)(2) and 103 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,258,532 in view of in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0366406 (hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claims 1, 7, and 13, claims 1, 4, and 8 of USPN 11,258,532 disclose or suggest a communication method, comprising:
receiving, from a base station, control information through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH)(see claims 1, 4, and 8, first limitation);
selecting a first modulation coding scheme (MCS) table among a plurality of MCS tables based on a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the PDCCH and an MCS cell radio network temporary indicator (MCS-C-RNTI) (see claims 1, 4, and 8, tenth and last limitations); and
performing, based on the control information and the first MCS table, downlink data reception from the base station through a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or uplink data transmission to the base station through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see claims 1, 4, and 8, tenth and last limitations),
wherein the plurality of MCS tables include the first MCS table and a second MCS table (see at least claims 1, 4, and 8, third limitation).
Claims 1-11 of USPN 11,258,532 does not explicitly disclose that the first MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, a highest modulation order of the first MCS table is 64 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), the second MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, and a highest modulation order of the second MCS table is 256 QAM, wherein each of a first plurality of indices includes in the first MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, and the 64 QAM, wherein, among the first plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the QPSK is greater than a number of indices indicating the 64 QAM, wherein each of a second plurality of indices includes in the second MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, the 64 QAM, and the 256 QAM, and wherein, among the second plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the 256 QAM is greater than a number of indices indicating the QPSK.
However, in an analogous art, Kim discloses or suggests that the first MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, a highest modulation order of the first MCS table is 64 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 13-17, QPSK, 16QAM, and 64QAM), the second MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, and a highest modulation order of the second MCS table is 256 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 1-12, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM), wherein each of a first plurality of indices includes in the first MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, and the 64 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 13-17, QPSK, 16QAM, and 64QAM), wherein, among the first plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the QPSK is greater than a number of indices indicating the 64 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 13-17, which includes a number of indices indicating QPSK, 16QAM, and 64QAM), wherein each of a second plurality of indices includes in the second MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, the 64 QAM, and the 256 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 1-12, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM), and wherein, among the second plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the 256 QAM is greater than a number of indices indicating the QPSK (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 1-12, which includes a number of indices indicating QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Kim in to the invention of claims 1-11 of USPN 11,258,532 in order to enhance the data transmission by selecting an appropriate MCS table.
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14, claims 1, 4, and 8 of USPN 11,258,532 disclose or suggest that the plurality of MCS tables is determined by a type of search space through which physical downlink control channel transmission is performed (see claims 1, 4, and 8, fourth/fifth limitation).
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, claims 3, 6, and 10 of USPN 11,258,532 disclose or suggest that the type of search space is a UE-specific search space.
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16, claims 2, 5, and 9 of USPN 11,258,532 disclose or suggest receiving the MCS-C-RNTI from the base station using RRC signaling.
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 17, claims 1, 4, and 8 of USPN 11,258,532 disclose or suggest that the downlink data is transmitted using a plurality of code block groups (see sixth and seventh limitations).
Regarding claims 6, 12, and 18, claims 1, 4, and 8 of USPN 11,258,532 disclose or suggest that the uplink data is transmitted using a plurality of code block groups (see sixth and seventh limitations).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1 line 9, the limitation “MSC” should be replaced with ---MCS---.
Regarding claim 7 line 12, the limitation “MSC” should be replaced with ---MCS---.
Regarding claim 13 line 11, the limitation “MSC” should be replaced with ---MCS---.
Claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 depend on claims 1, 7, and 13, respectively, and are objected to for the same reason as claims 1, 7, and 13.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Independent claims 1, 7, and 13 have been amended to include, in part, limitations “wherein, among the first plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the QPSK is greater than a number of indices indicating the 64 QAM” and “wherein, among the second plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the 256 QAM is greater than a number of indices indicating the QPSK.”
Examiner is unable to find support for the aforementioned limitations in the originally filed specification. Paragraphs [0164]-[0169] and [0202]-[0205] describe that an MCS table may be selected according to a target BLER value. For example, as a corresponding target BLER is higher, an MCS table having an MCS index may be configured based on a higher order modulation scheme such as 64QAM, 256QAM, or 1024QAM. And, as a target BLER is lower, another MCS table having an MCS index may be configured based on a lower order modulation scheme such as QPSK or 16 QAM.
However, the originally filed specification is silent on the specific relative counts of indices per modulation order within each MCS table, as described in the amended claims. Therefore, the amended claims 1, 7, and 13 and the corresponding dependent claims introduce new matter.
For the purpose of examination on the merit, the amended claims will be interpreted as best understood, in light of the originally filed specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0190644 (Cited in 07/20/2023 IDS, hereinafter “Ugurlu”) in view of Kim.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Ugurlu discloses or suggests a communication method and a communication device, comprising:
a memory (see at least Fig. 4 and paragraph 60, memory 414); and
a processor operably coupled to the memory (see at least Fig. 4 and paragraph 60, processor 412 coupled to the memory 414) and configured to:
cause the device to receive, from a base station, first control information through a first physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see at least paragraphs 27 and 30, the UE may receive DCI in a PDCCH from the network apparatus for a downlink transmission);
select a first modulation coding scheme (MCS) table among a plurality of MCS tables based on a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) of the PDCCH and an MCS cell radio network temporary indicator (MCS-C-RNTI) (see at least paragraphs 30, 31, and 34, in a case that MCS-C-RNTI is configured, the UE may be configured to use the qam64LowSE MCS table); and
perform, based on the control information and the first MCS table, downlink data reception from the base station through a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or uplink data transmission to the base station through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see at least paragraph 31, the UE may be configured to use the qam64LowSE MCS table for a PDSCH or a PUSCH),
wherein the plurality of MCS tables include the first MCS table and a second MCS table (see at least paragraphs 27 and 28, multiple MCS tables).
Ugurlu does not explicitly disclose that the first MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, a highest modulation order of the first MCS table is 64 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), the second MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, and a highest modulation order of the second MCS table is 256 QAM, wherein each of a first plurality of indices includes in the first MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, and the 64 QAM, wherein, among the first plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the QPSK is greater than a number of indices indicating the 64 QAM, wherein each of a second plurality of indices includes in the second MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, the 64 QAM, and the 256 QAM, and wherein, among the second plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the 256 QAM is greater than a number of indices indicating the QPSK.
However, in an analogous art, Kim discloses or suggests that the first MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, a highest modulation order of the first MCS table is 64 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 13-17, QPSK, 16QAM, and 64QAM), the second MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, and a highest modulation order of the second MCS table is 256 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 1-12, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM), wherein each of a first plurality of indices includes in the first MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, and the 64 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 13-17, QPSK, 16QAM, and 64QAM), wherein, among the first plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the QPSK is greater than a number of indices indicating the 64 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 13-17, which includes a number of indices indicating QPSK, 16QAM, and 64QAM), wherein each of a second plurality of indices includes in the second MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, the 64 QAM, and the 256 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 1-12, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM), and wherein, among the second plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the 256 QAM is greater than a number of indices indicating the QPSK (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 1-12, which includes a number of indices indicating QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Kim in to the invention of Ugurlu in order to enhance the data transmission by selecting an appropriate MCS table.
Ugurlu further discloses or suggests:
regarding claims 2 and 8, the two or more MCS tables is determined by a type of search space through which physical downlink control channel transmission is performed (see at least paragraphs 32 and 33, the physical layer indication may comprise a type of search space, where the UE may be configured with multiple search spaces for different PDCCH candidates);
regarding claims 3 and 9, the type of search space is a UE-specific search space (see at least paragraph 33, UE-specific PDCCH search spaces); and
regarding claims 4 and 10, receiving the MCS-C-RNTI from the base station using RRC signaling (see at least paragraphs 27-30, higher layer indication including RRC indication/signaling).
Regarding claim 13, Ugurlu discloses or suggests a communication device (see at least Fig. 4, network apparatus 420), comprising:
a memory (see at least Fig. 4 and paragraph 60, memory 424); and
a processor operably coupled to the memory (see at least Fig. 4 and paragraph 60, processor 422 coupled to the memory 424) and configured to:
generate control information (see at least paragraphs 27 and 30, the network apparatus may use a specific RNTI to scramble a CRC of DCI for configuring a MCS table);
select a first modulation coding scheme (MCS) table among a plurality of MCS tables, wherein the plurality of MCS tables include the first MCS table and a second MCS table, the first MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, a highest modulation order of the first MCS table is 64 quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM), the second MCS table includes a plurality of modulation orders, and a highest modulation order of the second MCS table is 256 QAM (see at least paragraphs 28, 31, and 34, the network apparatus configure the UE to use the qam64LowSE MCS table, where a second MCS table maybe a qam256 MCS table);
cause the device to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), the first control information through a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see at least paragraphs 27 and 30, the UE may receive DCI in a PDCCH from the network apparatus for a downlink transmission), wherein a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) of the PDCCH is scrambled with an MCS cell radio network temporary indicator (MCS-C-RNTI) (see at least paragraphs 30, 31, and 34, in a case that MCS-C-RNTI is configured, the UE may be configured to use the qam64LowSE MCS table); and
cause the device to, based on the control information and the MCS table, transmit downlink data to the UE through a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) or receive uplink data from the UE through a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) (see at least paragraph 31, the UE may be configured to use the qam64LowSE MCS table for a PDSCH or a PUSCH).
Ugurlu does not explicitly disclose that each of a first plurality of indices includes in the first MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, and the 64 QAM, wherein, among the first plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the QPSK is greater than a number of indices indicating the 64 QAM, wherein each of a second plurality of indices includes in the second MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, the 64 QAM, and the 256 QAM, and wherein, among the second plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the 256 QAM is greater than a number of indices indicating the QPSK.
However, in an analogous art, Kim discloses or suggests that each of a first plurality of indices includes in the first MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, and the 64 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 13-17, QPSK, 16QAM, and 64QAM), wherein, among the first plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the QPSK is greater than a number of indices indicating the 64 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 13-17, which includes a number of indices indicating QPSK, 16QAM, and 64QAM), wherein each of a second plurality of indices includes in the second MCS table indicates one of quadrature phase shift keying (QPSK), 16 QAM, the 64 QAM, and the 256 QAM (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 1-12, QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM), and wherein, among the second plurality of indices, a number of indices indicating the 256 QAM is greater than a number of indices indicating the QPSK (see at least Fig. 6 and Tables 1-12, which includes a number of indices indicating QPSK, 16QAM, 64QAM, and 256QAM).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Kim in to the invention of Ugurlu in order to enhance the data transmission by selecting an appropriate MCS table.
Ugurlu further discloses or suggests:
regarding claim 14, the plurality of MCS tables is determined by a type of search space through which physical downlink control channel transmission is performed (see at least paragraphs 32 and 33, the physical layer indication may comprise a type of search space, where the UE may be configured with multiple search spaces for different PDCCH candidates);
regarding claim 15, the type of search space is a UE-specific search space (see at least paragraph 33, UE-specific PDCCH search spaces); and
regarding claim 16, the processor is further configured to cause the device to transmit the MCS-C-RNTI to the UE using RRC signaling (see at least paragraphs 27-30, higher layer indication including RRC indication/signaling).
Claims 5, 6, 11, 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ugurlu in view of Kim, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0374040 (hereinafter “Lou”).
Regarding claims 5, 6, 11, 12, 17, and 18, Ugurlu, as modified by Kim, discloses or suggests all of the subject matter of the invention of claims 1, 7, and 13 described above but does not explicitly disclose that the downlink data or the uplink data is transmitted using a plurality of code block groups.
However, in an analogous art, Lou discloses or suggests that the downlink data or the uplink data is transmitted using a plurality of code block groups (see at least paragraphs 170 and 200, CBG-based transmissions on PDSCH and PUSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to implement the technique as taught by Lou in to the invention of Ugurlu, as modified by Kim, in order to utilize the CBG-based transmission to efficiently manage data transmission and to enable an efficient retransmission.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409 03/05/2026