DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-19 as they pertain to the prior art have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 14-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hsu US 20110164326 (hereinafter “Hsu”).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches a lens module comprising:
a lens barrel (Hsu fig. 4 – 12 which includes 14);
a plurality of lenses comprising at least one internal lens disposed inside the lens barrel (Hsu fig. 4 – 15 which includes 151 and 152 within 14 and 12, see also para. 0037), and an external lens fixed to a first end of the lens barrel (Hsu fig. 4 – 158 within 13, 13 is fixed to 12, see also para. 0034 and 0036); and
a lens holder (Hsu fig. 4 - 13) comprising:
a holder body (Hsu fig. 4 – 13, 134, 1341) surrounding the first end of the lens barrel (Hsu fig. 4 – 134 and 1341 surround the first end of 12 facing 13) in a direction perpendicular to a direction of an optical axis (Hsu fig. 4-5) and contacting a surface of the first end of the lens barrel (12) facing in the direction of the optical axis of the lens barrel (12) to support the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below); and
a lens support extending from an inner circumferential surface of the holder body (13, 134, 1341) in a direction intersecting the optical axis and contacting an edge of the external lens to support the external lens (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below, showing a lens support extending from an inner circumferential surface of the holder body),
wherein the lens barrel (12) protrudes out of the holder body (13, 134, 1341) in the direction of the optical axis (Hsu fig. 4).
Regarding claim 2, Hsu teaches the lens module of claim 1, and Hsu further teaches wherein the lens barrel (12) is disposed so that light passing through the plurality of lenses (15) is incident on an image sensor unit (Hsu fig. 5 - 21), and the external lens (158) is disposed closer to the image sensor unit (21) than the at least one internal lens (Hsu fig. 5 – 158 is disposed closer to 21 than 15).
Regarding claim 3, Hsu teaches the lens module of claim 2, and Hsu further teaches wherein the edge of the external lens (158) is bonded to the lens support and fixed to the lens support (Hsu para. 0038 – 158 is mounted on and fixed to 13).
Regarding claim 4, Hsu teaches the lens module of claim 2, and Hsu further teaches wherein the inner circumferential surface of the holder body (13, 134, 1341) is parallel to the optical axis (see annotated Hsu fig. 4 below showing the inner circumferential surface), and
the lens support has a ring shape (Hsu fig. 4 shows 158 being supported in 13 in a ring shape, and annotated fig. 5 below shows the labeled lens support) and extends perpendicular to the inner circumferential surface of the holder body (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 5, Hsu teaches the lens module of claim 4, and Hsu further teaches wherein the lens holder (13) further comprises a barrel support into which the first end of the lens barrel is inserted (see annotated Hsu fig. 4 below, 12 would be inserted to 134 as shown by 123 and 1231 on 12), and
the barrel support is adjacent to the inner circumferential surface of the holder body (13, 134, 1341) and contacts the surface of the first end of the lens barrel (12) facing in the direction of the optical axis to support the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below, showing the barrel support adjacent to the inner circumferential surface of 13, 134, 1341 and contacting the first end of 12).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu teaches the lens module of claim 5, and Hsu further teaches wherein the lens support is disposed closer to the image sensor unit (21) than the barrel support (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below, the labeled lens support is disposed closer to 21 than the labeled barrel support), and
the lens support protrudes closer to the optical axis than the barrel support (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu teaches an electronic device (Hsu para. 0005) comprising the lens module of claim 1 (see above claim 1 rejection over Hsu).
Regarding claim 8, Hsu teaches a camera module comprising:
a lens module (Hsu fig. 3 – 12, 14, 15) comprising a lens barrel (Hsu fig. 4 – 12, 14), a plurality of lenses (Hsu fig. 4 – 15 within 14 and 12) fixed to the lens barrel (Hsu para. 0037), and a lens holder (Hsu fig. 4 – 13, 134, 1341) surrounding a first end of the lens barrel (Hsu fig. 4 – 134 and 1341 surround the first end of 12 and 14 which faces and contacts 13) in a direction perpendicular to a direction of an optical axis (Hsu fig. 4) and contacting a surface of the first end of the lens barrel (12) facing in the direction of the optical axis of the lens barrel to support the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 4 below, showing 13, 134, 1341 which surrounds and contacts the first end of 12); and
a lens driving device (Hsu fig. 3 – 16, 17) configured to move the lens module (Hsu para. 0037),
wherein the plurality of lenses (15) comprises at least one internal lens disposed inside the lens barrel (Hsu fig. 5 – 15 which includes 151 and 152), and an external lens (Hsu fig. 5 - 158) fixed to the first end of the lens barrel (Hsu fig. 2), and
the lens holder (13, 134, 1341) comprises a lens support (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below) contacting an edge of the external lens (158) to support the external lens (Hsu fig. 4 – 158 within 13, 13 is fixed to 12, see also para. 0034, 0036, and 0038), and
the lens barrel (12) protrudes out of the lens holder (13, 134, 1341) in the direction of the optical axis (Hsu fig. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Hsu teaches the camera module of claim 8, and Hsu further teaches further comprising an image sensor unit (Hsu fig. 5 - 21) configured to convert light incident through the plurality of lenses (15) into an electrical signal (Hsu fig. 5),
wherein the external lens (158) is disposed closer to the image sensor unit (21) than the at least one internal lens (Hsu fig. 5 – 158 is disposed closer to 21 than 15).
Regarding claim 10, Hsu teaches the camera module of claim 9, and Hsu further teaches wherein the lens holder (13, 134, 1341) comprises a holder body (Hsu fig. 4-5 – 13, 134, 1341) comprising an inner circumferential surface that is parallel to the optical axis (see annotated Hsu fig. 4 below showing the inner circumferential surface),
the lens support has a ring shape (Hsu fig. 4 shows 158 being supported in 13 in a ring shape, and annotated fig. 5 below shows the labeled lens support) extending from the inner circumferential surface of the holder body in a direction intersecting the optical axis (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below), and
the external lens (158) is bonded to the lens support to fix the edge of the external lens (158) to the lens support (Hsu para. 0038 – the edges of 158 are mounted on and fixed to 13, see also annotated Hsu fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 11, Hsu teaches the camera module of claim 10, and Hsu further teaches wherein the lens holder (13, 134, 1341) further comprises a barrel support into which the first end of the lens barrel is inserted (see annotated Hsu fig. 4 below, 12 would be inserted to 134 as shown by 123 and 1231 on 12),
the barrel support is adjacent to the inner circumferential surface of the holder body (13, 134, 1341) and contacts the surface of the first end of the lens barrel (12) facing in the direction of the optical axis to support the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below, showing the barrel support adjacent to the inner circumferential surface of 13, 134, 1341 and contacting the first end of 12), and
the lens support protrudes closer to the optical axis than the barrel support (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 above).
Regarding claim 14, Hsu teaches an electronic device (Hsu para. 0005) comprising the lens module of claim 8 (see above claim 8 rejection over Hsu).
Regarding claim 15, Hsu teaches an electronic device comprising:
a lens module (Hsu fig. 3 - 1) comprising:
a lens barrel comprising a plurality of lenses (Hsu fig. 4 – 12 including 14, which includes 15 and 158, see also para. 0038); and
a lens holder (Hsu fig. 4 – 13, 134, 1341) supporting the lens barrel (12) and surrounding a first end of the lens barrel (12) in a direction perpendicular to a direction of an optical axis (see annotated Hsu fig. 4 below, showing 13, 134, 1341 which surrounds and supports the first end of 12);
wherein the lens holder (13, 134, 1341) comprises:
a flange protruding from an inner circumferential surface of the lens holder (13, 134, 1341) in a direction intersecting the optical axis of the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below); and
a barrel support contacting a surface of the lens barrel (12) facing in the direction of the optical axis to support the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 4 below);
the flange contacts an edge of one of the plurality of lenses (15 including 158) to support the one of the plurality of lenses (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below),
a width of the flange in the direction intersecting the optical axis is greater than a width of the barrel support in the direction intersecting the optical axis (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below, the width of the labeled flange is greater than the width of the labeled barrel support), and
the lens barrel (12) protrudes out of the lens holder (13, 134, 1341) in the direction of the optical axis (Hsu fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Hsu teaches the lens module of claim 1, and Hsu further teaches wherein the lens support contacts a surface of the edge of the external lens (158) facing in the direction of the optical axis to support the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 18, Hsu teaches the lens module of claim 8, and Hsu further teaches wherein the lens support contacts a surface of the edge of the external lens (158) facing in the direction of the optical axis to support the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below).
Regarding claim 19, Hsu teaches the lens module of claim 15, and Hsu further teaches wherein the lens support contacts a surface of the edge of the external lens (158) facing in the direction of the optical axis to support the lens barrel (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Warashina et. al US 20170104903 (hereinafter “Warashina” of record).
Regarding claim 16, Hsu teaches the electronic device of claim 15, and Hsu further teaches wherein the edge of the one of the plurality of lenses (158) is fixed to the flange (see annotated Hsu fig. 5 below).
Hsu does not teach a bonding material.
In the same field of endeavor, Warashina teaches a bonding material (Warashina para. 0054) for the purpose of ensuring no foreign matters such as particles enter into a space (Warashina para. 0054). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a bonding material as taught by Warashina in the electronic device of Hsu in order to ensure no foreign matters such as particles enter into a space (Warashina para. 0054).
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of Rhee et. al US 20200050013 (hereinafter “Rhee” of record).
Regarding claim 12, Hsu teaches the camera module of claim 8, and Hsu further teaches further comprising:
a housing (Hsu fig. 4 - 12) having an inner space (Hsu fig. 3 - 122); and
a carrier (Hsu fig. 4-5 - 14) disposed in the inner space of the housing (Hsu fig. 3);
wherein the lens module (12, 14, 15) is disposed in the carrier (Hsu fig. 3-5 – 15 disposed in 14),
wherein the lens driving device (16, 17) comprises:
an autofocus (AF) driving unit (Hsu fig. 3 – 16, 17) configured to move the lens module (12, 14, 15) and the carrier (14) relative to the housing (12) in the direction of the optical axis (Hsu para. 0037).
Hsu does not specifically teach an optical image stabilization (OIS) driving unit configured to drive the lens module within the carrier to move in a first direction or a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis and perpendicular to each other.
In the same field of endeavor, Rhee teaches an optical image stabilization (OIS) driving unit (Rhee fig. 2 - 500) configured to move the lens module relative to the carrier (Rhee fig. 2 - 300) either one or both of a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis and a second direction perpendicular to the optical axis and perpendicular to both the first direction and the optical axis (Rhee para. 0059-0061) for the purpose of correcting blurring of an image or a shaking motion of a moving image due to factors such as hand-shake (Rhee para. 0059). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a housing, a carrier within the housing, and an OIS driving unit in order to correct blurring of an image or a shaking motion of a moving image due to factors such as hand-shake (Rhee para. 0059).
Regarding claim 13, Hsu and Rhee teach the camera module of claim 12, and Rhee further teaches further comprising:
a rolling guide portion (see annotated Rhee fig. 2 below, cropped to show the carrier 300) formed in a surface of the carrier facing the housing and a ball-shaped rolling portion (Rhee fig. 2, see also para. 0056) disposed on the first rolling guide portion to enable the AF driving unit (Rhee fig. 2 - 400) to move the lens module (Rhee fig. 2 - 210) and the carrier (300) relative to the housing in the direction of the optical axis direction (Rhee para. 0072);
a support frame (Rhee fig. 2 - 310) disposed between the carrier (300) and the lens module (Rhee fig. 2 – 310 sits between 210 and 300);
a plurality of first guide grooves (Rhee fig. 2 – 301, 302) formed in a surface of the carrier (300) facing the support frame (310) and a first rolling member (Rhee fig. 2 – B2, B4) disposed in the plurality of first guide grooves (Rhee fig. 2) to enable the OIS driving unit to move the lens module relative to the carrier in the second direction (Rhee para. 0070, 0076); and
a plurality of second guide grooves (Rhee fig. 2 - 311) formed in a surface of the support frame (310) facing the lens holder (210) and a second rolling member (Rhee fig. 2 - B3) disposed in the plurality of second guide grooves (Rhee fig. 2) to enable the OIS driving unit to move the lens module (210) relative to the carrier (300) in the first direction (Rhee para. 0071-0072).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hsu US Patent 8,213,099, patent of Hsu et. al US 20110164326.
/ELIZABETH M HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/RICKY L MACK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872