DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 06/20/2025 regarding claims 1-20 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 1, 6, 9, 11-12, 15, 18 and 20 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-13 and 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shevde et al. (US 2015/0028803 A1).
Shevde et al. teach the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 1, a voltage matching circuit (converter circuitry 622; FIG. 6) configured to:
output a second voltage equal to a first voltage in response to the first voltage being less than a threshold voltage, the first voltage received by a connector coupled to the voltage matching circuit (when the input voltage supplied to the converter circuitry 622 is less than a threshold, the converter circuitry 622 may pass the input voltage directly to its output; [0069]; FIG. 6; the converter circuitry 622 is connected to the switching circuit 610 at the first charge port 612); and
output a third voltage equal to the first voltage divided by a first factor in response to the first voltage being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage (when the input voltage is greater than the threshold, the converter circuitry 622 may divide the input voltage by a rational number, N, and output the divided DC voltage; [0069]).
Regarding claim 2, a comparator circuit configured to compare the first voltage with the threshold voltage (converter circuitry 622 performs the comparison; FIG. 6; [0069]).
Regarding claim 3, a division circuit configured to divide the first voltage by the first factor (converter circuitry 622 performs the division; FIG. 6; [0069]).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the division circuit comprises a voltage divider bridge (when the input voltage is higher than the voltage level threshold 1304, the comparator 1306 disables transistor 1308 and enables the clock signal 1318 to pass through and operate alternately transistors 1320, 1324 and 1322, 1326 to transfer charge from input voltage node 1330 to output node 1332, and provide at the output a scaled down voltage relative to Vin; [0088]; FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 6, a selection circuit configured to output the second voltage or the third voltage by selectively coupling an output node with a first node at the first voltage, or with a second node at a voltage equal to the first voltage divided by the first factor (the charge pump circuitry 1300 utilizes a first comparator 1306 that compares the input voltage 1302 with a voltage level threshold 1304 to operate a first transistor 1308 that enables the input voltage 1302 to pass to the output when the input voltage is at or lower than the voltage level threshold 1304; when the input voltage is higher than the voltage level threshold 1304, the comparator 1306 disables transistor 1308 and enables the clock signal 1318 to pass through and operate alternately transistors 1320, 1324 and 1322, 1326 to transfer charge from input voltage note 1330 to output node 1332, and provide at the output a scaled down voltage relative to Vin; [0088]; FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the selection circuit is configured to be controlled by an output voltage of a comparator circuit (output of first comparator 1306; FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the selection circuit is configured to be controlled by a control voltage (output of first comparator 1306; FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the control voltage is a voltage indicating whether the first voltage is greater than the threshold voltage (output of first comparator 1306; FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 11, an electronic device (wireless power transfer system; FIG. 6), comprising:
a connector configured to receive a first voltage (the converter circuitry 622 is connected to the switching circuit 610 at the first charge port 612; FIG. 6); and
a voltage matching circuit coupled to the connector (converter circuitry 622; FIG. 6), the voltage matching circuit configured to:
output a second voltage equal to the first voltage in response to the first voltage being less than a threshold voltage (when the input voltage supplied to the converter circuitry 622 is less than a threshold, the converter circuitry 622 may pass the input voltage directly to its output; [0069]; FIG. 6; the converter circuitry 622 is connected to the switching circuit 610 at the first charge port 612), and
output a third voltage equal to the first voltage divided by a first factor in response to the first voltage being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage (when the input voltage is greater than the threshold, the converter circuitry 622 may divide the input voltage by a rational number, N, and output the divided DC voltage; [0069]).
Regarding claim 12, a monitoring circuit configured to receive the second voltage or the third voltage from the voltage matching circuit (the converter circuitry 622 may be configured to provide an efficient conversion bridge between the front-end circuits 620a-620c that may produce a wide range of voltages resulting from the differences between the wireless charging protocols and the voltage range expected by the charging IC 624; [0069]; FIG. 6; the charging IC 624 monitors the voltage range).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the monitoring circuit is configured to monitor a voltage less than 20 V (the output voltage may be within a range of 5V to 10V; [0065]).
Regarding claim 15, a method, comprising:
receiving a first voltage by a connector (the converter circuitry 622 is connected to the switching circuit 610 at the first charge port 612; FIG. 6);
outputting a second voltage equal to the first voltage in response to the first voltage being less than a threshold voltage (when the input voltage supplied to the converter circuitry 622 is less than a threshold, the converter circuitry 622 may pass the input voltage directly to its output; [0069]; FIG. 6; the converter circuitry 622 is connected to the switching circuit 610 at the first charge port 612); and
outputting a third voltage equal to the first voltage divided by a first factor in response to the first voltage being greater than or equal to the threshold voltage (when the input voltage is greater than the threshold, the converter circuitry 622 may divide the input voltage by a rational number, N, and output the divided DC voltage; [0069]).
Regarding claim 16, comparing, by a comparator circuit, the first voltage with the threshold voltage (converter circuitry 622 performs the comparison; FIG. 6; [0069]).
Regarding claim 17, dividing, by a division circuit, the first voltage by the first factor (converter circuitry 622 performs the division; FIG. 6; [0069]).
Regarding claim 18, outputting, by a selection circuit, the second voltage or the third voltage by selectively coupling an output node with a first node at the first voltage or a second node at a voltage equal to the first voltage divided by the first factor (the charge pump circuitry 1300 utilizes a first comparator 1306 that compares the input voltage 1302 with a voltage level threshold 1304 to operate a first transistor 1308 that enables the input voltage 1302 to pass to the output when the input voltage is at or lower than the voltage level threshold 1304; when the input voltage is higher than the voltage level threshold 1304, the comparator 1306 disables transistor 1308 and enables the clock signal 1318 to pass through and operate alternately transistors 1320, 1324 and 1322, 1326 to transfer charge from input voltage note 1330 to output node 1332, and provide at the output a scaled down voltage relative to Vin; [0088]; FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 19, controlling the selection circuit by an output voltage of a comparator circuit (output of first comparator 1306; FIG. 13).
Regarding claim 20, controlling the selection circuit by a control voltage, the control indicating whether the first voltage is greater than or less than the threshold voltage (output of first comparator 1306; FIG. 13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shevde et al. (US 2015/0028803 A1) in view of Oraw et al. (US 2009/0322304 A1).
Shevde et al. teach the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 5, although specific scaling factors are discussed herein, any scaling factor may be used in accordance with different implementations in different applications ([0064]).
Shevde et al. do not teach the following claimed limitations:
Further regarding claim 5, wherein the first factor is in the order of 3.
Oraw et al. teach the following claimed limitations:
Further regarding claim 5, a factor is in the order of 3 (other switched capacitor dividers, such as divide by 2 or 3, are alternate embodiments, as are capacitance values selected such that the voltage divider ratio is not an integer; [0030]; FIG. 2B) for the purpose of providing power at a number of different voltage levels for different of interfaces and functionalities.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the first factor is in the order of 3, as taught by Oraw et al., into Shevde et al. for the purpose of providing power at a number of different voltage levels for different of interfaces and functionalities.
Claim(s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shevde et al. (US 2015/0028803 A1) in view of Puggelli et al. (US 2017/0300079 A1).
Shevde et al. do not teach the following claimed limitations:
Regarding claim 10, wherein the connector is a USB Type-C connector configured to implement USB PD protocol.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the connector is a USB Type-C connector configured to implement USB PD protocol.
Puggelli et al. teach the following claimed limitations:
Further regarding claim 10, a connector is a USB Type-C connector configured to implement USB PD protocol (an input node of the reconfigurable Dickson-Star SC regulator can be coupled to a power source, e.g., a power line of a Universal Serial Bus; [0170]-[0172]; USB-C connector is primarily used for high-power charging) for the purpose of providing for high-power charging.
Further regarding claim 14, a connector is a USB Type-C connector configured to implement USB PD protocol (an input node of the reconfigurable Dickson-Star SC regulator can be coupled to a power source, e.g., a power line of a Universal Serial Bus; [0170]-[0172]; USB-C connector is primarily used for high-power charging) for the purpose of providing for high-power charging.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the connector is a USB Type-C connector configured to implement USB PD protocol; wherein the connector is a USB Type-C connector configured to implement USB PD protocol, as taught by Puggelli et al., into Shevde et al. for the purpose of providing for high-power charging.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
28 August 2025
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853