DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-7,16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by You et a. (US20210151804).
As to claim 1, You et al. discloses a battery module (figure 4) comprising: a plurality of battery cells (100); and a cell monitoring portion (200) connected to the plurality of battery cells, the cell monitoring portion (200) including a plurality of boards (figure 5 number 220,240) collecting information on at least one of temperature, current, and voltage of the plurality of battery cells (paragraph 0059), wherein the plurality of boards are separable (figure 7 number 240,220).
As to claim 2, You et al. discloses wherein the plurality of boards are configured to be attachable to and detachable from each other (figure 7 number 240,220).
As to claim 3, You et al. discloses, wherein the cell monitoring portion (figure 4 number 100) includes: a first board (220) connected to the plurality of battery cells, the first board collecting information on at least one of temperature, current, and voltage of the plurality of battery cells (paragraph 0059); and a second board (240) connected to the first board, the second board transmitting information received from the first board to a controller (paragraph 0065), wherein the second board (240) is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the first board in a direction, parallel to the first board (figure 7 number 240,220).
As to claim 4, You et al. discloses wherein the second board is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the first board in a height direction of the plurality of battery cells (figure 7 number 240,220).
As to claim 5, You et al. discloses wherein the cell monitoring portion further includes a connector connecting the first board and the second board to each other (figure 7 number 250).
As to claim 6, You et al. discloses wherein the connector (figure 7) includes: a first connector (222) connected to the first board(220); and a second connector (250) connected to the second board (240), wherein the first connector (222) and the second connector (250) are coupled to each other in an insertion coupling with fit tolerance.
As to claim 7, You et al. discloses wherein the cell monitoring portion (figure 4 number 200) includes: a first cell monitoring portion (200 left side) disposed on one side of each of the plurality of battery cells (100); and a second cell monitoring portion (200 right side) connected to the first cell monitoring portion, the second cell monitoring portion disposed on the other side of each of the plurality of battery cells.
As to claim 16, You et al. discloses a battery pack (figure 1) comprising: a pack housing (500); and a battery module disposed in the pack housing, the battery module including a plurality of battery cells (100) and a cell monitoring portion (200) connected to the plurality of battery cells (100), the cell monitoring portion (200) including a plurality of boards (figure 5 number 220,240) collecting information on at least one of temperature, current, and voltage of the plurality of battery cells (paragraph 0059), wherein the plurality of boards are separable (figure 7 number 240,220).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 8-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. in view of Yoon et al. (US20210273267).
You et al. discloses the battery module described above. You et al. fail to disclose further comprising: a case accommodating the plurality of battery cells, the first board, and the second board, wherein the case includes: an accommodation groove in which the first board and the second board are accommodated; and an entrance connecting the accommodation groove to the outside of the case, and wherein at least one of the first board and the second board is provided to be extracted through the entrance.
Yoon et al. teaches a case accommodating the plurality of battery cells, the first board, and the second board, wherein the case includes: an accommodation groove in which the first board and the second board are accommodated; and an entrance connecting the accommodation groove to the outside of the case, and wherein at least one of the first board and the second board is provided to be extracted through the entrance (figure 2 number 220,210,311,312) for the purpose of protecting various electric components from external impact (paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Yoon et al. with a case accommodating the plurality of battery cells, the first board, and the second board, wherein the case includes: an accommodation groove in which the first board and the second board are accommodated; and an entrance connecting the accommodation groove to the outside of the case, and wherein at least one of the first board and the second board is provided to be extracted through the entrance for the purpose of protecting various electric components from external impact (paragraph 0051).
As to claim 9, You et al. fail to disclose wherein the case includes at least one plate member covering the plurality of battery cells, and the accommodation groove and the entrance are formed in the plate member.
Yoon et al. teaches wherein the case includes at least one plate member covering the plurality of battery cells, and the accommodation groove and the entrance are formed in the plate member (figure 2 number 311) for the purpose of protecting various electric components from external impact (paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide You et al. with wherein the case includes at least one plate member covering the plurality of battery cells, and the accommodation groove and the entrance are formed in the plate member for the purpose of protecting various electric components from external impact (paragraph 0051).
As to claim 10, You et al. discloses wherein the plate member further includes a temperature sensor disposed on one surface of the plate member opposing an outermost battery cell of the plurality of battery cells, the temperature sensor measuring temperature of the outermost battery cell (paragraph 00058-0059).
As to claim 11, You et al discloses wherein the temperature sensor includes: a first temperature sensor in contact with a first region of the outermost battery cell; and a second temperature sensor in contact with a second region of the outermost battery cell (figure 5 number 230 and paragraph 0058-0059,0062).
As to claim 12, You et al. discloses a temperature sensor that accurately measure the temperature of the cell stack (paragraph 0062). As to wherein the first region is a region of the outermost battery cell having a highest average temperature, and the second region is a region of the outermost battery cell having a lowest average temperature, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide wherein the first region is a region of the outermost battery cell having a highest average temperature, and the second region is a region of the outermost battery cell having a lowest average temperature in order to provide optimal value in absence of unexpected results.
As to claim 13, You et al. discloses wherein the plate member further includes a temperature measurement hole formed as a through-hole, and the temperature sensor is disposed to oppose the temperature measurement hole and is exposed in a direction of the battery cell (figure 5 number 230).
As to claim 14, You et al. fail to disclose wherein the plate member further includes a cover member covering the accommodation groove.
Yoon et al. teaches wherein the plate member further includes a cover member covering the accommodation groove (figure 2 number 220) for the purpose of protecting various electric components from external impact (paragraph 0051).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide You et al. with wherein the plate member further includes a cover member covering the accommodation groove for the purpose of protecting various electric components from external impact (paragraph 0051).
As to claim 15, You et al. discloses further comprising: a busbar assembly (figure 10 number 220) disposed between the plate member and an electrode lead (221) of each of the plurality of battery cells (100), wherein the busbar assembly is connected to the electrode lead and the first board (220).
3. Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over You et al. in view of Aoki et al. (WO2021166427).
You et al. disclose the battery module described above. You et al. fail to disclose further comprising: a wireless communication portion disposed in the pack housing, the wireless communication portion connecting the cell monitoring portion and a controller, the controller receiving the information collected by the cell monitoring portion.
Aoki et al. teaches a wireless communication portion disposed in the pack housing, the wireless communication portion connecting the cell monitoring portion and a controller, the controller receiving the information collected by the cell monitoring portion for the purpose of providing wireless communication between information acquisition unit of each of the multiple battery packs and integrated monitoring unit of each of the storage space of the case with minimal interference (paragraph 0061).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to You et al. with a wireless communication portion disposed in the pack housing, the wireless communication portion connecting the cell monitoring portion and a controller, the controller receiving the information collected by the cell monitoring portion for the purpose of providing wireless communication between information acquisition unit of each of the multiple battery packs and integrated monitoring unit of each of the storage space of the case with minimal interference (paragraph 0061).
As to claim 18, You et al. fail to disclose wherein the wireless communication portion includes: a wireless chipset connected to the cell monitoring portion, the wireless chipset receiving the information from the cell monitoring portion; and an antenna connected to the wireless chipset, the antenna transmitting the information to the controller.
Aoki et al. teaches wherein the wireless communication portion includes: a wireless chipset connected to the cell monitoring portion, the wireless chipset receiving the information from the cell monitoring portion; and an antenna connected to the wireless chipset, the antenna transmitting the information to the controller (figure 1 number 110) for the purpose of reducing interference with wireless communications (paragraph 0010).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to You et al. with wherein the wireless communication portion includes: a wireless chipset connected to the cell monitoring portion, the wireless chipset receiving the information from the cell monitoring portion; and an antenna connected to the wireless chipset, the antenna transmitting the information to the controller for the purpose of reducing interference with wireless communications (paragraph 0010).
As to claim 19, You et al. fail to disclose further comprising: a pack cover member connected to the pack housing, the pack cover member covering the battery module, wherein the pack cover member includes a protruding region protruding in a direction away from the wireless communication portion, and wherein an internal surface of the protruding region is spaced apart from the battery module.
Aoki et al. teaches further comprising: a pack cover member connected to the pack housing, the pack cover member covering the battery module, wherein the pack cover member includes a protruding region protruding in a direction away from the wireless communication portion, and wherein an internal surface of the protruding region is spaced apart from the battery module (figure 1 number 130) for the purpose of spacing apart the inner top surface of the top wall and the inner bottom surface of the bottom wall (paragraph 0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to You et al. with further comprising: a pack cover member connected to the pack housing, the pack cover member covering the battery module, wherein the pack cover member includes a protruding region protruding in a direction away from the wireless communication portion, and wherein an internal surface of the protruding region is spaced apart from the battery module for the purpose of spacing apart the inner top surface of the top wall and the inner bottom surface of the bottom wall (paragraph 0059).
As to claim 20, You et al. fail to disclose further comprising: an antenna hole formed in a case accommodating the plurality of battery cells, the cell monitoring portion, and the wireless communication portion, the antenna hole exposing at least a portion of the antenna to the outside of the case.
Aoki et al. teaches further comprising: an antenna hole formed in a case accommodating the plurality of battery cells, the cell monitoring portion, and the wireless communication portion, the antenna hole exposing at least a portion of the antenna to the outside of the case for the purpose of inputting and outputting wireless signals (paragraph 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to You et al. with further comprising: an antenna hole formed in a case accommodating the plurality of battery cells, the cell monitoring portion, and the wireless communication portion, the antenna hole exposing at least a portion of the antenna to the outside of the case for the purpose of inputting and outputting wireless signals (paragraph 0038).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724