DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kozuru et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0194974) in view Miura et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0103723).
Regarding claim 1, Kozuru et al. disclose: a first light-emitting device (20b) including a first package (21) having a first outer shape, a plurality of first semiconductor laser elements (22) sealed in the first package, and a first lens member (29) fixed to the first package and having a plurality of lens surfaces (four lens surfaces for light emitting device 20b), a number of the lens surfaces of the first lens member being the same as the number of the first semiconductor laser elements (four lens surfaces for four semiconductor laser elements), each of the lens surfaces corresponding to a respective one of the first semiconductor laser elements and being configured to transmit light emitted from the respective one of the first semiconductor laser elements (Fig. 3A, [0061], [0062]), and a second light-emitting device (20a) including a second package (21) having the first outer shape, one or more second semiconductor laser elements (22) sealed in the second package, and a second lens member (29) fixed to the second package and having one or more lens surfaces, and being configured to transmit light emitted from the respective one of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements (Fig. 2A, [0061], [0062]), wherein a number of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements is less than a number of the first semiconductor laser elements (four laser elements in the first light emitting device, three laser elements in the second light emitting device) ([0061], [0062]), one of the first semiconductor laser elements is configured to emit first light having a color different from a color of light emitted from any of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements (The semiconductor laser elements 22 mounted on the light emitting device 20a and the light emitting device 20b are all semiconductor laser elements emitting blue-color light. The semiconductor laser elements 22 can be semiconductor laser elements emitting light in color other than blue, for example, red color or green color. The semiconductor laser elements 22 mounted on the light emitting device 20a and the semiconductor laser elements 22 mounted on the light emitting device 20b can be different from each other in color of emitted light) ([0077]).
Kozuru et al. do not disclose: a number of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member being the same as the number of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements, each of the one or more lens surfaces corresponding to a respective one of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements; and a curvature of one of the lens surfaces of the first lens member configured to transmit the first light emitted from the one of the first semiconductor laser elements is the same as a curvature of one of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member.
Miura et al. disclose: a number of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member being the same as the number of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements (three lenses with three laser elements), each of the one or more lens surfaces corresponding to a respective one of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements (Fig. 2, [0031], [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kozuru by forming the second laser package with three lenses for the three semiconductor laser elements in order to reduce the size of the second laser package.
Kozuru as modified do not disclose: a curvature of one of the lens surfaces of the first lens member configured to transmit the first light emitted from the one of the first semiconductor laser elements is the same as a curvature of one of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member.
Miura et al. disclose: with the light emitting device 120A, the lights passed through the collimate lens 70 are made approximately parallel light by changing the curvature 71R of the first lens portion 71, the curvature 72R of the second lens portion 72 and the curvature 73R of the third lens portion 73, respectively (Fig. 2, [0051], [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kozuru as modified by forming each lens surface with a specific curvature in order to output approximately parallel light. The device as modified disclose: a curvature of one of the lens surfaces of the first lens member configured to transmit the first light emitted from the one of the first semiconductor laser elements is the same as a curvature of one of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member (one of the first semiconductor laser elements emits the same wavelengths as one of the second semiconductor laser elements, curvature of lens surface for laser elements with the same wavelength would be the same).
Fig. 3A of Kozuru
Fig. 2A of Kozuru
Fig. 2 of Miura
Regarding claim 11, Kozuru et al. disclose: a first light-emitting device (20b) including a first package (21) having a first outer shape, a plurality of first semiconductor laser elements (22) sealed in the first package, and a first lens member (29) fixed to the first package and having a plurality of lens surfaces (four lens surfaces for light emitting device 20b), a number of the lens surfaces of the first lens member being the same as the number of the first semiconductor laser elements (four lens surfaces for four semiconductor laser elements), each of the lens surfaces corresponding to a respective one of the first semiconductor laser elements and being configured to transmit light emitted from the respective one of the first semiconductor laser elements (Fig. 3A, [0061], [0062]), and a second light-emitting device (20a) including a second package (21) having the first outer shape, one or more second semiconductor laser elements (22) sealed in the second package, and a second lens member (29) fixed to the second package and having one or more lens surfaces, and being configured to transmit light emitted from the respective one of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements (Fig. 2A, [0061], [0062]), and a wiring substrate (10a or 10b) on which the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are mounted (Figs. 1B and 1C, [0059]-[0062]), wherein a number of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements is less than a number of the first semiconductor laser elements (four laser elements in the first light emitting device, three laser elements in the second light emitting device) ([0061], [0062]), one of the first semiconductor laser elements is configured to emit first light having a color different from a color of light emitted from any of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements (The semiconductor laser elements 22 mounted on the light emitting device 20a and the light emitting device 20b are all semiconductor laser elements emitting blue-color light. The semiconductor laser elements 22 can be semiconductor laser elements emitting light in color other than blue, for example, red color or green color. The semiconductor laser elements 22 mounted on the light emitting device 20a and the semiconductor laser elements 22 mounted on the light emitting device 20b can be different from each other in color of emitted light) ([0077]).
Kozuru et al. do not disclose: a number of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member being the same as the number of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements, each of the one or more lens surfaces corresponding to a respective one of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements; and a curvature of one of the lens surfaces of the first lens member configured to transmit the first light emitted from the one of the first semiconductor laser elements is the same as a curvature of one of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member.
Miura et al. disclose: a number of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member being the same as the number of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements (three lenses with three laser elements), each of the one or more lens surfaces corresponding to a respective one of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements (Fig. 2, [0031], [0038]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kozuru by forming the second laser package with three lenses for the three semiconductor laser elements in order to reduce the size of the second laser package.
Kozuru as modified do not disclose: a curvature of one of the lens surfaces of the first lens member configured to transmit the first light emitted from the one of the first semiconductor laser elements is the same as a curvature of one of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member.
Miura et al. disclose: with the light emitting device 120A, the lights passed through the collimate lens 70 are made approximately parallel light by changing the curvature 71R of the first lens portion 71, the curvature 72R of the second lens portion 72 and the curvature 73R of the third lens portion 73, respectively (Fig. 1, [0051], [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kozuru as modified by forming each lens surface with a specific curvature in order to output approximately parallel light. The device as modified disclose: a curvature of one of the lens surfaces of the first lens member configured to transmit the first light emitted from the one of the first semiconductor laser elements is the same as a curvature of one of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member (one of the first semiconductor laser elements emits the same wavelengths as one of the second semiconductor laser elements, curvature of lens surface for laser elements with the same wavelength would be the same).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…wherein the first semiconductor laser elements are constituted of five semiconductor laser elements, the one or more second semiconductor laser elements is constituted by four semiconductor laser elements, one of the first semiconductor laser elements is configured to emit second light having a color different from the color of the first light, one of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements is configured to emit third light having a color different from the color of the first light and the color of the second light, and all of the lens surfaces of the first lens member have the same curvature.”
Claim 3 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…wherein the lens surfaces of the first lens member are aligned and coupled to each other, the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member are aligned and coupled to each other, and a width of each of the lens surfaces of the first lens member in a direction in which the lens surfaces of the first lens member are aligned is smaller than a width of each of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member in a direction in which the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member are aligned.”
Claim 5 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…further comprising a third light-emitting device including a third package having the first outer shape, one or more third semiconductor laser elements sealed in the third package, and a third lens member fixed to the third package and having one or more lens surfaces, each of the one or more lens surfaces corresponding to a respective one of the one or more third semiconductor laser elements and being configured to transmit light emitted from the respective one of the one or more third semiconductor laser elements, wherein a number of the one or more third semiconductor laser elements is the same as the number of the one or more second semiconductor laser elements, all of the one or more third semiconductor laser elements are configured to emit light having the same color as the first light, and a curvature of each of the one or more lens surfaces is the same as a curvature of one of the one or more lens surfaces of the second lens member.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Miura et al. (US PG Pub 2017/0317467) disclose: a light-emitting device includes providing a base body including a base section; fixing a plurality of semiconductor laser elements on an upper surface of the base section; and fixing an optical member to the base body, the optical member including a plurality of lens sections, and a non-lens section disposed at a periphery of the plurality of lens sections in a top view. In the step of fixing the optical member: the optical member is arranged above the base body; (i) an inclination and a height of the optical member are adjusted after interposing an adhesive between the base body and the non-lens section, or (ii) an adhesive is interposed between the base body and the non-lens section after adjusting the inclination and the height of the optical member; and subsequently, the adhesive is cured to fix the optical member to the base body (Abstract). Dykaar (US PG Pub 2019/0121141) discloses: systems, devices, and methods for optical engines and laser projectors that are well-suited for use in wearable heads-up displays (WHUDs) are described. Generally, the optical engines of the present disclosure integrate a plurality of laser diodes (e.g., 3 laser diodes, 4 laser diodes) within a single, hermetically or partially hermetically sealed, encapsulated package. The optical engines include an optical director element that includes a curved reflective surface (e.g., parabolic cylinder) that redirects laser light beams and collimates the same along the fast axes thereof. Such optical engines may have various advantages over existing designs including, for example, smaller volumes, better manufacturability, faster modulation speed, etc. WHUDs that employ such optical engines and laser projectors are also described (Abstract). Kozuru et al. (US PG Pub 2019/0371971) disclose: a light emitting device includes a semiconductor laser element and a base member. The base member includes a bottom part, a frame part, and first and second electrode layers. The frame part forms a frame surrounding the semiconductor laser element. An area within an intersection line between the first inner surface and the bonding surface of the frame part has a size larger than a size of the arrangement surface of the bottom part. An area within an intersection line between the second inner surface and the bonding surface of the frame part has a size smaller than the size of the arrangement surface. The planar surface of the frame part intersects at least a part of the second inner surface. The planar surface and the second inner surface form a step portion on an inner side of the frame. The second electrode layer is disposed on the planar surface (Abstract).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828