DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/30/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-15 remain pending in the application. No claims were amended by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application TW 111142904, filed 11/10/2022 (Taiwan).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 07/20/2023 and on 11/04/2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (hereafter Liao, of record) US 20220342272 A1 in view of Kim et al. (hereafter Kim, of record) US 20110205727 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) a light source device (light source device 100, 300, e.g. 101, 102, 301 with white light WL and reflective display with light source 200, 400, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [2, 4-12, 29-30, 36-47, 52-57]), comprising:
a light emitting element configured to emit a light (light emitting component 110, emitting light B11, paragraphs [37-39, 53], Figs. 1, 3); and
a fluorescent portion disposed on the light emitting element and configured to transform the light into an illumination light, (fluorescent portion, part 111, 112, 311, on 110, that converts light B11 into illumination white light WL1,WL2, WL3, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], Figs. 1,3), wherein in a spectrum of the illuminating light an energy in a red band is in a range from 25% to 45% of the energy in a full band (i.e. given the relative intensity spectra of WL1 and WL2 with 111g, 111r, and 111g,112r fluorescent materials in light source device 100 with 101, 102 including 111 and 112, or for WL3 111g, 111r, 112r and/or 113r in light source device 300,301 with, showing spectral energy in a red band in such range, see Figs. 2A,B, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], note that no specific red bad is recited, nor is the a full band recited in the claim), and
the fluorescent portion comprises a first red fluorescent material ( as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, with green 111g, first red 111r, and 111g,second red 112r fluorescent materials, and green 111g, first red 111r, second red 112r and/or third red 113r fluorescent materials in light source device 300,301, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and a second red fluorescent material (i.e. as noted above the second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]).
But Liao is silent that the fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material.
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of a light source device (see Figs. 1-11, title, abstract, paragraphs [08-20, 35-47], where the device 100 with guide plate, reflector 130 and has light source unit 150 with emitting devices 152) and further teaches that fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material (i.e. as 152 includes yellow fluorescent material together with red and green fluorescent materials, paragraphs [35-47], providing the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an (illuminated) object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, paragraphs [40-45]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt an modify the fluorescent portion of Liao to include yellow fluorescent material according to teaching of Kim in order to provide the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, (see paragraphs [40-45]).
In regard to independent claim 7, Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) a reflective display (reflective display with light source 200, 400 with light source device 100, 300, e.g. sources 101, 102, 301 with white light WL and, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [2, 4-12, 29-47, 52-57]), comprising:
a reflective display panel (reflective display panel 210, paragraphs [29-33,38,48,52], Figs. 1A,B,3A);
a light emitting element configured to emit a light (light emitting component 110, emitting light B11, paragraphs [37-39, 53], Figs. 1, 3); and
a fluorescent portion disposed on the light emitting element and configured to transform the light into an illumination light, (fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, on 110, that converts light B11 into illumination white light WL1,WL2, WL3, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], Figs. 1,3), wherein in a spectrum of the illuminating light an energy in a red band is in a range from 25% to 45% of the energy in a full band (i.e. given the relative intensity spectra of WL1 and WL2 with 111g, 111r, and 111g,112r fluorescent materials in light source device 100 with 101, 102 including 111 and 112, or for WL3 111g, 111r, 112r and/or 113r in light source device 300,301 with, showing spectral energy in a red band in such range, see Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and
the fluorescent portion comprises a first red fluorescent material ( as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, with green 111g, first red 111r, and 111g,second red 112r fluorescent materials, and green 111g, first red 111r, second red 112r and/or third red 113r fluorescent materials in light source device 300,301, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and a second red fluorescent material (i.e. as noted above the second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]).
But Liao is silent that the fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material.
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of a light source device (see Figs. 1-11, title, abstract, paragraphs [08-20, 35-47], where the device 100 with guide plate, reflector 130 and has light source unit 150 with emitting devices 152) and further teaches that fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material (i.e. as 152 includes yellow fluorescent material together with red and green fluorescent materials, paragraphs [35-47], providing the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, paragraphs [40-45]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt an modify the fluorescent portion of Liao to include yellow fluorescent material according to teaching of Kim in order to provide the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, (see paragraphs [40-45]).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that a bandwidth of the first red fluorescent material is different from a bandwidth of the second red fluorescent material (i.e. as second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]).
Regarding claim 4 and 13, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that a color temperature of the illumination light transformed by the fluorescent portion is in a range from 2500K to 8000K (i.e. as transformed white light WL1, WL2 as illumination light L1 has color temperature in the above range, e.g. 6500 K, see paragraphs [43-50, 53-56]).
Regarding claim 5 and 14, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that a predetermined color temperature of the illumination light transformed by the fluorescent portion is 6500K (i.e. as predetermined color temperature 6500 K, paragraphs [43-50, 53-56]).
Regarding claim 8, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) further comprising:
a light guide plate disposed above the reflective display panel and having a light incident surface and a light emitting surface connected to the light incident surface (light guide plate 220 above 210 display panel, with incident surface 221 towards the light source device 100 and emitting surface 222 connected to 221 surface, paragraphs [32-34, 52]),
wherein the light emitting element and the fluorescent portion face toward the light incident surface of the light guide plate (as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311 on 110 and in 100 face 221 incident surface of 220 as depicted in Figs. 1A,B,3A, paragraphs [32-34, 52]), and the reflective display panel faces toward the light emitting surface of the light guide plate (as 210 faces towards 222 surface, see as depicted in Figs. 1A,B,3A, paragraphs [32-34, 52]).
Regarding claim 9, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the reflective display panel (210) comprises: an active device array substrate (active component array substrate 212, paragraphs [30-31, 52], Fig. 1B); and a color filter located between the light guide plate and the active device array substrate (color filter substrate 211 between 220 light guide and active array substrate 212, paragraphs [30-31, 52], Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 10, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the reflective display panel comprises: a display medium layer located between the active device array substrate and the color filter (display medium layer 213 is located between the active component array substrate 212 and the color filter substrate 211, paragraphs [30-31, 52], Fig. 1B).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (hereafter Liao, of record) US 20220342272 A1 in view of Kim et al. (hereafter Kim, of record) US 20110205727 A1, and in view of Kimura et al. (hereafter Kimura, of record) US 20170097458 A1.
Regarding claim 6 and 15, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) further comprising: a circuit board electrically connected to the light emitting element (i.e. as light emitting component 110 in source 101,102 (301) is mounted to the same circuit substrate see paragraphs [37-39]), but is silent that it is flexible. However, Kimura teaches in the same field of invention of a display device and light source device (see Figs. 1-14, abstract, paragraphs [2, 28-35, 46, 59, 94-96]) and further teaches that circuit board electrically connected to the light emitting element is flexible circuit board (i.e. as light source unit LU with light source element(s) PC connected, mounted on flexible printed circuit LFPC, providing mounting structure and electrical connections to light source elements through terminals and buslines, and allowing the number and gap between the light source elements PC mounted on the flexible printed circuit can be determined arbitrarily based on the desired intensity of light, while the size can be reduced, see paragraphs [35, 46, 59, 94-96], e.g. Figs. 1-2, 6, 9, 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and specify the circuit substrate of Liao as flexible circuit board, printed circuit according to teachings of Kimura in order to provide mounting structure and electrical connections to light source elements with terminals and buslines, and allow that the number and gap between the light source elements mounted on the flexible printed circuit to be determined arbitrarily based on the desired intensity of light, while its size can be reduced, see Kimura paragraphs [35, 46, 59, 94-96]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 06/30/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 7 and their dependent claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues on pages 3-4 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Liao and Kim do not disclose that (1) “in a spectrum of the illuminating light, an energy in a red band is in a range from 25% to 45% of the energy in a full band", presumably because Liao merely discloses relative intensity in Fig. 2b that allegedly shows much smaller intensity profile than Fig. 6B of instant application, such that the energy is obviously smaller than the claimed range. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With regard to above issue (1), as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Liao teaches most limitations and in combination with cited prior art of Kim teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1 (and 7), as Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) a light source device (light source device 100, 300, e.g. 101, 102, 301 with white light WL and reflective display with light source 200, 400, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [2, 4-12, 29-30, 36-47, 52-57]), comprising:
a light emitting element configured to emit a light (light emitting component 110, emitting light B11, paragraphs [37-39, 53], Figs. 1, 3); and
a fluorescent portion disposed on the light emitting element and configured to transform the light into an illumination light, (fluorescent portion, part 111, 112, 311, on 110, that converts light B11 into illumination white light WL1,WL2, WL3, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], Figs. 1,3), wherein in a spectrum of the illuminating light an energy in a red band is in a range from 25% to 45% of the energy in a full band (i.e. given the relative intensity spectra of WL1 and WL2 with 111g, 111r, and 111g,112r fluorescent materials in light source device 100 with 101, 102 including 111 and 112, or for WL3 111g, 111r, 112r and/or 113r in light source device 300,301 with, showing spectral energy in a red band in such range, see Figs. 2A,B, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], note that no specific red bad is recited, nor is the a full band recited in the claim), and
the fluorescent portion comprises a first red fluorescent material ( as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, with green 111g, first red 111r, and 111g,second red 112r fluorescent materials, and green 111g, first red 111r, second red 112r and/or third red 113r fluorescent materials in light source device 300,301, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and a second red fluorescent material (i.e. as noted above the second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]).
But Liao is silent that the fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material.
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of a light source device (see Figs. 1-11, title, abstract, paragraphs [08-20, 35-47], where the device 100 with guide plate, reflector 130 and has light source unit 150 with emitting devices 152) and further teaches that fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material (i.e. as 152 includes yellow fluorescent material together with red and green fluorescent materials, paragraphs [35-47], providing the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an (illuminated) object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, paragraphs [40-45]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt an modify the fluorescent portion of Liao to include yellow fluorescent material according to teaching of Kim in order to provide the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, (see paragraphs [40-45]).
Liao expressly teaches the fluorescent portion disposed on the light emitting element and configured to transform the light into an illumination light, (fluorescent portion, part 111, 112, 311, on 110, that converts light B11 into illumination white light WL1,WL2, WL3, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], Figs. 1,3), and further teaches that in a spectrum of the illuminating light an energy in a red band is in a range from 25% to 45% of the energy in a full band (i.e. given the relative intensity spectra of WL1 and WL2 with 111g, 111r, and 111g,112r fluorescent materials in light source device 100 with 101, 102 including 111 and 112, or for WL3 111g, 111r, 112r and/or 113r in light source device 300,301 with, showing spectral energy in a red band in such range, see Figs. 2A,B, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], note that no specific red bad is recited, nor is the a full band recited in the claim). Specifically, Liao teaches the above spectral energy intensity range, as claim language does not define specific red spectral band, and does not define specific full bad. Hence, the spectral intensity of a red bad of Liao is in the above range of a full band, because e.g. Fig. 2B showing spectral intensity also shows a red band that is above the ¼ of a full band, but not more than 45%, or just under half of the band.
In other words, the limitation above is treated under broadest reasonable interpretation. It is noted that the feature upon which applicant relies (i.e., “a red band” and “a full band”) has been given its broadest reasonable interpretation. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s interpretation of, “red” and “full” “band,” which states/seems to imply that red and full bands must be spectrally specific band in specific spectral regions. Further, regarding Applicant’s argument that limitation is not met because red band in Liao Fig.2b is “much smaller” than the red bad in Fig. 6, is not persuasive. First, the spectrum diagrams cannot be directly compared. The scales and ranges on wavelength and intensity axes are not the same. Second, even if the spectrum diagrams are to be compared, the claimed ratio is between red band energy over a full band energy, where the energy of a certain band is proportional to integrated spectral intensity over the wavelengths of the band range. The band around 550nm to the left of “red band” in Fig. 6 is much larger than the similar band in Fig. 2B of Liao which is smaller, therefore red band in Liao has higher contribution and percentage to the overall band and its spectral energy, than the red band in Fig. 6 of the instant application. Moreover, the spectral features in red band of Liao Fig. 2B are much wider than similar features in Fig. 6, and spectral features in blue and central yellow ranges are larger and wider in Fig. 6 than similar features in Fig. 2B of Liao thus further showing that red band in Liao has higher contribution and percentage to the overall band and its spectral energy, than the red band in Fig. 6 of the instant application. Lastly, Applicant’s allegation that Fig. 2B of Liao merely discloses relative intensity, appears to be without merit, given that Applicant compare spectral intensity curves of instant application and prior art, and as presented above, the intensity diagram is related to spectral energy. Moreover, it is noted that both spectrum diagrams show relative intensity in percentage (%) not in some specific units.
In addition regarding argument under issue (1) above, it is noted, that Counsel's assertion that since Fig. 2B of Liao shows much smaller intensity profile of red band than Fig. 6 of the as-filed application, it is obvious that the "energy" of the red band of Liao is much smaller than the claimed range, is merely an argument unaccompanied by evidentiary support, and, thus, is insufficient to rebut Examiner's finding of obviousness. Arguments of counsel cannot take the place of evidence in the record. In re Schulze, 346 F.2d 600, 602, 145 USPQ 716, 718 (CCPA 1965); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (“An assertion of what seems to follow from common experience is just attorney argument and not the kind of factual evidence that is required to rebut a prima facie case of obviousness.”). MPEP §§ 2145, 2129, 2144.03, 716.01(c). Thus the arguments regarding issue (1) are not found persuasive.
Therefore, the cited prior art of Liao in combination with cited prior art of Kim teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1 (and claim 7), including the limitations raised under issue (1) above.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 4 of the remarks dated 06/30/2026.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIN PICHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872