DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment and the Request for Continuing Examination filed on 02/12/2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 3-10 and 12-15 are now pending in the application. Claims 1, 3, 7 and 12 have been amended by the Applicant.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Priority
As required by e M.P.E.P. 210, 214.03, acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on application TW 111142904, filed 11/10/2022 (Taiwan).
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 07/20/2023 and on 11/04/2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 7-10, 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (hereafter Liao, of record) US 20220342272 A1 in view of Kim et al. (hereafter Kim, of record) US 20110205727 A1.
In regard to independent claim 1, Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) a light source device (light source device 100, 300, e.g. 101, 102, 301 with white light WL and reflective display with light source 200, 400, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [2, 4-12, 29-30, 36-47, 52-57]), comprising:
a light emitting element configured to emit a light (light emitting component 110, emitting light B11, paragraphs [37-39, 53], Figs. 1, 3); and
a fluorescent portion disposed on the light emitting element and configured to transform the light into an illumination light, (fluorescent portion, part 111, 112, 311, on 110, that converts light B11 into illumination white light WL1,WL2, WL3, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], Figs. 1,3), wherein in a spectrum of the illuminating light an energy in a red band is in a range from 25% to 45% of the energy in a full band (i.e. given the relative intensity spectra of WL1 and WL2 with 111g, 111r, and 111g,112r fluorescent materials in light source device 100 with 101, 102 including 111 and 112, or for WL3 111g, 111r, 112r and/or 113r in light source device 300,301 with, showing spectral energy in a red band in such range, see Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and
the fluorescent portion comprises a first red fluorescent material ( as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, with green 111g, first red 111r, and 111g,second red 112r fluorescent materials, and green 111g, first red 111r, second red 112r and/or third red 113r fluorescent materials in light source device 300,301, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and a second red fluorescent material (i.e. as noted above the second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]).
But Liao is silent that the fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material.
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of a light source device (see Figs. 1-11, title, abstract, paragraphs [08-20, 35-47], where the device 100 with guide plate, reflector 130 and has light source unit 150 with emitting devices 152) and further teaches that fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material (i.e. as 152 includes yellow fluorescent material together with red and green fluorescent materials, paragraphs [35-47], providing the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an (illuminated) object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, paragraphs [40-45]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt an modify the fluorescent portion of Liao to include yellow fluorescent material according to teaching of Kim in order to provide the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, (see paragraphs [40-45]).
In regard to independent claim 7, Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) a reflective display (reflective display with light source 200, 400 with light source device 100, 300, e.g. sources 101, 102, 301 with white light WL and, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [2, 4-12, 29-47, 52-57]), comprising:
a reflective display panel (reflective display panel 210, paragraphs [29-33,38,48,52], Figs. 1A,B,3A);
a light emitting element configured to emit a light (light emitting component 110, emitting light B11, paragraphs [37-39, 53], Figs. 1, 3); and
a fluorescent portion disposed on the light emitting element and configured to transform the light into an illumination light, (fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, on 110, that converts light B11 into illumination white light WL1,WL2, WL3, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], Figs. 1,3), wherein in a spectrum of the illuminating light an energy in a red band is in a range from 25% to 45% of the energy in a full band (i.e. given the relative intensity spectra of WL1 and WL2 with 111g, 111r, and 111g,112r fluorescent materials in light source device 100 with 101, 102 including 111 and 112, or for WL3 111g, 111r, 112r and/or 113r in light source device 300,301 with, showing spectral energy in a red band in such range, see Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and
the fluorescent portion comprises a first red fluorescent material ( as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, with green 111g, first red 111r, and 111g,second red 112r fluorescent materials, and green 111g, first red 111r, second red 112r and/or third red 113r fluorescent materials in light source device 300,301, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and a second red fluorescent material (i.e. as noted above the second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]).
But Liao is silent that the fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material.
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of a light source device (see Figs. 1-11, title, abstract, paragraphs [08-20, 35-47], where the device 100 with guide plate, reflector 130 and has light source unit 150 with emitting devices 152) and further teaches that fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material (i.e. as 152 includes yellow fluorescent material together with red and green fluorescent materials, paragraphs [35-47], providing the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, paragraphs [40-45]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt an modify the fluorescent portion of Liao to include yellow fluorescent material according to teaching of Kim in order to provide the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, (see paragraphs [40-45]).
Regarding claim 3 and 12, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that a bandwidth of the first red fluorescent material is different from a bandwidth of the second red fluorescent material (i.e. as second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]).
Regarding claim 4 and 13, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that a color temperature of the illumination light transformed by the fluorescent portion is in a range from 2500K to 8000K (i.e. as transformed white light WL1, WL2 as illumination light L1 has color temperature in the above range, e.g. 6500 K, see paragraphs [43-50, 53-56]).
Regarding claim 5 and 14, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that a predetermined color temperature of the illumination light transformed by the fluorescent portion is 6500K (i.e. as predetermined color temperature 6500 K, paragraphs [43-50, 53-56]).
Regarding claim 8, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) further comprising:
a light guide plate disposed above the reflective display panel and having a light incident surface and a light emitting surface connected to the light incident surface (light guide plate 220 above 210 display panel, with incident surface 221 towards the light source device 100 and emitting surface 222 connected to 221 surface, paragraphs [32-34, 52]),
wherein the light emitting element and the fluorescent portion face toward the light incident surface of the light guide plate (as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311 on 110 and in 100 face 221 incident surface of 220 as depicted in Figs. 1A,B,3A, paragraphs [32-34, 52]), and the reflective display panel faces toward the light emitting surface of the light guide plate (as 210 faces towards 222 surface, see as depicted in Figs. 1A,B,3A, paragraphs [32-34, 52]).
Regarding claim 9, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the reflective display panel (210) comprises: an active device array substrate (active component array substrate 212, paragraphs [30-31, 52], Fig. 1B); and a color filter located between the light guide plate and the active device array substrate (color filter substrate 211 between 220 light guide and active array substrate 212, paragraphs [30-31, 52], Fig. 1B).
Regarding claim 10, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) that the reflective display panel comprises: a display medium layer located between the active device array substrate and the color filter (display medium layer 213 is located between the active component array substrate 212 and the color filter substrate 211, paragraphs [30-31, 52], Fig. 1B).
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (hereafter Liao, of record) US 20220342272 A1 in view of Kim et al. (hereafter Kim, of record) US 20110205727 A1 and in view of Kimura et al. (hereafter Kimura, of record) US 20170097458 A1.
Regarding claim 6 and 15, the Liao-Kim combination teaches the invention as set forth above, and Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) further comprising: a circuit board electrically connected to the light emitting element (i.e. as light emitting component 110 in source 101,102 (301) is mounted to the same circuit substrate see paragraphs [37-39]), but is silent that it is flexible. However, Kimura teaches in the same field of invention of a display device and light source device (see Figs. 1-14, abstract, paragraphs [2, 28-35, 46, 59, 94-96]) and further teaches that circuit board electrically connected to the light emitting element is flexible circuit board (i.e. as light source unit LU with light source element(s) PC connected, mounted on flexible printed circuit LFPC, providing mounting structure and electrical connections to light source elements through terminals and buslines, and allowing the number and gap between the light source elements PC mounted on the flexible printed circuit can be determined arbitrarily based on the desired intensity of light, while the size can be reduced, see paragraphs [35, 46, 59, 94-96], e.g. Figs. 1-2, 6, 9, 14).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt and specify the circuit substrate of Liao as flexible circuit board, printed circuit according to teachings of Kimura in order to provide mounting structure and electrical connections to light source elements with terminals and buslines, and allow that the number and gap between the light source elements mounted on the flexible printed circuit to be determined arbitrarily based on the desired intensity of light, while its size can be reduced, see Kimura paragraphs [35, 46, 59, 94-96]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed in the Remarks dated 02/12/2026 with respect to claims 1 and 7 and their dependent claims have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Specifically, Applicant argues on pages 7-8 of the Remarks that the cited prior art of Liao and Kim do not disclose that (1) “"the fluorescent portion comprises a first red fluorescent material, a second red fluorescent material, and a yellow fluorescent material", presumably because while acknowledging that Liao teaches the second fluorescent material as fluorescent part 112r, does not disclose yellow fluorescent material, and since in Kim first fluorescent material 172a and the second fluorescent material 172b are arranged separately in the photo luminescent film 170, and allegedly Kim utilizes the molding plastic to produce white light, and the red and green fluorescent materials in the photo luminescent film 170 are used for rendering, and given that Liao uses green fluorescent material 111g and red fluorescent material 112r, 113r to form white light, there is allegedly no motivation to add yellow fluorescent to emit white light. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. With regard to above issue (1), as noted in the rejection above, the cited prior art of Liao teaches most limitations and in combination with cited prior art of Kim teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1 (and 7), as Liao teaches (see Figs. 1-3) a light source device (light source device 100, 300, e.g. 101, 102, 301 with white light WL and reflective display with light source 200, 400, see abstract, e.g. paragraphs [2, 4-12, 29-30, 36-47, 52-57]), comprising:
a light emitting element configured to emit a light (light emitting component 110, emitting light B11, paragraphs [37-39, 53], Figs. 1, 3); and
a fluorescent portion disposed on the light emitting element and configured to transform the light into an illumination light, (fluorescent portion, part 111, 112, 311, on 110, that converts light B11 into illumination white light WL1,WL2, WL3, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56], Figs. 1,3), wherein in a spectrum of the illuminating light an energy in a red band is in a range from 25% to 45% of the energy in a full band (i.e. given the relative intensity spectra of WL1 and WL2 with 111g, 111r, and 111g,112r fluorescent materials in light source device 100 with 101, 102 including 111 and 112, or for WL3 111g, 111r, 112r and/or 113r in light source device 300,301 with, showing spectral energy in a red band in such range, see Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and
the fluorescent portion comprises a first red fluorescent material ( as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, with green 111g, first red 111r, and 111g,second red 112r fluorescent materials, and green 111g, first red 111r, second red 112r and/or third red 113r fluorescent materials in light source device 300,301, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and a second red fluorescent material (i.e. as noted above the second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]).
But Liao is silent that the fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material.
However, Kim teaches in the same field of invention of a light source device (see Figs. 1-11, title, abstract, paragraphs [08-20, 35-47], where the device 100 with guide plate, reflector 130 and has light source unit 150 with emitting devices 152) and further teaches that fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material (i.e. as 152 includes yellow fluorescent material together with red and green fluorescent materials, paragraphs [35-47], providing the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an (illuminated) object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, paragraphs [40-45]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt an modify the fluorescent portion of Liao to include yellow fluorescent material according to teaching of Kim in order to provide the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, (see paragraphs [40-45]).
Specifically, Kim expressly teaches the fluorescent portion comprises a first red fluorescent material ( as fluorescent portion 111, 112, 311, with green 111g, first red 111r, and 111g,second red 112r fluorescent materials, and green 111g, first red 111r, second red 112r and/or third red 113r fluorescent materials in light source device 300,301, see paragraphs [37-44, 53-56]), and a second red fluorescent material (i.e. as noted above the second (or third) red 112r (113r) fluorescent material with different spectral bandwidth as depicted in Figs. 2A,B, paragraphs [41-44]). As noted above, Liao is silent that the fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material.
Hence, the prior art of Kim was used as Kim teaches in the same field of invention of a light source device (see Figs. 1-11, title, abstract, paragraphs [08-20, 35-47], where the device 100 with guide plate, reflector 130 and has light source unit 150 with emitting devices 152) and further teaches that fluorescent portion also comprises a yellow fluorescent material, i.e. specifically as source 152 includes yellow fluorescent material together with red and green fluorescent materials, paragraphs [35-47], which provide the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an (illuminated) object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, paragraphs [40-45]).
Notably, other parts of the Kim disclosure were not used or relied upon in the rejection, as fluorescent film 170 of Kim with first fluorescent material 172a and the second fluorescent material 172b that are arranged separately in the photo luminescent film 170, are not cited or used in the combination. Rather, the teachings of Kim pertain to the white light source 150 are cited for the combination, namely the white light emitting devices 152 that include yellow fluorescent material together with red and green fluorescent materials added to the molded plastic above blue light emitting device (which is similar to Liao’s fluorescent part 112, 311 with fluorescent materials also above blue light B11 light emitting component 110, see Figs. 3B), and provide clear benefits of such white source, specifically generating light with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an (illuminated) object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, paragraphs [40-45]). Hence the arguments noted above, appear to mischaracterize the rejection of record and the disclosure of the light source teachings of Kim reference. Moreover, given the cited teachings of Kim the benefits of including yellow fluorescent material in light device to generate white light with high color rendering index, became clear to one of ordinary skill in the art. Contrarily to Applicants statement given that Liao uses green fluorescent material 111g and red fluorescent material 112r, 113r to form white light but with high color rendering index or uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED), and with wide range of correlated color temperatures, certainly provides a benefit and motivation to add the yellow fluorescent material to the source fluorescent portion.
As stated, above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt an modify the fluorescent portion of Liao to include yellow fluorescent material according to teaching of Kim in order to provide the light device with high color rendering index (CRI, represents a degree of being close to natural sunlight), uniformly mixed white light (e.g. warm and cool white LED) allowing that an actual color of an object can be prevented from being distorted and the fatigue of the eyes of users is reduced, and white light with wide range of correlated color temperatures emitted from light emitting surface, and without a combination of separate red, green and blue light emitting devices, (see paragraphs [40-45]).
Therefore, the cited prior art of Liao in combination with cited prior art of Kim teaches and renders obvious all limitations of claim 1 (and claim 7, including the limitations raised under issue (1) above.
No additional substantial arguments were presented after page 8 of the remarks dated 02/12/2026.
Conclusion
/MARIN PICHLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872