DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 10/17/2023 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed (for example applicant fail to provide a copy for the non-patent literature). It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 11/24/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-17 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fahlenkamp US Patent 9768697 (Fahlenkamp) .
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Transitioned to
Normal load conditions)][AltContent: oval][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Suppressing
Sleep Period)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 1, Fahlenkamp discloses a method of operating a pulse width modulation- controlled (PWM-controlled) system, comprising:
controlling a switch transistor (i.e., 118) (Fig. 1) using a PWM control signal generated by a PWM control circuit (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) operating in a burst mode (see fig. 3) corresponding to an underloaded condition (Fahlenkamp discloses burst mode operation when comparing Vfb to two thresholds V1 and V2) (for example see Fig. 3 and column 4 lines 39-43) of the PWM-controlled system, so that burst periods (for example see tonBurst) (Fig. 3) of the PWM control signal alternate with sleep periods (for example see toffBurst) (Fig. 3) of the PWM control signal;
determining that the PWM-controlled system has transitioned to a normal load condition in response to a feedback signal (i.e., Vfb) (Fig. 3) exceeding a nominal load threshold (for example see V3) (Fig. 3);
and suppressing the sleep periods (i.e., toffBurst) (Fig. 3) of the PWM control signal, while the PWM control circuit (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) continues to operate in the burst mode (i.e., tonBurst) (Fig. 3), in response to the determining that the PWM-controlled system has transitioned to the normal load condition (for example see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Fahlenkamp, as applied above, discloses transitioning from burst mode (i.e., tonBurst) (Fig. 3) to normal mode after the suppressing begins (see Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 17, Fahlenkamp, as applied above, discloses the feedback signal (i.e., fb) (Fig. 3) is responsive to an output current of the PWM-controlled system.
Regarding claim 21, Fahlenkamp, discloses a device (i.e., 100) (Fig. 1) comprising: a pulse width modulation (PWM) control circuit (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) configurable to generate a PWM signal to control a transistor (i.e., 118) (Fig. 1) in a burst mode corresponding to an underloaded condition (For example Vfb between V1 and V2) (Fig. 3), so that burst periods (i.e., tonBurst) (Fig. 3) of the PWM signal alternate with sleep periods (i.e., toffBurst) (Fig. 3) of the PWM signal; and a burst mode logic circuit (for example see 126) (Fig. 1) coupled to the PWM control circuit (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) and configurable to:
determine that the device (i.e., 100) (Fig. 1) has transitioned to a normal load condition (for example see Fig. 3) in response to a feedback signal (i.e., Vfb) (Fig. 3) exceeding a nominal load threshold (i.e., V3) (Fig. 3);
and suppress the sleep periods (i.e., toffBurst and Suppressing Sleep Period above) (Fig. 3) of the PWM signal while the PWM control circuit continues to operate in the burst mode, in response to the determining that the device has transitioned to the normal load condition.
Regarding claim 22, Fahlenkamp, as applied above, discloses the burst mode logic circuit (i.e., 136) (Fig. 1) configurable to transition from burst mode to normal mode after the suppressing begins (for example see Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 23, Fahlenkamp, as applied above, discloses the feedback signal (i.e., Vfb) is responsive to an output current of a power converter circuit including the transistor (i.e., 118) (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 27-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fahlenkamp US Patent 9768697 (Fahlenkamp) in view of Futamura US Publication 20130207625 (Futamura).
Regarding claim 27, Fahlenkamp, discloses a system comprising: a sensor configurable to generate a sensed signal; a power converter circuit including a transistor (i.e., 118) (Fig. 1); and a controller device (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) configurable to:
control the transistor (i.e., 118) (Fig. 1) in a burst mode corresponding to an underloaded condition, so that burst periods (i.e., tonBusrt) (Fig. 3) alternate with sleep periods (i.e., toffBurst) (Fig. 1);
and determine that the controller device (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) has transitioned to a normal load condition in response to the sensed signal exceeding a nominal load threshold (i.e., V3) (Fig. 3);
and suppress the sleep periods (i.e., toffBurst) (Fig. 1) while the controller device (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) continues to operate in the burst mode (i.e., for example see Suppressing Sleep Period) (Fig. 3), in response to the determining that the controller device has transitioned to the normal load condition.
Fahlenkamp fails discloses a optocoupler for sensing the state of the circuit through feedback but fails to disclose a current sensor.
Futamura, in the same field of endeavor discloses the use of current sensor (i.e., 12) (Fig.1) to sensing the state of a circuit.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optionally provide a current sensor in Fahlenkamp, as taught by Futamura, in order to sense the state of the circuit.
Regarding claim 28, Fahlenkamp in view of Futamura, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention. More particularly Fahlenkamp discloses the controller device (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) is configurable to transition from burst mode to normal mode after the suppressing begins.
Regarding claim 29, Fahlenkamp in view of Futamura, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention. More particularly Futamara discloses the current sensor (i.e., 12) (Fig.1) is configurable to generate the sensed signal responsive to an output current of the power converter circuit.
Regarding claim 30, Fahlenkamp in view of Futamura, as applied in linking claims, discloses a system of wherein the controller device (i.e., 101) (Fig.1) is configurable to transition to operating in a normal mode (i.e., 124) (Fig.1) corresponding to the normal load condition in response to an interrupt service routine determining that a feedback signal (i.e., Vfb)(Fig. 3) indicates the normal load condition (for example see Fig. 6), and wherein the controller device (i.e., 101) (Fig.1) is configurable to determine that the feedback signal indicates the normal load condition is completed after transitioning to the normal load condition.
Regarding claim 31, Fahlenkamp in view of Futamura, as applied in linking claims, discloses the claimed invention. More particularly Fahlenkamp discloses wherein the feedback signal (i.e., Vfb) (Fig. 3) indicates an output voltage of the power converter circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-20, 24-26 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 18, Fahlenkamp, as applied above, discloses the feedback signal (.i.e., Vfb) (Fig. 3) is a first feedback signal;
the transitioning the PWM control circuit (i.e., 101) (Fig. 1) to operating in a normal mode corresponding to the normal load condition of the PWM-controlled system (for example see column 5, lines 20-23);
wherein the transitioning the PWM control circuit is performed in response to an interrupt service routine determining that the feedback signal indicates (for example see Fig. 6) the normal load condition;
and wherein the determining that the second feedback signal indicates the normal load condition is completed after the determining that the PWM-controlled system has transitioned to the normal load condition is completed.
Fahlenkamp, as applied above, fail to discloses wherein the transitioning the PWM control circuit is performed in response to an interrupt service routine determining that a second feedback signal indicates the normal load condition and wherein the determining that the second feedback signal indicates the normal load condition is completed after the determining that the PWM-controlled system has transitioned to the normal load condition is completed in combination will all recited element of linking claims.
Claim 19 depends of claim 18.
Claim 24 in combination with linking claims and all recited elements, is allowable for the same reasons as claim 18.
Claim 25 depend of claim 24.
Regarding claim 20, Fahlenkamp, as applied above, alone or in combination, fail to discloses the controlling performed in response to a burst mode flag, an output of a comparator that performs the determining, and a burst mask.
Claim 26, in combination with linking claims and all recited elements, is allowable for the same reasons as claim 20.
Claim 32 in combination with linking claims and all recited elements, is allowable for the same reasons as claim 20.
Conclusion
/YAHVEH COMAS TORRES/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/THIENVU V TRAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838