SOLID-STATE BATTERY
Examiner: Adam Arciero S.N. 18/356,251 Art Unit: 1727 February 19, 2026
DETAILED ACTION
The Application filed on July 21, 2023 has been received. Claims 1-9 are currently pending and have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1 recites “an outer circumferential end of the lithium metal layer exists more to an inner side than an outer circumferential end of the solid electrolyte layer” which is indefinite. It is unclear as to what structure Applicant is intending to claim. What are the defined boundaries for the ”inner side” of the solid electrolyte layer. Is Applicant intending to claim the center of the solid electrolyte layer? Is the claim reciting that at least one outer end of the lithium metal layer is closer to the center of the solid electrolyte layer than the outer end of the electrolyte layer? Or is the Applicant intending to claim that the ends of the lithium metal layer do not extends to the outer ends of the solid electrolyte layer, as shown in Fig. 1-2 of the original disclosure? For purposes of compact prosecution, the Examiner will construe the claim such that the outer ends of the lithium metal layer do not extend to the outer ends of the solid electrolyte layer, as shown in Fig. 1-2 of the original disclosure.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the insulation members which are opposing" in 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haga et al. (WO 2019/103008 A1; as found in IDS dated 12/01/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claim 1, Haga discloses a solid-state battery, comprising: a solid electrolyte layer 10 and a positive electrode composite layer 20 sequentially laminated on a lithium metal layer 30 (Abstract, Fig. 3 and paragraphs [0030-0031]). Haga discloses wherein the outer circumferential end of the lithium metal layer does not extend to the outer circumferential end of the solid electrolyte layer, and an insulating member 32 extends from the solid electrolyte layer towards the lithium metal layer and is disposed in a region between the outer circumferential end of the lithium metal layer and the outer circumferential end of the solid electrolyte layer (as shown in reproduced Fig. 3 below; the arrow depicts where the insulating member is disposed between the outer end of the lithium metal layer and the outer end of the solid electrolyte layer).
As to Claim 4, Haga discloses wherein the insulating member 32 is placed on the solid electrolyte layer 10, which reads on being fixed thereto (Fig. 3).
As to Claim 6, Haga discloses a battery case for housing the battery components (reads on being packaged in an external member) (paragraph [0091]).
As to Claim 9, Haga discloses a second insulating member 32 that is disposed on a same plane as the positive electrode 20 when viewed in the cross-section view (which reads on being disposed at an outer circumferential part of the positive electrode layer) and the outer circumferential end of the second insulating member exists at the same position as the outer circumferential end of the solid electrolyte layer (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga et al. (WO 2019/103008 A1; as found in IDS dated 12/01/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes).
As to Claims 2-3, Haga teaches wherein the battery case is rectangular and the electrode body is stacked therein; and wherein the insulating member 32 is placed at all (and opposing) corners of the lithium metal layer (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0091]). Haga does not specifically disclose wherein the lithium metal layer is rectangular. However, the courts have held that the claimed shape is a matter of choice which a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape of the claim is significant, see MPEP 2144.04, IV, B. At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the shape of the electrode body to match the rectangular shape of the container of Haga because Haga teaches that such a battery can be used for powering vehicles (paragraph [0091]).
Claim(s) 5, 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga et al. (WO 2019/103008 A1; as found in IDS dated 12/01/2025 and using machine translation for citation purposes) in view of Ariga et al. (US 2022/0231329 A1).
As to Claim 5, Haga does not specifically disclose the claimed concave part.
However, Ariga teaches of a solid-state battery, comprising: a current collector 15a comprising a concave part 15c that matches an opposing convex part 12b of an electrode layer 12a (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0047]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the conceptual teachings of Ariga of connecting adjacent parts of a solid-state battery with matching concave/convex parts to the solid electrolyte layer and insulating layer of Haga because Ariga teaches that the concave/convex parts engage with each other and facilitates alignment and prevents misalignment when assembling the cell (paragraph [0048]).
As to Claim 7, Haga does not specifically disclose the claimed collector.
However, Ariga teaches of a negative electrode comprising a current collector 20a (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0026]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the negative electrode of Haga to comprise a current collector because Ariga teaches that a solid-state battery with simplified manufacturing is obtained (paragraph [0018]). In addition, the courts have held that the particular placement of the insulating members in relation to the current collectors and solid electrolyte layer are an obvious matter of design choice which would not have modified the operation of the device absent persuasive evidence, see MPEP 2144.04, VI, C.
As to Claim 8, Haga discloses of a plurality of electrode stacks (Fig. 3). Haga does not specifically disclose the claimed concave/convex parts.
However, Ariga teaches of a solid-state battery, comprising: a current collector 15a comprising a concave part 15c that matches an opposing convex part 12b of an electrode layer 12a (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0047]). At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the conceptual teachings of Ariga of connecting adjacent parts of a solid-state battery with matching concave/convex parts to the insulating members of Haga because Ariga teaches that the concave/convex parts engage with each other and facilitates alignment and prevents misalignment when assembling the cell (paragraph [0048]).
Conclusion
/ADAM A ARCIERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727