Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 set forth in the amendment submitted 11/17/2025 form the basis of the present examination.
Response to Arguments
The objection to the Specification (abstract), set forth to the Non-Final Office action mailed on 7/16/2025 has been withdrawn because of the amendment filed on 11/17/2025.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-11, filed 11/17/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 4-10 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Magno ‘919 A1and further in view of Wolf et. al. (Hereinafter, “Wolf”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200343675 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1 have been fully considered as follows:
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 8-10, of the remarks, filed on 11/17/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 4-10 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Magno ‘919 A1and further in view of Wolf et. al. (Hereinafter, “Wolf”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200343675 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1, that “The cited art does not describe such a testing sensor that corresponds to a charging pin of a charging inlet of an electric vehicle and configured to plug into the charging socket during testing, wherein the testing sensor is configured to be plugged into the charging socket such that the pin interface and the probe interface are configured to engage a mating interface of the charging socket at different testing locations to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket (Remarks-Page 8).
………
Neither Schulz nor Magno, considered alone or in combination, disclose a testing pin that mimics a charging pin of a charging inlet of an electric vehicle and is configured to plug into the charging socket during testing.
Additionally, as noted above, Schulz does not teach a testing sensor including a testing pin and a testing probe and further does not disclose a testing sensor that is configured to be plugged into a charging socket of a charging station. Moreover, Magno does not disclose a testing sensor (Remarks-Page 9) that is configured to be plugged into a charging socket of a charging station and thus fails to make up for the deficiencies of Schulz.
…….
Schulz, admittedly, does not disclose plugging a testing sensor into a charging socket, and thus clearly does not disclose engaging a mating interface of the charging socket to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket. Moreover, Magno additionally does not disclose plugging a testing sensor into a charging socket, and thus clearly does not disclose engaging a mating interface of the charging socket to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket and thus fails to make up for the deficiencies of Schulz.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant submits that claim 1 is patentable over the cited art. (Remarks-Page 10).”
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 8-10, of the remarks, filed on 11/17/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 4-10 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Magno ‘919 A1and further in view of Wolf et. al. (Hereinafter, “Wolf”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200343675 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 7/16//2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of independent claim 1 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 1, and added the limitation, “the testing pin configured to plug into the charging socket during testing, the testing pin including a pin interface, the testing probe including a probe interface, the probe interface spaced apart from the pin interface; wherein the testing sensor is configured to be plugged into the charging socket such that the pin interface and the probe interface are configured to engage a mating interface of the charging socket at different testing locations to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket”, which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Blades in the US Patent Number US 7057401 B2 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 1. Therefore, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action has been withdrawn. Claim(s) 1, 11-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Blades in the US Patent Number US 7057401 B2, Claim(s) 2-3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Blades in the US Patent Number US 7057401 B2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1, Claim(s) 4-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Blades ‘401 B2, as applied to claim 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Wolf et. al. (Hereinafter, “Wolf”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200343675 A1, Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1 and further in view of Blades ‘401 B2. as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
Applicant’s Argument:
Applicant argues on page 10-11, of the remarks, filed on 11/17/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 4-10 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Magno ‘919 A1and further in view of Wolf et. al. (Hereinafter, “Wolf”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200343675 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1, that, “Turning to independent claims 15,……. The Office Action admits that Schulz does not teach a testing sensor including a four wire resistance probe and further admits that Schulz does not disclose a testing sensor that is configured (Remarks-Page 10)……… Neither Schulz nor Wolf, considered alone or in combination, disclose a four wire resistance probe corresponding to a charging pin of a charging inlet of the electric vehicle and configured to be plugged into the charging socket to interface with a mating interface of the charging socket at four points to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket.
Accordingly, for at least the reasons set forth above, Applicant submits that claim 15 is patentable over the cited art.
Turning to independent claim 18, ….. For similar reasons as set forth above, Applicant submits that claim 18 is patentable over the cited art (Remarks-Page 11)”.
Examiner Response:
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks page 10-11, of the remarks, filed on 11/17/2025, regarding the rejection(s) of rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1-3, 11-14, 18 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1, the rejection of Claim(s) 4-10 and 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Magno ‘919 A1and further in view of Wolf et. al. (Hereinafter, “Wolf”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200343675 A1 and the rejection of Claim(s) 15-17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action mailed on 7/16//2025 have been fully considered and is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of independent claims 15 and 18 has been withdrawn. However, applicant has amended the claim 15, and added the limitation, “A charging station health monitoring device for monitoring a health of a charging socket of a charging station for an electric vehicle, the charging station health monitoring device comprising: a device housing having a user interface; …… the four wire resistance probe corresponding to a charging pin of a charging inlet of the electric vehicle and configured to be plugged into the charging socket to interface with a mating interface of the charging socket at four points to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket” and in claim 18, “A method of monitoring health of a charging socket of a charging station for an electric vehicle, the method comprising: …….. the testing sensor configured for plugging into the charging socket during testing; plugging the testing sensor into the charging socket such that a pin interface of a testing pin of the testing sensor engages a mating interface of the charging socket at a first testing location and a probe interface of a testing probe of the testing socket engages a mating interface of the charging socket at a second testing location; determining a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket using the testing pin and the testing probe”, which necessitates a new ground of rejection. Blades in the US Patent Number US 7057401 B2 is applied to meet at least the amended limitation of claim 15 and 18. Therefore, the rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1 and the rejection of claim 18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1, as applied to the Non-Final office Action has been withdrawn. Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1 and further in view of Blades ‘401 B2 and Claim(s) 1, 11-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Blades in the US Patent Number US 7057401 B2, as set forth below. Applicant’s argument is moot in view of newly applied combination of references. See the rejection set forth below.
For expedite prosecution Applicant is invited to call to discuss the present rejection also if any further clarification needed and to discuss any possible amendment to overcome the references to make the claims allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SCHULZ; STEPHEN (Hereinafter, “Stephen”) in The US Patent Application Publication Number US 20130346025 A1 in view of Blades in the US Patent Number US 7057401 B2.
Regarding claim 1, Stephen teaches a charging station health monitoring device for monitoring a health of a charging socket of a charging station (Systems of the present invention are directed to the fields of electrical devices, electric vehicles, energy storage charging equipment and standards, testing devices, and related fields; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4; the charging protocol to be tested is determined by sensing the presence of a charging plug in a charging plug receptacle, the charging plug being part of the charging station; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-4; Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3), the charging station health monitoring device comprising:
a device housing [134] in Figure 1 (Box 134 as the housing) (In yet other embodiments, the computer or controller 132 is integrated as part of the charger testing system 100, as indicated by box 134; Paragraph [0054] Line 17-19) having a user interface [102] (Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown. In this embodiment, the charger testing system 100 is comprised of a user interface 102; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4);
a control panel [106] (controller 106 as the control panel) in the device housing [134] (Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown. In this embodiment, the charger testing system 100 is comprised of a controller 106; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-5; Figure 1 shows a control panel in the device housing [134]), the control panel [106] operably coupled to the user interface [102] (The user interface 102 is connected to the controller 106, as the controller receives and interprets the inputs and produces the signals sent to the output devices that are part of the user interface 102; Paragraph [0055] Line 7-11); and
a testing sensor (sensors such as current, voltage, or temperature transducers as a source of information) coupled to the control panel [106] (A controller 106 is provided in this embodiment to manage, monitor, and report on the operation of other components of the charger testing system 100. For example, the controller 106 may be used to control the primary load module 104 in order to simulate an EV while power is being received from the charging station 116. Furthermore, the controller 106 may be used to interpret user input, execute instructions, and provide information to the user interface 102, logging monitor 112, verification module 114, memory 108, and electronic interface module 110, and to perform other related functions. In this case, the controller 106 may use sensors such as current, voltage, or temperature transducers as a source of information. The controller 106 can be advantageously embodied as a microprocessor, hardware logic controller, general purpose computer, or other control device capable of completing testing procedures. Preferably, the test system controller 106 comprises a digital reprogrammable controller containing memory and control logic sufficient to encompass the requirements for a wide variety of charger testing; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-20).
Stephen fails to teach that the testing sensor including a testing pin, a testing probe, and an insulator between the testing pin and the testing probe, the testing pin including a pin interface, the testing pin configured to plug into the charging socket during testing, the testing probe including a probe interface, the probe interface spaced apart from the pin interface; wherein the testing sensor is configured to be plugged into the charging socket such that the pin interface and the probe interface are configured to engage a mating interface of the charging socket at different testing locations to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket.
Blades teaches electrical test equipment for testing the integrity of electrical power distribution systems and for locating faults in the same (Column 1 Line 12-14). For example, it may be readily adapted for use on shipboard, aircraft, large vehicles, and other vehicles (Column 3 Line 65-66), wherein
the testing sensor including a testing pin [226](magnet 226 as the test pin as it is inserted in to the socket for testing), a testing probe [228], and an insulator (body of 228 is made of insulator which is between the probe and pin) between the testing pin and the testing probe (Figure 20: Modified Figure 20 of Blades below shows a testing pin [226](magnet 226 as the test pin as it is inserted in to the socket for testing), a testing probe [228], and an insulator (body of 228 is made of insulator which is between the probe and pin) between the testing pin and the testing probe; FIG. 19 shows the preferred construction of a low cost probe. The magnet 226 is made to press fit into the end of the probe body 228 which is made of an insulating plastic or retained by some other convenient means. The magnet 226 is preferably coated with a highly conductive, non-corroding metal like nickel or gold. A ferrous, i.e., steel, spacer 227 is adapted to retain the outer insulation of the test wire 230, by means of inside screw threads or the like or by crimping the spacer 227 onto the wire 230; Column 28 Line 26-35).
Figure 20: Modified Figure 20 of Blades
the testing pin [226] in Figure 20/[212] in Figure 15 including a pin interface (Figure 20: Modified Figure 20 of Blades above shows the testing pin including a pin interface), the testing pin [226] configured to plug into the charging socket [221] in Figure 17 during testing (FIG. 15 shows a mechanical drawing of a magnetic probe according to the preferred embodiment of the present invention. The magnet 212 extends out the end of an insulating handle 213, which is attached to the end of a sensing wire 214. FIG. 16 shows one such probe 216 attached to a typical Branch Circuit Breaker 215 and a second probe 217 positioned near to but not attached to the circuit breaker wire clamping bolt 218. The size of the magnet and probe are sized to accommodate the bolt 218. FIG. 17 shows another probe 220 attached and nearby but unattached to a typical Main Circuit Breaker (Service Breaker) 219. The large gauge service wires are normally secured to the circuit breaker with large steel socket-head setscrews 221, and the size of the probe 220 is adapted to suit these larger setscrews. FIG. 18 shows yet another probe 223, this one adapted to attach to the screw 224 of a typical grounding or neutral bus bar 225; Column 28 Line 6-22),
the testing probe including a probe interface (Figure 20: Modified Figure 20 of Blades above shows the testing probe including a probe interface), the probe interface spaced apart from the pin interface (Figure 20: Modified Figure 20 of Blades above shows the probe interface spaced apart from the pin interface by the spacer);
wherein the testing sensor is configured to be plugged into the charging socket such that the pin interface and the probe interface are configured to engage a mating interface of the charging socket at different testing locations (FIG. 15 shows a mechanical drawing of a magnetic probe according to the preferred embodiment of the present invention. The magnet 212 extends out the end of an insulating handle 213, which is attached to the end of a sensing wire 214. FIG. 16 shows one such probe 216 attached to a typical Branch Circuit Breaker 215 and a second probe 217 positioned near to but not attached to the circuit breaker wire clamping bolt 218. The size of the magnet and probe are sized to accommodate the bolt 218. FIG. 17 shows another probe 220 attached and nearby but unattached to a typical Main Circuit Breaker (Service Breaker) 219. The large gauge service wires are normally secured to the circuit breaker with large steel socket-head setscrews 221, and the size of the probe 220 is adapted to suit these larger setscrews. FIG. 18 shows yet another probe 223, this one adapted to attach to the screw 224 of a typical grounding or neutral bus bar 225; Column 28 Line 6-22) to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket (The circuit is implemented as a stand-alone plug-in module that when plugged into a standard 3-prong grounded household outlet can determine the individual resistances of each wire feeding the outlet. This stand-alone unit, however, when plugged into an older 2-prong ungrounded outlet or a 2 conductor lamp socket, can determine only the combined resistance of the two wires feeding the outlet (socket). In the preferred embodiment, therefore, developed for use in the SafeWire.TM. system, a separate ground reference wire that runs from the Load Center to the outlet (socket) under test, that is, the umbilical cable, is used to enable the method to determine the individual wire resistances in both 2-wire grounded and 3-wire ungrounded outlets; Column 28 Line 65-67 & Column 29 Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to simply stick a magnetic probe on to the commonly flat surface of the bolt to make contact to the circuit, to measure the resistance of each circuit, thus verifying its condition, as well as the length of each circuit, enabling a schematic diagram to be drawn in an automated fashion, to better locate and trace wires in a wall or in conduit, to sense the temperature in case of temperature sensor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen in view of Blades, to include the testing sensor including a testing pin, a testing probe, and an insulator between the testing pin and the testing probe, because Blades teaches to have the testing sensor including a testing pin, a testing probe, and an insulator between the testing pin and the testing probe simply sticks a magnetic probe on to the commonly flat surface of the bolt to make contact to the circuit (Column 28 Line 4-5), measures the resistance of each circuit, thus verifying its condition, as well as the length of each circuit, enabling a schematic diagram to be drawn in an automated fashion (Column 6 Line 41-44), better locates and trace wires in a wall or in conduit, senses the temperature in case of temperature sensor (Column 6 Line 56-60).
Regarding claim 11, Stephen teaches a charging station health monitoring device,
wherein the control panel sends a pulse voltage to the testing sensor prior to sending a test voltage to the testing sensor, the pulse voltage being higher than the test voltage (In some embodiments a verification module 114 is provided that compares the charging protocol specifications to the output of the charger 116 and reports or stores a verification of whether the specifications are being properly followed in the charger 116. A verification module 114 contains active digital circuits which record the activity under test such as state of the charge sequence, sequence of events, voltage, amperage, temperature, and the communication sequence of the charger. The verification module 114 compares this data to accepted performance data within internal memory to ensure that the EV charge is working within an accepted performance envelope that is required by EV charging standards; Paragraph 0063] Line 1-13).
Regarding claim 12, Stephen teaches a charging station health monitoring device,
further comprising a battery in the device housing, the battery operably coupled to the control panel to operate the testing sensor (The charger testing system 100 may be used to provide functionality such as acquiring availability of the EV charger's charge parameters, including but not limited to standard/protocol compliance, voltage, amperage, capacity, temperature, and rate of charge or power level. With a variable and/or controllable load module, it gives the capability to profile various charge scenarios for a variety of loads from mild charges to completely depleted battery systems; Paragraph [0068] Line 1-9).
Regarding claim 13, Stephen fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device of claim 1, wherein the testing probe is a first testing probe, the testing sensor including a second testing probe separate from the first testing probe and configured to engage the charging socket at a different testing location from the first testing probe.
Blades teaches electrical test equipment for testing the integrity of electrical power distribution systems and for locating faults in the same (Column 1 Line 12-14). For example, it may be readily adapted for use on shipboard, aircraft, large vehicles, and other vehicles (Column 3 Line 65-66), wherein
wherein the testing probe is a first testing probe [216] in Figure 16 or [220] in Figure 17, the testing sensor including a second testing probe [217] in Figure 16 or [222] in Figure 17 separate from the first testing probe (Figure 16 or 17 shows he testing probe is a first testing probe [216] in Figure 16 or [220] in Figure 17, the testing sensor including a second testing probe [217] in Figure 16 or [222] in Figure 17 separate from the first testing probe) and configured to engage the charging socket [215/219] at a different testing location (testing location 218 in Figure 16) from the first testing probe [216] (FIG. 15 shows a mechanical drawing of a magnetic probe according to the preferred embodiment of the present invention. The magnet 212 extends out the end of an insulating handle 213, which is attached to the end of a sensing wire 214. FIG. 16 shows one such probe 216 attached to a typical Branch Circuit Breaker 215 and a second probe 217 positioned near to but not attached to the circuit breaker wire clamping bolt 218. The size of the magnet and probe are sized to accommodate the bolt 218. FIG. 17 shows another probe 220 attached and nearby but unattached to a typical Main Circuit Breaker (Service Breaker) 219. The large gauge service wires are normally secured to the circuit breaker with large steel socket-head setscrews 221, and the size of the probe 220 is adapted to suit these larger setscrews. FIG. 18 shows yet another probe 223, this one adapted to attach to the screw 224 of a typical grounding or neutral bus bar 225; Column 28 Line 6-22; Figure 16 and 17 the testing sensor including a second testing probe [217] in Figure 16 or [222] in Figure 17 separate from the first testing probe the charging socket [215/219] at a different testing location (testing location 218 in Figure 16 and 222 in Figure 17) from the first testing probe [216]/[220]). The purpose of doing so is to simply stick a magnetic probe on to the commonly flat surface of the bolt to make contact to the circuit, to measure the resistance of each circuit, thus verifying its condition, as well as the length of each circuit, enabling a schematic diagram to be drawn in an automated fashion, to better locate and trace wires in a wall or in conduit, to sense the temperature in case of temperature sensor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen in view of Blades, to include first testing probe, the testing sensor including a second testing probe separate from the first testing probe and configured to engage the charging socket at a different testing location from the first testing probe, because Blades teaches to include a first testing probe, the testing sensor including a second testing probe separate from the first testing probe and configured to engage the charging socket at a different testing location from the first testing probe simply sticks a magnetic probe on to the commonly flat surface of the bolt to make contact to the circuit (Column 28 Line 4-5), measures the resistance of each circuit, thus verifying its condition, as well as the length of each circuit, enabling a schematic diagram to be drawn in an automated fashion (Column 6 Line 41-44), better locates and trace wires in a wall or in conduit, senses the temperature in case of temperature sensor (Column 6 Line 56-60).
Regarding claim 18, Stephen teaches a method of monitoring health of a charging socket of a charging station for an electric vehicle (Systems of the present invention are directed to the fields of electrical devices, electric vehicles, energy storage charging equipment and standards, testing devices, and related fields; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4; the charging protocol to be tested is determined by sensing the presence of a charging plug in a charging plug receptacle, the charging plug being part of the charging station; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-4; Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3), the method comprising:
providing a charging station health monitoring device including a device housing [134] in Figure 1 (Box 134 as the housing) (In yet other embodiments, the computer or controller 132 is integrated as part of the charger testing system 100, as indicated by box 134; Paragraph [0054] Line 17-19) having a user interface [102] (Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown. In this embodiment, the charger testing system 100 is comprised of a user interface 102; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4);
a control panel [106] (controller 106 as the control panel) in the device housing [134] (Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown. In this embodiment, the charger testing system 100 is comprised of a controller 106; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-5; Figure 1 shows a control panel in the device housing [134]), the control panel [106] operably coupled to the user interface [102] (The user interface 102 is connected to the controller 106, as the controller receives and interprets the inputs and produces the signals sent to the output devices that are part of the user interface 102; Paragraph [0055] Line 7-11); and
a testing sensor (sensors such as current, voltage, or temperature transducers as a source of information) coupled to the control panel [106], the testing sensor coupled to the control panel (A controller 106 is provided in this embodiment to manage, monitor, and report on the operation of other components of the charger testing system 100. For example, the controller 106 may be used to control the primary load module 104 in order to simulate an EV while power is being received from the charging station 116. Furthermore, the controller 106 may be used to interpret user input, execute instructions, and provide information to the user interface 102, logging monitor 112, verification module 114, memory 108, and electronic interface module 110, and to perform other related functions. In this case, the controller 106 may use sensors such as current, voltage, or temperature transducers as a source of information. The controller 106 can be advantageously embodied as a microprocessor, hardware logic controller, general purpose computer, or other control device capable of completing testing procedures. Preferably, the test system controller 106 comprises a digital reprogrammable controller containing memory and control logic sufficient to encompass the requirements for a wide variety of charger testing; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-20).
Stephen fails to teach that the testing sensor configured for plugging into the charging socket during testing; plugging the testing sensor into the charging socket such that a pin interface of a testing pin of the testing sensor engages a mating interface of the charging socket at a first testing location and a probe interface of a testing probe of the testing socket engages a mating interface of the charging socket at a second testing location; determining a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket using the testing pin and the testing probe; and providing an output at the user interface based on the resistance measurement indicative of the health of the charging socket.
Blades teaches electrical test equipment for testing the integrity of electrical power distribution systems and for locating faults in the same (Column 1 Line 12-14). For example, it may be readily adapted for use on shipboard, aircraft, large vehicles, and other vehicles (Column 3 Line 65-66), wherein
the testing sensor [216, 220] configured for plugging into the charging socket [ 221] during testing (FIG. 15 shows a mechanical drawing of a magnetic probe according to the preferred embodiment of the present invention. The magnet 212 extends out the end of an insulating handle 213, which is attached to the end of a sensing wire 214. FIG. 16 shows one such probe 216 attached to a typical Branch Circuit Breaker 215 and a second probe 217 positioned near to but not attached to the circuit breaker wire clamping bolt 218. The size of the magnet and probe are sized to accommodate the bolt 218. FIG. 17 shows another probe 220 attached and nearby but unattached to a typical Main Circuit Breaker (Service Breaker) 219. The large gauge service wires are normally secured to the circuit breaker with large steel socket-head setscrews 221, and the size of the probe 220 is adapted to suit these larger setscrews. FIG. 18 shows yet another probe 223, this one adapted to attach to the screw 224 of a typical grounding or neutral bus bar 225; Column 28 Line 6-22),
plugging the testing sensor into the charging socket such that a pin interface of a testing pin of the testing sensor engages a mating interface of the charging socket at a first testing location (Figure 20: Modified Figure 20 of Blades above shows a testing pin [226] (magnet 226 as the test pin as it is inserted in to the socket for testing), a testing probe [228]; FIG. 19 shows the preferred construction of a low cost probe. The magnet 226 is made to press fit into the end of the probe body 228 which is made of an insulating plastic or retained by some other convenient means. The magnet 226 is preferably coated with a highly conductive, non-corroding metal like nickel or gold. A ferrous, i.e., steel, spacer 227 is adapted to retain the outer insulation of the test wire 230, by means of inside screw threads or the like or by crimping the spacer 227 onto the wire 230; Column 28 Line 26-35) and a probe interface of a testing probe of the testing socket engages a mating interface (Figure 20: Modified Figure 20 of Blades above shows a probe interface of a testing probe of the testing socket engages a mating interface) of the charging socket at a second testing location (FIG. 15 shows a mechanical drawing of a magnetic probe according to the preferred embodiment of the present invention. The magnet 212 extends out the end of an insulating handle 213, which is attached to the end of a sensing wire 214. FIG. 16 shows one such probe 216 attached to a typical Branch Circuit Breaker 215 and a second probe 217 positioned near to but not attached to the circuit breaker wire clamping bolt 218. The size of the magnet and probe are sized to accommodate the bolt 218. FIG. 17 shows another probe 220 attached and nearby but unattached to a typical Main Circuit Breaker (Service Breaker) 219. The large gauge service wires are normally secured to the circuit breaker with large steel socket-head setscrews 221, and the size of the probe 220 is adapted to suit these larger setscrews. FIG. 18 shows yet another probe 223, this one adapted to attach to the screw 224 of a typical grounding or neutral bus bar 225; Column 28 Line 6-22);
determining a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket using the testing pin and the testing probe (The circuit is implemented as a stand-alone plug-in module that when plugged into a standard 3-prong grounded household outlet can determine the individual resistances of each wire feeding the outlet. This stand-alone unit, however, when plugged into an older 2-prong ungrounded outlet or a 2 conductor lamp socket, can determine only the combined resistance of the two wires feeding the outlet (socket). In the preferred embodiment, therefore, developed for use in the SafeWire.TM. system, a separate ground reference wire that runs from the Load Center to the outlet (socket) under test, that is, the umbilical cable, is used to enable the method to determine the individual wire resistances in both 2-wire grounded and 3-wire ungrounded outlets; Column 28 Line 65-67 & Column 29 Line 1-11); and
providing an output at the user interface based on the resistance measurement indicative of the health of the charging socket (The AC Balance Method disclosed herein can thus be used to advantage to identify and locate incorrect or deteriorating wiring connections. If the resistance of each wire is known, the wire containing a high-resistance fault can readily be identified. A three-wire load tester can determine the resistances of each wire individually calculated in the manner described above. A two-wire load tester can only determine the sum of the two feedwire resistances unless an external ground reference wire is run to the voltage source; Column 32 Line 1-9). The purpose of doing so is to simply stick a magnetic probe on to the commonly flat surface of the bolt to make contact to the circuit, to measure the resistance of each circuit, thus verifying its condition, as well as the length of each circuit, enabling a schematic diagram to be drawn in an automated fashion, to better locate and trace wires in a wall or in conduit, to sense the temperature in case of temperature sensor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen in view of Blades, because Blades teaches to plug into the charging socket during testing and to plug the testing sensor into the charging socket such that a pin interface of a testing pin of the testing sensor engages a mating interface of the charging socket at a first testing location simply sticks a magnetic probe on to the commonly flat surface of the bolt to make contact to the circuit (Column 28 Line 4-5), measures the resistance of each circuit, thus verifying its condition, as well as the length of each circuit, enabling a schematic diagram to be drawn in an automated fashion (Column 6 Line 41-44), better locates and trace wires in a wall or in conduit, senses the temperature in case of temperature sensor (Column 6 Line 56-60).
Regarding claim 20, Stephen teaches a method,
further comprising sending a pulse voltage to the testing sensor prior to sending a test voltage to the testing sensor, the pulse voltage being higher than the test voltage (In some embodiments a verification module 114 is provided that compares the charging protocol specifications to the output of the charger 116 and reports or stores a verification of whether the specifications are being properly followed in the charger 116. A verification module 114 contains active digital circuits which record the activity under test such as state of the charge sequence, sequence of events, voltage, amperage, temperature, and the communication sequence of the charger. The verification module 114 compares this data to accepted performance data within internal memory to ensure that the EV charge is working within an accepted performance envelope that is required by EV charging standards; Paragraph 0063] Line 1-13).
Claim(s) 2-3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Blades ‘401 B2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Magno in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20190178919 A1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the testing probe is deflectable.
Magno teaches testing electrical power line testing and electrical circuit testing. More specifically, it relates to a method and apparatus for electrical line testing (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the testing probe is deflectable (In one embodiment, the electrical line testing apparatus 12 is placed inside a flexible case 106 (FIG. 9.) The flexible case 106 allows the electrical line testing apparatus 12 to be bent to be inserted into an electrical outlet socket 32 that is obstructed with objects such as walls, columns, machinery, etc. and still be usable and visible to a user. For example, the electrical line testing apparatus 12 in a flexible case 106 can be bent at an angle (e.g., 90 degrees, etc.) to be viewable around a corner, etc.; Paragraph [0161] Line 1-9; FIG. 1 is a block diagram 10 illustrating an electrical line testing apparatus 12. An electrical line testing apparatus 12, includes, but is not limited to, plural electrical probes 14; Paragraph [0036] Line 1-4; Testing apparatus is flexible and probe is inside the testing apparatus and therefore probe is also deflectable). The purpose of doing so is to bend to be inserted into an electrical outlet socket and to bend at an angle (e.g., 90 degrees, etc.) to be viewable around a corner, etc.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Magno, to include the testing probe deflectable because Magno teaches to include the testing probe is deflectable bends to be inserted into an electrical outlet socket and bends at an angle (e.g., 90 degrees, etc.) to be viewable around a corner, etc. (Paragraph [0161]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the pin interface is a first distance from a central axis of the testing sensor and the probe interface is a second distance from the central axis, the second distance being greater than the first distance.
Magno teaches testing electrical power line testing and electrical circuit testing. More specifically, it relates to a method and apparatus for electrical line testing (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein the pin interface [14] is a first distance from a central axis (from circuit 18) of the testing sensor [12] and the probe interface [14’, 14’’] is a second distance from the central axis, the second distance being greater than the first distance (Figure 1 shows the pin interface is a first distance from a central axis of the testing sensor and the probe interface is a second distance from the central axis, the second distance being greater than the first distance). The purpose of doing so is to bend to be inserted into an electrical outlet socket and to bend at an angle (e.g., 90 degrees, etc.) to be viewable around a corner, etc.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Magno, to include the second distance being greater than the first distance because Magno teaches to include the second distance being greater than the first distance bends to be inserted into an electrical outlet socket and bends at an angle (e.g., 90 degrees, etc.) to be viewable around a corner, etc.(Paragraph [0161]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein a first wire is connected to the first testing probe, a second wire is connected to the second testing probe, a third wire is connected to the testing pin, and a fourth wires connected to the testing pin.
Magno teaches testing electrical power line testing and electrical circuit testing. More specifically, it relates to a method and apparatus for electrical line testing (Paragraph [0001] Line 1-3),
wherein a first wire is connected to the first testing probe, a second wire is connected to the second testing probe, a third wire is connected to the testing pin, and a fourth wires connected to the testing pin (Figure 1 shows a first wire is connected to the first testing probe [14’], a second wire is connected to the second testing probe [14’’], a third wire is connected to the testing pin [14], and a fourth wires connected to the testing pin [34]). The purpose of doing so is to bend to be inserted into an electrical outlet socket and to bend at an angle (e.g., 90 degrees, etc.) to be viewable around a corner, etc.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Magno, to include a first wire connected to the first testing probe, a second wire connected to the second testing probe because Magno teaches to include a first wire connected to the first testing probe, a second wire connected to the second testing probe bends to be inserted into an electrical outlet socket and bends at an angle (e.g., 90 degrees, etc.) to be viewable around a corner, etc.(Paragraph [0161]).
Claim(s) 4-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Blades ‘401 B2, as applied to claim 1 and 18 above, and further in view of Wolf et. al. (Hereinafter, “Wolf”) in the US patent Application Publication Number US 20200343675 A1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the testing pin is cylindrical.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the testing pin [100] is cylindrical ( A contact pin 100 according to an embodiment, as shown in FIG. 1, is used in a charging cable plug connector for charging the battery of an electric vehicle, and the thermal equivalent circuit diagram 102 of the contact pin 100. In other embodiments, the contact pin 100 can be any kind of contact element and may also be referred to as a contact element 100; Paragraph [0016] Line 1-7; Figure 1 shows that the contact pin 100 is cylindrical). The purpose of doing so is to provide an electrically conductive contact element with a contact region for producing a contact to a complementary contact element and with a connection region for the connection of an electrical line.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf , to include the second distance being greater than the first distance because Wolf teaches to include a cylindrical testing pin provides an electrically conductive contact element with a contact region for producing a contact to a complementary contact element and with a connection region for the connection of an electrical line (Paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the testing sensor is a four wire resistance sensor configured to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the testing sensor is a four wire resistance sensor configured to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket (In an embodiment, the two measurement regions 108, 110 are placed in a region with the smallest cross-section of the contact pin 100. A particularly precise prediction of the temperature in the contact region 114 can be ensured if the two temperature probes are placed in such a way that the base body 105 has a smaller thermally conductive cross-sectional area in the two measurement regions 108, 110 than in the other regions of the contact pin 100; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-8; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Wolf below shows probe has four wires two wires in point 108 and two wires in point 110). The purpose of doing so is to detect the temperature gradient in the place where it is highest.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf, to include the testing sensor as a four wire resistance sensor because Wolf teaches to include the testing sensor as a four wire resistance sensor detects the temperature gradient in the place where it is highest (Paragraph [0019]).
Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Wolf
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the testing sensor extends from the device housing.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the testing sensor extends from the device housing (An evaluation circuit 118 according to an embodiment is shown in FIG. 2. The evaluation circuit 118 may also be referred to as an electronic evaluation and control unit 118. The evaluation circuit 118 can be connected to a first and a second thermocouple 120, 122, in order to ascertain the heat flow sought. The two thermocouples are connected to analogous input terminals 126 of the evaluation circuit 118 via a filtering and stabilizing circuit 124, for example; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-8; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Wolf above shows the testing sensor extends from the device housing). The purpose of doing so is to make safety-relevant diagnosis data available such as, for example, the determination of a wire breakage or a short-circuit at the temperature probes and thus makes self-diagnosis of the plug connector possible.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf, to extend the testing sensor from the device housing because Wolf teaches to extend the testing sensor from the device housing makes safety-relevant diagnosis data available such as, for example, the determination of a wire breakage or a short-circuit at the temperature probes and thus makes self-diagnosis of the plug connector possible (paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the testing sensor is connected to the device housing by a cable.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the testing sensor is connected to the device housing by a cable (An evaluation circuit 118 according to an embodiment is shown in FIG. 2. The evaluation circuit 118 may also be referred to as an electronic evaluation and control unit 118. The evaluation circuit 118 can be connected to a first and a second thermocouple 120, 122, in order to ascertain the heat flow sought. The two thermocouples are connected to analogous input terminals 126 of the evaluation circuit 118 via a filtering and stabilizing circuit 124, for example; Paragraph [0027] Line 1-8; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Wolf above shows the testing sensor is connected to the device housing by a cable). The purpose of doing so is to make safety-relevant diagnosis data available such as, for example, the determination of a wire breakage or a short-circuit at the temperature probes and thus makes self-diagnosis of the plug connector possible.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf, to connect the testing sensor to the device housing by a cable because Wolf teaches to connect the testing sensor to the device housing by a cable makes safety-relevant diagnosis data available such as, for example, the determination of a wire breakage or a short-circuit at the temperature probes and thus makes self-diagnosis of the plug connector possible (paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the testing pin is dimensionally equivalent to a charging pin of a charging inlet of the electric vehicle, the testing pin being hollow, the testing probe extending through the hollow interior of the testing pin.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the testing pin is dimensionally equivalent to a charging pin of a charging inlet of the electric vehicle, the testing pin being hollow, the testing probe extending through the hollow interior of the testing pin (The contact pin 100 has a base body 105 and a connection region 106, as shown in FIG. 1, which in the present case is formed as a crimp connection for the connection of a cable. The base body 105 is electrically conductive; Paragraph [0018] Line 1-5; Figure 1 shows the testing pin is hollow, the testing probe extending through the hollow interior of the testing pin). The purpose of doing so is to detect the temperature gradient in the place where it is highest.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf, to include a hollow testing pin because Wolf teaches to include a hollow testing pin makes safety-relevant diagnosis data available such as, for example, the determination of a wire breakage or a short-circuit at the temperature probes and thus makes self-diagnosis of the plug connector possible (paragraph [0029]) and detects the temperature gradient in the place where it is highest (Paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the control panel receives the resistance measurement and sends an output to the user interface indicative of the health of the charging station.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the control panel receives the resistance measurement and sends an output to the user interface indicative of the health of the charging station (If the absolute temperature at a first node point 113 and a temperature difference T1-T2, which drops over the resistance R.sub.known as shown in FIG. 1, are known, the heat flow which flows through the resistance R.sub.known can be calculated. Assuming that the heat capacity C.sub.pin of the contact pin 100 is completely saturated, the heat flow through the resistance R.sub.cond pin is identical to the heat flow through R.sub.known. This is the sought heat flow {dot over (Q)} at a second node point 115, provided that the influence of the convection losses to the environment is disregarded; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-10; The present invention is based on the idea of placing two temperature sensors at the contact pin 100 or contact element along the course of the heat flow. As a result, the thermal resistance between the two temperature sensors (also referred to as temperature probes hereinbelow) can be determined via a calibration step and thus the number of thermal unknowns can be reduced; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-7). The purpose of doing so is to provide a reliable prediction of the temperature in the contact region 104, moreover only the influence of the thermal convection losses to the environment is still important, but this can be taken into account for example via the ascertaining of the ambient temperature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf, to receive the resistance measurement and to send an output to the user interface indicative of the health of the charging station because Wolf teaches to receive the resistance measurement and to send an output to the user interface indicative of the health of the charging station provides a reliable prediction of the temperature in the contact region 104, moreover only the influence of the thermal convection losses to the environment is still important, but this can be taken into account for example via the ascertaining of the ambient temperature (Paragraph [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the control panel sends a passing output if the resistance measurement is below a threshold resistance and the control panel sends a fail output if the resistance measurement is above the threshold resistance.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the control panel sends a passing output if the resistance measurement is below a threshold resistance and the control panel sends a fail output if the resistance measurement is above the threshold resistance (With the aid of the heat flow {dot over (Q)} and the thermal resistances and thermal capacitances known from the equivalent circuit diagram 102, a predicted temperature value T.sub.contact can be calculated (step S7) for the temperature of the contact zone. For the calculation of the predicted or estimated value, the difference between the two first and the two second temperature values and also an absolute value for at least one each of the two first and the two second temperature values is used. The estimated value can be compared to a target value, for example, the electrical current flow being regulated in such a way that the estimated value does not exceed a predetermined deviation from the target value. Alternatively, a comparison of the estimated value with a threshold value can also be provided; Paragraph [0034] Line 1-14). The purpose of doing so is to ensure an imminent overheating in the contact region, to provide a warning signal for interrupting or reducing the current flow, when the estimated value exceeds the threshold value, and/or the extrapolated contact temperature is made available to the control appliance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf, to send a passing output if the resistance measurement is below a threshold resistance and to send a fail output if the resistance measurement is above the threshold resistance because Wolf teaches to send a passing output if the resistance measurement is below a threshold resistance and to send a fail output if the resistance measurement is above the threshold resistance ensures an imminent overheating in the contact region , to provide a warning signal for interrupting or reducing the current flow, when the estimated value exceeds the threshold value, and/or the extrapolated contact temperature is made available to the control appliance (paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a method, wherein said determining a resistance measurement includes performing a four wire resistance measurement.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein said determining a resistance measurement includes performing a four wire resistance measurement (In an embodiment, the two measurement regions 108, 110 are placed in a region with the smallest cross-section of the contact pin 100. A particularly precise prediction of the temperature in the contact region 114 can be ensured if the two temperature probes are placed in such a way that the base body 105 has a smaller thermally conductive cross-sectional area in the two measurement regions 108, 110 than in the other regions of the contact pin 100; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-8; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Wolf above shows probe has four wires two wires in point 108 and two wires in point 110). The purpose of doing so is to detect the temperature gradient in the place where it is highest.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf, to include the testing sensor as a four wire resistance sensor because Wolf teaches to include the testing sensor as a four wire resistance sensor detects the temperature gradient in the place where it is highest (Paragraph [0019]).
Claim(s) 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stephen ‘025 A1 in view of Wolf ‘675 A1 and further in view of Blades ‘401 B2.
Regarding claim 15, Stephen teaches a charging station health monitoring device for monitoring a health of a charging socket of a charging station for an electric vehicle (Systems of the present invention are directed to the fields of electrical devices, electric vehicles, energy storage charging equipment and standards, testing devices, and related fields; Paragraph [0001] Line 1-4; the charging protocol to be tested is determined by sensing the presence of a charging plug in a charging plug receptacle, the charging plug being part of the charging station; Paragraph [0037] Line 1-4; Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-3), the charging station health monitoring device comprising:
a device housing [134] in Figure 1 (Box 134 as the housing) (In yet other embodiments, the computer or controller 132 is integrated as part of the charger testing system 100, as indicated by box 134; Paragraph [0054] Line 17-19) having a user interface [102] (Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown. In this embodiment, the charger testing system 100 is comprised of a user interface 102; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-4);
a control panel [106] (controller 106 as the control panel) in the device housing [134] (Referring now to FIG. 1, a modular block diagram of an embodiment of an electric vehicle (EV) charger testing system 100 is shown. In this embodiment, the charger testing system 100 is comprised of a controller 106; Paragraph [0054] Line 1-5; Figure 1 shows a control panel in the device housing [134]), the control panel [106] operably coupled to the user interface [102] (The user interface 102 is connected to the controller 106, as the controller receives and interprets the inputs and produces the signals sent to the output devices that are part of the user interface 102; Paragraph [0055] Line 7-11); and
a testing sensor (sensors such as current, voltage, or temperature transducers as a source of information) coupled to the control panel [106], the testing sensor coupled to the control panel (A controller 106 is provided in this embodiment to manage, monitor, and report on the operation of other components of the charger testing system 100. For example, the controller 106 may be used to control the primary load module 104 in order to simulate an EV while power is being received from the charging station 116. Furthermore, the controller 106 may be used to interpret user input, execute instructions, and provide information to the user interface 102, logging monitor 112, verification module 114, memory 108, and electronic interface module 110, and to perform other related functions. In this case, the controller 106 may use sensors such as current, voltage, or temperature transducers as a source of information. The controller 106 can be advantageously embodied as a microprocessor, hardware logic controller, general purpose computer, or other control device capable of completing testing procedures. Preferably, the test system controller 106 comprises a digital reprogrammable controller containing memory and control logic sufficient to encompass the requirements for a wide variety of charger testing; Paragraph [0059] Line 1-20).
Stephen fails to teach that the testing sensor including a four wire resistance probe; the four wire resistance probe corresponding to a charging pin of a charging inlet of the electric vehicle and configured to be plugged into the charging socket to interface with a mating interface of the charging socket at four points to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the testing sensor including a four wire resistance probe configured to be plugged into the charging socket to interface with the charging socket at four points to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket (In an embodiment, the two measurement regions 108, 110 are placed in a region with the smallest cross-section of the contact pin 100. A particularly precise prediction of the temperature in the contact region 114 can be ensured if the two temperature probes are placed in such a way that the base body 105 has a smaller thermally conductive cross-sectional area in the two measurement regions 108, 110 than in the other regions of the contact pin 100; Paragraph [0019] Line 1-8; Figure 2: Modified Figure 2 of Wolf above shows probe has four wires two wires in point 108 and two wires in point 110). The purpose of doing so is to detect the temperature gradient in the place where it is highest.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen in view of Wolf, to include the testing sensor as a four wire resistance sensor because Wolf teaches to include the testing sensor as a four wire resistance sensor detects the temperature gradient in the place where it is highest (Paragraph [0019]).
The combination of Stephen and Wolf fails to teach that the probe corresponds to a charging pin and configured to be plugged into the charging socket to interface with a mating interface of the charging socket at four points to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket.
Blades teaches electrical test equipment for testing the integrity of electrical power distribution systems and for locating faults in the same (Column 1 Line 12-14). For example, it may be readily adapted for use on shipboard, aircraft, large vehicles, and other vehicles (Column 3 Line 65-66), wherein
the probe corresponds to a charging pin [226](magnet 226 as the test pin as it is inserted in to the socket for testing) (Figure 20: Modified Figure 20 of Blades below shows a testing pin [226](magnet 226 as the test pin as it is inserted in to the socket for testing), a testing probe [228], and an insulator (body of 228 is made of insulator which is between the probe and pin) between the testing pin and the testing probe; FIG. 19 shows the preferred construction of a low cost probe. The magnet 226 is made to press fit into the end of the probe body 228 which is made of an insulating plastic or retained by some other convenient means. The magnet 226 is preferably coated with a highly conductive, non-corroding metal like nickel or gold. A ferrous, i.e., steel, spacer 227 is adapted to retain the outer insulation of the test wire 230, by means of inside screw threads or the like or by crimping the spacer 227 onto the wire 230; Column 28 Line 26-35) configured to be plugged into the charging socket to interface with a mating interface of the charging socket [221] (FIG. 15 shows a mechanical drawing of a magnetic probe according to the preferred embodiment of the present invention. The magnet 212 extends out the end of an insulating handle 213, which is attached to the end of a sensing wire 214. FIG. 16 shows one such probe 216 attached to a typical Branch Circuit Breaker 215 and a second probe 217 positioned near to but not attached to the circuit breaker wire clamping bolt 218. The size of the magnet and probe are sized to accommodate the bolt 218. FIG. 17 shows another probe 220 attached and nearby but unattached to a typical Main Circuit Breaker (Service Breaker) 219. The large gauge service wires are normally secured to the circuit breaker with large steel socket-head setscrews 221, and the size of the probe 220 is adapted to suit these larger setscrews. FIG. 18 shows yet another probe 223, this one adapted to attach to the screw 224 of a typical grounding or neutral bus bar 225; Column 28 Line 6-22) to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket (The circuit is implemented as a stand-alone plug-in module that when plugged into a standard 3-prong grounded household outlet can determine the individual resistances of each wire feeding the outlet. This stand-alone unit, however, when plugged into an older 2-prong ungrounded outlet or a 2 conductor lamp socket, can determine only the combined resistance of the two wires feeding the outlet (socket). In the preferred embodiment, therefore, developed for use in the SafeWire.TM. system, a separate ground reference wire that runs from the Load Center to the outlet (socket) under test, that is, the umbilical cable, is used to enable the method to determine the individual wire resistances in both 2-wire grounded and 3-wire ungrounded outlets; Column 28 Line 65-67 & Column 29 Line 1-11). The purpose of doing so is to simply stick a magnetic probe on to the commonly flat surface of the bolt to make contact to the circuit, to measure the resistance of each circuit, thus verifying its condition, as well as the length of each circuit, enabling a schematic diagram to be drawn in an automated fashion, to better locate and trace wires in a wall or in conduit, to sense the temperature in case of temperature sensor.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Wolf in view of Blades, because Blades teaches to have the probe corresponds to a charging pin and configured to be plugged into the charging socket to interface with a mating interface ticks a magnetic probe on to the commonly flat surface of the bolt to make contact to the circuit (Column 28 Line 4-5), measures the resistance of each circuit, thus verifying its condition, as well as the length of each circuit, enabling a schematic diagram to be drawn in an automated fashion (Column 6 Line 41-44), better locates and trace wires in a wall or in conduit, senses the temperature in case of temperature sensor (Column 6 Line 56-60).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Stephen and Blades fails to teach a charging station health monitoring device, wherein the control panel receives the resistance measurement and sends an output to the user interface indicative of the health of the charging station, the control panel sending a passing output if the resistance measurement is below a threshold resistance and the control panel sending a fail output if the resistance measurement is above the threshold resistance.
Wolf teaches an electrical contact element for a plug connector and, more particularly, to monitoring a temperature at the plug connector during an electrical current flow (Paragraph [0002] Line 1-3),
wherein the control panel receives the resistance measurement and sends an output to the user interface indicative of the health of the charging station (If the absolute temperature at a first node point 113 and a temperature difference T1-T2, which drops over the resistance R.sub.known as shown in FIG. 1, are known, the heat flow which flows through the resistance R.sub.known can be calculated. Assuming that the heat capacity C.sub.pin of the contact pin 100 is completely saturated, the heat flow through the resistance R.sub.cond pin is identical to the heat flow through R.sub.known. This is the sought heat flow {dot over (Q)} at a second node point 115, provided that the influence of the convection losses to the environment is disregarded; Paragraph [0023] Line 1-10; The present invention is based on the idea of placing two temperature sensors at the contact pin 100 or contact element along the course of the heat flow. As a result, the thermal resistance between the two temperature sensors (also referred to as temperature probes hereinbelow) can be determined via a calibration step and thus the number of thermal unknowns can be reduced; Paragraph [0025] Line 1-7),
the control panel sends a passing output if the resistance measurement is below a threshold resistance and the control panel sends a fail output if the resistance measurement is above the threshold resistance (With the aid of the heat flow {dot over (Q)} and the thermal resistances and thermal capacitances known from the equivalent circuit diagram 102, a predicted temperature value T.sub.contact can be calculated (step S7) for the temperature of the contact zone. For the calculation of the predicted or estimated value, the difference between the two first and the two second temperature values and also an absolute value for at least one each of the two first and the two second temperature values is used. The estimated value can be compared to a target value, for example, the electrical current flow being regulated in such a way that the estimated value does not exceed a predetermined deviation from the target value. Alternatively, a comparison of the estimated value with a threshold value can also be provided; Paragraph [0034] Line 1-14). The purpose of doing so is to ensure an imminent overheating in the contact region, to provide a warning signal for interrupting or reducing the current flow, when the estimated value exceeds the threshold value, and/or the extrapolated contact temperature is made available to the control appliance.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Stephen and Blades in view of Wolf, to send a passing output if the resistance measurement is below a threshold resistance and to send a fail output if the resistance measurement is above the threshold resistance because Wolf teaches to send a passing output if the resistance measurement is below a threshold resistance and to send a fail output if the resistance measurement is above the threshold resistance ensures an imminent overheating in the contact region , to provide a warning signal for interrupting or reducing the current flow, when the estimated value exceeds the threshold value, and/or the extrapolated contact temperature is made available to the control appliance (paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 17, Stephen teaches a charging station health monitoring device,
wherein the control panel sends a pulse voltage to the testing sensor prior to sending a test voltage to the testing sensor, the pulse voltage being higher than the test voltage (In some embodiments a verification module 114 is provided that compares the charging protocol specifications to the output of the charger 116 and reports or stores a verification of whether the specifications are being properly followed in the charger 116. A verification module 114 contains active digital circuits which record the activity under test such as state of the charge sequence, sequence of events, voltage, amperage, temperature, and the communication sequence of the charger. The verification module 114 compares this data to accepted performance data within internal memory to ensure that the EV charge is working within an accepted performance envelope that is required by EV charging standards; Paragraph 0063] Line 1-13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tu et al. (US 20130149914 A1) discloses, “SOCKET CONNECTOR, PLUG CONNECTOR, CONNECTOR ASSEMBLY, AND HANDHELD ELECTRONIC DEVICE- [0002] The present application relates to a connector, and more particularly, to an universal connector compatible with multiple connecting interfaces. [0035] FIG. 7 illustrates a handheld electronic device adopting a socket connector of the present application. As shown in FIG. 7, a handheld electronic device 700, such as a smart phone, comprising a main body 710 and a socket connector 720 is provided. The main body 710 may be provided with common components such as display panel 712 or operation interface 714 thereon. The socket connector 720 on the main body 710 can be coupled to a plug connector 810, thereby the external device 800, such as a earphone, a multimedia display, or a battery charger, having the plug connector 810, can be connected to the main body 710 through the socket connector 720. The socket connector 720 can be the socket connector 100 or the socket connector 400 illustrated in the above embodiments, while the plug connector 810 can be the plug connector 200 or the plug connector 500 matched with the socket connector 100 or the socket connector 400 in the above embodiments. The socket connector 720 is capable of integrating multiple connecting interfaces, such as High-Definition Multimedia Interface (HDMI), audio interface, universal serial bus (USB) interface, charging interface, and so on, for saving the manufacturing cost, and the size and the weight of the handheld electronic device can be reduced-However Tu does not disclose the testing pin configured to plug into the charging socket during testing, the testing pin including a pin interface, the testing probe including a probe interface, the probe interface spaced apart from the pin interface; wherein the testing sensor is configured to be plugged into the charging socket such that the pin interface and the probe interface are configured to engage a mating interface of the charging socket at different testing locations to determine a resistance measurement for the charging socket at the mating interface of the charging socket.”
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NASIMA MONSUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858