DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Sun reference still anticipates at least claim 14 and the rejection of claim 1 in view of Fauteux is now in obviousness-type form as necessitated by amendment.
Applicant asserts in paragraph 5 on page 5 of the Remarks that Fauteux teaches packaging techniques reliant upon the positioning of the tabs. While this may be true, rearranging the location of the tabs to be on the same side is not grounds for patentability. Fauteux could still operate with tabs on the same side and motivation is present to make this modification.
Applicant asserts in paragraph 3 of page 6 that the housing of Sun is rigid. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Sun discloses that the batteries are pouch-type batteries. Pouch-type batteries are by definition semi-flexible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun (US 2023/0268601 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sun discloses an apparatus comprising: a housing 211 at least partially defining an interior volume therein (paragraph 64); a docking interface with a power device (paragraph 55); and a cell pack assembly 22 at least partially positioned within the interior volume (see Figure 3), the cell pack assembly including: a plurality of battery cells 20 arranged in a stack along a stack axis, wherein each battery cell defines a battery cell height T2 parallel to the stack axis, a plurality of intermediate members 101 positioned between adjacent battery cells (paragraph 70), wherein each intermediate member defines an intermediate member height T2 parallel to the stack axis, and wherein the ratio of battery cell height to intermediate member height is at least 3:1 because 0.04≤T1/T2≤2 (paragraph 15). Sun discloses that the cells are pouch-style battery cells (paragraph 52) with positive electrode sheets, negative electrode sheets and separators (paragraph 54) and a plurality of cells (paragraph 6). A pouch-style battery is by definition semi-flexible.
Regarding claim 15, Sun discloses that 0.04≤T1/T2≤2 (paragraph 15) which encompasses a ratio of battery cell height T2 to intermediate member height T1 is at least 7:1.
Regarding claim 16, Sun discloses that each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells has the same battery cell height T2 (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Sun discloses that each intermediate member of the plurality of intermediate members has the same intermediate member height T1 (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 18, Sun discloses that each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells includes a body portion, an anode extending from the body portion, and a cathode extending from the body portion (paragraph 54), and wherein the body portion forms a rectangular-prism shape (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Sun discloses that at least one of the intermediate members forms a rectangular-prism shape (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 20, Sun discloses that the terminals are located on the same side of the cells (see Figure 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fauteux (US 2016/0141728 A1) in view of Matsuoka (US 2020/0091554 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fauteux discloses an apparatus comprising: a housing 11 at least partially defining an interior volume therein and a docking interface 12 (paragraph 23); and a cell pack assembly 40 at least partially positioned within the interior volume, the cell pack assembly 40 including: a plurality of battery cells 30, wherein each battery cell includes a body, an anode extending from the body, and a cathode extending from the body (paragraph 24), wherein the cell pack assembly defines cell packing volume in the shape of a rectangular-prism that completely encompasses each body portion of the plurality of cells (see Figure 9), and wherein the cell pack assembly is packaged such that the combined volume of the body portions of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells occupies no less than 80% of the cell packing volume (paragraph 32). Fauteux discloses that the battery cells are pouch-style (paragraph 24) but does not disclose their terminals are on the same edge. Matsuoka—in an invention for a stack of pouch-type batteries with docking interface—discloses tabs 130 and 140 that extend from the cells on the same edge (see Figure 1). Matsuoka discloses that the tabs are on the same side so they can be connected and monitored on the same side (see Figure 3(b)). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to rearrangements the tabs of Fauteux to be on the same edge if that was helpful for orientation as disclosed in Matsuoka. While Fauteux is explicit in teaching that the tabs are oriented on opposite sides, omission of an element and its function is obvious if the function of the element is not desired. See MPEP 2144.04 II A. Orienting the tabs on the same side has benefit, as well. See MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Fauteux discloses that the fill ratio is over 80% (paragraph 32) which encompasses the claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 4-7, Fauteux discloses at least five cells of the same dimensions and rectangular construction (see Figure 9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725