DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fauteux (US 2016/0141728 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Fauteux discloses an apparatus comprising: a housing 11 at least partially defining an interior volume therein and a docking interface 12 (paragraph 23); and a cell pack assembly 40 at least partially positioned within the interior volume, the cell pack assembly 40 including: a plurality of battery cells 30, wherein each battery cell includes a body, an anode extending from the body, and a cathode extending from the body (paragraph 24), wherein the cell pack assembly defines cell packing volume in the shape of a rectangular-prism that completely encompasses each body portion of the plurality of cells (see Figure 9), and wherein the cell pack assembly is packaged such that the combined volume of the body portions of each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells occupies no less than 80% of the cell packing volume (paragraph 32).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Fauteux discloses that the fill ratio is over 80% (paragraph 32) which encompasses the claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 4-7, Fauteux discloses at least five cells of the same dimensions and rectangular construction (see Figure 9).
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sun (US 2023/0268601 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Sun discloses an apparatus comprising: a housing 211 at least partially defining an interior volume therein (paragraph 64); a docking interface with a power device (paragraph 55); and a cell pack assembly 22 at least partially positioned within the interior volume (see Figure 3), the cell pack assembly including: a plurality of battery cells 20 arranged in a stack along a stack axis, wherein each battery cell defines a battery cell height T2 parallel to the stack axis, a plurality of intermediate members 101 positioned between adjacent battery cells (paragraph 70), wherein each intermediate member defines an intermediate member height T2 parallel to the stack axis, and wherein the ratio of battery cell height to intermediate member height is at least 3:1 because 0.04≤T1/T2≤2 (paragraph 15).
Regarding claim 15, Sun discloses that 0.04≤T1/T2≤2 (paragraph 15) which encompasses a ratio of battery cell height T2 to intermediate member height T1 is at least 7:1.
Regarding claim 16, Sun discloses that each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells has the same battery cell height T2 (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Sun discloses that each intermediate member of the plurality of intermediate members has the same intermediate member height T1 (see Figure 5).
Regarding claim 18, Sun discloses that each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells includes a body portion, an anode extending from the body portion, and a cathode extending from the body portion (paragraph 54), and wherein the body portion forms a rectangular-prism shape (see Figure 3).
Regarding claim 19, Sun discloses that at least one of the intermediate members forms a rectangular-prism shape (see Figure 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koeder (US 2015/0303417 A1) in view of Matsuoka (US 2020/0091554 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Koeder discloses an apparatus comprising: a housing 14a at least partially defining an interior volume therein (paragraph 54); a docking interface 16a (paragraph 56); and a cell pack assembly 22a at least partially positioned within the interior volume (see Figure 4), the cell pack assembly 22a including: a plurality of battery cells 24a, wherein the cell pack assembly defines cell packing volume in the shape of a rectangular-prism that completely encompasses each body portion of the plurality of cells (see Figure 4). It is the Office’s position that a battery cell by definition has a body, an anode extending from the body, and a cathode extending from the body (inherent, necessary). Koeder does not disclose the capacity of the cells. Matsuoka—in an invention for a battery system utilizing lithium—discloses a battery with a capacity of 150 Ah/L or larger (paragraph 389) by using the lithium active material and electrolyte disclosed to increase energy density while suppressing capacity degradation (paragraph 387-388). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the battery materials disclosed in Matsuoka for the cells of Koeder to increase energy density while suppressing capacity degradation as suggested by Matsuoka.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Matsuoka discloses a battery with a capacity of 150 Ah/L or larger (paragraph 389) which encompasses the claimed values.
Regarding claim 11, Koeder discloses the cells have the same construction (see Figure 4).
Regarding claim 12, Koeder discloses that the cells can be prism-shaped (paragraph 8) which would have a height, length, and width, and that the height is 19.5 to 22.5 mm (paragraph 5)
Regarding claim 13, it is the Office’s position that changing the size of the cells is not grounds for patentability. See MPEP 2144.04 IV A.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725