DETAILED ACTION
Amendments filed 24 March 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sulfstede (US 2005/0280384) in view of Tanaka (US 2021/0285679).
Claim 1, Sulfstede discloses a motor drive control device (abstract) comprising:
a control circuit (controller 26, par 0045) for generating a drive control signal (controller command to motor’s internal controls, par 0045) for controlling a rotational speed (“speed/torque is controlled to a specified speed/torque,” par 0053) of a motor (motor 24, par 0045, 0053) based on a speed command signal (specified speed, par 0053, signal is sent from controller 26 to motor’s internal controls, par 0045) indicating a target rotational speed of the motor (specified speed, par 0053; “it should be understood to those skilled in the art that a motor’s speed/torque can be controlled to a specified speed/torque”); and a motor driving unit (motor’s internal controls, par 0045) for driving the motor based on the drive control signal,
wherein the control circuit determines whether the target rotational speed is larger than a rotational speed threshold value which is a fixed value (“nmax” a speed threshold value; fig 6, steps 134-136, asks whether speed or torque at a max or min limit for the selected airflow, par 0053-0055),
wherein the control circuit performs a speed feedback control for generating the drive control signal so that the rotational speed of the motor coincides with the target rotational speed when the target rotational speed is lower than the rotational speed threshold value (specified speed to maintain CFM, par 0053; below the “maximum speed” “the controller [operates] the system in constant airflow mode, in which the motor is commanded to a speed required to deliver the commanded airflow”, par 0053-0054; airflow control is within a specific range of pressure restrictions, claims 4 and 7 ),
wherein when the target rotational speed is higher than the rotational speed threshold value, the control circuit generates the drive control signal by performing either a maximum air volume control (first of two alternates; constant torque mode when motor speed is above the speed limit, par 0053, and until the speed lowers to limit, par 0054) or the speed feedback control (second of two alternatives; “controlled-speed mode” when speed is held constant at S.sub.nmax, when speed reaches a maximum/minimum limit, the controller switches to a speed controlled mode to prevent excessive speed, par 0053; examiner notes that the speed controlled mode is different than the constant airflow mode which controls speed to meet air demand, nevertheless the speed control mode meets the plain meaning of speed feedback control; reasonably both the “airflow control mode” and the “speed controlled mode” can collectively meet the limitation “speed feedback control” because both modes control the speed of the motor)
wherein the maximum air volume control generates the drive control signal so that the rotational speed of the motor does not exceed the rotational speed threshold value (constant torque mode when motor speed is above the speed limit, and until the speed lowers to limit, par 0054; the “does not exceed the rotational speed threshold value” is an intended result of a control which returns excessive speed to a threshold value), and
…
wherein the control circuit performs switching between the maximum air volume control and the speed feedback control based on an estimated external pressure (reasonably, it is possible to switch from a constant torque / maximum air volume control when above a speed threshold to a constant air volume / speed feedback control when switching CFM bins based on the relevant external pressure; examiner notes that fig 2 shows that switching from one CFM to another CFM can change whether the particular RPM is above or below the max limit line; a person of ordinary skill would recognize that decreases in torque toward the left in fig 2, reasonably could be the result of decreases in pressure as shown in fig 1; each constant airflow bin is between CFM curves over a narrow range of relevant external static pressure regions, par 0034-0035; each operation range for each discrete airflow implements a separate CFM control, par 0052),
wherein when the estimated external pressure is lower than a predetermined pressure value (static pressure below the upper value of the narrow range of relevant external static pressure region for each CFM curve, par 0034-0035), the control circuit performs the maximum air volume control (constant torque above the max speed on a particular CFM curve, par 0053-0055), and wherein when the estimated external pressure is higher than the predetermined pressure value (static pressure above the lower value of the narrow range of relevant external static pressure region for each CFM curve, par 0034-0035, examiner notes that fig 2 indicates that the lower value of range of pressure value is also the higher value of the next lower range of pressures), the control circuit performs the speed feedback control (speed is controlled to meet flow requirements on the CFM curve when within the max/min limits, par 0053-0055).
Sulfstede is silent on wherein the control circuit compares an actual current value of a current flowing through the motor with a current threshold value of the current flowing through the motor, estimates an external pressure based on a result of the comparison,
Nevertheless, Sulfstede teaches estimating the external pressure by comparing torque of the motor, to a torque threshold of the motor as shown above. Sulfstede is silent on the exact method of measuring said torque.
Tanaka teaches analogous motor control circuit for an air conditioning fan (par 0003) where the the control circuit compares an actual current value (measure current at the motor par 0007, 0021) of a current flowing through the motor (control current lx, par 0007, 0030) with a current threshold value of the current flowing through the motor (current characteristic data 25b, par 0030), estimates an external pressure based on a result of the comparison (motor current is used to obtain the external static pressure, par 0007, 0024; “external static pressure estimation unit 22 estimates the present external static pressure X, by comparing the control current lx … with the current characteristic data 25b,” par 0030).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the torque measurement to a torque threshold for external static pressure of Sulfstede with the current measurement to a current threshold for external static pressure of Tanaka in order to accurately estimate the external static pressure using control current (par 0007-0008) which allows an adjustment for when there is a difference between the reference motor current in the current characteristic data and the measured motor current due to varieties in installation environment (par 0005) thereby improving the accuracy in estimating external static pressure (par 0005).
Claim 2, Sulfstede in view of Tanaka teaches the motor drive control device according to claim 1,
wherein under a state where the target rotational speed is higher than the rotational speed threshold value (Sulfstede, speed outside of maximum limit, such that the controller responds by going into speed controlled mode, par 0052-0053), the control circuit performs the speed feedback control when the actual current value is larger than the current threshold value (speed controlled mode when torque value is outside of maximum limit, par 0053; examiner notes that either speed controlled mode or torque controlled mode is selected by the user in response to either torque/speed outside of the limits for the selected airflow bin, par 0053).
Sulfstede is silent on performing the maximum air volume control when the actual current value is smaller than the current threshold value.
Nevertheless, Sulfstede teaches airflow control mode when below the individual limit for each airflow bin (constant torque below the min limit, par 0051, 0057) where the individual limit may be calculated for both speed and torque (par 0054).
Tanaka further teaches that external static pressure measurements correspond to rated air volume (par 0032) where current measured value of current used to estimate the external static pressure is used to control volume of air (par 0058) and adjustments to air volume (par 0061-0066).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement of current to determine static pressure of Sulfstede in view of Tanaka to determine air volume controls as taught by Tanaka in order to maintain the volume of air in the space (par 0064) supply an appropriate volume of air corresponding to load to the space (par 0066) and adjust to changes in variations in duct work or clogging of air filters (par 0064-0066).
As a result, Sulfstede in view of Tanaka make obvious the maximum air volume control when the actual current value is smaller than the current threshold value (Tanaka, predictable result of using the current threshold of external static pressure changes to control air volume).
Claim 3, Sulfstede in view of Tanaka teaches the motor drive control device according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit generates the drive control signal in the maximum air volume control so that the motor rotates at a rotational speed corresponding to the rotational speed threshold value (constant torque mode when motor speed is above the speed limit, and until the speed lowers to limit, par 0054; the “motor rotates at a rotational speed corresponding to the rotational speed threshold value” is an intended result of a control which returns excessive speed to a threshold value).
Claim 5, Sulfstede discloses a fan (fig 4, fan, par 0016) comprising: a motor (24, par 0045),
an impeller (fig 7, blower wheel, par 0058) configured to be rotatable by rotational force of the motor; and a motor drive control device (controller 26 and motor’s internal controls, par 0045) for controlling driving of the motor,
wherein the motor drive control device comprises a control circuit (controller 26, par 0045) for generating a drive control signal (controller command to motor’s internal controls, par 0045) for controlling a rotational speed (“speed/torque is controlled to a specified speed/torque,” par 0053) of a motor (motor 24, par 0045, 0053) based on a speed command signal (specified speed, par 0053, signal is sent from controller 26 to motor’s internal controls, par 0045) indicating a target rotational speed (specified speed, par 0053) of the motor; and a motor driving unit (motor’s internal controls, par 0045) for driving the motor based on the drive control signal,
wherein the control circuit determines whether the target rotational speed is larger than a rotational speed threshold value which is a fixed value (“nmax” a speed threshold value; fig 6, steps 134-136, asks whether speed or torque at a max or min limit for the selected airflow, par 0053-0055; determines whether speed at the individual limit for the selected airflow, par 0051; the individual limit for speed is fixed for each selected airflow, it is a digital airflow number and does not change over a continuum of airflows, par 0036),
wherein the control circuit performs a speed feedback control for generating the drive control signal so that the rotational speed of the motor coincides with the target rotational speed when the target rotational speed is lower than the rotational speed threshold value (specified speed to maintain CFM, par 0053; airflow control mode, par 0053; motor speed is commanded to a speed required to deliver the commanded airflow, par 0053, the target speed is selected based on the CFM curves that relate torque and speed, par 0033-0036),
wherein when the target rotational speed is higher than the rotational speed threshold value, the control circuit generates the drive control signal by performing either a maximum air volume control (first of two alternates; constant torque mode when motor speed is above the speed limit, and until the speed lowers to limit, par 0054) or the speed feedback control (second of two alternatives; “controlled-speed mode” when speed is held constant at S.sub.nmax, when speed reaches a maximum/minimum limit, the controller switches to a speed controlled mode, or torque controlled mode, to prevent excessive speed, par 0053; examiner notes that the speed controlled mode is different than the constant airflow mode which controls speed to meet air demand, nevertheless the speed control mode meets the plain meaning of speed feedback control; reasonably both the “airflow control mode” and the “speed controlled mode” can collectively meet the limitation “speed feedback control” because both modes control the speed of the motor)
wherein the maximum air volume control generates the drive control signal so that the rotational speed of the motor does not exceed the rotational speed threshold value (constant torque mode when motor speed is above the speed limit, and until the speed lowers to limit, par 0054; the “does not exceed the rotational speed threshold value” is an intended result of a control which returns excessive speed to a threshold value), and
wherein the control circuit performs switching between the maximum air volume control and the speed feedback control based on an estimated external pressure (reasonably, it is possible to switch from a constant torque / maximum air volume control when above a speed threshold to a constant air volume / speed feedback control when switching CFM bins based on the relevant external pressure; examiner notes that fig 2 shows that switching from one CFM to another CFM can change whether the particular RPM is above or below the max limit line; fig 2, each constant airflow bin is between CFM curves over a narrow range of relevant external static pressure regions, par 0034-0035; each operation range for each discrete airflow implements a separate CFM control, par 0052;)
estimated by a comparison result between a [torque] value (speed and torque mathematically relate to show CFM, par 0048, 0052) of [torque at] the motor (speed and torque of the motor 23, par 0048, 0052) and a [torque] threshold value (torque limit for the value appropriate for the blower’s performance curve, par 0051; 0052) of the [torque at] the motor (motor torque, par 0048, 0051, 0052),
wherein when the estimated external pressure is lower than a predetermined pressure value (static pressure below the upper value of the narrow range of relevant external static pressure region for each CFM curve, par 0034-0035), the control circuit performs the maximum air volume control (constant torque above the max speed on a particular CFM curve, par 0053-0055), and wherein when the estimated external pressure is higher than the predetermined pressure value (static pressure above the lower value of the narrow range of relevant external static pressure region for each CFM curve, par 0034-0035; examiner notes that fig 2 indicates that the lower value of range of pressure value is also the higher value of the next lower range of pressures), the control circuit performs the speed feedback control (speed is controlled to meet flow requirements on the CFM curve when within the max/min limits, par 0053-0055).
Sulfstede is silent on:
Wherein the control circuit compares an actual current value of a current flowing through the motor with a current threshold value of the current flowing through the motor, estimates an external pressure based on a result of the comparison.
Nevertheless, Sulfstede teaches estimating the external pressure by comparing torque of the motor, to a torque threshold of the motor as shown above. Sulfstede is silent on the exact method of measuring said torque.
Tanaka teaches analogous motor control circuit for an air conditioning fan (par 0003) where the the control circuit compares an actual current value (measure current at the motor par 0007, 0021) of a current flowing through the motor (control current lx, par 0007, 0030) with a current threshold value of the current flowing through the motor (current characteristic data 25b, par 0030), estimates an external pressure based on a result of the comparison (motor current is used to obtain the external static pressure, par 0007, 0024; “external static pressure estimation unit 22 estimates the present external static pressure X, by comparing the control current lx … with the current characteristic data 25b,” par 0030).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the torque measurement to a torque threshold for external static pressure of Sulfstede with the current measurement to a current threshold for external static pressure of Tanaka in order to accurately estimate the external static pressure using control current (par 0007-0008) which allows an adjustment for when there is a difference between the reference motor current in the current characteristic data and the measured motor current due to varieties in installation environment (par 0005) thereby improving the accuracy in estimating external static pressure (par 0005).
Claim 6, Sulfstede discloses a motor drive control method of generating a drive control signal (controller command to motor’s internal controls, par 0045) for controlling driving (“speed/torque is controlled to a specified speed/torque,” par 0053) of a motor (motor 24, par 0045, 0053) based on a speed command signal (specified speed, par 0053, signal is sent from controller 26 to motor’s internal controls, par 0045) indicating a target rotational speed (specified speed, par 0053) of the motor for driving the motor based on the drive control signal,
comprising:
a first step of determining whether the target rotational speed is larger than
a rotational speed threshold value which is a fixed value (fig 6, has blower speed reached the individual limit for speed set for each selected airflow, par 0051),
a second step of performing speed feedback control (airflow control mode, par 0053; motor speed is commanded to a speed required to deliver the commanded airflow, par 0053) for generating the drive control signal so that a rotational speed of the motor coincides with the target rotational speed when the target rotational speed is lower than the rotational speed threshold value (at below the speed limit it operates in airflow control mode, par 0051; when operating in airflow control mode, motor speed is commanded to a speed required to deliver the commanded airflow, par 0053 );
a third step o, when the target rotational speed is higher than the rotational speed threshold value (constant torque mode when motor speed is above the speed limit, and until the speed lowers to limit, par 0054) … performing switching between the maximum air volume control and the speed feedback control based on the estimated external pressure (individual limit set to transition from “airflow control mode” to either a constant torque or constant speed mode, par 0051;the control model relates torque and RPM along each constant CFM curve over a narrow range of relevant external static pressure regions, par 0034; it is implemented for each operation range, par 0052)), wherein the maximum air volume control generates the drive control signal so that the rotational speed of the motor does not exceed the rotational speed threshold value (constant torque mode when motor speed is above the speed limit, and until the speed lowers to limit, par 0054; the “does not exceed the rotational speed threshold value” is an intended result of a control which returns excessive speed to a threshold value), and
a fourth step of generating the drive control signal (the controller signals the motor to operate in the desired mode, par 0053) by performing either the maximum air volume control or the speed feedback control based on the switching of the third step (“airflow control mode,” constant torque and constant speed mode are at the command of the controller, par 0045, 0051), wherein when the estimated external pressure is lower than a predetermined pressure value (static pressure below the upper value of the narrow range of relevant external static pressure region for each CFM curve, par 0034-0035), the maximum air volume control is performed (constant torque above the max speed on a particular CFM curve, par 0053-0055), and wherein when the estimated external pressure is higher than the predetermined pressure value (static pressure above the lower value of the narrow range of relevant external static pressure region for each CFM curve, par 0034-0035, examiner notes that fig 2 indicates that the lower value of range of pressure value is also the higher value of the next lower range of pressures), the speed feedback control is performed (speed is controlled to meet flow requirements on the CFM curve when within the max/min limits, par 0053-0055).
Sulfstede is silent on:
Comparing an actual current value of a current flowing through the motor with a current thshold value of the current flowing through the motor, estimating an external pressure based upon a result of the comprasion.
Tanaka teaches analogous motor control circuit for an air conditioning fan (par 0003) where the the control circuit compares an actual current value (measure current at the motor par 0007, 0021) of a current flowing through the motor (control current lx, par 0007, 0030) with a current threshold value of the current flowing through the motor (current characteristic data 25b, par 0030), estimates an external pressure based on a result of the comparison (motor current is used to obtain the external static pressure, par 0007, 0024; “external static pressure estimation unit 22 estimates the present external static pressure X, by comparing the control current lx … with the current characteristic data 25b,” par 0030).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the torque measurement to a torque threshold for external static pressure of Sulfstede with the current measurement to a current threshold for external static pressure of Tanaka in order to accurately estimate the external static pressure using control current (par 0007-0008) which allows an adjustment for when there is a difference between the reference motor current in the current characteristic data and the measured motor current due to varieties in installation environment (par 0005) thereby improving the accuracy in estimating external static pressure (par 0005).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sulfstede in view of Tanaka in view of Ishikawa (US 2015/0372630).
Regarding 4, Sulfstede in view of Yang teaches the motor drive control device according to claim 1, … a speed controller (speed controlled mode, par 0053) for generating a first control signal so that the actual rotational speed calculated by the rotational speed calculator coincides with the target rotational speed indicated by the speed command signal (command at each speed, par 0047)…; a maximum air volume controller for generating a second control signal so that the rotational speed of the motor does not exceed the rotational speed threshold value when the target rotational speed is larger than the rotational speed threshold value and the actual [torque value] is smaller than the [torque] threshold value (step 134 determines if speed or torque is at a maximum or minimum limit for the selected airflow, and determines the correct control if the limits are not reached; par 0053 or step 134 the limits have been reached, par 0053); and a drive control signal generator for generating the drive control signal based on the first control signal or the second control signal (motor drive controller, par 0015, 0017).
Sulfstede is silent on:
the means of speed detection wherein the control circuit comprises a rotational speed calculator for calculating an actual rotational speed of the motor based on a position detection signal indicating a rotational position of the motor
the means of current/torque detection wherein, a current value acquisition unit for acquiring the actual current value
Maximum air volume control where the actual current value acquired by the current value acquisition unit is larger than the current threshold value.
Ishikawa teaches a fan motor wherein the control circuit comprises a rotational speed calculator (detection of position is processed in order to calculate rotation speed, par 0070) for calculating an actual rotational speed of the motor (rotational speed is calculated, par 0070) based on a position detection signal indicating a rotational position of the motor (position sensor indicates rotation angle of the motor, par 0070).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the speed detection means of Sulfstede with the position sensor and speed calculator taught by Ishikawa for the expected result of determining speed of Sulfstede’s motor (blower speed is detected to determine whether it is within the limits of the selected airflow, par 0051).
Tanaka further teaches that external static pressure measurements correspond to rated air volume (par 0032) with current acquisition unit (current measurement unit 40, par 0043), where current measured value of current used to estimate the external static pressure is used to control volume of air (par 0058) and adjustments to air volume (par 0061-0066).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement of current to determine static pressure of Sulfstede in view of Tanaka to determine air volume controls as taught by Tanaka in order to maintain the volume of air in the space (par 0064) supply an appropriate volume of air corresponding to load to the space (par 0066) and adjust to changes in variations in duct work or clogging of air filters (par 0064-0066).
As a result, Sulfstede in view of Tanaka make obvious the means of current/torque detection wherein, a current value acquisition unit for acquiring the actual current value, maximum air volume control where the actual current value acquired by the current value acquisition unit is larger than the current threshold value (Tanaka, predictable result of measuring current and using the current threshold of external static pressure changes to control air volume).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5 and 6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, new art Tanaka was incorporated into the rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEOFFREY S LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/DOMINICK L PLAKKOOTTAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746