Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that the claims at issue overcome the prior art of record because the claim limitation “that is distinct from the original neural network model” has been added.
While Examiner appreciates the annotated version of Figure 2 of the application, the term “distinct” is at question. Examiner asserts that Figure 2 shows that the subnetwork is derived from the original neural network and that further extraction of an “alternative block” is from “B” and said subnetwork. It is unclear to the Examiner at what point a subnetwork/alternative block is “distinct” from the original neural network.
The Saniee reference teaches that the subnetwork extracted from and then further retrained/pruned, added to, and re-weighted. Examiner would argue that this is “distinct” from the original neural network. Applicant has not specified that “distinct” requires some external influence “B” or any other input for the claims at issue. Examiner asserts that such a subnetwork and follow up alternative blocks are “distinct” from the original neural network.
In order to advance prosecution Examiner incorporates Gupta US 2022/0084677 which hopefully more comprehensively addresses Applicant’s limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saniee US 2022/0318631 in view of En US 2021/030296 in view of Gupta US 2022/0084677 .
As per claim 1. Saniee teaches A method of searching for a light-weight model through the replacement of a subnetwork of a trained neural network model, the method comprising: a preprocessing step of extracting a subnetwork from an original neural network model, constructing a mapping relation between the subnetwork and an alternative block corresponding to the subnetwork by extracting the alternative block from a pre-trained neural network model, and generating profiling information comprising performance information relating to the subnetwork and the alternative block; (teaches subnetworks extracted from a neural network and an alternative block extracted from the subnetwork through pruning, generating profiling information comprising performance (accuracy) relating to the blocks) [0004]-[0008], [0055][[0060][0062][0063][0068][0072][0073]
En teaches and a query processing step of receiving a query, extracting a constraint that is included in the query through query parsing, and generating a final model based on the constraint, the original neural network model, the alternative block, the mapping relation, and the profiling information. [0036][0037][0046][0053] (teaches creating a lightweight model from subnetworks of a neural network based on the goal of accuracy and prediction time in order to recognize text at the best and fastest lightweight method)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the current application to use En with the prior art because it provides a more efficient neural network.
Gupta supplementally teaches extracting the alternative block from a pretrained neural network model that is distinct from the original neural network model. [0076][0091] (teaches combining subnetworks into an alternate combiner network to increase accuracy)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective priority date of the current application to use Gupta with the prior art because it provides a more accurate neural network.
As per claim 2. Saniee teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the preprocessing step comprises steps of: extracting the subnetwork from the original neural network model; constructing the mapping relation between the subnetwork and the alternative block by extracting the alternative block corresponding to the subnetwork from the pre-trained neural network model; and generating the profiling information based on the subnetwork and the alternative block, wherein the subnetwork is one connected neural network. (teaches extracting the subnetwork from the NN, and a pruned subnetwork as an alternate block, profiling the accuracy of the subnetwork and the alternative block) [0072]-[0074] [0081]
As per claim 3. The method of claim 1, Saniee teaches wherein the query processing step comprises steps of: receiving the query and extracting the constraint through query parsing; generating a candidate neural network model based on the original neural network model, the alternative block, and the mapping relation; and evaluating the candidate neural network model based on the constraint and the profiling information and selecting the final model from the candidate neural network model based on results of the evaluation of the candidate neural network model. [0004] [0072]-[0074][0081][0083] (training the subnetwork and then pruning in an iterative manner until the performance of the alternative block is to the desired threshold)
As per claim 4. The method of claim 2, wherein: En teaches the step of constructing the mapping relation between the subnetwork and the alternative block comprises determining compatibility between the subnetwork and the alternative block and constructing the mapping relation based on the compatibility, and the compatibility means that each of an input and output of the subnetwork and each of an input and output of the alternative block have an identical number of dimensions and an identical number of channels and a change in a spatial dimension of data when the data passes through the subnetwork and a change in a spatial dimension of the data when the data passes through the alternative block are identical with each other. [0053] (teaches that the parallel subnetworks are identical in structure)
As per claim 5. The method of claim 4, Saniee teaches wherein the step of constructing the mapping relation between the subnetwork and the alternative block comprises: determining the compatibility between the subnetwork and the alternative block, and adjusting the number of channels of the alternative block by using at least any one of schemes comprising pruning and an addition of a projection layer, if the compatibility is not satisfied because at least any one of the number of input channels and the number of output channels of the alternative block is different from at least any one of the number of input channels and the number of output channels of the subnetwork. [0004] [0023-[0025] [0072]-[0074][0081][0083] (training the subnetwork and adding or pruning connections for the subnetwork depending on need; pruning in an iterative manner until the performance of the alternative block is to the desired threshold)
En additionally teaches that the subnetworks can be chosen to be the same structures. [0053]
As per claim 6. The method of claim 1, Saniee teaches wherein the preprocessing step comprises: after constructing the mapping relation, training the alternative block by using a knowledge distillation scheme based on data for training the alternative block, the original neural network model, and the mapping relation, and generating the profiling information comprising performance information relating to the subnetwork and the trained alternative block. [0004] [0072]-[0074][0081][0083] (training the subnetwork and then pruning in an iterative manner until the performance of the alternative block is to the desired threshold)
As per claim 7. The method of claim 1, Saniee teaches wherein the profiling information comprises, at least any one of, accuracy of the original neural network model before and after replacement of the subnetwork with the alternative block, inference time and memory usage of the subnetwork and the alternative block, or any combination of the inference time, the memory usage and the accuracy. [0072]-[0074][0083] (determining accuracy with subnetwork and alternative block)
As per claim 8. The method of claim 1, En teaches wherein the constraint comprises at least any one of a target platform, target latency, and target memory usage or a combination of the target platform, the target latency, and the target memory usage. [0032][0049][0053] (optimizing/constraint, of accuracy and time consumption/latency)
As per claim 9. The method of claim 1, Saniee teaches wherein the query processing step comprises: training the final model by using a knowledge distillation scheme based on data for training the final model and the original neural network model, and outputting the trained final model. [0059] [0083] (training neural network to subnetwork and ultimately final pruned network)
As per claim 10. Saniee teaches An apparatus for searching for a light-weight model, comprising: a preprocessing module configured to extract a subnetwork from an original neural network model, construct a mapping relation between the subnetwork and an alternative block corresponding to the subnetwork by extracting the alternative block from a pre-trained neural network model, and generate profiling information comprising performance information relating to the subnetwork and the alternative block; (teaches subnetworks extracted from a neural network and an alternative block extracted from the subnetwork through pruning, generating profiling information comprising performance (accuracy) relating to the blocks) [0004]-[0008], [0055][[0060][0062][0063][0068][0072][0073]
En teaches and a query processing module configured to receive a query, extract a constraint that is included in the query through query parsing, and generate a final model based on the constraint, the original neural network model, the alternative block, the mapping relation, and the profiling information. [0036][0037][0046][0053] (teaches creating a lightweight model from subnetworks of a neural network based on the goal of accuracy and prediction time in order to recognize text at the best and fastest lightweight method)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the current application to use En with the prior art because it provides a more efficient neural network.
Gupta supplementally teaches extracting the alternative block from a pretrained neural network model that is distinct from the original neural network model. [0076][0091] (teaches combining subnetworks into an alternate combiner network to increase accuracy)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective priority date of the current application to use Gupta with the prior art because it provides a more accurate neural network.
As per claim 11. The apparatus of claim 10, Saniee teaches wherein the preprocessing module comprises: a subnetwork generation unit configured to extract the subnetwork from the original neural network model; an alternative block generation unit configured to construct the mapping relation between the subnetwork and the alternative block by extracting the alternative block corresponding to the subnetwork from the pre-trained neural network model; and a profiling unit configured to generate the profiling information based on the subnetwork and the alternative block, wherein the subnetwork is one connected neural network. (teaches extracting the subnetwork from the NN, and a pruned subnetwork as an alternate block, profiling the accuracy of the subnetwork and the alternative block) [0072]-[0074] [0081]
As per claim 12. The apparatus of claim 10, Saniee teaches wherein the query processing module comprises: a query parsing unit configured to receive the query and extract the constraint through query parsing; a candidate model generation unit configured to generate a candidate neural network model based on the original neural network model, the alternative block, and the mapping relation; and a candidate model evaluation unit configured to evaluate the candidate neural network model based on the constraint and the profiling information and to select the final model from the candidate neural network model based on results of the evaluation of the candidate neural network model. [0004] [0072]-[0074][0081][0083] (training the subnetwork and then pruning in an iterative manner until the performance of the alternative block is to the desired threshold)
As per claim 13. The apparatus of claim 11, wherein: En teaches the alternative block generation unit determines compatibility between the subnetwork and the alternative block and constructs the mapping relation based on the compatibility, and the compatibility means that each of an input and output of the subnetwork and each of an input and output of the alternative block have an identical number of dimensions and an identical number of channels and a change in a spatial dimension of data when the data passes through the subnetwork and a change in a spatial dimension of the data when the data passes through the alternative block are identical with each other. [0053] (teaches that the parallel subnetworks are identical in structure)
As per claim 14. The apparatus of claim 13, Saniee teaches wherein the alternative block generation unit determines the compatibility between the subnetwork and the alternative block, and adjusts the number of channels of the alternative block by using at least any one of schemes comprising pruning and an addition of a projection layer, if the compatibility is not satisfied because at least any one of the number of input channels and the number of output channels of the alternative block is different from at least any one of the number of input channels and the number of output channels of the subnetwork. [0004] [0023-[0025] [0072]-[0074][0081][0083] (training the subnetwork and adding or pruning connections for the subnetwork depending on need; pruning in an iterative manner until the performance of the alternative block is to the desired threshold)
En additionally teaches that the subnetworks can be chosen to be the same structures. [0053]
As per claim 15. The apparatus of claim 10, Saniee teaches wherein after constructing the mapping relation, the preprocessing module trains the alternative block by using a knowledge distillation scheme based on data for training the alternative block, the original neural network model, and the mapping relation, and generates the profiling information comprising performance information relating to the subnetwork and the trained alternative block. [0004] [0072]-[0074][0081][0083] (training the subnetwork and then pruning in an iterative manner until the performance of the alternative block is to the desired threshold)
As per claim 16. The apparatus of claim 10, Saniee teaches wherein the profiling information comprises at least any one of, accuracy of the original neural network model before and after replacement of the subnetwork with the alternative block, inference time and memory usage of each of the subnetwork and the alternative block, or any combination of the inference time, the memory usage and the accuracy. . [0072]-[0074][0083] (determining accuracy with subnetwork and alternative block)
As per claim 17. The apparatus of claim 10, En teaches wherein the constraint comprises at least any one of a target platform, target latency, and target memory usage or a combination of the target platform, the target latency, and the target memory usage. [0032][0049][0053] (optimizing/constraint, of accuracy and time consumption/latency)
As per claim 18. The apparatus of claim 10, Saniee teaches wherein the query processing module trains the final model by using a knowledge distillation scheme based on data for training the final model and the original neural network model, and outputs the trained final model. [0059] [0083] (training neural network to subnetwork and ultimately final pruned network)
As per claim 19. The apparatus of claim 13, Saniee teaches wherein: the alternative block generation unit constructs the mapping relation by extracting, from the pre-trained neural network model, the alternative block having the compatibility, but having a structure different from a structure of the subnetwork, and the different structure means that at least any one of criteria comprising a parameter, a number of layers, an arrangement of the layers, a connection structure between the layers, or a conversion function or a combination of the criteria is different. [0004] [0055][0059] [0072]-[0074][0081][0083] (teaches that the alternative block is a pruning of the subnetwork and therefore connections and arrangements are a different structure, that the network is a series of layers and connections)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439