DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Applicant’s Amendment filed on 01/12/2026 in which claims 1-18 have been canceled, claims 19-20, 25-26, and 32 have been amended, claims 35-38 were added on 06/27/2025 but currently missing, and entered of record.
Paragraph [0077] has been amended to correct a minor informality and is OK to enter.
Claims 19-34 are presented for examination.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed on 01/12/2026 with respect to independent claims 19 and 32 have been considered but are not persuasive. Please see response below.
Regarding the claim 19, respecting to the first argument, Applicant argues that “the proposed combination of Sella and Marinopoulos at least fails to disclose or suggest, "a plurality of power devices arranged in a permanent physical order" and "wherein the electrical circuits of each adjacent pair of the plurality of power devices along the permanent physical order are permanently connected by a different one of the plurality of electrical cables" of claim 19” (see Remarks on page 10).
In response, the arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagree because a particular claim element can be mentioned explicitly in the reference or it can be inherent. The reference does not have to describe a claim element in precisely the same words used in the application claim. The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required." (In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 832 (Fed. Cir.1990)). In this case, Fig. 3, Sella clearly show physical order of each power device 305a-305d with respect to each solar panel 301a-301d. Furthermore, when these solar panel are installed, they must have a physical location.
Respecting to the second argument, Applicant argues that “the proposed combination of Sella and Marinopoulos also fails to disclose or suggest, "wherein the plurality of unique identifiers identify the permanent physical order of the plurality of power devices" of claim 19” (see Remarks on pages 10-11).
In response, the arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Again, Examiner respectfully disagree because a particular claim element can be mentioned explicitly in the reference or it can be inherent. The reference does not have to describe a claim element in precisely the same words used in the application claim. The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required." (In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 832 (Fed. Cir.1990)). In this case, in paragraph [0120], Sella clearly discloses “During installation, parameters such as serial number, physical location and the array connection topology may be stored in the NVRAM 713. These parameters may be used by analysis software to detect future problems in solar panels 701 and arrays”. The disclosure clearly indicates when the solar panels and the power device installed in a permanent physical order, serial number will identify physical location of each power device.
Respecting to the third argument, Applicant argues that “the proposed combination of Sella and Marinopoulos also fails to disclose or suggest, "wherein a quantity of the plurality of power devices is greater than a quantity of the plurality of power generators thereby providing one or more spare power devices that are configured to connect to one or more power generators of the plurality of power generators" of claim 19” (see Remarks on pages 10-11).
In response, the arguments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Sella discloses one power device for each solar panel. Sella does not discloses spare power device. In paragraph [0043], Marinopoulos clearly disclose spare device can be added “In the general case an extra converter cell and a bypass switch at the output of each cell can be added for redundancy”. Clearly, a redundancy power device can be connected to another solar panel as a pare power device. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sella to incorporate the teaching of Marinopoulos and provide redundancy converter as spare device configured to connect to one or more solar panel and have: wherein a quantity of the plurality of power devices is greater than a quantity of the plurality of power generators thereby providing one or more spare power devices that are configured to connect to one or more power generators of the plurality of power generators. Doing so would allow having extra power device for minimize downtime of a generator having a failed power device in the system since the concept of having extra or spare power device is known in the art.
Applicant also pointed to other teaching of Marinopoulos for further arguments. However, the arguments are moot because the main reason to introduce the reference of Marinopoulos is to provide as an evidence that having extra power device in a system as redundancy components is known in the art.
Regarding the claim 32, the claim recites similar features similar to claim 19 above, therefore, same responses would apply.
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Claims 35-38 are missing and have no identifier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 and 25-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sella et al., US Patent Publication 20090206666; hereinafter “Sella” in view of Marinopoulos et al., US Patent Publication 20210135455; hereinafter “Marinopoulos”.
Regarding claim 19, Sella discloses a system (Fig. 3 to Fig. 15) comprising:
a plurality of power generators (Fig. 3, 301a to 301d); and
a string of power devices (Fig. 3, 305a-d) comprising:
a plurality of power devices (Fig. 3, 305a-d) arranged in a permanent physical order (Fig. 3, 305a-d each arranged in a string physical order), each power device (Fig. 3, 305a-d) of the plurality of power devices (Fig. 3, 305a-d) comprising an electrical circuit (Fig. 3, 305a-d are power converter circuit), a unique identifier [0120] of a plurality of unique identifiers [0120], and at least one power input terminal (Fig. 3, input terminals of 305 receive power from solar panels 301) configured to receive electrical power from at least one power generator of the plurality of power generators [0069], wherein the plurality of unique identifiers identify the permanent physical order of the plurality of power devices ([0120] memory of each power device stores serial number and location indicates when the solar panels and the power device installed in a permanent physical order, serial number will identify physical location of each power device), and wherein a quantity of the plurality of power devices is greater than a quantity of the plurality of power generators thereby providing one or more spare power devices that are configured to connect to one or more power generators of the plurality of power generators; and
a plurality of electrical cables (Fig. 3 shows connections between converters 305), wherein the electrical circuits of each adjacent pair of the plurality of power devices along the permanent physical order are permanently connected by a different one of the plurality of electrical cables (Fig. 3, each adjacent pair of the plurality of power devices 305 are permanently connected by a different one of the plurality of electrical cables),
Sella does not disclose one or more spare power devices. Marinopoulos discloses a solar power system and suggest extra power device can be added for redundancy [0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sella to incorporate the teaching of Marinopoulos and provide a quantity of the plurality of power devices is greater than a quantity of the plurality of power generators thereby providing one or more spare power devices that are configured to connect to one or more power generators of the plurality of power generators (spare power device mean to connect to one or more generator). Doing so would allow having extra power device for minimize downtime of a generator having a failed power device in the system since the concept of having extra or spare power device is known in the art.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 19 above, Sella also discloses the system further comprising:
a plurality of second power devices arranged in a second permanent physical order (Figs. 12-13 shows parallel connections between power devices); and
a plurality of second electrical cables (Figs. 12-13 shows connections between converters 1308 in each of a plurality of junction boxes 1206 and 1204b-d), wherein each electrical cable of the plurality of second electrical cables comprises one of a plurality of second power conductors (Figs. 12-13 shows connections between converters 1308 in each of a plurality of junction boxes 1206 and 1204b-d are parallel connections), and wherein each adjacent pair of the plurality of second power devices along the second permanent physical order are permanently connected by a different one of the second power conductors (Figs. 12-13 shows connections between converters 1308 in each of a plurality of junction boxes 1206 and 1204b-d are parallel connections having a different one of power conductors). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sella’s embodiment of Fig. 3 to incorporate the teaching of Sella’s embodiment of Figs. 12-13 and provide parallel connections to have a plurality of second power devices arranged in a second permanent physical order; and
a plurality of second electrical cables, wherein each electrical cable of the plurality of second electrical cables comprises one of a plurality of second powe
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 25 above. In embodiment of Fig. 15, Sella discloses cables feed through electrical glands 1518 and 1520, and mechanically secured by bracket before directly connect to pads of a PCB which indicate a well-known solder connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sella embodiment in Figs. 12-13 to incorporate the teaching of embodiment of Fig. 15 and have each adjacent pair of the plurality of second power devices are permanently connected, via solder, by the different one of the plurality of second power conductors. Doing so would allow a solid connection for locations that would not need to be disconnected.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 25 above, Sella also disclose the system further comprising:
an end cable comprising a male connector and a female connector mated together, wherein one of the plurality of power devices at an end of the permanent physical order is connected through the end cable to one of the plurality of second power devices at an end of the second permanent physical order ([0118] male and female connector are required to mate two cables together).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 27 above. In embodiment of Fig. 15, Sella discloses cables feed through electrical glands 1518 and 1520, and mechanically secured by bracket before directly connect to pads of a PCB which indicate a well-known solder connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sella embodiment in Figs. 12-13 to incorporate the teaching of embodiment of Fig. 15 and have each adjacent pair of the plurality of second power devices are permanently connected, via solder, by a different one of the second power. Doing so would allow a solid connection for locations that would not need to be disconnected.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 19 above. In embodiment of Fig. 15, Sella discloses each power device of the plurality of power devices comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 15a, 1620) and are permanently connected by a respective power conductor of a different one of the plurality of electrical cables (embodiment of Fig. 15a, cables feed through electrical glands 1518 and 1520, and mechanically secured by bracket before direct connection to pads of a PCB which indicate a well-known solder connections). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sella embodiment in Figs. 12-13 to incorporate the teaching of embodiment of Fig. 15 and have each power device of the plurality of power devices comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (Fig. 15a, 1620), and the PCBs of each adjacent pair of the plurality of power devices along the permanent physical order are permanently connected by a respective power conductor of a different one of the plurality of electrical cables. Since it is well-known in the art that electrical components of power device as shown in Fig. 6 would require PCB to mount.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 29 above. In embodiment of Fig. 15, Sella discloses cables feed through electrical glands 1518 and 1520, and mechanically secured by bracket before directly connect to pads of a PCB which indicate a well-known solder connections. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sella embodiment in Figs. 12-13 to incorporate the teaching of embodiment of Fig. 15 and have each adjacent pair of the plurality of power devices are permanently connected via solder. Doing so would allow a solid connection for locations that would not need to be disconnected.
Regarding claim 31, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 19 above. Sella also discloses each electrical cable of the plurality of electrical cables comprises a single power conductor (Fig. 6, output terminals 610 and 612 indicate connections between converters are single power conductor).
Regarding claim 32, Sella discloses a method (Fig. 3 to Fig. 15) comprising:
connecting a plurality of power devices (Fig. 3, 305a-d) of a string of power devices (Fig. 3, 305a-d) in a permanent physical order (Fig. 3, 305a-d each arranged in a string physical order), each power device of the plurality of power devices comprising an electrical circuit (Fig. 3, 305a-d are power converter circuit), a unique identifier [0120] of a plurality of unique identifiers [0120], and at least one power input terminal (Fig. 3, input terminals of 305 receive power from solar panels 301) configured to receive electrical power from at least one power generator of a plurality of power generators [0069], wherein the plurality of unique identifiers identify the permanent physical order of the plurality of power devices ([0120] memory of each power device stores serial number and location indicates when the solar panels and the power device installed in a permanent physical order, serial number will identify physical location of each power device), and wherein a quantity of the plurality of power devices is greater than a quantity of the plurality of power generators thereby providing one or more spare power devices that are configured to connect to one or more power generators of the plurality of power generators; and
permanently connecting the electrical circuits of each adjacent pair of the plurality of power devices along the permanent physical order by a different one of a plurality of electrical cables (Fig. 3, each adjacent pair of the plurality of power devices 305 are permanently connected by a different one of the plurality of electrical cables when the solar system is installed),
Sella does not disclose one or more spare power devices. Marinopoulos discloses a solar power system and suggest extra power device can be added for redundancy [0043]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sella to incorporate the teaching of Marinopoulos and provide extra power device for redundancy and have a quantity of the plurality of power devices is greater than a quantity of the plurality of power generators thereby providing one or more spare power devices that are configured to connect to one or more power generators of the plurality of power generators. Doing so would allow having extra power device for minimize downtime of a generator having a failed power device in the system since the concept of having extra or spare power device is known in the art.
Claim(s) 20 and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sella and Marinopoulos in view of TAN et al., US Patent Publication 20180278206; hereinafter “TAN”.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 19 above. Sella discloses identify identity and store permanent physical order of each set of generator and power device [0120]. The combination of Sella and Marinopoulos does not disclose store as a look-up table. TAN discloses a system storing identification in a look-up table. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos to incorporate the teaching of TAN and store the permanent physical order in a look-up table format. Doing so would improve performance and efficiency to write and read data.
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the method of claim 32 above. Sella discloses identify identity and store permanent physical order of each set of generator and power device in non-transitory computer-readable memory [0120]. The combination of Sella and Marinopoulos does not disclose store as a look-up table. TAN discloses a system storing identification in a look-up table. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos to incorporate the teaching of TAN and store the permanent physical order in a look-up table format in non-transitory computer-readable memory. Doing so would improve performance and efficiency to write and read data.
Claim(s) 21-24 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos in view of Sella et al., US Patent Publication 20110121652; hereinafter “Sella ‘652”.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 19 above, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos does not disclose each power device of the plurality of power devices further comprises a device electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield. Sella ‘652 discloses a solar power system and suggest utilize known method for shielding of cables, modules, panels, inverters to prevent cross talk that may corrupt data being transmitted [0007]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos to incorporate the teaching of Sella ‘652 and have each power device of the plurality of power devices further comprises a device EMI shield. Doing so would prevent corrupt communication data since it is a well-known method in the art.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Sella, Marinopoulos and Sella ‘652 discloses the system of claim 21 above, Sella ‘652 also discloses each electrical cable of the plurality of electrical cables further comprises a cable EMI shield [0007], and wherein the device EMI shields of each adjacent pair of power devices along the permanent physical order are permanently connected by the cable EMI shield of a different one of the plurality of electrical cables [0007].
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Sella, Marinopoulos and Sella ‘652 discloses the system of claim 21 above, the combination of Sella, Marinopoulos and Sella ‘652 discloses the device EMI shields of each adjacent pair of power devices are permanently connected, via solder as rejected above. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that when combined by EMI shielded the cable as discloses by Sella ‘652 [0007] as in claim 22, the device EMI shields of each adjacent pair of power devices are permanently connected, via solder, by the cable EMI shield.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses the system of claim 19 above, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos does not disclose each electrical cable of the plurality of electrical cables further comprises a cable electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield. Sella ‘652 discloses a solar power system and suggest utilize known method for shielding of cables, modules, panels, inverters to prevent cross talk that may corrupt data being transmitted [0007]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos to incorporate the teaching of Sella ‘652 and have each electrical cable of the plurality of electrical cables further comprises a cable electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield. Doing so would prevent corrupt communication data since it is a well-known method in the art.
Regarding claim 34, the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos discloses method of claim 32 above. The combination of Sella and Marinopoulos does not disclose each power device of the plurality of power devices further comprises a device electromagnetic interference (EMI) shield, wherein each electrical cable of the plurality of electrical cables further comprises a cable EMI shield, Sella ‘652 discloses a solar power system and suggest utilize known method for shielding of cables, modules, panels, inverters to prevent cross talk that may corrupt data being transmitted [0007]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Sella and Marinopoulos to incorporate the teaching of Sella ‘652 and have each power device of the plurality of power devices further comprises a device EMI shield, wherein each electrical cable of the plurality of electrical cables further comprises a cable EMI shield, and wherein the device EMI shields of each adjacent pair of power devices along the permanent physical order are permanently connected by the cable EMI shield of a different one of the plurality of electrical cables. Doing so would prevent corrupt communication data since it is a well-known method in the art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THAI H TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836