DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “optical path does not intersect a central longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device” of claim 36 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 142d. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 36 recites the limitation “wherein the optical path does not intersect a central longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device” in lines 1-2. While the specification literally states the claim language, the specification fails to explain how the optical path would not intersect a central longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device, when claim 35 (upon which claim 36 is dependent) states that “the optical path is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device”. Therefore, the claim fails to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 35-38 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "the sensor carriage comprises at least one of a first transmissive sensor, and an optical sensor" in lines 1-2. However, it is unclear how if the “sensor carriage” is what should comprise at least one of a first transmissive sensor and an optical sensor, or if the “first sensor” of claim 30, line 4 is what should comprise the first transmissive sensor and optical sensor. If taken as written currently, this would require the first sensor and the “at least one of a first transmissive sensor, and an optical sensor” to be separate entities, which is not supported by the specification or drawings. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret "the sensor carriage comprises at least one of a first transmissive sensor, and an optical sensor" as "the first sensor comprises at least one of a first transmissive sensor, and an optical sensor".
Claims 35 and 45 recites the limitation "the sensor carriage comprises an optical sensor" in lines 1-2. However, it is unclear how if the “sensor carriage” is what should comprise an optical sensor, or if the “first sensor” of claim 30, line 4 is what should comprise the optical sensor. If taken as written currently, this would require the first sensor and the “an optical sensor” to be separate entities, which is not supported by the specification or drawings. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret "the sensor carriage comprises an optical sensor" as "the first sensor comprises an optical sensor".
Claims 36 and 46 recites the limitation “wherein the optical path does not intersect a central longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device” in lines 1-2. However, it is unclear how this is to occur, as claim 35 (upon which claim 36 depends) recites “the optical path is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
Claims 36 and 46 recites “a central longitudinal axis” in line 2. However, it is unclear if “a central longitudinal axis” is a further recitation of “a longitudinal axis” of claim 36. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret “a central longitudinal axis” as “the longitudinal axis”.
Claims 37 and 44 recites the limitation "the sensor carriage comprises an optical sensor" in lines 1-2. However, it is unclear how if the “sensor carriage” is what should comprise an optical sensor, or if the “first sensor” of claim 30, line 4 is what should comprise the optical sensor. If taken as written currently, this would require the first sensor and the “an optical sensor” to be separate entities, which is not supported by the specification or drawings. Therefore, the claim is indefinite. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret "the sensor carriage comprises an optical sensor" as "the first sensor comprises an optical sensor"
Claim 39 recites the limitation “the sensor signal of the first sensor” in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will interpret “the sensor signal of the first sensor” as “a sensor signal of the first sensor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 30, 32, 41, 47 and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krulevitch et al. (WO2010098928), hereinafter Krulevitch.
Regarding claim 30, Krulevitch teaches a liquid delivery system cap device (Fig. 1; 202), the cap device comprising:
a body (Fig. 2; 208) defining a cavity (internal to Fig. 2; 211) to receive at least a portion of a liquid delivery device (as shown in Fig. 1B); and
a sensor carriage (Fig. 5; 240) movable within the cavity [Paragraph 0056] and including a first sensor (Fig. 6; 215; [Paragraph 0057, “conductive contacts”]; 214);
wherein the sensor carriage is movable between a first position and a second position [Paragraph 0057] relative to the cavity while the liquid delivery device is in a fixed position relative to the cavity [Paragraph 0056].
Regarding claim 32, Krulevitch teaches the cap device of claim 30, wherein the first sensor is configured to output a sensor signal indicative of a physical feature of the liquid delivery device [Paragraph 0056-0057] (wherein “a physical feature of the liquid delivery device” is how much drug will be delivered).
Regarding claim 41, Krulevitch teaches liquid delivery system (““smart” drug delivery system” abst), comprising:
a liquid delivery device (“smart” drug delivery system” abst), comprising:
a reservoir (e.g., “cartridge 222”),
a liquid within the reservoir (“volume of fluid from cartridge 222” [0043]), and
a plunger movable within the reservoir to dispense liquid from the reservoir (“a plunger rod 226, a plunger rod holder 27, and a first screw 35. The actuation unit 200 can include a mechanism (for brevity, shown as actuation shaft 190, plunger rod member 226) to dispense a controlled volume of fluid from cartridge 222” [0043]); and
a cap device (module 202), comprising:
a body (Fig. 2; 208) defining a cavity (internal to Fig. 2; 211) to receive at least a portion of a liquid delivery device (as shown in Fig. 1B); and
a sensor carriage (Fig. 5; 240) movable within the cavity [Paragraph 0056] and including one or more sensors a first sensor (Fig. 6; 215; [Paragraph 0057, “conductive contacts”]; 214) configured to output a sensor signal indicative of a physical feature of the liquid delivery device ([Paragraph 0056-0057] (wherein “a physical feature of the liquid delivery device” is how much drug will be delivered), and
a position sensor (“a linear potentiometer and is used to measure the position of dosage selector 220 for determining the size of the bolus injected by the user” [0046]);
wherein the sensor carriage is movable between a first position and a second position [Paragraph 0057] relative to the cavity while the liquid delivery device is in a fixed position relative to the cavity [Paragraph 0056].
Regarding claim 47, Krulevitch teaches method of evaluating the condition of a liquid delivery device (“module may: determine dosage selected, injection of selected dosage, duration of injection, time of injection, whether the pen has been primed or shaken to thoroughly mix up insulin mixtures,” abst), comprising:
receiving at least a portion of a liquid delivery device within a cavity of a cap device (see figs. 1-3);
releasing a sensor carriage including one or more sensors to move the sensor carriage from a first position to a second position while the liquid delivery device remains in a fixed position within the cavity (see [0056]-[0057]); and
evaluating an output of the one or more sensors indicative of the presence of a feature of the liquid delivery device (“module may: determine dosage selected, injection of selected dosage, duration of injection, time of injection, whether the pen has been primed or shaken to thoroughly mix up insulin mixtures” abst).
Regarding claim 49, Krulevitch teaches wherein the feature of the liquid delivery device is a plunger (“a pen button 216, a dosage selector 220, an inner cylinder 23, a lead screw 25, a plunger rod 226, a plunger rod holder 27, and a first screw 35. The actuation unit 200 can include a mechanism (for brevity, shown as actuation shaft 190, plunger rod member 226) to dispense a controlled volume of fluid from cartridge 222” [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krulevitch in view of Cereda et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20160193412), hereinafter Cereda.
Regarding claim 31, Krulevitch teaches the cap device of claim 30,
wherein the cavity is defined by a front wall (wall which defines 211, as shown in Fig. 2) and one or more side walls of the body (as shown in Fig. 2), and the body defines an opening to the cavity (Fig. 2; 211),
wherein in the first position, the sensor carriage is located proximate the front wall (Examiner interprets the sensor carriage to be located proximate the front wall, as the device is relatively small, making all components proximate to each other); and
wherein in the second position, the sensor carriage is located proximate the opening (Examiner interprets the sensor carriage to be located proximate the opening, as the device is relatively small, making all components proximate to each other).
However, Krulevitch fails to teach wherein the cap device of claim 30 further comprises a spring, and wherein the spring is biased to move the sensor carriage from the first position to the second position.
Cereda teaches a liquid delivery system device, the device comprising:
a sensor carriage (Fig. 16a; 112);
wherein the sensor carriage is movable between a first position and a second position (Figs. 16a-d);
wherein the device further comprising a spring (Fig. 16a; 114);
wherein the spring is biased to move the sensor carriage from the first position to the second position [Paragraph 0193].
It would have been obvious to one in ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Krulevitch to include a spring which is biased to move the sensor carriage from the first position to the second position, as it has been shown in the art to be a well-known way of causing movement between parts of a device, as shown by Cereda.
Claims 33-35, 37-39, 42-45 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krulevitch in view of Whalley et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20130310756), hereinafter Whalley.
Regarding claim 33, Krulevitch teaches the cap device of claim 30, wherein the first sensor is configured to output a sensor signal while the sensor carriage moves between the first position and the second position [Paragraphs 0056-0057], but fails to teach wherein the first sensor is configured to output a sensor signal indicative of a plunger of the liquid delivery device while the sensor carriage moves between the first position and the second position.
Whalley teaches a liquid delivery system cap device (as shown in Fig. 7), the cap device comprising:
a body (Fig. 10; 600) defining a cavity (as shown in Fig. 10) configured to receive at least a portion of a liquid delivery device (Fig. 7; 610);
a first sensor (Fig. 10; 644, 654);
wherein the first sensor is configured to output a sensor signal indicative of a plunger of the liquid delivery device (Fig. 10; 614) [Paragraph 0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Krulevitch to teach wherein the first sensor (specifically the “conductive contacts”) is configured to output a sensor signal indicative of a plunger of the liquid delivery device, as taught by Whalley. Doing so would allow for the production of a unique signal to track the range of dose volumes still left in the liquid delivery device, as taught by Whalley [Paragraph 0058].
Regarding claim 34, Krulevitch teaches the cap device of claim 30, but fails to teach wherein the first sensor comprises at least one of a first transmissive sensor, and an optical sensor having a first optical emitter aligned with a first optical receiver.
Whalley teaches a liquid delivery system cap device (as shown in Fig. 7), the cap device comprising:
a body (Fig. 7; 300) defining a cavity (as shown in Fig. 7) configured to receive at least a portion of a liquid delivery device (Fig. 7; 310);
a first sensor (Fig. 7; 344, 354);
wherein the first sensor comprises at least one of a first transmissive sensor, and an optical sensor having a first optical emitter (Fig. 7; 344) aligned with a first optical receiver (Fig. 7; 354) (bold added as emphasis by Examiner to show that only one of the choices presented within the claim is being established within the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Krulevitch to teach wherein the first sensor (specifically the “conductive contacts”) comprises an optical sensor having a first optical emitter aligned with a first optical receiver, as taught by Whalley. Doing so would allow for the production of a unique signal to track the range of dose volumes still left in the liquid delivery device, as taught by Whalley [Paragraph 0058].
Regarding claims 35 and 45, Krulevitch teaches the cap device of claim 30, but fails to teach wherein the first sensor comprises an optical sensor having a first optical emitter aligned with a first optical receiver; and
wherein the first sensor further comprises an optical path between the first optical emitter and the first optical receiver, and the optical path is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device.
Whalley teaches a liquid delivery system cap device (as shown in Fig. 7), the cap device comprising:
a body (Fig. 7; 300) defining a cavity (as shown in Fig. 7) configured to receive at least a portion of a liquid delivery device (Fig. 7; 310);
a first sensor (Fig. 7; 344, 354);
wherein the first sensor comprises an optical sensor having a first optical emitter (Fig. 7; 344) aligned with a first optical receiver (Fig. 7; 354); and
wherein the first sensor further comprises an optical path (as shown in Annotated Fig. 7-1) between the first optical emitter and the first optical receiver, and the optical path is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device (as shown in Annotated Fig. 7-1).
Annotated Fig. 7-1
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Krulevitch to teach wherein the first sensor (specifically the “conductive contacts”) comprises an optical sensor having a first optical emitter aligned with a first optical receiver, and wherein the first sensor further comprises an optical path between the first optical emitter and the first optical receiver, and the optical path is perpendicular to a longitudinal axis of the cavity of the cap device, as taught by Whalley. Doing so would allow for the production of a unique signal to track the range of dose volumes still left in the liquid delivery device, as taught by Whalley [Paragraph 0058].
Regarding claims 37 and 44, Krulevitch teaches the cap device of claim 30, but fails to teach wherein the first sensor comprises an optical sensor having a first optical emitter aligned with a first optical receiver; and
wherein the sensor carriage comprises a second optical sensor having a second optical emitter aligned with a second optical receiver.
Whalley teaches a liquid delivery system cap device (as shown in Fig. 7), the cap device comprising:
a body (Fig. 7; 300) defining a cavity (as shown in Fig. 7) configured to receive at least a portion of a liquid delivery device (Fig. 7; 310);
a first sensor (Fig. 7; 344, 354);
wherein the first sensor comprises an optical sensor having a first optical emitter (Fig. 7; 344) aligned with a first optical receiver (Fig. 7; 354); and
wherein the sensor carriage comprises a second optical sensor having a second optical emitter aligned with a second optical receiver (as shown in Annotated Fig. 7-2).
Annotated Fig. 7-2
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Krulevitch to teach wherein the first sensor (specifically the “conductive contacts”) comprises an optical sensor having a first optical emitter aligned with a first optical receiver, and wherein the first sensor further comprises an optical path between the first optical emitter and the first optical receiver, and wherein the sensor carriage comprises a second optical sensor having a second optical emitter aligned with a second optical receiver, as taught by Whalley. Doing so would allow for the production of a unique signal to track the range of dose volumes still left in the liquid delivery device, as taught by Whalley [Paragraph 0058].
Regarding claim 38, Krulevitch in view of Whalley teaches the cap device of claim 37, wherein the first optical emitter is not aligned with the second optical receiver, and the second optical emitter is not aligned with the first optical receiver (as shown in Annotated Fig. 7-2).
Regarding claims 39, 42 and 48, Krulevitch teaches the cap device of claim 30, further comprising a processor (Fig. 6; 270). However, Krulevitch fails to teach wherein the cap device further comprises a position sensor and processor configured to:
detect a plunger of the liquid delivery device based on a variation in a sensor signal of the first sensor; and
determine a corresponding position based on a sensor signal output by the position sensor.
Whalley teaches a liquid delivery system cap device (as shown in Fig. 4), the cap device comprising:
a body (Fig. 4; 200) defining a cavity (as shown in Fig. 3) configured to receive at least a portion of a liquid delivery device (Fig. 4; 210);
a first sensor (a “first set” of the combination of 244/254, as shown in Fig. 4); and
further comprising a positioning sensor (a “second set” of the combination of 244/254, as shown in Fig. 4) and a processor within the cap (Fig. 4; 160, 260 and 264) configured to:
detect a plunger of the liquid delivery device based on a variation a sensor signal of the first sensor [Paragraph 0048]; and
determine a corresponding position based on a sensor signal output by the position sensor [Paragraph 0048, 0057, 0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Krulevitch to further comprise a position sensor and processor configured to: detect a plunger of the liquid delivery device based on a variation in a sensor signal of the first sensor; and determine a corresponding position based on a sensor signal output by the position sensor as taught by Whalley. Doing so would allow for the production of a unique signal to track the range of dose volumes still left in the liquid delivery device, as taught by Whalley [Paragraph 0058].
Regarding claim 43, Krulevitch in view of Whalley teaches the cap device of claim 37, wherein the processor is located in the cap device.
Specifically, Whalley teaches processing unit 160 and processing unit 260 in figs. 3, 4 that dose measurement system 100 can be disposed in a housing (not shown) that can be configured to be removably coupleable to the drug delivery device 110. For example, the lighting module 140, sensing module 150, processing unit 160.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Krulevitch to further comprise processor is located in the cap device as taught by Whalley. Doing so would allow for the production of a unique signal to track the range of dose volumes still left in the liquid delivery device, as taught by Whalley [Paragraph 0058].
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krulevitch in view of Hautaviita et al. (U.S. PGPUB 20190009032), hereinafter Hautaviita.
Regarding claim 40, Krulevitch teaches the cap device of claim 30, but fails to teach the cap device of claim 30 further comprising a position sensor, wherein the position sensor includes at least one of: a linear encoder, the linear encoder including a codestrip and an encoder movable along the codestrip; and a rotary encoder, the rotary encoder including a codewheel and an encoder.
Hautaviita teaches a liquid delivery system device (Fig. 1; 1), the device comprising:
a position sensor (Fig. 1; 5), wherein the position sensor includes at lease one of:
a linear encoder, the linear encoder including a codestrip and an encoder movable along the codestrip; and
a rotary encoder [Paragraph 0092], the rotary encoder including a codewheel (Fig. 12a; 37) and an encoder (Examiner interprets the rotary encoder to include an encoder, as the device is an encoder itself) (bold added as emphasis by Examiner to show that only one of the choices presented within the claim is being established within the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the device of Krulevitch to include the position sensor including a rotary encoder, the rotary encoder including a codewheel and an encoder, as taught by Hautaviita. Doing so would have allowed for further detection of the components movements [Paragraph 0009], thus eliminating potential biases from the first sensor.
Conclusion
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797