DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
Priority
2. The instant application is a CON of PCT/KR2022/019078, filed 11/29/2022. Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. Acknowledgement is made to the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 7/21/2023, 4/10/2025, & 4/22/2026. The information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Behzadi et al. (US 2018/0351373 A1), hereinafter Behzadi.
Regarding claim 1, Behzadi discloses an electronic device (610 – primary device), comprising:
a display (612 - display) [0209 & Fig. 6A]; and
at least one processor configured to:
determine whether the electronic device is in a charging area of a wireless charger (600 – charging device) [0200-0202 & Fig. 6A];
based on a determination that the electronic device is in the charging area, identify at least one external electronic device that is currently connected to the electronic device and/or has a record of being previously connected to the electronic device; acquire battery charge state information of the identified at least one external electronic device; and control the display to output a charging guide interface for the identified at least one external electronic device, based on a charge available state of the wireless charger and the acquired battery charge state information [0210-0214, 0223-0225, & Figs. 6G-6J].
Regarding claim 2, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive battery charge state information of the identified at least one external electronic device from the identified at least one external electronic device, and/or estimating current battery charge state information of the identified at least one external electronic device based on battery charge state information of a last connected time of the identified at least one external electronic device [0210-0214].
Regarding claim 3, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive battery charge state information of the identified at least one external electronic device from the wireless charger [0210-0214 & 0223-0225].
Regarding claim 4, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 3, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive the battery charge state information from the wireless charger via Bluetooth low energy (BLE) communication, and the battery charge state information comprises at least one of: an icon indicating the identified at least one external electronic device, a name of the identified at least one external electronic device, identification information of the identified at least one external electronic device, remaining battery power of the identified at least one external electronic device, whether the identified at least one external electronic device is being charged, an estimated time to complete charging in response to the identified at least one external electronic device being charged, a charging method that may be used to charge the identified at least one external electronic device, an estimated available time of the identified at least one external electronic device, a last time the identified at least one external electronic device was connected to the electronic device, or remaining battery power of the corresponding last time [0200-0204, 0210-0214, 0223-0225, & Figs. 6D, 6G-6J, & 6R].
Regarding claim 5, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 2, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine whether charging of the identified at least one external electronic device is required and/or appropriate, based on at least one of the received battery charge state information or the estimated current battery charge state information; and control the display to output the charging guide interface comprising information on the determination of whether the charging is required and/or appropriate [0204-0206 & 0236-0238].
Regarding claim 6, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine that charging of the identified at least one external electronic device is required and/or appropriate in response to remaining battery power comprised in the received battery charge state information and/or the estimated current battery charge state information being less than or equal to a predetermined value [0204-0206 & 0236-0238].
Regarding claim 7, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 5, wherein the charging guide interface comprises at least one of: an icon indicating the identified at least one external electronic device, a name of the identified at least one external electronic device, remaining battery power of the identified at least one external electronic device, whether the identified at least one external electronic device may be charged, whether charging of the identified at least one external electronic device is required determined based on the remaining battery power, whether the identified at least one external electronic device is being charged, an estimated available time of the identified at least one external electronic device, or information on the charge available state of the wireless charger, and the charge available state comprises a state of at least one of an amount of power that may be provided by the wireless charger or a remaining charging area of the wireless charger [0200-0204, 0210-0214, 0223-0225, & Figs. 6D, 6G-6J, & 6R].
Regarding claim 8, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine a number of external electronic devices that may be additionally charged, based on the charge available state of the wireless charger; and control the display to output the charging guide interface comprising information on the determined number of external electronic devices [0210-0214 & 0223-0225].
Regarding claim 9, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the wireless charger is configured to simultaneously charge a plurality of electronic devices using one of a resonance charging technique or an inductive charging technique [0200-0204, 0210-0214, 0223-0225, & Figs. 6D, 6G-6J, & 6R].
Regarding claim 10, Behzadi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: determine the electronic device to be in the charging area based on power transmitted from the wireless charger being detected [0200-0204].
Regarding claim 11, Behzadi discloses a wireless charger (600 – charging device), comprising:
a power transmitter configured to transmit power to an electronic device (610 – primary device) and an external electronic device connectable to the electronic device via at least one of a resonance charging technique or an inductive charging technique [0200-0202];
a transceiver configured to communicate with the electronic device and the external electronic device [0200-0202]; and
a controller, comprising processing circuitry, configured to control the power transmitter and the transceiver, wherein the controller is configured to: receive a first request signal requesting transmission of battery charge state information of the external electronic device being charged by the wireless charger from the electronic device [0203-0207 & Figs. 6D-6F];
control the transceiver to transmit a second request signal requesting transmission of battery charge state information of the external electronic device to the external electronic device in response to the first request signal; receive the battery charge state information of the external electronic device from the external electronic device in response to the second request signal; and control the transceiver to transmit the received battery charge state information to the electronic device [0210-0214 & Figs. 6G-6J].
Regarding claim 12, Behzadi discloses the wireless charger of claim 11, wherein the controller is configured to control the transceiver to transmit a charge available state of the wireless charger to the electronic device [0200-0204].
Regarding claim 13, Behzadi discloses the wireless charger of claim 12, wherein the battery charge state information of the external electronic device comprises at least one of identification information of the external electronic device or a battery voltage of the external electronic device, and the charge available state comprises a state of at least one of an amount of power that may be provided by the wireless charger or a remaining charging area of the wireless charger [0210-0214, 0223-0225, & Figs. 6G-6J].
Regarding claim 14, Behzadi discloses a method of providing a wireless charging guide, the method comprising:
determining whether an electronic device (610 – primary device) is in a charging area of a wireless charger (600 – charging device) [0200-0202 & Fig. 6A];
in response to a determination that the electronic device is in the charging area, identifying at least one external electronic device that is currently connected to the electronic device and/or which has a record of being previously connected to the electronic device; acquiring battery charge state information regarding the identified at least one external electronic device; and outputting a charging guide interface for the identified at least one external electronic device, based on a charge available state of the wireless charger and the acquired battery charge state information [0210-0214, 0223-0225, & Figs. 6G-6J].
Regarding claim 15, Behzadi discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the acquiring of the battery charge state information comprises: receiving battery charge state information of the identified at least one external electronic device from the identified at least one external electronic device, or estimating current battery charge state information of the identified at least one external electronic device based on battery charge state information of a last connected time of the identified at least one external electronic device [0210-0214].
Regarding claim 16, Behzadi discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the acquiring of the battery charge state information comprises receiving battery charge state information of the identified at least one external electronic device from the wireless charger [0210-0214 & 0223-0225].
Regarding claim 17, Behzadi discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the receiving of the battery charge state information from the wireless charger is performed using Bluetooth low energy (BLE) communication, and the battery charge state information comprises at least one of: an icon indicating the identified at least one external electronic device, a name of the identified at least one external electronic device, identification information of the identified at least one external electronic device, remaining battery power of the identified at least one external electronic device, whether the identified at least one external electronic device is being charged, an estimated time to complete charging in response to the identified at least one external electronic device being charged, a charging method that may be used to charge the identified at least one external electronic device, an estimated available time of the identified at least one electronic device, a last time the identified at least one external electronic device was connected to the electronic device, or remaining battery power of the corresponding last time [0200-0204, 0210-0214, 0223-0225, & Figs. 6D, 6G-6J, & 6R].
Regarding claim 18, Behzadi discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the outputting of the charging guide comprises: determining whether charging of the identified at least one external electronic device is required and/or appropriate, based on at least one of the received battery charge state information or the estimated current battery charge state information; and outputting the charging guide interface comprising information on the determination of whether the charging is required and/or appropriate [0204-0206 & 0236-0238].
Regarding claim 19, Behzadi discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the determining of whether the charging is required and/or appropriate comprises determining that charging of the identified at least one external electronic device is required and/or appropriate in response to remaining battery power comprised in the received battery charge state information or the estimated current battery charge state information being less than or equal to a predetermined value [0204-0206 & 0236-0238].
Regarding claim 20, Behzadi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method of claim 14 [0047-0049 & 0295].
Conclusion
/PAULTEP SAVUSDIPHOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876